- Fluoxetine (Prozac) is a prescription-only SSRI antidepressant, licensed in the UK for depression, obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) and bulimia nervosa. In the US it is also licensed for panic disorder (NHS, FDA label).
- For adult depression, a publicly funded analysis of 522 trials found every antidepressant beat placebo. Fluoxetine was one of only two with fewer dropouts than placebo (OR 0.88), but in head-to-head trials it was among the least effective (Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018).
- For children and young people, NICE says that when an antidepressant is used it should be fluoxetine, and only alongside psychological therapy. In an independent network meta-analysis it was the only antidepressant clearly better than placebo (NICE NG134, Cipriani et al., Lancet 2016).
- Cochrane rates the average benefit in young people as "small and unimportant" on a symptom scale, while noting that some individuals may respond more (Hetrick et al., Cochrane 2021).
- The FDA boxed warning covers an increased risk of suicidal thoughts and behaviour in children, adolescents and young adults. In short-term trials this meant 14 extra cases per 1,000 patients under 18 and 5 per 1,000 aged 18–24 (FDA label).
- Fluoxetine stays in the body a very long time. Its active metabolite norfluoxetine has a half-life of 4–16 days. This softens withdrawal but makes interactions last for weeks: at least 5 weeks must pass before starting an MAOI (FDA label, NICE NG222).
- Evidence grade: Strong for adult depression, OCD and bulimia (short term). Moderate for young people. Most of the trial base was funded by industry.
Independent evidence review · Prescription medicine
Fluoxetine was approved in 1987, and nearly four decades later it is still the reference antidepressant for young people. Independent reviews agree that it works better than placebo for depression, OCD and bulimia, and that it is one of the easiest antidepressants to stay on. Most of its advantage over placebo is modest, it is not the strongest antidepressant in head-to-head trials, and its long half-life cuts both ways. NICE puts talking therapies first for less severe depression and pairs medication with therapy for young people. Decisions about starting, changing or stopping fluoxetine belong with a prescriber (NICE NG222, NICE NG134).
Fluoxetine is a prescription medicine. Do not start it, stop it or change the dose without the prescriber who manages your treatment. Antidepressants can increase suicidal thoughts and behaviour in children, teenagers and young adults, mainly in the first months and after dose changes. Families and carers should watch for new or worse agitation, restlessness, anxiety, hostility or low mood (FDA label). If you or someone you care for has thoughts of self-harm or suicide, get urgent help now. In the UK call NHS 111 or 999, or go to A&E. Elsewhere, contact local emergency services or a crisis line. If you have taken more than your prescribed dose, NHS 111 says to get help straight away (NHS). Fluoxetine can affect judgement and motor skills, so do not drive until you know how it affects you. The NHS advises not drinking alcohol while taking it.
Table of contents
- Evidence summary
- What fluoxetine is
- How it works
- What it is prescribed for
- What works and what does not
- Benefits by claim
- Risks and all side effects
- All interactions
- Who should avoid fluoxetine
- Dosage and how to take it
- Follow the money: who makes it and who funded the evidence
- Related research
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources and funding notes
Evidence summary
This table summarises the main claims about fluoxetine. The most independent evidence comes first.
| Claim | Evidence | Source | Funding / conflict | Strength |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fluoxetine beats placebo for acute adult major depression and is well tolerated | Network meta-analysis of 522 trials (116,477 participants). All 21 antidepressants beat placebo. For acceptability, only fluoxetine (OR 0.88, 95% CrI 0.80–0.96) and agomelatine had fewer dropouts than placebo. | Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018 | Funded by the UK NIHR Oxford Health BRC and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, and the funder had no role in the study. 409 of the 522 underlying trials (78%) were funded by drug companies. Some authors declared industry fees, including lecture fees from Eli Lilly. | Strong (certainty moderate to very low per comparison) |
| Fluoxetine is less effective than some newer options in head-to-head trials | In head-to-head trials, fluoxetine was grouped among the least effective drugs (ORs 0.51–0.84). Cochrane found it less effective than sertraline (OR 1.37; NNT 13), mirtazapine and venlafaxine. | Cipriani 2018; Magni et al., Cochrane 2013 | The Cochrane review says most included studies were sponsored by drug companies. One author declared honoraria from Eli Lilly and others. | Moderate |
| Fluoxetine is the antidepressant of choice for depression in children and young people | In a 34-trial network meta-analysis, only fluoxetine was statistically better than placebo (SMD −0.51, 95% CrI −0.99 to −0.03), and quality was very low for most comparisons. NICE says it is the only antidepressant with trial evidence that benefits outweigh risks. | Cipriani et al., Lancet 2016; NICE NG134 | Meta-analysis funded by China's National Basic Research Program (973). NICE is funded by the UK government. | Moderate |
| Size of benefit in young people is small on average | Fluoxetine vs placebo: MD −2.84 points (95% CI −4.12 to −1.56) on the CDRS-R scale, which runs from 17 to 113. Moderate certainty. Cochrane calls the effect "small and unimportant" on average. | Hetrick et al., Cochrane 2021 | Funded by public and charitable bodies in New Zealand and Australia. The lead author runs a fluoxetine trial, and another author could profit from a digital therapy. | Moderate |
| Fluoxetine plus CBT works best for adolescent depression in a publicly funded trial | TADS (439 teenagers, 12 weeks). Response rates were 71.0% for combination treatment, 60.6% for fluoxetine alone, 43.2% for CBT alone and 34.8% for placebo. | March et al., JAMA 2004 | Lead sponsor was the US National Institute of Mental Health (NCT00006286). | Strong (single large trial) |
| Increased suicidal thinking and behaviour in under-25s | FDA pooled trials show 14 extra cases per 1,000 patients under 18 and 5 per 1,000 aged 18–24, and fewer cases than placebo in people aged 65 and over. No suicides occurred in the paediatric trials. | FDA label; Hammad et al., 2006; Stone et al., BMJ 2009 | Analyses by FDA staff. The underlying data came mostly from company-run trials. | Established risk |
| OCD symptoms improve vs placebo | 17 SSRI trials (3,097 people). The YBOCS score fell by 3.21 points more than placebo. Response RR 1.84. Individual SSRIs, including fluoxetine, performed similarly. | Soomro et al., Cochrane 2008 | Cochrane review with no conflicts stated. Funding of the underlying trials is not reported in the abstract. | Strong (short term) |
| Bulimia nervosa binge/purge frequency falls | 19 antidepressant trials, 5 of them with fluoxetine. Clinical improvement RR 0.63 (NNT 4). Fluoxetine had fewer dropouts than placebo. NICE says not to use medication as the sole treatment. | Bacaltchuk & Hay, Cochrane 2003; NICE NG69 | Academic Cochrane review (Brazil-led). The fluoxetine bulimia trials in the US label are licensing trials submitted by the manufacturer. | Moderate |
| Average drug–placebo gap in depression is below NICE's old "clinical significance" threshold | FDA licensing data for fluoxetine and three other newer antidepressants showed a mean gap of 1.80 HRSD points, against a NICE criterion of 3. The gap grew with baseline severity. | Kirsch et al., PLoS Med 2008 | No specific funding. The lead author declared consulting fees from Squibb and Pfizer. | Moderate (contested interpretation) |
Independent evidence and credibility scorecard
Independence tier: 1 = regulator or government body; 2 = independent academic or Cochrane review with public funding; 3 = academic work that depends heavily on industry-run trials or has notable author conflicts; 4 = manufacturer-authored or manufacturer-funded. Credibility runs from A (highest) to D.
| Source | Who funds it | Country | Independence tier (1–4) | Credibility (A–D) | Why it would tell the truth / residual bias |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NICE NG222 / NG134 | UK Department of Health and Social Care | UK | 1 | A | Its job is cost-effective NHS care, and it has no stake in sales. Residual bias: it relies on the same largely industry-run trial base, and budget pressure could favour cheap generics. |
| FDA Prozac label | Text approved by the FDA; written and marketed by Lilly USA | US | 1 (regulator-approved) | A for safety, B for efficacy | Warnings are legally required and FDA-negotiated. Residual bias: the efficacy data are sponsor trials, and the label summarises them rather than meta-analysing them. |
| MHRA Drug Safety Updates | UK government regulator | UK | 1 | A | Its mandate is patient safety. Residual bias: it depends on spontaneous reports and observational studies. |
| Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018 | NIHR Oxford Health BRC; Japan Society for the Promotion of Science | UK / Japan / international | 2 | A | The funder had no role, and the authors pulled in unpublished data for 52% of trials. Residual bias: 78% of trials were pharma-funded, and several authors declared industry fees. |
| Cipriani et al., Lancet 2016 | National Basic Research Program of China (973) | UK / China / international | 2 | B | Public grant, and it sought unpublished regulatory data. Residual bias: the evidence was very low quality for most comparisons. |
| Hetrick et al., Cochrane 2021 | Universities and public/charitable funders in NZ and Australia | New Zealand / Australia | 2 | A | Cochrane methods and a pre-registered protocol. Residual bias: the lead author runs a fluoxetine trial, another author has a digital-therapy interest, and trials often excluded suicidal youth. |
| TADS, JAMA 2004 | US National Institute of Mental Health | US | 1–2 | A | Publicly sponsored, with a placebo arm. Residual bias: the CBT arms were unblinded. |
| Magni et al., Cochrane 2013 | Cochrane (academic) | International (Cochrane) | 3 | B | Independent review team. Residual bias: most trials were drug-company sponsored and poorly reported. |
| Kirsch et al., PLoS Med 2008 | No specific funding | UK-led / international | 2 | B | Used complete FDA licensing datasets obtained under freedom-of-information law. Residual bias: the authors are known critics of antidepressant efficacy, and the "3-point" threshold is itself debated. |
| Wong et al., Nat Rev Drug Discov 2005 | Written by scientists involved in developing the drug at Lilly | US | 4 | C (for history only) | A first-hand account of discovery. Residual bias: the authors developed the drug and call it a "breakthrough". |
| Eli Lilly 2001 annual report (SEC filing) | Eli Lilly and Company | US | 4 | A for sales figures | Securities law penalises misstatement. It is used here only for revenue facts, not for clinical claims. |
What fluoxetine is
Fluoxetine is a selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor (SSRI) antidepressant. It is available only on prescription and comes as capsules, tablets (including dispersible tablets) and a liquid (NHS). The best-known brand is Prozac. Eli Lilly and Company, headquartered in Indianapolis, Indiana, discovered and developed it. The US FDA first approved it on 29 December 1987 as a new molecular entity under NDA 018936, held by Eli Lilly (Drugs@FDA, Wong et al., 2005). The same NDA also covers Sarafem. Lilly's 2001 annual report describes Sarafem as a fluoxetine product for premenstrual dysphoric disorder (Lilly 2001 annual report).
Fluoxetine has been generic for a long time. Generic fluoxetine entered the US market in early August 2001 (Lilly 2001 annual report). In the UK it is mostly prescribed as generic capsules, tablets and oral solution made by many licence holders. One example is a 20 mg capsule licensed to Flamingo Pharma (UK) Ltd (UK SmPC). The current US Prozac label is marketed by Lilly USA, LLC (FDA label). It is prescription-only in both the UK and the US.
How it works
The FDA label is candid that "the exact mechanism of PROZAC is unknown". It is presumed to work by blocking the reuptake of serotonin into nerve cells in the brain (FDA label). Fluoxetine blocks serotonin uptake much more potently than noradrenaline uptake. It binds muscarinic, histamine and alpha-1 receptors far less than older tricyclic antidepressants do. The label links those receptors to the anticholinergic, sedating and cardiovascular side effects of tricyclics. The NHS summarises the mechanism as "thought to work by increasing the level of serotonin" (NHS).
The long half-life: fluoxetine's defining feature
Fluoxetine's half-life is 1–3 days after a single dose and 4–6 days with regular use. Its active metabolite, norfluoxetine, has a half-life of 4–16 days. Levels therefore build up over weeks, and steady state is reached at around 4–5 weeks. Even after the last dose, "active drug substance will persist in the body for weeks" (FDA label). This has three practical results:
- Dose changes take weeks to show fully. The label warns that changes in dose "will not be fully reflected in plasma for several weeks".
- Withdrawal is usually gentler. Blood levels fall slowly on their own. NICE notes that people on 20 mg a day can sometimes stop safely after a period of alternate-day dosing (NICE NG222).
- Interactions outlast the prescription. At least 5 weeks must pass after stopping fluoxetine before starting an MAOI antidepressant or thioridazine.
Fluoxetine is mainly broken down by the liver enzyme CYP2D6, and it is also a potent inhibitor of that enzyme. It "may make individuals with normal CYP2D6 metabolic activity resemble a poor metabolizer" (FDA label). This is the root of many of its drug interactions (see All interactions). Peak blood levels come 6–8 hours after a dose. Food may delay absorption by 1–2 hours but does not reduce it.
What it is prescribed for
| Use | UK licence | US licence (Prozac) | Guideline position |
|---|---|---|---|
| Major depression, adults | Yes | Yes, acute and maintenance | NICE: do not routinely offer antidepressants first-line for less severe depression unless that is the person's informed preference. When an antidepressant is chosen, SSRIs "should be considered as the first choice for most people". For more severe depression, CBT plus an antidepressant tops NICE's list (NG222). |
| Depression, children and young people | Yes, from age 8, for moderate to severe depression that has not responded to 4–6 sessions of psychological therapy, and only alongside therapy (SmPC) | Yes, from age 8 | NICE: offer fluoxetine to 12–18-year-olds whose depression has not responded after 4–6 therapy sessions. For 5–11-year-olds, "cautiously consider" it, noting that evidence of effectiveness in this age group "is not established". Combined therapy can be considered from the start for 12–18-year-olds (NG134). |
| Obsessive-compulsive disorder | Yes (adults) | Yes, from age 7 | NICE lists fluoxetine as one of five SSRI first choices for adult OCD, and as the first-choice drug for body dysmorphic disorder (off-label). For children with OCD, NICE prefers sertraline or fluvoxamine unless there is significant depression, in which case fluoxetine is used (CG31). |
| Bulimia nervosa | Yes (adults), as a complement to psychotherapy | Yes | NICE: "Do not offer medication as the sole treatment for bulimia nervosa." Psychological treatment comes first (NG69). |
| Panic disorder | No | Yes (acute) | This is a US-only licensed use (FDA label). |
| Bipolar depression and treatment-resistant depression | No | Only in combination with olanzapine. Fluoxetine alone is not indicated. | The label warns that an antidepressant alone may trigger mania in people at risk of bipolar disorder. |
| Menopause symptoms | Not in the SmPC indications | No | The NHS notes it "can sometimes be used for menopause symptoms" (NHS). |
What works and what does not
| Claimed benefit | Verdict | Evidence | Key caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acute major depression in adults | WORKS | Better than placebo in the 522-trial network meta-analysis, with lower dropout than placebo (Cipriani 2018). | The average effect is modest, and it was among the less effective drugs in head-to-head comparisons. |
| Preventing relapse of depression | WORKS | In a label maintenance study, 298 people who had responded were randomised to continue fluoxetine 20 mg or switch to placebo. Relapse was significantly lower on fluoxetine at 38 weeks (FDA label). NICE says continuing treatment after remission may reduce the risk of relapse (NG222). | These are sponsor trials. Stopping after months of use can cause withdrawal effects that can be mistaken for relapse. |
| Depression in adolescents (12–18) | WORKS | The only antidepressant that clearly beat placebo in young people (Cipriani 2016). The NIMH-funded TADS trial found combined fluoxetine and CBT was best (TADS). | Cochrane calls the average effect small. Suicidal thinking needs close monitoring. |
| Depression in children (5–11) | MIXED | NICE says evidence for effectiveness in this age group "is not established". The FDA label covers ages 8 and up. | Use under 8 is off-label in the UK. |
| Obsessive-compulsive disorder | WORKS | SSRIs, including fluoxetine, beat placebo on YBOCS, with response RR 1.84 (Soomro 2008). | Response can take up to 12 weeks (CG31). Long-term comparisons between SSRIs are not established. |
| Bulimia nervosa | WORKS | At 60 mg (not 20 mg), fluoxetine reduced binge and vomiting episodes in licensing trials (FDA label, Bacaltchuk 2003). | NICE says never use medication alone. Long-term efficacy beyond 3 months is not demonstrated (SmPC). |
| Panic disorder | MIXED | US-licensed on the basis of controlled trials at 10–60 mg a day (FDA label). | Not a UK licensed indication. No independent review specific to fluoxetine was fetched for this article. |
| Mild depression as the first step | NOT FIRST-LINE | NICE advises against routinely offering antidepressants first-line for less severe depression (NG222). The FDA-data analysis found the drug–placebo gap smallest at moderate severity (Kirsch 2008). | It is still an option if that is the person's informed preference. |
| Bipolar depression or treatment-resistant depression (fluoxetine alone) | NOT INDICATED | The US label approves these uses only in combination with olanzapine. | Risk of switching into mania. |
Benefits by claim
Adult depression: real, modest, well tolerated
The largest independent synthesis is Cipriani and colleagues' 2018 network meta-analysis. It covered 522 double-blind trials and 116,477 adults, including unpublished data for 52% of the trials. All 21 antidepressants were more effective than placebo, with odds ratios for response ranging from 2.13 (amitriptyline) to 1.37 (reboxetine). The paper's text does not give fluoxetine's individual efficacy odds ratio against placebo, so this article does not quote one. Fluoxetine stood out on acceptability: its dropout odds ratio versus placebo was 0.88 (95% CrI 0.80–0.96), and only agomelatine shared that result. In head-to-head trials, fluoxetine was grouped with fluvoxamine, reboxetine and trazodone as "the least efficacious drugs" (ORs 0.51–0.84), while also being among the more tolerable (Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018).
Two points matter when reading those comparisons. First, the authors found a "novelty effect": a drug looked about 1.18 times more effective when it was the new experimental drug than when it was the older comparator. Fluoxetine, as the long-established reference drug, has usually been the comparator. Adjusting for this "diminished the differences between antidepressants". Second, the certainty of evidence was rated moderate to very low (Cipriani 2018).
The Cochrane review of fluoxetine against other antidepressants (171 studies, 24,868 participants) points the same way. Fluoxetine was as effective as tricyclics as a group (OR 0.97, 95% CI 0.77–1.22) and better tolerated (total dropout OR 0.79; NNT 20). It was less effective than sertraline (OR 1.37; NNT 13), mirtazapine (OR 1.46; NNT 12) and venlafaxine (OR 1.29; NNT 11). The authors cautioned that the "clinical meaning of these differences is uncertain", and that most included studies were sponsored by drug companies (Magni et al., Cochrane 2013).
How big is the benefit over placebo?
Kirsch and colleagues analysed the complete FDA licensing datasets for fluoxetine and three other newer antidepressants, obtained under the US Freedom of Information Act. Drug groups improved by 9.60 points on the Hamilton scale and placebo groups by 7.80. The difference of 1.80 points fell below the 3-point criterion NICE was then using for clinical significance. The gap grew with baseline severity, and the authors say this happened because placebo response dropped in very severe depression, not because the drug worked better (Kirsch et al., PLoS Med 2008). This finding is widely debated. Cipriani's larger 2018 analysis concluded that all antidepressants are more efficacious than placebo, with "mostly modest" effect sizes. In plain terms, many people improve on placebo in trials, and fluoxetine adds a modest average increment on top. Averages can hide people who respond much more, or not at all.
Children and young people: the reference drug, with a small average effect
Fluoxetine's special place in youth depression rests on three lines of evidence:
- Cipriani 2016 (34 trials, 5,260 participants, 14 antidepressants): only fluoxetine was statistically significantly more effective than placebo (SMD −0.51, 95% CrI −0.99 to −0.03). It was also better tolerated than duloxetine and imipramine. The authors concluded that antidepressants "do not seem to offer a clear advantage" for young people overall, but that "fluoxetine is probably the best option to consider when a pharmacological treatment is indicated" (Cipriani et al., Lancet 2016).
- Cochrane 2021 (26 studies): fluoxetine reduced CDRS-R scores by 2.84 points more than placebo (95% CI −4.12 to −1.56; moderate certainty), on a scale that runs from 17 to 113. The authors describe effects of this size as "small and unimportant" on average. They add that "some individuals may experience a greater response" and that sertraline, escitalopram and duloxetine could also be considered as first options (Hetrick et al., Cochrane 2021).
- TADS (NIMH-funded, 439 adolescents): after 12 weeks, response rates were 71.0% with fluoxetine plus CBT, 60.6% with fluoxetine alone, 43.2% with CBT alone and 34.8% with placebo. Clinically significant suicidal thinking, present in 29% at the start, improved in all four groups, most of all with combination treatment. Seven of the 439 participants (1.6%) attempted suicide, and there were no completed suicides (March et al., JAMA 2004).
One analyst argues that many industry-sponsored youth depression trials were "failed trials" with high placebo response. By contrast, the two NIMH-funded trials showed placebo response of 30–35% and between-group differences of 25–30% (Walkup, Am J Psychiatry 2017). This is one expert's interpretation, and funding details for the review were not visible in its abstract. It does help explain why fluoxetine, which has publicly funded trial support, looks better than other antidepressants in young people.
This is why NICE says that when an antidepressant is prescribed for moderate to severe depression in a child or young person, "it should be fluoxetine as this is the only antidepressant for which clinical trial evidence shows that the benefits outweigh the risks". It should be given only with concurrent psychological therapy and after assessment by a child and adolescent psychiatrist (NICE NG134).
OCD
Across 17 trials (3,097 adults), SSRIs lowered YBOCS scores by 3.21 points more than placebo (95% CI −3.84 to −2.57) and nearly doubled the chance of response (RR 1.84). Individual SSRIs did not differ significantly (Soomro et al., Cochrane 2008). In Lilly's two 13-week licensing studies, fluoxetine lowered YBOCS by about 4–9 points, compared with a 1-point drop on placebo (FDA label). NICE advises that response can take up to 12 weeks, and that an effective SSRI should continue for at least 12 months (CG31).
Bulimia nervosa
In the licensing studies, only 60 mg a day was statistically better than placebo. The average reduction versus placebo was 1–2 binge episodes and 2–4 vomiting episodes per week, and the effect did not depend on baseline depression (FDA label). Across 19 antidepressant trials, 5 of them with fluoxetine, the NNT for a 50% cut in binges was 4. Fluoxetine had fewer all-cause dropouts than placebo (Bacaltchuk & Hay, Cochrane 2003). NICE nonetheless positions medication only as an add-on to psychological treatment (NICE NG69).
Risks and all side effects
According to the UK SmPC, the most commonly reported side effects are headache, nausea, insomnia, fatigue and diarrhoea, and they often lessen with continued treatment (SmPC). The NHS lists headaches, nausea and vomiting, diarrhoea or constipation, weight changes, sexual problems, sleep problems, dizziness or drowsiness, and blurred vision as common (NHS). In pooled US placebo-controlled trials, nausea affected 22% on fluoxetine vs 9% on placebo, insomnia 19% vs 10%, anxiety 12% vs 6%, somnolence 12% vs 5%, tremor 9% vs 2% and sweating 7% vs 3% (FDA label).
FDA boxed warning: suicidal thoughts and behaviours
The Prozac label carries a boxed warning. In short-term studies, antidepressants increased suicidal thoughts and behaviour in children, adolescents and young adults. The studies did not show an increase in people over 24, and showed a reduction in people aged 65 and over. The label says to monitor patients of all ages closely, and that Prozac is not approved for children under 7. The pooled FDA data behind it cover 24 paediatric trials (over 4,400 patients) and 295 adult trials (over 77,000 patients). Compared with placebo, the extra cases per 1,000 patients were 14 in under-18s and 5 at ages 18–24. There was 1 fewer case at 25–64 and 6 fewer at 65 and over. "No suicides occurred in any of the pediatric trials" (FDA label).
The FDA's own published paediatric analysis adds a nuance that matters for fluoxetine. Of 24 trials, the publicly funded TADS fluoxetine trial was the only individual trial to show a statistically significant risk ratio for suicidality (4.62, 95% CI 1.02–20.92). The overall risk difference across all drugs was 0.02 (Hammad et al., Arch Gen Psychiatry 2006). Cochrane rates the evidence that fluoxetine may "at least slightly" increase suicide-related outcomes in young people as low certainty (OR 1.27, 95% CI 0.87–1.86) (Hetrick 2021). In adults, the FDA found the risk "strongly age dependent" (Stone et al., BMJ 2009). NICE advises a review 1 week after starting for anyone aged 18 to 25 (NG222). For young people, NICE advises close monitoring, for example weekly contact for the first 4 weeks (NG134).
| Side effect / concern | Frequency | What to know | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Suicidal thoughts and behaviour (under 25) | +14 per 1,000 (under 18), +5 per 1,000 (18–24) in short-term trials | Highest risk in the first months and after dose changes. Seek urgent help for any thoughts of self-harm. | FDA label |
| Serotonin syndrome | Rare; risk rises with other serotonergic drugs | Fast heartbeat, sweating, shaking, muscle twitching, confusion or agitation. Needs urgent assessment. | NHS, FDA label |
| Mania / hypomania | 0.1% in adult depression trials (same as placebo). In paediatric trials, 2.6% on fluoxetine vs 0% on placebo. | Screen for bipolar disorder before starting. The SmPC says mania and hypomania were commonly reported in paediatric trials. | FDA label, SmPC |
| Bleeding | Uncommon, but risk is higher with NSAIDs, aspirin or anticoagulants | Seek help for unexplained bruising, or for black or bloody stools. Use in the month before delivery carries a small increase in postpartum haemorrhage (less than 2-fold). | FDA label, MHRA 2021 |
| Hyponatraemia (low sodium) | Reported; older adults and people on diuretics are at higher risk | Headache, confusion, weakness and unsteadiness that can lead to falls. Severe cases can cause seizures or death. | FDA label |
| QT prolongation / arrhythmia | Post-marketing reports | Caution with long-QT syndrome, heart disease, low potassium or magnesium, or other QT-prolonging drugs. | FDA label |
| Rash, allergic and vasculitic reactions | 7% of 10,782 trial patients had rash or urticaria | Rare serious systemic reactions, including deaths, have been reported. The label says to stop fluoxetine if an unexplained rash appears. | FDA label |
| Sexual dysfunction | Decreased libido in 4% vs 1% on placebo (pooled). Probably under-reported. | Delayed ejaculation, erectile dysfunction, reduced libido and delayed orgasm. The UK SmPC notes "reports of long-lasting sexual dysfunction" that continued after stopping. | FDA label, SmPC |
| Appetite and weight | Reduced appetite in 11% vs 2% on placebo (adult depression) | Weight loss can be a problem in underweight or bulimic patients. The NHS lists "weight changes" as common. | FDA label, NHS |
| Growth in children | After 19 weeks, children gained 1.1 cm less height and 1.1 kg less weight than on placebo | Monitor height, weight and puberty. The effect on final adult height is not established. | FDA label, SmPC |
| Anxiety, nervousness, insomnia (activation) | 12–16% on fluoxetine vs 7–9% on placebo (depression trials) | Often early in treatment. Tell the prescriber, especially if you notice restlessness (akathisia). | FDA label |
| Angle-closure glaucoma | Rare | Pupil dilation can trigger an attack in people with narrow angles. | FDA label |
| Seizures | 0.2% of 10,782 trial patients | Use with care if you have a history of seizures. | FDA label |
| Blood sugar changes in diabetes | Reported | Low blood sugar during treatment and high blood sugar after stopping. Diabetes medicines may need adjusting. | FDA label |
| Bone fractures (age 50+) | Increased risk in epidemiological studies of SSRIs and TCAs | The mechanism is unknown. | SmPC |
Withdrawal (discontinuation) symptoms
Stopping antidepressants abruptly, missing doses or taking less than the full dose can cause withdrawal symptoms. These include dizziness, electric-shock sensations, irritability, anxiety, low mood, sleep problems, sweating, nausea and palpitations. NICE also says that "most people stop antidepressants successfully" (NICE NG222). For fluoxetine specifically, the UK SmPC reports an unusual trial finding. Adverse events after stopping occurred in about 60% of people in both the fluoxetine and placebo groups, and 17% vs 12% of these events were severe. Symptoms usually resolve within 2 weeks but can last 2–3 months or more in some people (SmPC). The FDA label notes that fluoxetine's slow decline in blood levels "may minimize the risk of discontinuation symptoms" (FDA label).
Dependence: the FDA label states that fluoxetine "has not been systematically studied" for abuse, tolerance or physical dependence. Premarketing experience did not show drug-seeking behaviour. Withdrawal symptoms are not the same as addiction, but they are real and are a reason to plan any stop with a prescriber.
Overdose
Reported effects of fluoxetine overdose include seizures (which may be delayed), coma, heart-rhythm problems including QT prolongation and cardiac arrest, and serotonin syndrome (FDA label). The label advises prescribing "the smallest quantity of capsules consistent with good patient management". The NHS says to get help from NHS 111 if more than the prescribed dose has been taken, and not to drive yourself to A&E (NHS).
All interactions
Because fluoxetine stays in the body for weeks, interactions can occur for weeks after the last dose (SmPC). Tell every prescriber, dentist and pharmacist that you take it, or took it recently.
| Interacts with | Examples | Severity | Mechanism | Official advice |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MAOI antidepressants | MAOIs used for psychiatric disorders, such as iproniazid (SmPC example). The NHS also lists moclobemide and selegiline, which the SmPC treats as combinations needing caution. | Contraindicated | Serotonin syndrome, sometimes fatal | Do not start fluoxetine within 14 days of stopping an MAOI, and wait at least 5 weeks after stopping fluoxetine before starting an MAOI (FDA label). |
| Linezolid, intravenous methylene blue | Antibiotic; diagnostic or treatment dye | Contraindicated to start / specialist only | MAO inhibition, leading to serotonin syndrome | Do not start fluoxetine in someone on these. In emergencies, stop fluoxetine and monitor (FDA label). |
| Pimozide, thioridazine | Antipsychotics | Contraindicated | CYP2D6 inhibition raises their levels, and both drugs prolong QT | Do not use together. Wait 5 weeks after fluoxetine before using thioridazine (FDA label). |
| Metoprolol in heart failure | Metoprolol | Contraindicated (UK) | Inhibited metabolism, causing excessive slowing of the heart rate | Contraindicated in the UK SmPC. The NHS also lists metoprolol (SmPC, NHS). |
| Tamoxifen | Breast cancer treatment | Avoid where possible | CYP2D6 inhibition cuts levels of endoxifen, tamoxifen's active form, by a reported 65–75% | The MHRA advises avoiding potent CYP2D6 inhibitors, naming fluoxetine, whenever possible (MHRA, SmPC). |
| Other serotonergic drugs | Triptans, tramadol, fentanyl, methadone, buprenorphine, lithium, tryptophan, buspirone, amphetamines, other SSRIs/SNRIs, tricyclics | High caution | Additive serotonin effect | Monitor for serotonin syndrome, especially when starting or increasing a dose (FDA label). |
| St John's wort | Herbal antidepressant | Avoid | Serotonergic | The NHS says do not use it with fluoxetine (NHS). See our St John's wort review. |
| Anticoagulants, antiplatelets, NSAIDs | Warfarin, apixaban, aspirin, ibuprofen and other antiplatelets | High caution | Reduced platelet serotonin increases bleeding risk | More frequent INR checks with warfarin when starting or stopping fluoxetine (SmPC, NHS). |
| QT-prolonging drugs | Some antipsychotics, erythromycin, moxifloxacin, amiodarone, sotalol, methadone, halofantrine | High caution | Additive QT effect | The label says to avoid combining where possible and to consider ECG monitoring (FDA label). |
| Drugs metabolised by CYP2D6 | Tricyclics, flecainide, propafenone, nebivolol, atomoxetine, some antipsychotics | Moderate | Fluoxetine raises their levels | Lower doses may be needed. Monitor tricyclic levels, including after fluoxetine has been stopped (SmPC). |
| Anticonvulsants | Phenytoin, carbamazepine | Moderate | Raised levels and toxicity | Conservative dose adjustment and clinical monitoring (FDA label). |
| Benzodiazepines | Diazepam, alprazolam | Moderate | Longer diazepam half-life; higher alprazolam levels | More psychomotor impairment is possible (FDA label). |
| Drugs that lower sodium | Diuretics, desmopressin, carbamazepine, oxcarbazepine | Moderate | Additive hyponatraemia risk | Monitor sodium, especially in older adults (SmPC). |
| Drugs that lower the seizure threshold | Bupropion, tramadol, mefloquine, chloroquine, phenothiazines | Moderate | Additive seizure risk | Caution (SmPC). |
| Alcohol | Any | Avoid | More drowsiness and side effects | In formal testing, fluoxetine did not raise blood alcohol levels, but the combination "is not advisable" (SmPC). The NHS says it is best not to drink (NHS). |
| Electroconvulsive therapy | ECT | Caution | Rare reports of prolonged seizures | The team delivering ECT should know about fluoxetine (FDA label). |
Who should avoid fluoxetine
- Contraindications: allergy to fluoxetine; current use of an MAOI or use within 14 days; pimozide or thioridazine; and (UK) metoprolol for heart failure (FDA label, SmPC).
- Needs specialist caution: the NHS says fluoxetine may not be suitable if you have had an allergic or serious reaction to an SSRI, or if you have diabetes, epilepsy, heart disease, glaucoma, a bleeding disorder or a history of mania (NHS). People with long-QT syndrome or recent heart attack need particular care, because such patients were excluded from premarketing trials (FDA label).
- Possible bipolar disorder: screen before starting, because an antidepressant alone may trigger mania.
- Children and teenagers: use only under specialist supervision, for depression, together with psychological therapy. Monitor growth and puberty (NG134, SmPC).
- Pregnancy: the NHS says fluoxetine "can be used during pregnancy if needed", at the lowest effective dose, and usually with a hospital birth so the baby can be monitored (NHS). In 2010 the MHRA reported a possible small increase in congenital heart defects (OR 1.43, 95% CI 0.83–2.47), with absolute risk under 2 in 100 against a background of about 1 in 100 (MHRA). The UK teratology service's Bumps leaflet says more recent studies "generally do not support" a heart-defect link. It estimates persistent pulmonary hypertension of the newborn at around 1 in 300 SSRI-exposed babies and notes a slightly higher risk of postpartum haemorrhage (Bumps/UKTIS). Newborns exposed late in pregnancy can have breathing, feeding and jitteriness problems (FDA label). Stopping can cause relapse, so do not stop without advice.
- Breastfeeding: fluoxetine and norfluoxetine pass into breast milk. Norfluoxetine was found in 85% of sampled infants' blood in one study, and agitation, poor feeding and poor weight gain have been reported (FDA label). The NHS says a doctor may suggest switching to a different antidepressant such as sertraline (NHS).
- Older adults: the 2023 AGS Beers Criteria list SSRIs among drug classes to avoid in people with a history of falls or fractures. They also advise using SSRIs with caution because of SIADH and hyponatraemia, and monitoring sodium closely when starting or changing doses (AGS Beers 2023). The UK SmPC says the daily dose for older people "should generally not exceed 40 mg" (SmPC).
- Liver disease: in cirrhosis, fluoxetine's half-life rose to a mean of 7.6 days, compared with 2–3 days in people without liver disease. A lower or less frequent dose is needed (FDA label).
- Kidney disease: in 12 dialysis patients, blood levels were comparable to those with normal kidneys. The label says a lower dose "is not routinely necessary", but the prescriber will judge (FDA label).
Dosage and how to take it
Your prescriber sets and adjusts your dose. The ranges below are the official licensed ranges, shown for information only. They are not a guide to self-adjustment.
| Use | UK licensed adult dosing (SmPC) | US licensed adult dosing (FDA label) |
|---|---|---|
| Depression | 20 mg a day. Can be increased gradually to a maximum of 60 mg if response is insufficient. Review within 3–4 weeks. | 20 mg a day in the morning. Maximum 80 mg a day. Studies suggest 20 mg is enough "in most cases". |
| OCD | 20 mg a day, up to a maximum of 60 mg. Reconsider if there is no improvement within 10 weeks. | 20 mg a day. Recommended range 20–60 mg, maximum 80 mg. |
| Bulimia nervosa | 60 mg a day | 60 mg a day (can be reached over several days) |
| Panic disorder | Not licensed | Start at 10 mg a day, then 20 mg after 1 week |
| Children and young people with depression (8+) | Specialist-started at 10 mg a day. May increase to 20 mg after 1–2 weeks. Reconsider if there is no benefit by 9 weeks. | 10–20 mg a day. Lower-weight children may stay on 10 mg. |
| Older adults / liver impairment | Older adults: generally no more than 40 mg a day. Liver impairment: a lower or less frequent dose, for example 20 mg every second day. | Consider a lower or less frequent dose. |
Sources: UK SmPC, FDA label, NICE NG134.
How to take it: usually once a day, at the same time each day, with or without food. Swallow capsules whole. Measure liquid with the syringe or spoon provided (NHS). If you miss a dose, take it when you remember unless the next dose is nearly due. Never take two doses at once.
How long before it works: the NHS says it "can take a few weeks" (NHS). NICE expects benefits in depression within 4 weeks, with a review usually within 2 weeks of starting (NG222). The label says the full effect may take 4 weeks or longer for depression and 5 weeks or longer for OCD. For OCD, NICE says onset can take up to 12 weeks (CG31).
How long to continue: for depression, antidepressants are typically taken for at least 6 months, including after symptoms go (NG222). For young people, NICE advises continuing for at least 6 months after remission (NG134). For OCD, NICE advises at least 12 months (CG31).
How to stop: only with your prescriber. The NHS says the doctor will reduce the dose gradually over several weeks or months (NHS). The UK SmPC says to taper over at least 1–2 weeks (SmPC). NICE notes that because fluoxetine acts for so long, people on 20 mg can sometimes stop using a period of alternate-day dosing. People on 40–60 mg need a gradual schedule, with 1–2 weeks between reductions to judge the effect (NG222). If symptoms are intolerable, the prescriber may return to the previous dose and taper more slowly.
Follow the money: who makes it and who funded the evidence
Originator and commercial history
- Originator: Eli Lilly and Company, headquartered in Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. Fluoxetine was discovered by Lilly scientists in the 1970s, when evidence was emerging that serotonin played a role in depression. It was approved by the FDA in 1987 (Wong et al., 2005, a first-hand account by scientists involved in its development; Drugs@FDA).
- Revenue: Lilly's 2001 annual report to the SEC states that US Prozac sales accounted for "approximately 20 percent" of the company's overall sales in 2000. Worldwide sales of fluoxetine products (Prozac, Prozac Weekly and Sarafem) were $1.99 billion in 2001, down 23% after generic fluoxetine entered the US market in early August 2001 (Lilly 2001 annual report).
- Today: branded Prozac in the US is still marketed by Lilly USA, LLC (FDA label). Most prescriptions worldwide are cheap generics from many manufacturers. Examples are the UK licence holders listed on the electronic medicines compendium, such as Flamingo Pharma (UK) Ltd (SmPC). Because generics dominate, any single company's commercial stake in promoting fluoxetine is probably much smaller than it was in the 1990s.
Who funded the evidence
- Licensing trials: the efficacy and safety trials summarised in the FDA label were submitted under Lilly's New Drug Application (Drugs@FDA). They are manufacturer evidence. The label and FDA reviewers scrutinise them, but they are not independent.
- The wider antidepressant trial base: 409 of 522 trials (78%) in the Cipriani 2018 analysis were funded by pharmaceutical companies. The authors found industry funding "was not associated with substantial differences" in response or dropout, but noted that non-industry trials were few and many trials did not disclose funding (Cipriani 2018). The Cochrane fluoxetine review warned of possible "sponsorship bias" because most studies were drug-company sponsored (Magni 2013).
- Independent syntheses: Cipriani 2018 was publicly funded (UK NIHR; Japan Society for the Promotion of Science), and the funder had no role. Some authors declared personal fees from companies, including lecture fees from Eli Lilly. Cipriani 2016 was funded by China's National Basic Research Program. Hetrick 2021 (Cochrane) was funded by universities and public or charitable bodies in New Zealand and Australia.
- Publicly funded trial: TADS, the key adolescent trial, was sponsored by the US National Institute of Mental Health (ClinicalTrials.gov). It produced both the strongest evidence of benefit and the only individually significant suicidality signal in the FDA's paediatric review (Hammad 2006). Independent research does not always flatter a drug.
- Safety analyses: the suicidality meta-analyses behind the boxed warning were done by FDA staff using data the companies submitted (Hammad 2006, Stone 2009).
- Critical analyses: Kirsch 2008 had no specific funding. Its lead author declared consulting fees from Squibb and Pfizer (Kirsch 2008).
The case for fluoxetine does not rest on the manufacturer alone. Publicly funded meta-analyses (UK, Japan, China, Australia/NZ), a government-sponsored trial (TADS) and national guideline bodies (NICE) reach broadly consistent conclusions: fluoxetine works modestly and is relatively well tolerated. The most independent sources also carry the strongest warnings, about suicidality in young people and about the small average effect size. Pure City Research did not identify, in the sources reviewed for this article, a documented regulatory integrity finding specific to fluoxetine's trials, and none is asserted here.
Related research
- Stress, anxiety and depression: evidence-based prevention guide
- Supplements for stress, anxiety and depression: independent evidence
- St John's wort: evidence and interactions (do not combine with fluoxetine)
- Saffron for depression: evidence review
- Omega-3 and vitamin D evidence reviews
- Magnesium, L-theanine and ashwagandha evidence reviews
- Sleep prevention guide and sleep supplements evidence. Insomnia is a common fluoxetine side effect.
- Sibling medicine reviews: sertraline, citalopram, escitalopram, paroxetine, venlafaxine, mirtazapine
Frequently asked questions
How long does fluoxetine take to work?
Usually a few weeks. NICE expects benefits in depression within about 4 weeks, and the FDA label says the full effect may take 4 weeks or longer for depression, and 5 weeks or longer for OCD. Some side effects appear sooner than the benefits, and many ease after a couple of weeks. Because fluoxetine takes 4–5 weeks to reach steady levels, dose changes also take time to show (NICE NG222, FDA label, NHS).
Can you drink alcohol on fluoxetine?
The NHS says it is best not to drink alcohol while taking fluoxetine, because it can increase side effects such as drowsiness. The UK SmPC notes that fluoxetine did not raise blood alcohol levels in formal testing, but says the combination "is not advisable" (NHS, SmPC).
Does fluoxetine cause weight gain?
The NHS lists "weight changes" as a common side effect. In short-term US trials, fluoxetine more often reduced appetite: 11% had reduced appetite vs 2% on placebo, and 1.4% lost weight vs 0.5% on placebo. In a 16-week bulimia trial, people on 60 mg lost an average of 0.45 kg while people on placebo gained 0.16 kg. Long-term weight effects vary by person. Children in one trial gained 1.1 kg less than on placebo over 19 weeks (NHS, FDA label).
How do I stop fluoxetine safely?
Speak to your prescriber first. Do not stop suddenly. The dose is usually reduced gradually. Because fluoxetine leaves the body slowly, NICE says people on 20 mg can sometimes stop using a period of alternate-day dosing, while higher doses need a gradual schedule with 1–2 weeks between steps. If withdrawal symptoms appear, NICE advises reassurance that they are not the same as relapse (NICE NG222, NHS).
Is fluoxetine safe for teenagers?
It is the only antidepressant NICE recommends for depression in young people, and only alongside psychological therapy and with close monitoring. The FDA boxed warning reflects an increase in suicidal thoughts and behaviour in under-25s in short-term trials (14 extra cases per 1,000 under-18s). Growth, puberty and any agitation or mood changes should be monitored. Any thoughts of self-harm need urgent contact with the prescriber or emergency services (NICE NG134, FDA label).
Is fluoxetine better than sertraline?
Not on average in adults. In Cochrane's head-to-head analysis, sertraline was somewhat more effective (OR 1.37; NNT 13), although the authors called the clinical meaning of such differences uncertain. Fluoxetine's advantages are good tolerability, its long half-life (gentler withdrawal) and its evidence base in young people. Sertraline is often preferred when breastfeeding. The choice belongs with your prescriber (Magni 2013, NHS).
Can fluoxetine affect your sex life?
Yes. Reduced libido, delayed or absent orgasm, delayed ejaculation and erectile problems are recognised SSRI effects and are often under-reported. The UK SmPC also notes reports of long-lasting sexual dysfunction that continued after stopping. NICE lists long-term effects on sexual function among the risks to discuss before long-term use (FDA label, SmPC, NG222).
Can I take fluoxetine while pregnant?
The NHS says it can be used in pregnancy if needed, at the lowest effective dose and usually with a hospital birth. The known risks include a rare breathing condition in newborns (around 1 in 300 SSRI-exposed babies, per Bumps), a slightly higher risk of postpartum bleeding, and a possible small heart-defect signal that more recent studies generally do not support. Untreated depression also carries risks, so do not stop without talking to your doctor or midwife (NHS, Bumps, MHRA).
Sources and funding notes
- NHS: Fluoxetine (page last reviewed 1 June 2026). UK National Health Service, government-funded; no commercial sponsor.
- NICE NG222: Depression in adults: treatment and management (published 29 June 2022). UK government-funded guideline body.
- NICE NG134: Depression in children and young people (published 25 June 2019). UK government-funded.
- NICE CG31: Obsessive-compulsive disorder and body dysmorphic disorder (published 29 November 2005). UK government-funded.
- NICE NG69: Eating disorders (published 2017, updated 16 December 2020). UK government-funded.
- FDA-approved Prozac prescribing information (DailyMed). Regulator-approved label, marketed by Lilly USA, LLC (US). Efficacy data come from sponsor trials.
- Drugs@FDA: NDA 018936. US regulator record; sponsor Eli Lilly; original approval 29 December 1987.
- UK Summary of Product Characteristics, Fluoxetine 20 mg capsules. Regulator-approved text; licence holder Flamingo Pharma (UK) Ltd (generic manufacturer).
- MHRA Drug Safety Update: SSRIs/SNRIs and postpartum haemorrhage (2021). UK regulator.
- MHRA Drug Safety Update: Fluoxetine and congenital cardiac defects (2010). UK regulator.
- MHRA Drug Safety Update: Tamoxifen and CYP2D6 inhibitors (2010). UK regulator.
- Bumps: Fluoxetine in pregnancy (UKTIS, v3.1, June 2022). Not-for-profit service funded by the UK Health Security Agency.
- Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018: 21 antidepressants network meta-analysis. Funded by NIHR Oxford Health BRC and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science; funder had no role; 78% of included trials pharma-funded; some authors declared industry fees, including from Eli Lilly (UK/Japan/international).
- Cipriani et al., Lancet 2016: antidepressants in children and adolescents network meta-analysis. Funded by China's National Basic Research Program (973) (UK/China/international).
- Hetrick et al., Cochrane 2021: newer antidepressants for depression in children and adolescents. University, public and charitable funding (NZ/Australia); lead author runs a CBT plus fluoxetine vs placebo trial; one author has a potential interest in a digital therapy.
- Magni et al., Cochrane 2013: fluoxetine versus other pharmacotherapy for depression. Academic Cochrane review; most included trials drug-company sponsored; one author declared Eli Lilly and other honoraria.
- March et al., JAMA 2004: Treatment for Adolescents With Depression Study (TADS). Sponsored by the US National Institute of Mental Health (NCT00006286).
- Hammad et al., Arch Gen Psychiatry 2006: suicidality in paediatric antidepressant trials. FDA staff analysis of company-submitted and NIMH trial data (US).
- Stone et al., BMJ 2009: suicidality in adult antidepressant trials. FDA staff analysis; no competing interests declared (US).
- Kirsch et al., PLoS Medicine 2008: initial severity and antidepressant benefits. No specific funding; lead author declared consulting fees from Squibb and Pfizer (UK-led).
- Soomro et al., Cochrane 2008: SSRIs versus placebo for OCD. Academic (UK-led); no conflicts stated.
- Bacaltchuk & Hay, Cochrane 2003: antidepressants versus placebo for bulimia nervosa. Academic (Brazil-led); no industry funding identified in the abstract.
- Walkup, Am J Psychiatry 2017: industry- and NIMH-funded youth antidepressant trials. Single-author academic review (US); funding and conflicts not visible in the abstract.
- American Geriatrics Society 2023 Beers Criteria. Professional society; "no sponsor for this paper"; individual panel conflicts disclosed (US).
- Wong, Perry & Bymaster, Nat Rev Drug Discov 2005: the discovery of fluoxetine. Historical account by scientists involved in fluoxetine's development at Eli Lilly; used only for history (US).
- Eli Lilly and Company 2001 annual report (SEC filing, 10-K405 exhibit 13). Manufacturer's own financial disclosure; used only for sales and generic-entry facts (US).
Last reviewed: 26 September 2026. Educational information from Pure City Research, not medical advice. Medicine decisions belong with a qualified prescriber.
Have a question — or want us to cover something?
Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.
One daily research roundup
Get the topics, key findings and links from our new articles in one email. At most one digest a day, only when there is something new.
