- Low-dose doxepin (Silenor, 3 mg and 6 mg) is an old tricyclic antidepressant used at a tiny dose, where it mainly blocks histamine H1 receptors. In the US it is approved only for trouble staying asleep (Silenor label).
- In the US sleep guideline's meta-analysis, it added about 26–32 minutes of sleep and cut time awake in the night by 22–23 minutes. It had almost no effect on falling asleep (about 2–5 minutes). The recommendation is WEAK, and the evidence is rated "very low" overall (AASM 2017).
- A Cochrane review found "a small improvement in sleep quality with short-term use of low-dose doxepin". There was no evidence for long-term use (Everitt et al., Cochrane 2018).
- The American Geriatrics Society Beers Criteria advise older adults to avoid doxepin above 6 mg a day. They say "the safety profile of low-dose doxepin (≤6 mg/day) is comparable to that of placebo" (AGS Beers 2023).
- Every low-dose trial was industry-sponsored (Yeung et al., 2015). The publicly funded Lancet comparison called doxepin "well tolerated" but said efficacy data "were scarce" (De Crescenzo et al., Lancet 2022).
- At antidepressant doses (25–300 mg), doxepin behaves very differently. It is strongly anticholinergic (drying, constipating, confusing), carries a boxed suicidality warning in the US, and is dangerous in overdose (doxepin capsules label).
- Evidence grade: Moderate for short-term help staying asleep; Weak for falling asleep; Insufficient beyond 3 months.
Independent evidence review · Prescription medicine
Low-dose doxepin is one of the few sleep medicines with a mild side-effect profile at its licensed dose. It is also narrowly useful: it helps people who wake in the night or too early, adds roughly half an hour of sleep, and does little for people who cannot fall asleep. Its evidence base is small, short and entirely company-funded. Independent reviewers accept that it probably works a little and seems well tolerated, but they cannot say much about use beyond three months. The key safety point is the dose: 3–6 mg is a different medicine in practice from the 75–300 mg used for depression (AASM 2017, Cochrane 2018, Beers 2023).
Doxepin is a prescription-only medicine. Do not start it, stop it or change the dose without your prescriber. Never raise a sleep dose towards antidepressant doses on your own.
- Before bed. After taking it, only do things needed to get ready for bed. Do not drive or use machinery that night, and be cautious the next morning (Silenor label).
- Alcohol and other sedatives. Do not drink alcohol with it. Combining it with other sedatives or sedating antihistamines adds to the drowsiness.
- MAOIs. Never take it with an MAOI antidepressant, or within two weeks of stopping one.
- Mental health. Doxepin is an antidepressant at higher doses. The label warns that worsening depression and suicidal thoughts have been reported with sleep medicines, and that the risk from the low dose "can not be excluded". If you have thoughts of suicide or self-harm, seek urgent help from emergency services or a crisis line now.
Table of contents
- Evidence summary
- What low-dose doxepin is
- How it works
- What it is prescribed for
- What works and what does not
- Benefits by claim
- Risks and all side effects
- All interactions
- Who should avoid low-dose doxepin
- Dosage and how to take it
- Follow the money: who makes it and who funded the evidence
- Related research
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources and funding notes
Evidence summary
The table ranks the main claims about low-dose doxepin for sleep by the strength of the human evidence. Independent reviews are listed before company-run trials.
| Claim | Evidence | Source | Funding / conflict | Strength |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Improves sleep quality (short term) | Tricyclics (5 of 6 trials used doxepin) compared with placebo: subjective sleep quality SMD −0.39 (95% CI −0.56 to −0.21; 4 studies, 518 participants; moderate-quality evidence). SMD (standardised mean difference) is a unit-free measure of effect size. | Everitt et al., Cochrane 2018 | Academic UK review. Two authors declared past antidepressant-industry ties (Baldwin: grants and advisory boards; Malizia: former SmithKline Beecham director). The others declared none. | Moderate |
| Longer total sleep and less night waking | Sleep-lab total sleep time +26.14 minutes (3 mg) and +32.27 minutes (6 mg). Time awake after sleep onset (WASO) −22.17 minutes (3 mg) and −23.14 minutes (6 mg) compared with placebo. | AASM 2017 meta-analysis | AASM-funded guideline. It downgraded the evidence for "industry sponsorship". Co-author Krystal led the Somaxon-sponsored doxepin trials and consulted for Pernix. | Moderate |
| Helps people fall asleep | Sleep-lab sleep latency −2.30 minutes (3 mg) and −5.29 minutes (6 mg), both below the AASM threshold for clinical significance. The Cochrane review found "little or no impact on sleep latency". | AASM 2017; Cochrane 2018 | As above | Weak / not shown |
| Tolerability similar to placebo at 3–6 mg | No difference in adverse events for tricyclics vs placebo (RR 1.02; low quality). In the Lancet NMA, Z-drugs and benzodiazepines caused more side effects than doxepin. | Cochrane 2018; De Crescenzo et al., Lancet 2022 | Lancet: UK NIHR public funding, with disclosed author ties to other companies (see Sources). | Moderate |
| Safe enough for older adults at ≤6 mg | Beers 2023: avoid doxepin above 6 mg a day; at 6 mg or less, safety is "comparable to that of placebo". | AGS Beers 2023 | "There was no sponsor for this paper." | Moderate |
| Works long term (beyond 3 months) | The longest trial lasted 12 weeks. The Cochrane review found no evidence for long-term antidepressant use for insomnia. | Krystal et al., Sleep 2010; Cochrane 2018 | The 12-week trial was co-authored by Somaxon Pharmaceuticals staff. | Insufficient |
| Higher doses (25 mg and above) are a safe "sleep" option | Beers lists doxepin above 6 mg a day as "highly anticholinergic, sedating" and a cause of orthostatic hypotension (a drop in blood pressure on standing): "Avoid". Antidepressant-dose capsules carry a boxed suicidality warning. | Beers 2023; capsules label | Independent and regulatory | Risk |
Independent evidence and credibility scorecard
Independence tier: 1 means no money from the product's sellers; 4 means paid for by the seller. Credibility runs from A (highest) to D.
| Source | Who funds it | Country | Independence tier (1–4) | Credibility (A–D) | Why it would tell the truth / residual bias |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AGS Beers Criteria 2023 | No sponsor; American Geriatrics Society | USA | 1 | A | Its purpose is to prevent drug harm in older adults, and it was harm-focused yet still carved out low-dose doxepin. Residual bias: it does not weigh benefit. |
| Yeung et al., Sleep Med Rev 2015 | Academic (University of Hong Kong); funding not stated in the abstract | Hong Kong | 1–2 | B+ | Asked companies and the FDA for unpublished data, and openly flagged that "all low-dose studies were industry-sponsored". Residual bias: only 9 trials were available. |
| Everitt et al., Cochrane 2018 | Cochrane review; this review's specific support was not verified | UK | 2 | A− | Cochrane methods; it is critical of off-label antidepressant use. Residual bias: two authors have past antidepressant-industry ties, and it pools doxepin with trimipramine. |
| De Crescenzo et al., Lancet 2022 | UK NIHR (public) | UK / Italy | 2 | A− | Pre-registered method, and it searched for unpublished trials. Residual bias: several authors have industry links, including the first author's employment at Boehringer Ingelheim and the senior author's Janssen-sponsored seltorexant trials. |
| AASM 2017 guideline | American Academy of Sleep Medicine | USA | 2–3 | B | Uses the GRADE method and downgraded for industry sponsorship. Residual bias: co-author Krystal was lead author of two Somaxon doxepin trials and consulted for Pernix, Silenor's later owner. |
| Rojas-Fernandez & Chen, Can Pharm J 2014 | Academic (University of Waterloo) | Canada | 1–2 | B | Declared no conflicts. Residual bias: a small review of 5 company trials. |
| Somaxon pivotal trials (Krystal 2010, 2011; Roth 2007; Lankford 2012) | Somaxon Pharmaceuticals (the developer) | USA | 4 | B for data, C for framing | Double-blind and placebo-controlled, with sleep-lab outcomes, and reviewed by the FDA. Residual bias: company staff were co-authors, and the abstracts use promotional wording such as "best evidence to date". |
What low-dose doxepin is
Doxepin is a tricyclic antidepressant (TCA). Somaxon's filings note it "has been marketed and used for over 35 years at dosages from 75 mg to 300 mg per day" for depression and anxiety (Somaxon 10-K for 2011). Silenor repackages the same molecule as 3 mg and 6 mg tablets for insomnia. That is between 10 and 100 times less than antidepressant doses (Silenor label).
- Brand name (sleep): Silenor 3 mg and 6 mg tablets (US). openFDA lists eight approved generic (ANDA) applications for 3 mg/6 mg doxepin tablets, from Zydus, Strides, Taro, Ajanta, Aurobindo, MSN, Actavis and RK Pharma (openFDA).
- US approval for insomnia: March 2010 (NDA 022036). It went on sale in September 2010 (openFDA Drugs@FDA, Somaxon 10-K).
- Developer of the low-dose product: Somaxon Pharmaceuticals, San Diego, California, USA. Somaxon in-licensed the low-dose patents from ProCom One, Inc. in 2003. The original developer of doxepin itself was not verified in the sources reviewed.
- Current US holder: Currax Pharmaceuticals LLC, Brentwood, Tennessee (Silenor label).
- Controlled status: "Doxepin is not a controlled substance" (Silenor label). It is prescription-only.
- UK status: we found no licensed 3 mg or 6 mg doxepin product on the UK electronic medicines compendium. Oral doxepin in the UK comes as 10 mg, 25 mg and 50 mg capsules (e.g. Sinepin, Marlborough Pharmaceuticals). These are licensed for "symptoms of depressive illness in adults, especially where sedation is required", at 25–300 mg daily (Sinepin SmPC, Doxepin 10 mg SmPC). Any UK use of doxepin for insomnia is therefore off-label.
How it works
At antidepressant doses, doxepin blocks the reuptake of serotonin and noradrenaline and also acts on several other receptors. That is why high doses cause dry mouth, constipation, urinary retention, dizziness on standing and weight gain.
At 3–6 mg the picture is narrower. The Silenor label says the sleep mechanism "is unclear; however, doxepin's effect could be mediated through antagonism of the H1 receptor". It notes that doxepin "has high binding affinity to the H1 receptor (Ki < 1 nM)" (Silenor label). Histamine is a wakefulness signal in the brain. A very low dose can block it while hardly touching the other receptors responsible for tricyclic side effects. This is the theory behind the "ultra-low-dose" approach (Rojas-Fernandez & Chen, 2014).
How long it stays in the body explains its profile (all figures from the Silenor label):
- Slow to peak. Peak levels arrive about 3.5 hours after a 6 mg dose on an empty stomach. This is one reason it helps the second half of the night more than falling asleep.
- Food. Taking it with a high-fat meal raises total exposure by 41% and delays the peak by about 3 hours. Hence the rule not to take it within 3 hours of a meal.
- Half-life. The half-life (time for blood levels to halve) is 15.3 hours for doxepin and 31 hours for its active breakdown product, nordoxepin.
- Metabolism. The liver breaks it down mainly through CYP2C19 and CYP2D6, and to a lesser extent CYP1A2 and CYP2C9. People who are "poor metabolisers" through these enzymes may have higher levels.
What it is prescribed for
Licensed uses.
- US (Silenor): "treatment of insomnia characterized by difficulty with sleep maintenance". The supporting trials lasted up to 3 months (Silenor label).
- US (capsules, 10 mg and above): depression and/or anxiety (capsules label).
- UK: licensed only for depressive illness (Sinepin SmPC).
Where guidelines place it.
| Guideline | Position | Line of treatment |
|---|---|---|
| AASM 2017 (US) | "We suggest that clinicians use doxepin as a treatment for sleep maintenance insomnia (versus no treatment) in adults." WEAK recommendation; evidence "Low" in the summary table and "very low" overall in the text. Based on 3 mg and 6 mg trials. | An option for trouble staying asleep. Not recommended for trouble falling asleep. |
| European Insomnia Guideline 2023 | CBT-I is first-line for all adults (grade A). "Low-dose sedating antidepressants (B)" can be used short-term (4 weeks or less). Longer use may be considered "in some cases" (B). | Second-line, after CBT-I |
| NHS (UK) | CBT first. "GPs now rarely prescribe sleeping pills". Low-dose doxepin is not a UK-licensed hypnotic. | Off-label specialist choice at most |
| AGS Beers 2023 (age 65+) | Avoid doxepin above 6 mg a day. Doses of 6 mg or less are explicitly excluded from the "avoid" warning. | One of the few sleep medicines not on the older-adult "avoid" list at the licensed dose |
What works and what does not
| Claimed benefit | Verdict | Evidence | Key caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Staying asleep (less waking in the night) | WORKS | Sleep-lab WASO about 22–23 minutes lower than placebo (AASM). | Patient diary WASO at 6 mg fell below the clinical threshold (−14.39 minutes). |
| Longer total sleep | WORKS | +26 to +32 minutes on sleep-lab recordings (AASM). +22.88 minutes for tricyclics (Cochrane). | Subjective total sleep time at 6 mg was not clinically significant (+18.84 minutes). |
| Early-morning waking | WORKS | Sleep efficiency in the last part of the night improved in the Somaxon trials. | Company-run trials (Krystal 2011). |
| Falling asleep faster | NOT SHOWN | Only 2–5 minutes faster than placebo (AASM). "Not for sleep initiation" (Yeung). | Slow absorption fits this pattern. |
| Sleep quality | MIXED | SMD 0.57 at 3 mg and 0.28 at 6 mg (AASM). Cochrane: "small improvement". | Few trials and imprecise estimates. |
| Use beyond 3 months | INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE | No trials longer than 12 weeks. | Any long-term use is outside the evidence. |
| Higher "old-style" doses (10–50 mg) for sleep | INSUFFICIENT / HIGHER RISK | AASM excluded a 25–50 mg trial because the doses were "significantly higher" than approved hypnotic doses. | Beers: avoid above 6 mg in older adults. |
Benefits by claim
Staying asleep: the guideline meta-analysis
The AASM 2017 guideline pooled four or five Somaxon-era trials for each outcome. Compared with placebo:
- Total sleep time (sleep lab): +26.14 minutes at 3 mg (95% CI +18.49 to +33.79) and +32.27 minutes at 6 mg (95% CI +24.24 to +40.30). The task force judged both increases clinically significant.
- WASO (sleep lab): −22.17 minutes at 3 mg and −23.14 minutes at 6 mg. Both were clinically significant.
- Sleep efficiency (share of time in bed spent asleep): +6.78% at 3 mg and +7.06% at 6 mg.
- Sleep latency (time to fall asleep): −2.30 minutes at 3 mg and −5.29 minutes at 6 mg. Both were below clinical significance.
- Number of awakenings: not reduced (+0.53 and +0.44).
The task force judged that "the quality of evidence in the meta-analytic data for the majority of variables was moderate to low due to industry sponsorship and, in some cases, imprecision", and that "the overall quality of evidence for the doxepin data is considered very low". Even so, it concluded that benefits outweighed harms.
Independent reviews
- Cochrane. The Cochrane review of antidepressants for insomnia analysed six tricyclic trials (812 participants), five of them doxepin. Results compared with placebo:
- subjective sleep quality SMD −0.39 (moderate quality);
- sleep efficiency +6.29 percentage points;
- total sleep time +22.88 minutes (95% CI 13.17 to 32.59);
- sleep latency −4.27 minutes, not significant.
- Yeung et al. (Hong Kong). This team asked companies and the FDA for unpublished data. They found "low-dose doxepin had a small to medium effect size against placebo for sleep maintenance and sleep duration but not for sleep initiation". They warned that firm conclusions on short-term benefits, risks and withdrawal were not possible "due to the small number of studies" (Yeung et al., 2015).
- Rojas-Fernandez & Chen (Canada). This review, which declared no conflicts, reached the same pattern: better sleep maintenance and duration, no significant effect on falling asleep (Rojas-Fernandez & Chen, 2014).
- Lancet NMA. The publicly funded Lancet network meta-analysis did not list doxepin among drugs with clear acute efficacy on its main sleep-quality outcome. It concluded: "Doxepin, seltorexant, and zaleplon were well tolerated, but data on efficacy and other important outcomes were scarce and do not allow firm conclusions."
The company trials
Silenor's approval rested on six randomised, double-blind studies with 1,423 participants aged 18 to 93. The main ones, all co-authored by Somaxon Pharmaceuticals staff, were:
- Older adults, 12 weeks. 240 people aged over 65. The 3 mg dose improved WASO, total sleep time and sleep efficiency on night 1, and these gains were maintained at night 85 (Krystal et al., Sleep 2010).
- Adults, 35 days. 221 adults. Both doses improved WASO, and there was "no evidence of rebound insomnia" after stopping (Krystal et al., Sleep 2011).
- Older adults, 4 weeks, outpatient. 254 people. The 6 mg dose increased self-reported total sleep time. There was no difference in time to fall asleep (Lankford et al., Sleep Med 2012).
- Adults, crossover. 67 adults each took 1, 3 and 6 mg and placebo in turn (Roth et al., Sleep 2007).
Affiliations list Somaxon Pharmaceuticals, San Diego, for several authors of each trial (Krystal 2010, Krystal 2011, Roth 2007).
Is the benefit clinically meaningful?
Roughly 20–30 extra minutes of sleep and 20 fewer minutes awake in the night is a modest, noticeable change for someone who wakes repeatedly. It is not a cure.
- Placebo responses in insomnia trials are large. One meta-analysis estimated "63.56% of the drug responses are achieved even in the placebo groups" across sleep-drug trials in general (Winkler & Rief, Sleep 2015).
- The honest summary is a small benefit, mainly in the second half of the night, with a favourable short-term side-effect record at 3–6 mg.
- That record comes from a thin evidence base, and all the trials that make it up were paid for by the company.
Risks and all side effects
No boxed warning at the sleep dose. Silenor does not carry a boxed warning. Its label does carry warnings about complex behaviours, suicide risk, CNS depression and severe sleep apnoea (Silenor label). By contrast, doxepin capsules used for depression carry the class boxed warning that antidepressants "increased the risk compared to placebo of suicidal thinking and behavior (suicidality) in children, adolescents, and young adults" (capsules label).
Common side effects at 3–6 mg
| Side effect | Frequency (Silenor vs placebo) | Dose relationship | Practical note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Somnolence / sedation | 6% (3 mg) and 9% (6 mg) vs 4% | Higher at 6 mg | The most common side effect in every group, including placebo. AASM found a "small increased risk at 6 mg". | Silenor label, AASM |
| Upper respiratory infection / nasopharyngitis | 4% (3 mg) and 2% (6 mg) vs 2% | Not dose-related | AASM meta-analysis: not significantly above placebo. | Silenor label |
| Nausea | 2% vs 1% | — | After stopping 6 mg, nausea and vomiting occurred in 5% (vs 0%). | Silenor label |
| Hypertension | 3% (3 mg) and <1% (6 mg) vs 0% | Not dose-related | A small signal; report raised blood pressure readings. | Silenor label |
| Gastroenteritis | 2% (3 mg) vs 0% | — | — | Silenor label |
| Dizziness | "Frequent" (1 in 100 or more) | — | Relevant to falls in older adults. | Silenor label |
| Headache | Among the most common reported events | — | No increase over placebo in the AASM meta-analysis. | Yeung 2015, AASM |
| Dry mouth, blurred vision, constipation, falls | "Infrequent" (fewer than 1 in 100) | Anticholinergic effects rise with dose | The pivotal trials reported no spontaneous anticholinergic effects, weight gain or memory impairment at 1–6 mg. | Silenor label, Krystal 2011 |
Dropouts. In the development programme, 0.6% on placebo stopped because of an adverse reaction, compared with 0.4%, 1.0% and 0.7% on 1, 3 and 6 mg (Silenor label).
Serious and important risks
| Risk | Severity | What the evidence says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Complex behaviours ("sleep-driving", night eating, calls, sex while not fully awake) | High: consider stopping | Reported with hypnotics as a class. The label says discontinuation "should be strongly considered" after a sleep-driving episode. | Silenor label |
| Worsening depression / suicidal thinking | High: urgent review | The label notes that doxepin is an antidepressant at higher doses and that risk "from the lower dose... can not be excluded". It advises prescribing "the least amount feasible". | Silenor label |
| Next-day impairment | Moderate | At 6 mg: "modest negative changes" on some next-day tests after one night, and "small decreases" on others in a 35-day study. At 1 and 3 mg in older adults, results were comparable to placebo. | Silenor label |
| Dose creep to antidepressant range | High in older adults | Above 6 mg the label lists anticholinergic effects (constipation, urinary retention), confusion, seizures, low blood pressure and weight gain. Beers: "highly anticholinergic, sedating, and cause orthostatic hypotension". | Silenor label, Beers 2023 |
| Overdose | High | Tricyclic overdose can cause "cardiac dysrhythmias, severe hypotension, convulsions, and CNS depression including coma". Hospital cardiac monitoring is needed. | Silenor label |
| Syncope (fainting) | Moderate | Beers lists tertiary tricyclics, doxepin included, among drugs to avoid in people with a history of syncope. That entry is not restricted to doses above 6 mg. | Beers 2023 |
| Heart rhythm (QT interval) | Low at sleep doses | In a thorough QT study, doxepin "had no effect on QT intervals" at up to 50 mg daily in healthy people. | Silenor label |
Dependence, withdrawal and rebound
Unlike Z-drugs and benzodiazepines, doxepin "is not a controlled substance" and "is not associated with abuse potential in animals or in humans". In a discontinuation assessment "no symptoms indicative of a withdrawal syndrome were observed", and the 35-day study found no rebound insomnia at 3 or 6 mg. The one signal was nausea and vomiting in 5% of people stopping 6 mg (Silenor label). These findings come from company studies lasting up to 3 months. Yeung and colleagues said withdrawal effects could not be firmly judged from the small evidence base (Yeung 2015).
All interactions
| Interacting drug / substance | Risk | Mechanism / effect | Label advice |
|---|---|---|---|
| MAOIs (e.g. phenelzine, tranylcypromine, isocarboxazid; selegiline) | Contraindicated | "Serious side effects and even death" have been reported with certain drugs taken alongside MAOIs. | Do not use with MAOIs or within 2 weeks of stopping one (Silenor label). |
| Alcohol | Avoid | Sedation is increased. | "Patients should not consume alcohol with SILENOR". |
| Other CNS depressants (benzodiazepines, Z-drugs, opioids, sedating antipsychotics) | High caution | Additive sedation and possibly complex behaviours. | Dose reduction may be needed (Silenor label). |
| Sedating antihistamines (e.g. diphenhydramine, doxylamine, promethazine, including over-the-counter sleep aids) | High caution | Additive H1 blockade and sedation. First-generation antihistamines are also on the Beers "avoid" list. | Avoid combining; tell your pharmacist (Beers). |
| Cimetidine | Dose limit | About a 2-fold increase in doxepin levels. | Maximum 3 mg (Silenor label). |
| CYP2C19 / CYP2D6 inhibitors (the label names these enzyme classes; examples include some SSRIs) | Moderate | These may increase doxepin exposure. With sertraline 50 mg, doxepin exposure rose 21% (AUC) and peak levels 32%, and psychomotor test scores fell. | The prescriber may adjust the dose (Silenor label). |
| Tolazamide (and possibly other diabetes medicines) | Case report | Severe low blood sugar in one patient after doxepin 75 mg a day was added. | Monitor glucose (Silenor label). |
| Food (meal within 3 hours) | Timing | Exposure +41% and peak delayed by about 3 hours, which raises the risk of next-day effects. | Do not take within 3 hours of a meal. |
Always give your prescriber and pharmacist a full list of medicines, including over-the-counter sleep aids and allergy tablets. Many contain sedating antihistamines.
Who should avoid low-dose doxepin
- People taking an MAOI, or who stopped one within the past two weeks (Silenor label).
- Untreated narrow-angle glaucoma or severe urinary retention, both contraindications. People prone to urinary retention should start at 3 mg.
- Hypersensitivity to doxepin or other dibenzoxepines.
- Severe sleep apnoea: "ordinarily not recommended". It has not been studied in obstructive sleep apnoea.
- Pregnancy: studies have not shown a raised risk of major birth defects. Newborns exposed to tricyclics late in pregnancy have needed "prolonged hospitalization, respiratory support, and tube feeding" because of poor neonatal adaptation.
- Breastfeeding: "breastfeeding is not recommended". Excess sedation and breathing depression have been reported in breastfed infants.
- Children and teenagers: safety and effectiveness have not been evaluated.
- Older adults: start at 3 mg. Beers supports doses of 6 mg or less as comparable to placebo for safety, but says avoid anything higher. It also lists tertiary tricyclics among drugs to avoid in people with a history of syncope (Beers 2023).
- Liver impairment: start at 3 mg and monitor for daytime effects. Kidney impairment is not expected to matter much.
- People with depression, bipolar disorder or suicidal thoughts: needs specialist oversight. The low dose is not an antidepressant treatment.
Dosage and how to take it
Your prescriber sets the dose. The ranges below are the official US licensed ranges for Silenor, given for information only. They are not personal dosing advice.
| Group | Licensed dose (US Silenor label) |
|---|---|
| Adults | 6 mg once daily. 3 mg "may be appropriate for some patients". |
| Age 65 and over | Start at 3 mg once daily; can be increased to 6 mg if clinically indicated. |
| Liver impairment or tendency to urinary retention | Start at 3 mg. |
| With cimetidine | Maximum 3 mg. |
| Maximum | "The total SILENOR dose should not exceed 6 mg per day." |
| Timing | Within 30 minutes of bedtime; not within 3 hours of a meal. |
| Duration studied | Up to 3 months. Re-evaluate if insomnia persists after 7–10 days. |
Source: Silenor prescribing information. For comparison, antidepressant doses are 75–150 mg a day and up to 300 mg (US capsules label), or 25–300 mg a day in the UK (Sinepin SmPC).
Antidepressant-strength capsules are not a sleep dose. The licensed sleep product comes as 3 mg and 6 mg tablets. UK doxepin capsules start at 10 mg, which is already above the 6 mg Beers threshold. Any other dose or formulation is a decision for the prescriber.
How quickly it works. In the trials, benefits on night-time waking appeared from the first night (Krystal 2010). Because peak levels arrive about 3.5 hours after the dose, it acts mostly on the middle and later part of the night.
How to stop. Company studies found no withdrawal syndrome or rebound insomnia at 3–6 mg, though 5% had nausea or vomiting after stopping 6 mg (Silenor label). Plan any change with your prescriber. People on higher antidepressant doses need a supervised taper.
Follow the money: who makes it and who funded the evidence
From an old antidepressant to a new sleep brand
- The licence. Doxepin was a long-established generic antidepressant. In August 2003, the newly formed Somaxon Pharmaceuticals (San Diego, California) took an exclusive worldwide licence from ProCom One, Inc. to patents "to develop and commercialize low dosages of doxepin for the treatment of insomnia". Somaxon acknowledged that it did "not hold composition of matter patents" on doxepin, only use and formulation patents. Those included a patent covering 0.5–20 mg doses for transient insomnia, due to expire in February 2020 (Somaxon 10-K for 2011).
- Launch and partners. The FDA approved Silenor in March 2010, and it launched in September 2010. Somaxon then signed:
- a co-promotion agreement with Procter & Gamble (August 2010), and a possible deal on over-the-counter rights;
- a licence with Paladin for Canada, South America, the Caribbean and Africa (June 2011).
- Sales against spending. Silenor net product sales were $1.38 million in 2010 and $16.16 million in 2011. Selling, general and administrative expenses were $36.6 million and $69.8 million in those years (Somaxon 10-K). In other words, the company spent several times more on selling and running the business than the product earned.
- Patent challenges. Actavis, Mylan, Par and Zydus each filed generic applications with paragraph IV patent challenges, and Somaxon and ProCom sued them (Somaxon 10-K).
- Pernix. On 6 March 2013, Somaxon merged into Pernix Therapeutics Holdings and was renamed Pernix Sleep, Inc. (SEC Form 8-K).
- Bankruptcy and Currax. Pernix filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy in Delaware on 18 February 2019. Under an April 2019 asset purchase agreement, its assets, including "the Silenor Assets", were sold to Currax Holdings LLC (formerly Phoenix Top Holdings LLC). The agreement's notice address for the buyer was "c/o Highbridge Capital Management, LLC", an investment firm (Pernix–Currax asset purchase agreement).
- Today. The US label is held by Currax Pharmaceuticals LLC, Brentwood, Tennessee (Silenor label). Eight generic 3 mg/6 mg tablet applications are now approved (openFDA).
- Not verified. We did not verify current ownership of Currax beyond the 2019 agreement, or any recent Silenor revenue figures.
Who funded the evidence
- Every low-dose trial was company-funded. An independent systematic review states it directly: "All low-dose studies were industry-sponsored" (Yeung et al., 2015). Author affiliations in the main trials include Somaxon Pharmaceuticals staff (Krystal 2010, Krystal 2011, Roth 2007).
- The US guideline and its author ties.
- The AASM guideline downgraded the doxepin evidence for "industry sponsorship" and still issued a weak "suggest".
- One of its four authors, Andrew Krystal, was first author of two Somaxon doxepin trials. He declared consultancy for Pernix, Silenor's owner from 2013, and for many other companies (AASM 2017 disclosures).
- This was disclosed. It does not show the recommendation was wrong: independent reviews reached similar effect estimates.
- Independent checks:
- the harm-focused Beers panel (no sponsor), which exempts doses of 6 mg or less;
- the Hong Kong and Canadian systematic reviews;
- the publicly funded Lancet NMA, which found doxepin well tolerated but its efficacy data "scarce";
- the Cochrane review, which found only "a small improvement".
Our reading. The independent sources converge on the same conclusion: a small, real benefit for staying asleep, with a good short-term tolerability record at 3–6 mg. There is no independent long-term trial.
Related research
- Sleep: prevention and management guide: CBT-I, sleep scheduling and non-drug first steps
- Sleep supplements: independent evidence
- Melatonin · Magnesium · L-theanine
- Stress, anxiety and depression prevention guide · Stress, anxiety and depression supplements
- Sibling medicine reviews: Eszopiclone · Trazodone · Mirtazapine · Zolpidem · Amitriptyline
Frequently asked questions
How long does low-dose doxepin take to work?
Benefits on night-time waking were seen from the first night in trials (Krystal 2010). Blood levels peak about 3.5 hours after a dose, so it acts mostly on the middle and later night rather than on falling asleep (Silenor label). Taking it with or soon after food delays it further.
Is 3 mg or 6 mg doxepin the same as an antidepressant?
It is the same molecule, but at 10–100 times less than antidepressant doses. At 3–6 mg it acts mainly on histamine H1 receptors, and it is not a treatment for depression (Silenor label). The Beers Criteria treat the two dose ranges differently: avoid above 6 mg, while 6 mg or less is "comparable to that of placebo" for safety (Beers 2023).
Can you drink alcohol with doxepin?
No. The label says "Patients should not consume alcohol with SILENOR" because alcohol increases its sedative effects and raises the risk of complex behaviours such as sleep-driving (Silenor label).
Does low-dose doxepin cause weight gain?
The label lists weight gain among effects seen at doses higher than 6 mg (Silenor label). The company trials at 1–6 mg reported no spontaneous reports of weight gain or increased appetite over 5–12 weeks (Krystal 2011, Krystal 2010). Longer-term data are lacking.
Is doxepin addictive?
It is not a controlled substance, and the label says it "is not associated with abuse potential". No withdrawal syndrome was seen after stopping 3–6 mg in studies up to 3 months, though some people had nausea after stopping 6 mg (Silenor label). This is a real difference from Z-drugs and benzodiazepines. The evidence is still short-term and company-funded.
How do I stop low-dose doxepin safely?
Discuss it with your prescriber first. At 3–6 mg, trials found no rebound insomnia or withdrawal syndrome, but 5% had nausea or vomiting after stopping 6 mg (Silenor label). People taking higher, antidepressant doses should never stop abruptly without medical guidance. CBT-I remains the first-line long-term approach (European guideline).
Why won't doxepin help me fall asleep?
Because it is absorbed slowly and mainly improves the later part of the night. Meta-analyses found only 2–5 minutes' improvement in time to fall asleep, well below clinically meaningful levels (AASM 2017, Yeung 2015). That is why the US licence is for sleep maintenance only.
Is low-dose doxepin available in the UK?
We found no UK-licensed 3 mg or 6 mg doxepin product. UK doxepin capsules (10–50 mg) are licensed for depression (Sinepin SmPC), so any use for insomnia would be off-label and a specialist decision. NHS guidance puts CBT first and says GPs "rarely prescribe sleeping pills" (NHS).
Sources and funding notes
- Silenor (doxepin) tablets, US prescribing information, DailyMed / openFDA. Manufacturer-written label, approved and regulated by the FDA. Holder: Currax Pharmaceuticals LLC (USA).
- Doxepin hydrochloride capsules, US prescribing information (DailyMed). Antidepressant-dose label with a boxed suicidality warning. Repackager label, FDA-regulated.
- openFDA Drugs@FDA, NDA 022036 and doxepin tablet ANDA listing. US government data.
- Sinepin 50 mg capsules SmPC and Doxepin 10 mg capsules SmPC, electronic medicines compendium. MHRA-approved texts (UK). Holders: Marlborough Pharmaceuticals; Morningside Healthcare.
- Sateia MJ et al. AASM clinical practice guideline for the pharmacologic treatment of chronic insomnia. J Clin Sleep Med 2017 (PubMed). Funded by the AASM (USA). Krystal declared consultancy for Pernix, Merck, Jazz, Janssen and others, and research support from Sunovion; Neubauer consulted for Purdue.
- Everitt H et al. Antidepressants for insomnia in adults. Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2018. Academic (University of Southampton, UK). Baldwin declared grants and advisory boards with several antidepressant makers; Malizia is a former SmithKline Beecham director; Wilson had pharmaceutical lecture honoraria (none since 2009); others none. We could not access the review's sources of support.
- Yeung WF et al. Doxepin for insomnia: a systematic review of randomized placebo-controlled trials. Sleep Med Rev 2015. Academic (University of Hong Kong). Funding and conflicts not stated in the abstract.
- Rojas-Fernandez CH, Chen Y. Ultra-low-dose (≤6 mg) doxepin for insomnia in older people. Can Pharm J 2014. Academic (University of Waterloo, Canada). No conflicts declared.
- De Crescenzo F et al. Pharmacological interventions for insomnia: network meta-analysis. Lancet 2022. Funded by the NIHR Oxford Health BRC (UK public). The first author was employed by Boehringer Ingelheim; the senior author leads Janssen-sponsored seltorexant trials; some authors had Angelini fees.
- Riemann D et al. The European Insomnia Guideline 2023. J Sleep Res. European Sleep Research Society (pan-European). We could not verify author conflicts.
- American Geriatrics Society 2023 Beers Criteria. "There was no sponsor for this paper" (USA). Panel disclosures are listed in the paper.
- Winkler A, Rief W. Placebo response in primary insomnia. Sleep 2015. Academic (University of Marburg, Germany).
- Krystal AD et al. Doxepin 1 mg and 3 mg in elderly chronic insomnia, 12 weeks. Sleep 2010 (PMC). Manufacturer-linked: co-authors affiliated with Somaxon Pharmaceuticals.
- Krystal AD et al. Doxepin 3 and 6 mg in adults, 35 days. Sleep 2011 (PMC). Manufacturer-linked: Somaxon co-authors.
- Lankford A et al. Doxepin 6 mg in elderly adults, 4 weeks. Sleep Med 2012. Pivotal registration trial; the author list overlaps with the Somaxon trials. Funding statement not retrieved.
- Roth T et al. Doxepin 1, 3 and 6 mg in adults. Sleep 2007 (PMC). Manufacturer-linked: Somaxon co-author.
- NHS, Insomnia (reviewed 19 March 2024). UK public health service.
- Somaxon Pharmaceuticals, Annual report (Form 10-K) for 2011. Company SEC filing (USA). Regulated financial disclosures.
- Pernix Sleep (formerly Somaxon), Form 8-K, merger completion (March 2013). SEC filing.
- Amended and restated asset purchase agreement, Pernix Therapeutics and Currax Holdings LLC (April 2019). SEC filing exhibit.
Last reviewed: 26 September 2026. Educational information from Pure City Research, not medical advice. Medicine decisions belong with a qualified prescriber.
Have a question — or want us to cover something?
Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.
One daily research roundup
Get the topics, key findings and links from our new articles in one email. At most one digest a day, only when there is something new.
