- Duloxetine (Cymbalta) is a prescription serotonin–noradrenaline reuptake inhibitor (SNRI) developed by Eli Lilly (US). The FDA first approved it on 3 August 2004 (Drugs@FDA).
- For depression, the publicly funded Cipriani 2018 network meta-analysis ranked it among the more effective antidepressants against placebo (response OR 1.85, 95% CrI 1.66–2.07). In head-to-head trials, though, it was one of the drugs with the highest dropout rates (Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018).
- For generalised anxiety disorder, an unfunded Lancet network meta-analysis found duloxetine the most effective of the well-tolerated options (HAM-A mean difference −3.13 vs placebo) (Slee et al., Lancet 2019).
- For chronic pain, a Cochrane network meta-analysis found that duloxetine is the only antidepressant with reliable evidence, with a small-to-moderate effect (Birkinshaw et al., Cochrane 2023). Cochrane also notes that almost every pain trial was run or sponsored by the manufacturer (Lunn et al., Cochrane 2014).
- Regulators disagree on some uses. The FDA licenses it for fibromyalgia and chronic musculoskeletal pain. The EMA rejected fibromyalgia in 2008 (EMA refusal report), and NICE says not to offer SNRIs for low back pain (NICE NG59).
- Key risks: the FDA boxed warning on suicidal thoughts in under-25s, liver injury (rare but sometimes fatal; avoid with heavy alcohol use or liver disease), serotonin syndrome, bleeding, raised blood pressure, low sodium, sexual dysfunction and withdrawal symptoms (FDA Cymbalta label).
- Evidence grade: Strong for depression, GAD and diabetic nerve pain. Moderate for fibromyalgia and other chronic pain.
Independent evidence review · Prescription medicine
Duloxetine works for depression, generalised anxiety and diabetic nerve pain, and it has the strongest chronic-pain evidence of any antidepressant. Its advantages over cheaper alternatives are small, and it has a demanding safety profile: liver warnings, blood-pressure effects, sexual side effects and withdrawal symptoms that need a planned taper. Most of the trial evidence was generated by its manufacturer, Eli Lilly. However, independent reviews from Oxford, University College London, Cochrane and NICE broadly confirm that it works. Where they differ from the manufacturer's trials is on how large and how useful the benefit is in everyday practice (Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018, Birkinshaw et al., Cochrane 2023).
Duloxetine is a prescription-only medicine. Do not start it, stop it or change the dose without the prescriber who manages your treatment. Antidepressants increased the risk of suicidal thoughts and behaviour in children, adolescents and young adults in short-term studies. Anyone starting duloxetine should be watched closely for worsening mood or suicidal thoughts, especially in the first months and after dose changes (FDA boxed warning). If you have thoughts of harming yourself, seek urgent help now. Call your local emergency number or a crisis line; in the UK, call NHS 111 or 999 (NHS). Also get urgent advice for yellowing skin or eyes, a fast heartbeat with sweating, shaking and confusion (possible serotonin syndrome), a blistering rash, or swelling of the throat or tongue. Duloxetine can cause dizziness or drowsiness: do not drive or use machinery if affected. The NHS advises avoiding alcohol (NHS).
Table of contents
- Evidence summary
- What duloxetine is
- How it works
- What it is prescribed for
- What works and what does not
- Benefits by claim
- Risks and all side effects
- All interactions
- Who should avoid duloxetine
- Dosage and how to take it
- Follow the money: who makes it and who funded the evidence
- Related research
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources and funding notes
Evidence summary
| Claim | Evidence | Source | Funding / conflict | Strength |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Treats major depression in adults | A network meta-analysis of 522 trials (116,477 participants) found all 21 antidepressants beat placebo. Duloxetine's response odds ratio was 1.85 (95% CrI 1.66–2.07), the third highest. | Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018 | Funded by the UK National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Oxford Health Biomedical Research Centre and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science. The underlying trials were mostly industry-run. | Strong |
| No better than other antidepressants; tolerated less well than some | 16 head-to-head RCTs (5,735 participants) found no significant efficacy difference. Dropout from any cause was higher than with escitalopram (OR 1.62) or venlafaxine (OR 1.56). | Cipriani et al., Cochrane 2012 | Cochrane review (Italy/Japan). The authors note most included studies were sponsored by duloxetine's manufacturer. One author declared speaking honoraria from several companies, including Eli Lilly. | Moderate |
| Treats generalised anxiety disorder | 89 trials, 25,441 patients. Duloxetine HAM-A MD −3.13 (95% CrI −4.13 to −2.13) vs placebo, with relatively good acceptability. | Slee et al., Lancet 2019 | No funding received (UCL, UK). | Strong |
| Relieves painful diabetic neuropathy | At 60 mg daily, ≥50% pain relief at 12 weeks: RR 1.73 (95% CI 1.44–2.08), NNTB 5. | Lunn et al., Cochrane 2014 | Cochrane (UK). The review states the evidence came from eight studies "performed by the manufacturers". | Strong |
| Chronic pain in general (all antidepressants compared) | 176 studies, 28,664 participants. Duloxetine 60 mg: substantial pain relief OR 1.91 (1.69–2.17); pain intensity SMD −0.31 (−0.39 to −0.24). Moderate-certainty evidence. | Birkinshaw et al., Cochrane 2023 | Academic Cochrane team (University of Southampton, UK); most authors declared no relevant interests. | Moderate |
| Fibromyalgia | 60 mg: RR for ≥50% pain relief 1.57 (1.20–2.06), NNTB 8, over 12 weeks. The EMA judged the European benefit/risk balance negative in 2008. | Lunn et al., Cochrane 2014; EMA 2008 | Trials were manufacturer-run. The EMA is the EU medicines regulator, independent of the applicant. | Moderate / contested |
| Chronic low back pain | SNRIs reduced back pain by 5.30 points on a 0–100 scale. The authors judged this "small and not clinically important". | Ferreira et al., BMJ 2021; NICE NG59 | Authors declared no support for this work (University of Sydney). NICE is a UK public body. | Weak |
| Chemotherapy-induced nerve pain | Crossover RCT, n=231. Mean pain decrease 1.06 vs 0.34 on placebo; 59% vs 38% reported any decrease in pain. | Smith et al., JAMA 2013 | Run through US National Cancer Institute-funded cooperative networks (Alliance). Publicly funded. | Moderate |
| Stress urinary incontinence (women; UK/EU licence as Yentreve) | 9 RCTs, 3,327 adults: better quality of life (WMD 5.26) and about 50% fewer leaks. No objective cure on pad tests; about 1 in 8 stopped because of side effects. | Mariappan et al., Cochrane 2005; NICE NG123 | Cochrane authors: "None known" (Edinburgh, UK). Funding of the underlying trials is not stated in the abstract. | Weak (not first-line) |
| Withdrawal symptoms on stopping | Symptoms after abrupt stopping in about 45% on duloxetine vs 23% on placebo in trials. | UK SmPC | Regulator-approved label text, based on manufacturer trial data. | Risk |
| Liver injury | ALT >3× ULN in 1.25% on duloxetine vs 0.45% on placebo. Rare hepatic failure, sometimes fatal. | FDA label §5.2 | FDA-reviewed label, based on Lilly trial database and postmarketing reports. | Risk |
Independent evidence and credibility scorecard
Independence tiers: 1 = regulator or government body; 2 = academic or Cochrane team with no declared commercial funding for the work; 3 = independent authors analysing mostly manufacturer-run trials, or minor declared industry ties; 4 = manufacturer-funded or manufacturer-authored. Credibility runs from A (highest) to D.
| Source | Who funds it | Country | Independence tier (1–4) | Credibility (A–D) | Why it would tell the truth / residual bias |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EMA refusal assessment (fibromyalgia) | EU regulator | EU (report issued from London, 2008) | 1 | A | Its job is to protect patients, and it read the full data package. It said no to the company. The residual bias is that it relies on data the company submitted. |
| NICE guidelines (NG222, CG113, NG193, CG173, NG123, NG59) | UK public body | UK | 1 | A | Remit includes cost-effectiveness for the NHS, which can favour cheaper generics. Committee members declare interests. |
| FDA Cymbalta label | FDA-approved, written by Eli Lilly | US | 1 (regulator-approved) / 4 (data source) | A for safety warnings | Legally binding and lists failed trials (FM-3, CLBP-2, OA-2). Efficacy tables come from company trials. |
| Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018 | NIHR Oxford Health BRC; Japan Society for the Promotion of Science | UK / Japan / international | 2 | A | Included unpublished and regulator data to reduce publication bias. 73% of trials had moderate risk of bias. |
| Slee et al., Lancet 2019 | No funding | UK | 2 | A− | Searched Drugs@FDA and company registries. The underlying GAD trials are largely industry-run. |
| Birkinshaw et al., Cochrane 2023 | Academic / Cochrane | UK | 2 | A | Compared 25 antidepressants and has no product to sell. The authors themselves flag very low certainty on safety and a lack of long-term data. |
| Lunn et al., Cochrane 2014 | Cochrane; one author had honoraria from immunoglobulin makers (not duloxetine) | UK | 3 | B+ | Independent analysts, but nearly every trial analysed was performed or sponsored by the manufacturer. The authors call for independent trials. |
| Cipriani et al., Cochrane 2012 | Cochrane; one author had speaking honoraria including from Eli Lilly | Italy / Japan | 3 | B+ | Found no advantage for the sponsor's drug, which is evidence against spin. Most trials were manufacturer-sponsored. |
| Ferreira et al., BMJ 2021 | No support for this work | Australia | 2 | A− | A pain-research group that routinely tests whether benefits are clinically meaningful. Some authors had unrelated industry ties. |
| Smith et al., JAMA 2013 | US National Cancer Institute cooperative networks | US | 1–2 | A− | A publicly funded trial is rare for this drug. The limits are a single trial, 5 weeks long. |
| Henssler et al., Lancet Psychiatry 2024 | No funding; no competing interests | Germany | 2 | A− | Pools all antidepressants rather than duloxetine alone. Heterogeneity was substantial. |
| Turner et al., NEJM 2008 | Academic/VA (US) | US | 2 | A | Compared FDA files with journal articles for 12 antidepressants. Shows why regulator data matter. |
| Eli Lilly 10-K filings | Eli Lilly | US | 4 | A for its own revenue figures | Filed under legal penalty for misstatement. It is the company's own account of the litigation. |
What duloxetine is
Duloxetine is an antidepressant used to treat depression, anxiety and nerve pain. In the UK it is only available on prescription (NHS). Pharmacologically it is a serotonin and norepinephrine (noradrenaline) reuptake inhibitor, or SNRI (FDA label). It is sold as gastro-resistant capsules. The coating lets the contents pass through the stomach intact so that stomach acid does not break down the active substance (EMA Cymbalta EPAR).
- Brand names: Cymbalta (depression, anxiety, nerve pain) and Yentreve (stress urinary incontinence in the EU/UK). Both are authorised to Eli Lilly Nederland B.V. (EMA Cymbalta, EMA Yentreve).
- First approvals: The US FDA approved Cymbalta (NDA 021427, sponsor Lilly) as a new molecular entity on 3 August 2004 (Drugs@FDA). The EU authorised Yentreve on 11 August 2004 and Cymbalta on 17 December 2004 (EMA, EMA).
- Originator: Eli Lilly and Company, headquartered at Lilly Corporate Center, Indianapolis, Indiana, US (Lilly SEC filings).
- Generic status: Cymbalta lost US patent exclusivity in December 2013, "resulting in the immediate entry of several generic competitors" (Lilly 10-K for 2013). Many generic duloxetine capsules are licensed in the UK (eMC listing).
- Prescription status: Prescription-only in both the UK and the US.
How it works
According to the FDA label, the exact mechanisms of duloxetine's antidepressant, pain-inhibiting and anti-anxiety actions in humans are unknown. They are believed to relate to increased serotonergic and noradrenergic activity in the central nervous system. In preclinical studies duloxetine was a potent inhibitor of serotonin and norepinephrine reuptake and a less potent inhibitor of dopamine reuptake. It has no significant affinity for dopaminergic, adrenergic, cholinergic, histaminergic, opioid, glutamate or GABA receptors, and it does not inhibit monoamine oxidase (FDA label §12).
The EMA explains that blocking reuptake leaves more serotonin and noradrenaline between nerve cells in the brain and spinal cord. Because these chemicals are involved in mood and in dampening pain signals, the effect can improve depression, anxiety and neuropathic pain (EMA Cymbalta EPAR). For stress urinary incontinence, the EMA says the mechanism "is not clear". The working theory is that higher serotonin and noradrenaline levels at the nerves controlling the urethral muscle close the urethra more strongly during urine storage (EMA Yentreve EPAR).
Pharmacokinetics that matter in practice:
- The half-life is about 12 hours (range 8–17), and steady state is reached after about 3 days.
- It is cleared mainly by the liver enzymes CYP1A2 and CYP2D6, which drives most of its interactions.
- More than 90% is bound to plasma proteins.
- Smokers have about one-third lower exposure.
- In moderate cirrhosis, exposure rose 5-fold.
What it is prescribed for
Licensed indications differ by country
| Condition | US (FDA, Cymbalta) | UK/EU (Cymbalta, generics, Yentreve) |
|---|---|---|
| Major depressive disorder | Adults | Adults |
| Generalised anxiety disorder | Adults and children 7 years and older | Adults |
| Diabetic peripheral neuropathic pain | Adults | Adults |
| Fibromyalgia | Adults and adolescents 13 years and older | Not licensed; the EMA refused this indication in October 2008 |
| Chronic musculoskeletal pain (low back pain, osteoarthritis) | Adults | Not licensed |
| Stress urinary incontinence | Not licensed | Women with moderate to severe SUI (Yentreve) |
Sources: FDA label, UK SmPC, EMA Yentreve, EMA refusal report. The NHS page also mentions nerve pain such as fibromyalgia, which in the UK is an off-label or guideline-based use (NHS).
Where guidelines place it
- Depression (NICE NG222): Duloxetine is not named individually. NICE says antidepressant treatment "can be" an SSRI, an SNRI or another antidepressant. SSRIs "should be considered as the first choice for most people". Switching to a different class, such as an SNRI, is a further-line option (NICE NG222). In practice this makes duloxetine a second-line option in UK depression care.
- Generalised anxiety disorder (NICE CG113): Offer an SSRI first, with sertraline considered first because it is the most cost-effective. If sertraline is ineffective, offer an alternative SSRI or an SNRI (NICE CG113). This also makes duloxetine second-line.
- Neuropathic pain (NICE CG173): Offer a choice of amitriptyline, duloxetine, gabapentin or pregabalin as initial treatment (except trigeminal neuralgia), so duloxetine is first-line (NICE CG173).
- Chronic primary pain, including fibromyalgia-type pain (NICE NG193): Consider amitriptyline, citalopram, duloxetine, fluoxetine, paroxetine or sertraline for adults after a full discussion of benefits and harms. This was off-label in April 2021 (NICE NG193).
- Low back pain (NICE NG59): "Do not offer selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors, serotonin–norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors or tricyclic antidepressants for managing low back pain" (NICE NG59). The UK advice is therefore not recommended, even though the FDA licenses duloxetine for chronic low back pain.
- Stress urinary incontinence (NICE NG123): Do not use duloxetine first-line, and do not routinely offer it second-line. It may be offered second-line if a woman prefers drug treatment to surgery or is not suitable for surgery (NICE NG123).
What works and what does not
| Claimed benefit | Verdict | Evidence | Key caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Major depression (adults) | WORKS | Response OR 1.85 vs placebo in the largest independent network meta-analysis (Cipriani 2018). | No efficacy advantage over other antidepressants in head-to-head trials, and more dropouts than escitalopram and venlafaxine (Cochrane 2012). |
| Generalised anxiety disorder (adults) | WORKS | Largest HAM-A effect among well-tolerated drugs (MD −3.13) (Slee 2019). | A 3-point HAM-A difference is modest. NICE still prefers an SSRI first. |
| Painful diabetic neuropathy | WORKS | NNTB 5 for ≥50% pain relief at 60 mg (Cochrane 2014). | Short-term (12-week) trials, all by the manufacturer. The FDA label also notes worsened blood sugar control in some patients. |
| Chemotherapy-induced neuropathic pain | MIXED | A publicly funded RCT showed a modest benefit: a 0.73-point difference on a 0–10 scale (Smith 2013). | A single 5-week crossover trial. Not a licensed indication. |
| Fibromyalgia | MIXED | NNTB 8 at 12 weeks (Cochrane 2014). FDA-licensed. | The EMA found the effect "at best rather smaller" than other therapies, and the only study that included EU patients was negative. The effect may work partly through mood (EMA 2008). |
| Chronic low back pain | MIXED | SNRIs: −5.30/100 for pain (Ferreira 2021). | Judged "not clinically important". NICE says do not offer. One of the FDA-listed low back pain trials (CLBP-2) failed. |
| Osteoarthritis pain | MIXED | SNRIs: −9.72/100 at 3–13 weeks, low certainty (Ferreira 2021). | A clinically important effect "cannot be excluded". One FDA-listed OA trial (OA-2) did not show efficacy. |
| Stress urinary incontinence | MIXED | About 50% fewer leaks and better quality of life (Cochrane 2005). | No objective cure. Benefit was only in women with more than 14 episodes a week (EMA). NICE advises against routine use. |
| Central neuropathic pain | INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE | No effect in a single small trial (Cochrane 2014). | Too little data to conclude. |
| Depression in children and adolescents | DOES NOT WORK / NOT ESTABLISHED | Two 10-week trials in 800 children aged 7–17 failed to show efficacy (FDA label §8.4). | The UK SmPC says it should not be used in under-18s for depression. |
| Long-term pain relief (more than 6 months) | INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE | "No reliable evidence for the long-term efficacy of any antidepressant" for chronic pain (Cochrane 2023). | The average trial lasted 10 weeks. |
| Doses above 60 mg for extra benefit | INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE | The FDA label says there is "no evidence that doses greater than 60 mg/day confer any additional benefits" in depression, fibromyalgia or musculoskeletal pain (FDA label §2). | Higher doses cause more side effects. The UK SmPC allows escalation in GAD and in diabetic neuropathic pain for some patients. |
Benefits by claim
Depression
The most complete independent comparison is the Oxford-led network meta-analysis of 522 double-blind trials (116,477 participants). It searched unpublished trials and regulatory websites as well as journals. Every one of the 21 antidepressants beat placebo, with odds ratios for response ranging from 2.13 (amitriptyline) to 1.37 (reboxetine) (Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018). In the study's forest plot of all trials against placebo, duloxetine's response OR was 1.85 (95% CrI 1.66–2.07), behind amitriptyline and mirtazapine. Its acceptability OR, which measures dropout for any reason, was 1.09 (0.96–1.23), meaning no significant difference from placebo (Cipriani 2018, figure 3). In the head-to-head analysis, duloxetine was among the drugs with the highest dropout rates (ORs 1.30–2.32 for that group).
What an OR of 1.85 means clinically: response is common on placebo too. That is why effect sizes shrink when trials are pooled honestly. In Lilly's four pivotal US depression trials, the drug–placebo difference on the 17-item Hamilton scale ranged from −2.2 to −4.9 points (FDA label, Table 8). In one of those trials, for example, placebo patients improved by 8.3 points and duloxetine patients by 10.5. Most of the improvement seen on the drug is therefore also seen on placebo. The drug adds a real but moderate increment. Published literature can also overstate antidepressant benefit. An FDA-records analysis of 12 antidepressants found that 94% of published trials looked positive, compared with 51% in the FDA's own analysis, and that publication inflated effect sizes by 32% overall (Turner et al., NEJM 2008). This is why the independent reviews above deliberately included unpublished data.
Against other antidepressants, a Cochrane review of 16 head-to-head RCTs found no statistically significant efficacy differences. More patients dropped out on duloxetine than on escitalopram (OR 1.62, 95% CI 1.01–2.62) or venlafaxine (OR 1.56, 1.14–2.15) (Cipriani et al., Cochrane 2012). For relapse prevention, patients who responded to duloxetine and continued it had a longer time to relapse than those switched to placebo (FDA label, Study MDD-5).
Generalised anxiety disorder
An unfunded UCL network meta-analysis covered 89 trials and 25,441 patients. Duloxetine (MD −3.13), pregabalin (−2.79), venlafaxine (−2.69) and escitalopram (−2.45) were more effective than placebo "with relatively good acceptability". Quetiapine had a larger effect (−3.60) but was poorly tolerated (Slee et al., Lancet 2019). A 3-point average difference on the Hamilton Anxiety scale is meaningful but modest. NICE still recommends trying an SSRI (sertraline) first for cost-effectiveness reasons (NICE CG113).
Diabetic nerve pain
Cochrane found duloxetine 60 mg daily effective for painful diabetic peripheral neuropathy in the short term. The chance of at least 50% pain reduction at 12 weeks had an RR of 1.73 (95% CI 1.44–2.08), and the number needed to treat for one extra person to benefit was 5 (4–7). Lower daily doses did not work. The reviewers concluded there was "adequate amounts of moderate quality evidence from eight studies performed by the manufacturers" and that further trials were not required (Lunn et al., Cochrane 2014). NICE lists duloxetine as one of four first-choice options (NICE CG173). The UK SmPC advises assessing response after 2 months, as extra response after that is unlikely (UK SmPC).
Chronic pain across conditions
The 2023 Cochrane network meta-analysis compared 25 antidepressants across 176 trials. It concluded that "the only antidepressant we are certain about for the treatment of chronic pain is duloxetine". Duloxetine 60 mg gave substantial pain relief with OR 1.91 (1.69–2.17) and reduced pain intensity with SMD −0.31 (−0.39 to −0.24), both moderate-certainty evidence. The standard dose worked as well as a high dose (Birkinshaw et al., Cochrane 2023). The same authors stress several limits:
- Trials excluded people with low mood.
- There is no reliable long-term evidence.
- Safety evidence was very low certainty.
- The findings "should not be read as an encouragement to prescribe antidepressants where other non-pharmacological intervention could be equally effective" (Birkinshaw et al., HTA 2024).
Fibromyalgia
Cochrane reported RR 1.57 for ≥50% pain relief at 12 weeks (NNTB 8) and RR 1.58 at 28 weeks. It noted that an NNTB of 8 "is not an indication of substantial efficacy" and that the benefit may come more from improved mental symptoms than from reduced physical pain (Lunn et al., Cochrane 2014). When Lilly applied to add fibromyalgia to the European licence, the EMA's scientific committee concluded in October 2008 that the benefit/risk balance "remains negative". It found that the effect size "is at best rather smaller than the one observed for other therapies", that the data "show a clear link between drug effect and mood", and that "the only study including EU patients was negative" (EMA refusal assessment report). The FDA label lists one adult fibromyalgia trial (FM-3, 16 weeks) that did not demonstrate efficacy (FDA label §14).
Back pain and osteoarthritis
An independent BMJ meta-analysis of 33 trials found moderate-certainty evidence that SNRIs (mainly duloxetine) reduce back pain by 5.30 points on a 0–100 scale at 3–13 weeks. The authors concluded this effect is "small and not clinically important". For osteoarthritis the reduction was 9.72 points (low certainty), and a clinically important effect "cannot be excluded" (Ferreira et al., BMJ 2021). This is the clearest example of a gap between regulatory approval (the FDA's chronic musculoskeletal pain licence) and independent judgement of clinical value.
Stress urinary incontinence
Cochrane pooled 9 RCTs (3,327 adults). Duloxetine improved incontinence quality of life (WMD 5.26) and roughly halved leak frequency. Objective pad-test measures showed no benefit, and subjective cure favoured duloxetine by only 3%. About one in three reported treatment-related side effects, most often nausea, and about one in eight stopped because of them (Mariappan et al., Cochrane 2005). In the EMA summary, leaks fell by 52% on Yentreve vs 33% on placebo. The drug beat placebo only in women with more than 14 episodes a week (EMA Yentreve).
Risks and all side effects
The NHS lists these common side effects (NHS):
- headaches
- nausea and vomiting
- dizziness or drowsiness
- dry mouth
- diarrhoea or constipation
- insomnia
- sexual problems
- weight loss
Most ease within a couple of weeks. In pooled US placebo-controlled trials (8,100 on duloxetine vs 5,655 on placebo), the most frequent effects were those below. Across trials, 8.4% (depression) to 17.5% (fibromyalgia) of patients stopped because of side effects, versus 4.6% to 10.1% on placebo (FDA label §6.1).
| Side effect / concern | Frequency (duloxetine vs placebo) | Dose relationship | Practical note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nausea | 23% vs 8% | Yes (dose-dependent) | The most common reason for stopping. It usually eases. | FDA Table 2 |
| Headache | 14% vs 12% | — | Barely above placebo. | FDA Table 2 |
| Dry mouth | 13% vs 5% | — | — | FDA Table 2 |
| Somnolence (sleepiness) | 10% vs 3% | — | Do not drive if affected. | FDA Table 2; SmPC 4.7 |
| Fatigue, insomnia, constipation, dizziness | 9% each vs 4–5% | Fatigue, constipation and dizziness are dose-dependent | — | FDA Table 2 |
| Decreased appetite | 7% vs 2% | Yes | Children: 16% vs 6% had ≥3.5% weight loss; monitor growth. | FDA §6.1, §8.4 |
| Excess sweating | 6% vs 1% | Yes | — | FDA Table 2 |
| Sexual dysfunction | Erectile dysfunction 4% vs 1%; decreased libido 3% vs 1%; abnormal orgasm 2% vs <1% (depression/GAD trials) | — | Men had significantly worse scores on a sexual-function scale. The UK SmPC warns of long-lasting sexual dysfunction continuing after stopping SSRIs/SNRIs. | FDA §5.16, Table 3, Table 5; SmPC 4.4 |
| Raised blood pressure | Small mean increases; hypertensive crisis reported | Larger at supratherapeutic doses | Check blood pressure before starting and periodically. The UK SmPC contraindicates starting it with uncontrolled hypertension. | FDA §5.11; SmPC 4.3 |
| Orthostatic hypotension, falls, fainting | More falls than placebo | Higher above 60 mg/day | Mostly in the first week or after dose increases. Serious falls with fractures have been reported. | FDA §5.3 |
| Worsened blood sugar control (diabetes) | Up to 52 weeks: HbA1c +0.5% vs +0.2% on routine care | — | Relevant in diabetic nerve pain. | FDA §5.14 |
| Urinary hesitation and retention | Postmarketing cases; some needed catheterisation | — | Report difficulty passing urine. | FDA §5.15 |
| Akathisia (restlessness) | Reported | Increasing the dose may make it worse | Most likely in the first few weeks. | SmPC 4.4 |
| Suicidal thoughts and behaviour (boxed warning) | Across antidepressants: +14 cases per 1,000 treated under 18; +5 at 18–24; −1 at 25–64; −6 at 65 and over | Watch at the start and after dose changes | Family observation advised. Seek urgent help. | FDA Boxed Warning, §5.1 |
| Liver injury and hepatic failure | ALT >3× ULN 1.25% vs 0.45%; 0.3% stopped for transaminase rises; median detection about 2 months | Dose-response for ALT/AST rises | Stop if jaundice develops. Avoid with substantial alcohol use or chronic liver disease. | FDA §5.2 |
| Serotonin syndrome | Rare | Higher with other serotonergic drugs | Symptoms: agitation, fever, sweating, tremor, rigidity, fast heart rate. Emergency. | FDA §5.4; NHS |
| Bleeding (including GI bleeding and postpartum haemorrhage) | Increased risk | Higher with NSAIDs, aspirin, anticoagulants | Tell your prescriber about blood thinners and painkillers. | FDA §5.5 |
| Hyponatraemia (low sodium) | Cases below 110 mmol/L | Older adults, diuretics, dehydration | Symptoms: headache, confusion, unsteadiness, seizures. | FDA §5.13 |
| Severe skin reactions (Stevens–Johnson syndrome) | Reporting rate above background | — | Stop at the first sign of blisters or peeling rash. | FDA §5.6 |
| Mania or hypomania; seizures; angle-closure glaucoma | Mania 0.1% vs 0.04% in depression trials; seizures 0.02% vs 0.01% | — | Screen for bipolar disorder before starting. Use caution with epilepsy or narrow-angle glaucoma. | FDA §5.8–5.10 |
Withdrawal (discontinuation) symptoms
The UK SmPC states that withdrawal symptoms are common, particularly after abrupt stopping. In clinical trials, adverse events after abrupt discontinuation occurred in about 45% of patients on duloxetine and 23% on placebo. Symptoms usually start within the first few days and are generally mild to moderate, but can be severe. The SmPC advises reducing the dose over at least one to two weeks (UK SmPC). The FDA label lists these symptoms after stopping: dizziness, headache, nausea, diarrhoea, paraesthesia, irritability, vomiting, insomnia, anxiety, excessive sweating and fatigue. For SSRIs and SNRIs generally it also notes "electric shock sensations", confusion, tinnitus and seizures (FDA label §5.7).
An unfunded 2024 meta-analysis across all antidepressants put the incidence of at least one discontinuation symptom at 31% after stopping an antidepressant and 17% after stopping placebo. Severe symptoms occurred in 2.8% vs 0.6%. It estimated the drug-attributable incidence at about 15%, or one in six to seven patients. Venlafaxine and desvenlafaxine, the SNRIs most similar to duloxetine, were among those with more frequent symptoms. The review did not single out duloxetine (Henssler et al., Lancet Psychiatry 2024). The NHS says your doctor will reduce the dose gradually "over several weeks or months" (NHS).
Dependence: duloxetine is not a drug of addiction in the classic sense. There was no drug-seeking behaviour in trials, and it showed no dependence-producing potential in rats (FDA label §9). The body does adapt to it, however, which is why withdrawal symptoms occur. NICE addresses antidepressants in its guidance on medicines associated with dependence or withdrawal symptoms (NICE NG193).
All interactions
| Interacts with | Examples | Severity | Mechanism | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MAOI antidepressants | Phenelzine, tranylcypromine, isocarboxazid; moclobemide (UK: not recommended); selegiline (listed by NHS) | Contraindicated | Serotonin syndrome | Wait 14 days after stopping an MAOI before starting duloxetine, and 5 days after stopping duloxetine before starting an MAOI. |
| Linezolid, IV methylene blue | Antibiotic linezolid; methylene blue injection | Contraindicated to start | MAO inhibition, leading to serotonin syndrome | Specialist decision. Duloxetine may need to be stopped first. |
| Potent CYP1A2 inhibitors | Fluvoxamine, ciprofloxacin, enoxacin; also cimetidine | Avoid (UK: contraindicated) | Fluvoxamine raised duloxetine exposure about 6-fold | Do not combine. |
| Thioridazine | Thioridazine | Do not co-administer | CYP2D6 inhibition; risk of serious ventricular arrhythmia | Do not combine. |
| Other serotonergic drugs | SSRIs, other SNRIs, triptans, tricyclics, tramadol, fentanyl, methadone, pethidine (meperidine), lithium, buspirone, amphetamines, tryptophan, St John's wort | High caution | Additive serotonin | Monitor, especially when starting or raising doses. The NHS says do not use St John's wort. |
| Anticoagulants and antiplatelets | Warfarin, apixaban, clopidogrel, aspirin | High caution | Serotonin's role in platelet function, giving additive bleeding risk | Monitor when starting or stopping (for example INR on warfarin). |
| NSAIDs | Ibuprofen, naproxen, diclofenac, aspirin | Moderate to high | Raised risk of upper GI bleeding | Ask a pharmacist before buying over-the-counter painkillers. |
| Alcohol | Heavy or substantial drinking | Avoid heavy use | Possible combined liver injury | The NHS advises it is best not to drink. The FDA advises against prescribing to people with substantial alcohol use. |
| Potent CYP2D6 inhibitors | Paroxetine, fluoxetine, quinidine | Moderate | Paroxetine raised duloxetine levels by about 60% | Prescriber review. |
| CYP2D6 substrates with a narrow margin | Nortriptyline, amitriptyline, imipramine, desipramine (AUC up 3-fold), phenothiazines, flecainide, propafenone | Moderate to high | Duloxetine is a moderate CYP2D6 inhibitor | Levels or doses may need adjusting. |
| Blood-pressure-lowering drugs | Antihypertensives | Moderate | Additive orthostatic hypotension | Watch for dizziness on standing and falls. |
| Diuretics | Thiazides and others | Moderate | Higher hyponatraemia risk | Sodium monitoring, especially in older adults. |
| Other CNS-active drugs | Sedatives, opioids, benzodiazepines, other antidepressants | Moderate | Additive central effects | Use with caution. |
| Other duloxetine products | Cymbalta plus Yentreve or a generic | Avoid duplication | Same active substance | Only one duloxetine product at a time. |
| Smoking | Tobacco | Low | About one-third lower exposure | No dose change recommended. |
| Antacids, famotidine | Aluminium/magnesium antacids | Low | No significant effect on absorption | No action. The effect of proton pump inhibitors is unknown. |
Sources: FDA label §4, §5.12, §7; UK SmPC 4.3–4.5; NHS.
Who should avoid duloxetine
- Must not use (contraindications):
- allergy to duloxetine
- current or recent MAOI use
- liver disease resulting in hepatic impairment
- severe kidney impairment (creatinine clearance below 30 mL/min)
- use with fluvoxamine, ciprofloxacin or enoxacin
- starting treatment with uncontrolled high blood pressure
- Needs specialist caution: epilepsy, heart disease, glaucoma, or a history of mania (NHS). Also bipolar disorder, a recent heart attack or unstable coronary disease (these patients were excluded from trials), conditions that slow stomach emptying, and bleeding disorders (FDA §5).
- Children and young people: In the US it is licensed for GAD from age 7 and fibromyalgia from age 13. It failed in two paediatric depression trials (FDA §8.4). In the UK it should not be used under 18 for depression (UK SmPC). The boxed suicidality warning applies up to age 24.
- Pregnancy: The NHS says duloxetine can be used in pregnancy if needed, at the lowest effective dose, and hospital birth may be advised (NHS). The UK SmPC reports several findings:
- Two large observational studies (about 2,500 and 1,500 first-trimester exposures) do not suggest an overall increased risk of major malformations.
- In the EU study, late-pregnancy use was linked to preterm birth: less than 2-fold, or about 6 extra premature births per 100 women.
- US data show a less than 2-fold increased risk of postpartum haemorrhage with use in the month before birth.
- A possible persistent pulmonary hypertension of the newborn signal is described for SSRIs.
- Breastfeeding: The NHS says it is sometimes used and it is rare for babies to have side effects, but check with your doctor (NHS). The UK SmPC does not recommend it while breastfeeding. It estimates the infant dose at about 0.14% of the maternal dose (mg/kg) (UK SmPC). The FDA notes reports of sedation, poor feeding and poor weight gain in exposed infants (FDA §8.2).
- Older adults: The American Geriatrics Society 2023 Beers Criteria say to avoid SNRIs in people with a history of falls or fractures unless safer alternatives are not available, noting "newer evidence suggests that SNRIs may increase falls risk". They also advise using SNRIs with caution because of hyponatraemia/SIADH, with close sodium monitoring (AGS Beers Criteria 2023). The FDA label reports more falls than on placebo, and hyponatraemia more often in older people (FDA §8.5).
- Liver and kidneys: In moderate cirrhosis, clearance fell to about 15% of normal, with a 5-fold rise in exposure. In end-stage kidney disease on dialysis, duloxetine levels doubled and major metabolite levels rose 7- to 9-fold (FDA §8.9–8.10).
Dosage and how to take it
Your prescriber sets the dose. The figures below are the official licensed adult ranges from the regulators' product information, reproduced for reference only. They are not personal dosing advice.
| Indication (adults) | US FDA label | UK SmPC / EMA |
|---|---|---|
| Major depression | Start 40–60 mg/day (some start at 30 mg for 1 week). Maintenance 60 mg/day. Maximum 120 mg/day, but no evidence that more than 60 mg adds benefit. | 60 mg once daily start and maintenance. Up to 120 mg/day evaluated for safety. |
| Generalised anxiety disorder | 60 mg once daily (30 mg start in some patients and in over-65s). Maximum 120 mg/day. | Start 30 mg; usual maintenance 60 mg. 90–120 mg may be considered. |
| Diabetic neuropathic pain | 60 mg once daily. Higher doses are not more effective and are less well tolerated. | 60 mg daily. Up to 120 mg/day in divided doses for some patients. Review at 2 months. |
| Fibromyalgia / chronic musculoskeletal pain (US only) | 30 mg for 1 week, then 60 mg once daily. Maximum 60 mg. | Not licensed. |
| Stress urinary incontinence (Yentreve, UK/EU) | Not licensed. | 40 mg twice daily. Some start at 20 mg twice daily for 2 weeks. |
Sources: FDA label §2; UK SmPC 4.2; EMA Yentreve.
- How to take it: Swallow the capsule whole with water, with or without food, once or twice a day as prescribed (NHS). Do not crush, chew or open the capsule, because this can damage the enteric coating (FDA §2.1).
- Missed dose: Take it when you remember, unless it is nearly time for the next one. Never double up (NHS).
- Too much: Taking an extra dose can be dangerous. In the UK, call NHS 111. If told to go to A&E, do not drive yourself (NHS).
- How long before it works: For depression, a response is usually seen after 2–4 weeks (UK SmPC). In the diabetic nerve pain trials, pain reduction was seen from the first week (EMA Cymbalta). After a response, treatment usually continues for several months to prevent relapse.
- How to stop: Only under supervision, by tapering. The SmPC minimum is one to two weeks. The NHS describes reductions over several weeks or months. If symptoms are intolerable, the prescriber may return to the previous dose and then reduce more slowly (UK SmPC, NHS).
Follow the money: who makes it and who funded the evidence
Who makes and sells it
Duloxetine was developed and first licensed by Eli Lilly and Company, based in Indianapolis, Indiana, US (Drugs@FDA, Lilly 10-K). In Europe, both Cymbalta and Yentreve are authorised to Eli Lilly Nederland B.V. in Utrecht, the Netherlands (EMA). Since patents expired, many generic companies make it. UK product listings include generics from Dr. Reddy's, Milpharm, Neuraxpharm, Zentiva and Amarox, among others (eMC).
How much money was at stake
Lilly's own annual report for 2013 shows Cymbalta worldwide revenue of $5,084.4 million in 2013 ($3,960.8 million in the US), up from $4,994.1 million in 2012. That made it the company's largest product, at 17% of worldwide revenue (Eli Lilly 10-K for fiscal 2013). US patent exclusivity ended in December 2013, and generic competitors entered immediately.
Who funded the pivotal trials
- The trials behind the licences were Lilly's. The FDA label's efficacy sections describe the company's studies (MDD-1 to MDD-5, GAD-1 to GAD-6, DPNP-1/2, FM-1 to FM-4, CLBP-1 to CLBP-3, OA-1/2). To its credit, the label also lists trials that failed: FM-3, CLBP-2 and OA-2 (FDA label §14).
- Cochrane's pain review states that "almost every study [was] performed or sponsored by the drug manufacturer". It called for "preferably independent investigator led studies" (Lunn et al., Cochrane 2014).
- Cochrane's depression comparison states that "most of included studies were sponsored by the drug industry manufacturing duloxetine" and warns of possible "overestimation of treatment effect due to sponsorship bias" (Cipriani et al., Cochrane 2012).
Who funded the independent reviews
- The Oxford-led depression network meta-analysis was funded by the UK's NIHR and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (Cipriani 2018).
- The UCL anxiety network meta-analysis received no funding (Slee 2019).
- The German discontinuation meta-analysis received no funding, and its authors declared no competing interests (Henssler 2024).
- The only large publicly funded duloxetine trial we found in this review ran through US National Cancer Institute cooperative networks (Smith 2013).
The independent reviews confirm that duloxetine works for its core indications. They also consistently temper the size and practical value of the benefit, especially for fibromyalgia and back pain.
Documented regulatory and legal events
- EMA refusal (2008): Europe's regulator rejected Lilly's application to add fibromyalgia. It judged the benefit/risk balance negative and noted the effect was linked to mood (EMA refusal report). The US FDA licenses the same indication.
- Discontinuation litigation: Lilly disclosed that it was named in a purported US class action (Saavedra et al. v. Eli Lilly and Company, filed October 2012) and in about 45 individual lawsuits. Both concerned alleged injuries from discontinuing Cymbalta. The district court denied class certification in December 2014, and a request for multi-district litigation was denied the same month. Lilly stated it believed the claims were "without merit" (Eli Lilly 10-K for fiscal 2014). We did not verify the final outcomes of these cases for this article.
- Publication bias context: An analysis of FDA files found that, across antidepressants, negative trials were often unpublished or published as positive (Turner et al., NEJM 2008). This is a class-wide finding, not a finding about duloxetine specifically.
Related research
For wider, evidence-graded context, see these Pure City Research guides:
- Stress, anxiety and depression: prevention and management guide
- Supplements for stress, anxiety and depression: the evidence
- St John's wort (do not combine with duloxetine)
- Saffron for depression
- Sleep: prevention and management guide
- Magnesium
Sibling medicine reviews:
Frequently asked questions
How long does duloxetine take to work?
For depression, a response is usually seen after 2–4 weeks of treatment (UK SmPC). In diabetic nerve pain trials, some pain reduction appeared from the first week. The UK product information advises judging response at about 2 months, because extra benefit after that is unlikely (EMA). Early side effects such as nausea usually ease within a couple of weeks (NHS).
Can you drink alcohol on duloxetine?
The NHS says it is best not to drink alcohol while taking duloxetine, as it can increase the risk of side effects (NHS). The FDA label goes further. Duloxetine taken with heavy alcohol intake may be associated with severe liver injury, so it should not be prescribed to people with substantial alcohol use (FDA label §5.2, §7.15).
Does duloxetine cause weight gain?
In short-term trials the pattern was the opposite. Decreased appetite occurred in 7% on duloxetine vs 2% on placebo in adults, and the NHS lists weight loss as a common side effect. In children, 16% vs 6% lost at least 3.5% of their body weight over 10 weeks (FDA label, NHS). The sources we reviewed did not provide long-term adult weight data, so weight changes over years are not covered here.
How do I stop duloxetine safely?
Do not stop suddenly. In trials, about 45% of people who stopped abruptly had withdrawal-type symptoms, compared with 23% on placebo (UK SmPC). Your prescriber will reduce the dose gradually, which the NHS describes as over several weeks or months. If symptoms become intolerable, they may go back to the previous dose and taper more slowly (NHS, FDA §5.7).
Is duloxetine better than other antidepressants?
For depression, not clearly. A Cochrane review found no significant efficacy difference against other antidepressants, and more dropouts than with escitalopram or venlafaxine (Cochrane 2012). NICE recommends SSRIs as the first choice for most people (NICE NG222). Its distinctive advantage is chronic pain. Cochrane found it is the only antidepressant with reliable pain evidence (Cochrane 2023).
Is duloxetine bad for your liver?
Serious liver injury is uncommon but real. The FDA label reports hepatic failure, sometimes fatal. Liver enzyme rises above 3 times normal occurred in 1.25% of patients on duloxetine vs 0.45% on placebo, typically detected around two months in. Duloxetine should be stopped if jaundice appears and avoided in chronic liver disease or with substantial alcohol use (FDA label §5.2). Get urgent advice for yellow skin or eyes, dark urine or upper-right abdominal pain.
Can duloxetine cause sexual side effects that last?
Sexual problems are common on SNRIs. The UK product information warns of reports of long-lasting sexual dysfunction that continued after SSRIs/SNRIs were stopped (UK SmPC 4.4). The FDA advises prescribers to ask about sexual function before and during treatment (FDA §5.16).
Can I take ibuprofen or St John's wort with duloxetine?
Ask a pharmacist first. NSAIDs such as ibuprofen and aspirin add to duloxetine's bleeding risk. The NHS says not to use St John's wort with duloxetine because of serotonin syndrome risk (NHS, FDA §5.4–5.5).
Sources and funding notes
- NHS, Duloxetine medicine page (reviewed 18 June 2026): UK National Health Service, publicly funded. No commercial sponsor.
- FDA-approved prescribing information, Cymbalta (Eli Lilly; label effective July 2025) via DailyMed: US regulator-approved text written by the manufacturer. Efficacy data come from Lilly trials.
- Drugs@FDA, NDA 021427 (Cymbalta): US FDA approval record, government.
- EMA, Cymbalta EPAR and EMA, Yentreve EPAR: EU regulator summaries. Marketing authorisation holder is Eli Lilly Nederland B.V.
- EMA/CHMP, Refusal assessment report, Cymbalta fibromyalgia variation (23 October 2008): EU regulator. Independent of the applicant, but assessing the applicant's data.
- UK Summary of Product Characteristics, duloxetine 60 mg gastro-resistant capsules (Amarox Limited, revised 29/05/2025): MHRA-authorised generic label. Its wording mirrors the originator's.
- electronic Medicines Compendium, duloxetine product listing: UK database of licensed product information. Used only to identify generic licence holders.
- NICE NG222, Depression in adults (2022): UK public guideline body.
- NICE CG113, Generalised anxiety disorder and panic disorder in adults: UK public guideline body.
- NICE NG193, Chronic pain (primary and secondary) in over 16s: UK public guideline body.
- NICE CG173, Neuropathic pain in adults: pharmacological management: UK public guideline body.
- NICE NG123, Urinary incontinence and pelvic organ prolapse in women: UK public guideline body.
- NICE NG59, Low back pain and sciatica in over 16s: UK public guideline body.
- Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018 (open-access full text): funded by NIHR Oxford Health Biomedical Research Centre and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science. UK-led international academic team.
- Slee et al., Lancet 2019: University College London (UK). "No funding was received for this research."
- Lunn, Hughes & Wiffen, Cochrane 2014: Cochrane (UK). The authors note almost every included trial was performed or sponsored by the manufacturer. One author declared honoraria from immunoglobulin manufacturers (unrelated to duloxetine).
- Birkinshaw et al., Cochrane 2023 and HTA 2024 version: academic team (University of Southampton, UK). Most authors declared no relevant interests.
- Cipriani et al., Cochrane 2012 (duloxetine vs other antidepressants): Cochrane (University of Verona, Italy). The authors note most trials were manufacturer-sponsored. One co-author declared speaking honoraria from several companies, including Eli Lilly.
- Mariappan et al., Cochrane 2005 (SNRIs for stress urinary incontinence): Cochrane (Edinburgh, UK). Conflict of interest "None known". Funding of the underlying trials not stated in the abstract.
- Ferreira et al., BMJ 2021: University of Sydney (Australia). No support for the submitted work. Some authors had unrelated industry ties.
- Smith et al., JAMA 2013: US National Cancer Institute-funded cooperative group trial (Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology). Publicly funded.
- Henssler et al., Lancet Psychiatry 2024: German academic team. "Funding: None." Authors declared no competing interests.
- Turner et al., NEJM 2008: academic and US Veterans Affairs authors (Oregon, US). Based on FDA review documents.
- American Geriatrics Society 2023 Updated Beers Criteria: US professional society. Panel conflicts disclosed and conflicted panellists recused.
- Eli Lilly and Company, Form 10-K for fiscal 2013 and Form 10-K for fiscal 2014: manufacturer's statutory SEC filings (US). The company's own figures and legal characterisations.
Last reviewed: 26 September 2026. Educational information from Pure City Research, not medical advice. Medicine decisions belong with a qualified prescriber.
Have a question — or want us to cover something?
Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.
One daily research roundup
Get the topics, key findings and links from our new articles in one email. At most one digest a day, only when there is something new.
