Vortioxetine: Independent Evidence on Depression, Cognition Claims, Side Effects

Key takeaways
  • Vortioxetine works better than placebo for adult depression, but the gap is small. The independent Cochrane review found a response risk ratio of 1.35 and a mean MADRS difference of −2.94 points. Evidence quality was low to very low, and every included trial was sponsored by Lundbeck or Takeda (Koesters et al., Cochrane 2017).
  • It has not been shown to work better than older, cheaper antidepressants. NICE found "no convincing evidence" that it was more or less effective than other antidepressants, and it recommends vortioxetine only after 2 other antidepressants have not worked well enough in the current episode (NICE TA367, section 4.10).
  • The cognitive claims rest on company-funded trials that used a speed test (the DSST). The US label shows gains of 1.8 to 4.3 symbols over placebo, and the FDA label itself says these "may reflect improvement in depression". The FDA turned down two applications to add cognitive data before accepting it in 2018 as trial data, not as a separate indication (FDA Trintellix label).
  • Nausea is the main side effect. In the US label's 6–8 week trials it affected 21–32% of people on vortioxetine versus 9% on placebo, and it rose with dose. Median duration was two weeks (FDA label).
  • Sexual side effects appear to be lower at lower doses but are not absent. On a structured questionnaire, 34% of women and 29% of men on 20 mg developed sexual dysfunction, versus 20% and 14% on placebo (FDA label, Table 3).
  • Follow the money: Lundbeck (Denmark) discovered vortioxetine, and it is Lundbeck's second-biggest product, earning DKK 4,554 million in 2025. Lundbeck is about 69% owned by the Lundbeck Foundation. Takeda (Japan) sells it in the US (Lundbeck FY2025 release, Lundbeck shareholders).
  • Evidence grade: Moderate for treating depression (a small benefit that is real on average); Weak for claims that it is better than other antidepressants or has a separate benefit for thinking and memory.

Independent evidence review · Prescription medicine

Vortioxetine (sold as Brintellix, and as Trintellix in the US) is a newer serotonergic antidepressant. It is licensed for major depression in adults. It beats placebo by a modest margin and appears to be reasonably well tolerated apart from nausea, but independent reviewers have not found it more effective than older antidepressants. Its main selling point, a benefit for thinking and concentration, comes almost entirely from trials paid for by its makers. The best independent sources are the Cochrane review, NICE and Germany's IQWiG, and none of them found an added benefit over existing treatment. The Cochrane authors concluded that "the place of vortioxetine in the treatment of acute depression is unclear" (Koesters et al., Cochrane 2017).

Best evidence for adult major depression (short-term response and relapse prevention), versus placebo
Main risks nausea, vomiting, constipation, sexual dysfunction at higher doses, serotonin syndrome, bleeding, hyponatraemia, suicidality warning in under-25s
Key rule UK: a later-line option after 2 antidepressants; never combine with MAOIs; stop only with your prescriber
Safety first
Vortioxetine is a prescription-only medicine. Do not start it, stop it or change the dose without your prescriber. Like all antidepressants, it carries a US boxed warning that antidepressants "increased the risk of suicidal thoughts and behavior in pediatric and young adult patients". Anyone taking it should be watched for worsening mood or new suicidal thoughts, especially in the first few months and after dose changes (FDA label). If you or someone you know has thoughts of suicide or self-harm, seek urgent help now from local emergency services, a crisis line or an urgent GP or psychiatric appointment. Never combine vortioxetine with an MAOI antidepressant, linezolid or intravenous methylene blue. Get urgent medical care for agitation, fever, muscle twitching or confusion, which can be signs of serotonin syndrome.

Table of contents

Evidence summary

Claim Evidence Source Funding / conflict Strength
Vortioxetine beats placebo for acute adult depression 15 trials with 7,746 participants. Response RR 1.35 (95% CI 1.22–1.49); remission RR 1.32 (1.15–1.53); MADRS mean difference −2.94 (−4.07 to −1.80). Quality of evidence was low for response and remission and very low for symptom scores. Koesters et al., Cochrane 2017 The review had no external funding and its authors declared no interests. All the trials it analysed were sponsored by Lundbeck or Takeda. Moderate
Vortioxetine is more effective than other antidepressants NICE found "no convincing evidence" that it was more or less effective. Cochrane found no advantage over SNRIs and a small advantage for duloxetine. An Austrian network meta-analysis found "similar efficacy". NICE TA367; Wagner et al. 2018 NICE is funded by the UK government. Wagner et al. are academics at Danube University Krems in Austria and declared no conflicts in the PubMed record. Not shown
It prevents relapse after response In a relapse-prevention study, the risk of relapse was twice as high on placebo (HR 2.0). The EMA summary gives relapse rates of 13% on vortioxetine versus 26% on placebo over 24 weeks. EMA SmPC 5.1; EMA EPAR This is a manufacturer trial, assessed by the regulator. It used a randomised withdrawal design, so only people who had already responded were included. Moderate
It improves cognitive function (processing speed) in depression On the DSST, people on vortioxetine got 4.2–4.3 more symbols right than those on placebo in one trial and 1.8 more in the other. The FDA label says the effect "may reflect improvement in depression". No trials compared it with another antidepressant on this outcome. FDA label, Table 6; FOCUS; CONNECT Both trials were run by the manufacturers. Lundbeck sponsored FOCUS and was involved in its analysis and writing. The lead authors of CONNECT are Takeda employees. Weak
Fewer sexual side effects than SSRIs People who switched from an SSRI to vortioxetine improved by 2.2 points more on the CSFQ-14 sexual function scale than those who switched to escitalopram (95% CI 0.48–4.02). At 20 mg, rates of new sexual dysfunction still rose above placebo. FDA label; CANMAT 2023 The trials were run by the manufacturers. CANMAT received no industry funding, but many of its authors declare fees from Lundbeck and Takeda. Weak–moderate
Nausea is common and dose-related 21%, 26%, 32% and 32% at 5, 10, 15 and 20 mg, versus 9% on placebo. It was the most common reason people stopped treatment. FDA label Regulator-reviewed data, reported against the manufacturer's commercial interest. Established risk
Works in children and adolescents In two 8-week trials (N=540 and N=616), vortioxetine "was not superior to placebo in either study". FDA label 8.4 Manufacturer trials; the negative results appear in the label. Not effective

Independent evidence and credibility scorecard

Source Who funds it Country Independence tier (1–4) Credibility (A–D) Why it would tell the truth / residual bias
Cochrane review (Koesters et al. 2017) No internal or external support; all five authors declared no interests Germany-led academic team (Ulm University) 1 A− Its academic reputation depends on independence. Residual bias: it can only analyse trials the manufacturers ran, and no SSRI comparisons existed.
NICE TA367 and NG222 UK government (Department of Health and Social Care) UK 1–2 A− It has a legal duty to spend NHS money on value, and it publishes its reasoning. Residual bias: its cost-effectiveness judgement relied on the company's economic model and on the list price in 2015.
IQWiG benefit assessment (2015) German statutory institute working for the G-BA (we did not re-check its funding for this review) Germany 1–2 B+ Its statutory role is to judge added benefit for payers. Residual bias: it assessed only the company's dossier, which it judged incomplete, so it made no finding on the drug's underlying effect.
FDA label and approval history (label, Drugs@FDA) US government; 77% of the cost of human drug review in FY2025 came from industry user fees (FDA PDUFA report) US 2 B+ The FDA negotiates label wording against the company's interest. For example, the label reports failed US 5 mg trials and includes the caveat on the DSST. Residual bias: the data come from the sponsor, and the review is funded in part by fees.
EMA EPAR and product information (EPAR) About 91.5% of its 2026 budget comes from fees and charges (EMA funding) EU (Amsterdam) 2 B Its assessments are public and it has a legal duty. Residual bias: it depends heavily on fees, and the text of the product information is drafted by the marketing-authorisation holder.
Cipriani et al., Lancet 2018 UK NIHR Oxford Health BRC and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science UK / Japan / international 2 B+ Public funding, and unpublished data were obtained for vortioxetine. Residual bias: some co-authors declared fees from antidepressant makers, including Lundbeck, and 78% of the trials it pooled were funded by drug companies (full text).
Wagner et al. 2018 network meta-analysis Not stated in the PubMed record; the authors declared no conflicts Austria / US (academic) 2 B It is an academic evidence-synthesis centre and it searched pharmaceutical dossiers. Residual bias: it searched English-language literature only, and its strength of evidence was mostly low.
CANMAT 2023 guideline Internal funds; "no pharmaceutical or industry funding" Canada 2–3 B− Academic reputation. Residual bias: many authors declare fees or grants from Lundbeck, Takeda and other makers, and its conferences are industry-sponsored (CANMAT disclosures).
National Center for Health Research testimony (2016) States that it does "not accept funding from the drug or medical device industry" US (non-profit) 2 B− A watchdog whose credibility depends on independence. Residual bias: this is advocacy testimony, not a systematic review, and it has an institutional sceptical stance.
Pivotal trials (e.g. FOCUS, CONNECT, REVIVE) Lundbeck and Takeda Denmark / Japan (multinational sites) 4 B for randomised data, C for conclusions They are double-blind and randomised, and their data were submitted to regulators. Residual bias: the sponsor designed, analysed and wrote them up, and company employees are co-authors.
Company-authored pooled analyses (Thase 2016, McIntyre 2016) Written with Lundbeck and Takeda employees as co-authors US / Denmark 4 C Their numbers are consistent with the regulator summaries. Residual bias: the authors choose which trials and outcomes to pool, and the conclusions are promotional in tone.
Lundbeck annual release Lundbeck Denmark 4 B for revenue figures, D for product claims Securities law penalises misstating financial figures. Residual bias: the product descriptions are marketing.

What vortioxetine is

Vortioxetine is an oral antidepressant. Regulators and its maker describe it as "multimodal" because, besides blocking serotonin reuptake as SSRIs do, it acts directly on several serotonin receptors. It was discovered at H. Lundbeck A/S in Copenhagen-Valby, Denmark, where it was first known by the code name Lu AA21004 (Bang-Andersen et al., J Med Chem 2011). Lundbeck developed it in a strategic alliance with Takeda that began in September 2007 (Takeda/Lundbeck 2013 release).

  • US: The US application (NDA 204447) was approved on 30 September 2013 as a new molecular entity. The application holder is Takeda (Drugs@FDA). It was first sold as Brintellix. In May 2016 it was renamed Trintellix in the US "after receiving reports of name confusion" with the anti-clotting drug Brilinta (ticagrelor); the formulation, indication and doses did not change (Takeda 2016). The current US label says it is "distributed and marketed by" Takeda Pharmaceuticals America, Inc., and that Trintellix is a trademark of H. Lundbeck A/S used under licence (FDA label).
  • EU and UK: Brintellix was authorised in the EU on 18 December 2013. The marketing-authorisation holder is H. Lundbeck A/S, Ottiliavej 9, Valby, Denmark (EMA EPAR). NICE confirms it has a UK marketing authorisation "for the treatment of major depressive episodes in adults" (NICE TA367 section 2). It is a prescription-only medicine in both the UK and the US. The EU product information classes it as a "medicinal product subject to medical prescription" (EMA product information).
  • Forms: Film-coated tablets of 5, 10, 15 and 20 mg (EU). The US label lists 5, 10 and 20 mg tablets (EMA SmPC, FDA label).
  • Generic status: When we searched Drugs@FDA we found only Takeda's original application and no approved US generic. Lundbeck reports generic competition for Brintellix in Canada, Brazil and China (Lundbeck FY2025). We did not verify whether generics are available in the UK.

How it works

The FDA label is candid: "The mechanism of the antidepressant effect of vortioxetine is not fully understood". It is thought to relate to blocking serotonin reuptake, and the label adds that "5-HT3 receptor antagonism and 5-HT1A receptor agonism" are among its other activities, whose "contribution ... to vortioxetine's antidepressant effect has not been established" (FDA label 12.1).

Lundbeck's discovery paper lists the drug's receptor targets. It is a potent serotonin-transporter blocker (Ki 1.6 nM). It blocks 5-HT3A and 5-HT7 receptors, partially stimulates 5-HT1B receptors, stimulates 5-HT1A receptors, and also binds β1 noradrenergic receptors (Bang-Andersen et al. 2011). The EMA product information says this activity is considered responsible for the "improvement of cognitive function, learning and memory observed with vortioxetine in animal studies". It warns that "caution should be applied when extrapolating animal data directly to man" (EMA SmPC 5.1).

Several properties of the drug affect how it is used:

  • It has a long mean half-life of about 66 hours, and steady-state levels are usually reached within two weeks.
  • Food does not affect absorption.
  • It is broken down mainly by the liver enzyme CYP2D6. People who are genetically poor CYP2D6 metabolisers have about twice the blood level (FDA label 12.3).

The long half-life is one likely reason why stopping it has produced fewer withdrawal symptoms in trials than stopping short-acting antidepressants.

What it is prescribed for

Licensed use. The only licensed use is depression in adults. In the US that is "major depressive disorder (MDD) in adults"; in the EU and UK it is "major depressive episodes in adults" (FDA label, EMA). It is not licensed for anxiety disorders, for use in children, or as a treatment for cognitive impairment. The FDA refused to create a cognitive indication (see below).

Where guidelines place it:

  • NICE (England): TA367 (November 2015, reviewed in 2018 with no change) recommends vortioxetine "as an option for treating major depressive episodes in adults whose condition has responded inadequately to 2 antidepressants within the current episode". In practice that makes it a third-line option (NICE TA367, overview). The 2022 depression guideline repeats this position (rec 1.9.7). It also says SSRIs should usually be the first choice, and that antidepressants should not routinely be the first-line treatment for less severe depression (NICE NG222).
  • CANMAT (Canada, 2023): CANMAT lists vortioxetine among 8 antidepressants with "evidence for superior response", adding that such differences "are in the range of 5 to 10 percentage points". It places vortioxetine among the drugs with lower rates of sexual side effects and "low or minimal" discontinuation risk. It says that vortioxetine, bupropion and SNRIs "may have superior efficacy for cognitive dysfunction compared to SSRIs" (Lam et al., CANMAT 2023). Note that CANMAT took no industry money as an organisation, but many of its authors declare fees from Lundbeck and Takeda.
  • Germany (IQWiG, 2015): IQWiG concluded that "no added benefit can be derived" versus the comparator set by Germany's G-BA (an SSRI such as citalopram). The manufacturer had identified 14 vortioxetine and 10 citalopram trials but used only 3 and 4 of them in its indirect comparison, which IQWiG called "not convincingly justified and inadequate" (IQWiG 2015).
  • WHO: WHO's mhGAP depression recommendation names SSRIs and amitriptyline, not vortioxetine (WHO mhGAP 2023).

What works and what does not

Claimed benefit Verdict Evidence Key caveat
Reduces depressive symptoms versus placebo (adults, 6–8 weeks) WORKS The Cochrane review found response RR 1.35. The regulator's meta-analysis found MADRS differences of −2.3, −3.6 and −4.6 points at 5, 10 and 20 mg (Cochrane, EMA SmPC). The effect is small, and Cochrane rated the evidence low to very low quality. Only 9 of 12 placebo-controlled studies were positive.
Prevents relapse when continued after response WORKS Relapse HR 2.0 favouring vortioxetine; 13% vs 26% relapsed (EMA). This comes from a withdrawal design in people who had already responded. Some relapses on placebo may be withdrawal symptoms or rebound.
Works in older adults (65+) MIXED A dedicated trial of 5 mg found a 4.7-point MADRS advantage over placebo (EMA SmPC). There was only one trial. Nausea and constipation were more common at 20 mg in people aged 65 and over.
Better than other antidepressants NOT SHOWN NICE found "no convincing evidence". Cochrane found SNRIs slightly ahead on symptom scores. Wagner et al. found "similar efficacy" (NICE, Wagner). Cochrane found no head-to-head trial against an SSRI. The one "win", over agomelatine, was against a comparator little used in the NHS.
Improves thinking speed and concentration independently of mood MIXED DSST gains of +1.8 to +4.3 symbols over 8 weeks (FDA label). All the trials were run by the manufacturers. The FDA says the effect "may reflect improvement in depression", and it was not compared against other antidepressants.
Fewer sexual side effects MIXED Better than escitalopram in an SSRI-switch trial; 10 mg (but not 20 mg) caused less sexual dysfunction than paroxetine in healthy volunteers (FDA label). The advantage appears to depend on dose. At 20 mg the rate of new sexual dysfunction was clearly above placebo.
Treats depression in under-18s DOES NOT WORK Two trials, both negative (FDA label 8.4). The EU product information adds a higher incidence of suicidal ideation in adolescents compared with adults.
Anxiety disorders (e.g. GAD) INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE Not a licensed indication in the US or EU (EMA). We did not review the anxiety trials in depth, so we make no claim either way.

Benefits by claim

1. Depression in adults: a real but small effect

The most independent summary is the 2017 Cochrane review by Koesters and colleagues. It covered 15 randomised trials with 7,746 participants: seven were placebo-controlled and eight compared vortioxetine with SNRIs (duloxetine or venlafaxine). Against placebo, vortioxetine gave:

  • a response RR of 1.35 (95% CI 1.22 to 1.49; 14 studies, 6,220 participants);
  • a remission RR of 1.32 (95% CI 1.15 to 1.53);
  • a mean MADRS difference of −2.94 points (95% CI −4.07 to −1.80).

In its summary-of-findings table, that means about 480 responders per 1,000 on vortioxetine against 356 per 1,000 on placebo. The quality of evidence was "low for response and remission and very low for depressive symptoms". More people stopped vortioxetine because of side effects (RR 1.41, 95% CI 1.09 to 1.81), and fewer stopped because it was not working (RR 0.56) (Koesters et al. 2017). The authors' judgement is that "the clinical relevance of these effects is uncertain, because of the small magnitude of effect, the poor quality of evidence and the highly selected participants enrolled" (full text).

The manufacturers' own pooled analysis points the same way, with somewhat more favourable numbers. Across 11 trials, MADRS reductions over placebo were −2.27, −3.57 and −4.57 points at 5, 10 and 20 mg, while 15 mg (−2.60) did not separate from placebo (Thase et al. 2016; co-authors include Takeda staff). The EMA summary gives the same pattern. It reports responder rates of 46–49% on vortioxetine versus 34% on placebo, and says efficacy was shown "across 9 of the 12 studies" (EMA SmPC 5.1). An independent Chinese dose-response meta-analysis of 16 studies estimated the 50% effective dose at 4.37 mg a day. It found that acceptability, tolerability and safety declined as the dose went up (Yang et al. 2024; funded by China's National Key R&D Program).

How big is a 3-point MADRS difference? The MADRS runs from 0 to 60 points, and trial participants typically start around 30–34 points. The 2–3 point average gap between drug and placebo is similar to what independent analyses find for antidepressants in general. The FDA's own pooled data put the average difference at about 1.75 points on the older HAM-D scale (Stone et al., BMJ 2022). In the vortioxetine trials, people on placebo improved by 10–15 MADRS points on average, which shows how much of the improvement seen in trials happens without the drug (FDA label Table 5). Averages hide variation between people: some benefit substantially and others not at all.

The US trials were weaker than the non-US trials. The FDA label's efficacy table is worth reading closely:

  • In the three non-US studies, differences from placebo ranged from −4.1 to −7.1 points.
  • In the two US studies, 15 mg (−1.5, CI −3.9 to 0.9) and 10 mg (−2.2, CI −4.5 to 0.1) did not reach significance, and only 20 mg did (−2.8 and −3.6).
  • The label also states that "two studies of the 5 mg dose in the U.S. ... failed to show effectiveness" (FDA label, section 14).

Differences between regions in placebo response are common in antidepressant trials. The pattern is a reminder that the headline figures depend on which trials are pooled.

2. Compared with other antidepressants: no proven advantage

  • Versus SNRIs (Cochrane): very low-quality evidence showed "no clinically significant difference" for response (RR 0.91, 95% CI 0.82 to 1.00). There was a small MADRS difference favouring SNRIs (MD 1.52, 95% CI 0.50 to 2.53). Vortioxetine "may be less effective than duloxetine" for response (RR 0.86, 95% CI 0.79 to 0.94), but fewer people reported adverse effects on it than on duloxetine (RR 0.89) (Koesters et al. 2017).
  • Versus SSRIs: The Cochrane authors "were unable to identify any study" comparing vortioxetine with antidepressants from other classes, such as SSRIs, for acute depression. It called this "a major limitation", because SSRIs are the usual first-line treatment (Cochrane).
  • Network meta-analyses: The 2018 Cipriani analysis, which is publicly funded, grouped vortioxetine with the drugs that were more effective in head-to-head studies (ORs 1.19–1.96 for that group) and more tolerable (ORs 0.43–0.77). However, the certainty of evidence was "low to very low for most comparisons involving vortioxetine" (Cipriani et al. 2018). An Austrian network meta-analysis concluded that the evidence "does not indicate greater benefits or fewer harms" for vortioxetine than for other second-generation antidepressants (Wagner et al. 2018).
  • Versus agomelatine (REVIVE): In people who had not responded well to an SSRI or SNRI, vortioxetine beat agomelatine by 2.2 MADRS points at week 8 (Montgomery et al. 2014; Lundbeck-sponsored, with Lundbeck employees as co-authors). NICE judged REVIVE to be "of good quality". However, because agomelatine is little used in the NHS, it considered the comparison "of limited relevance to clinical practice in England" (NICE TA367 4.5).

NICE noted that one academic meta-analysis (Pae et al., which NICE said was "not sponsored by the company") concluded vortioxetine was "more effective than placebo but the difference was of doubtful clinical significance". A company-sponsored analysis (Llorca et al.) called its efficacy "comparable or favourable". NICE's overall conclusion was that "no convincing evidence existed to show that vortioxetine was more or less effective than other antidepressants" (NICE TA367 4.10; Pae et al. 2015). NICE still recommended it as a third-line option. When equal effectiveness was assumed, the cost-effectiveness ratios were "£9,000 per QALY gained or below" against other third-line antidepressants, and the evidence suggested people tolerate vortioxetine better in the short term (NICE 4.11 and 4.19).

3. The cognitive claim: what the evidence actually shows

Much of vortioxetine's marketing rests on "cognitive symptoms": slowed thinking, poor concentration and forgetfulness, which are common in depression. The core evidence comes from two 8-week, manufacturer-run trials that used the Digit Symbol Substitution Test (DSST). The DSST measures processing speed: how many symbol–number pairs a person can match correctly in 90 seconds.

  • FOCUS (US label "Study 7"): 602 adults with recurrent depression (McIntyre et al. 2014). The DSST improvement over placebo was 4.2 symbols at 10 mg and 4.3 at 20 mg. Lundbeck sponsored the study and "was involved in the study design, in the collection, analysis and interpretation of data, in the writing of the report, and in the decision to submit the paper for publication". Two of the three authors were Lundbeck employees.
  • CONNECT (US label "Study 8"): adults with depression who reported cognitive problems (Mahableshwarkar et al. 2015). The DSST improvement over placebo was 1.8 symbols (95% CI 0.3 to 3.2). The lead author and two co-authors were Takeda employees.

To put these numbers in context, the label notes that healthy 45- to 54-year-olds score about 50 on the DSST, with a standard deviation of 15 (FDA label, Table 6). A 1.8–4.3 symbol gain is therefore roughly an eighth to a quarter of one standard deviation among healthy adults. Regulators and independent critics have raised four limits on this evidence:

  1. It may just be the depression improving. The FDA label states: "The effects observed on DSST may reflect improvement in depression." Neither study included people whose depression had lifted but who still had concentration problems (FDA label). The company's own meta-analysis tried to separate the effects statistically. After adjusting for mood improvement, the standardised effect size fell from 0.35 to 0.24 (EMA SmPC; McIntyre et al. 2016, with Lundbeck and Takeda employees as co-authors).
  2. There is no comparison with other antidepressants. The label states: "Comparative studies have not been conducted to demonstrate a therapeutic advantage over other antidepressants on the DSST." Duloxetine was included as a reference arm in some trials, but only for internal validation.
  3. The results on how people rated their own thinking were mixed. In one study vortioxetine beat placebo on the Perceived Deficits Questionnaire (−14.6 vs −10.5), but it "did not separate from placebo" on the Cognitive and Physical Functioning Questionnaire (−8.1 vs −6.9, p=0.086) (EMA SmPC 5.1).
  4. Independent critics say the trials were short and narrow. At the 2016 FDA advisory meeting, the National Center for Health Research raised several concerns: whether the DSST is a meaningful measure of cognition, the 8-week duration, the exclusion of people over 65, and a trial population that was more than 85% white. It concluded there was "insufficient data to claim that vortioxetine is effective in providing a meaningful improvement in cognitive dysfunction" (NCHR testimony).

What regulators did:

  • February 2016: the FDA's Psychopharmacologic Drugs Advisory Committee voted 8 to 2 that the companies had presented substantial evidence for "certain aspects of cognitive dysfunction".
  • March 2016: the FDA nonetheless issued a complete response letter, meaning it did not approve the application (Lundbeck/Takeda 2016).
  • June 2017: the FDA issued a second complete response letter on a revised application (Lundbeck/Takeda 2017).
  • May 2018: the DSST data were added to the "clinical studies" section of the US label, together with the caveats above. This is data in the label, not an approved indication for cognitive dysfunction (Lundbeck/Takeda 2018; Drugs@FDA).

The companies' public statements did not give the FDA's reasons for either rejection, so we do not state them.

What NICE and the independent reviews concluded:

  • Lundbeck argued to NICE that vortioxetine "reduces cognitive dysfunction independent of its effect on MADRS". NICE accepted that it "may be a valuable treatment option" for people with cognitive dysfunction, but noted that the quality-of-life (EQ-5D) data from REVIVE "did not suggest" a notable difference between treatments. It concluded that all benefits were already captured in the model (NICE TA367 4.21).
  • An independent Taiwanese meta-analysis of 6 trials (1,782 patients) found improvements in DSST and in how patients rated their own thinking. It called for "further studies with longer follow-up" (Huang et al. 2022; no conflicts declared). Every trial it pooled came from the same manufacturer-sponsored programme.

Our reading: vortioxetine does speed up performance on a timed test in depressed adults over 8 weeks, and the effect is consistent across company trials. What is unproven is whether this is a meaningful, lasting benefit to thinking that goes beyond mood improvement, and whether any other antidepressant would do the same. We grade the cognitive claim Weak.

4. Relapse prevention

In the EU relapse-prevention study, people in remission after 12 weeks of open-label vortioxetine were randomised to stay on it or switch to placebo. The risk of relapse was twice as high on placebo (HR 2.0, p=0.004) (EMA SmPC). A US maintenance study randomised 580 remitted patients and found a longer time to recurrence at 5, 10 and 20 mg (FDA label). This randomised withdrawal design is standard, and it has a known weakness: part of the "relapse" in the placebo group may be discontinuation effects after the drug is stopped abruptly.

Risks and all side effects

In the 6–8 week US trials, people stopped vortioxetine because of side effects at rates of 5%, 6%, 8% and 8% at 5, 10, 15 and 20 mg, against 4% on placebo. Nausea was the most common reason (FDA label 6.1). The table below combines the FDA and EU labels.

Side effect / concern Frequency Dose relationship Practical note Source
Nausea 21% / 26% / 32% / 32% at 5 / 10 / 15 / 20 mg vs 9% placebo (very common) Clearly dose-related Usually mild to moderate, with a median duration of two weeks. It is more common in women. About 10% still had nausea at the end of the trials. In people aged 65 and over on 20 mg, 42% had nausea versus 27% of younger people. FDA label, EMA SmPC 4.8
Vomiting, constipation, diarrhoea, dry mouth, dyspepsia, flatulence Vomiting 3–6% vs 1%; constipation 3–6% vs 3%; diarrhoea 7–10% vs 6% (common) Rises with dose In people aged 65 and over on 20 mg, 15% had constipation versus 4% of younger people. FDA label Table 2
Dizziness, abnormal dreams, itching (pruritus), sweating Common Dizziness 6–9% vs 6% The EU label advises caution when driving, especially at the start of treatment or after a dose change. EMA SmPC
Sexual dysfunction On the ASEX questionnaire (people with normal function at the start): women 22% / 23% / 33% / 34% vs 20% on placebo; men 16% / 20% / 19% / 29% vs 14% Most apparent at 20 mg The label advises prescribers to "routinely inquire". The EU label notes post-marketing reports at doses below 20 mg too. FDA label Table 3, EMA SmPC
Suicidal thoughts and behaviour (boxed warning, US) Class-wide pooled data per 1,000 patients: +14 under 18; +5 aged 18–24; −1 aged 25–64; −6 aged 65 and over Highest risk early in treatment and after dose changes Seek urgent help for new or worsening suicidal thoughts. The EU label reports more suicidal ideation in adolescents than adults in paediatric trials. FDA label 5.1, EMA SmPC 4.4
Serotonin syndrome / neuroleptic malignant syndrome Not known (post-marketing) Risk higher when combined with other serotonergic drugs, and can also occur alone This is a medical emergency. Signs include agitation, hallucinations, fast heart rate, fever, tremor, stiffness, twitching and diarrhoea. FDA label 5.2, EMA SmPC
Bleeding Not known; ranges from bruising and nosebleeds to "life-threatening hemorrhages" Risk higher with aspirin, NSAIDs, warfarin and other anticoagulants Use in the month before delivery is linked to a less than 2-fold increase in postpartum haemorrhage (class data). FDA label 5.3
Hyponatraemia (low blood sodium) Not known. One trial case had sodium below 110 mmol/L Higher risk in older people, those taking diuretics, and those with cirrhosis Symptoms include headache, confusion, unsteadiness and falls. Severe cases can cause seizures, coma or death. FDA label 5.7
Mania or hypomania Under 0.1% in pre-marketing trials More likely in people with bipolar disorder People should be screened for personal or family history of bipolar disorder before starting. FDA label 5.4
Angle-closure glaucoma Rare (mydriasis) Only in people with anatomically narrow angles Get urgent care for sudden eye pain, redness or blurred vision. EMA SmPC
Seizures Post-marketing reports Higher risk with a seizure history or unstable epilepsy Stop the drug if seizures occur or become more frequent (EU label). EMA SmPC 4.4
Aggression, agitation, anger, irritability, akathisia Not known (post-marketing) – Patients and carers should seek advice if these emerge. EMA SmPC, FDA label 6.2
Other post-marketing reports Not known – Hyperprolactinaemia (sometimes with galactorrhoea), acute pancreatitis, allergic reactions (anaphylaxis, angioedema, urticaria), rash, weight gain, headache, insomnia, bruxism, trismus, restless legs, loss or reduction of the sense of smell, hallucinations (uncommon), night sweats. FDA label 6.2, EMA SmPC 4.8

Weight. In the 6–8 week trials and the 6-month maintenance phase, vortioxetine "had no significant effect on body weight" compared with placebo. Weight gain has nonetheless been reported after marketing (FDA label).

Sleep. The EU label states that vortioxetine "did not increase the incidence of insomnia or somnolence relative to placebo" in trials, although insomnia appears among the post-marketing reports (EMA SmPC).

Discontinuation (withdrawal) symptoms: the labels differ.

  • US label: after abrupt stopping of 15–20 mg, "some patients experienced discontinuation symptoms such as headache, muscle tension, mood swings, sudden outbursts of anger, dizziness, and runny nose in the first week". It recommends dropping to 10 mg for a week first (FDA label).
  • EU label: in trials there was "no clinically relevant difference to placebo" in discontinuation symptoms. It does, however, list post-marketing cases of dizziness, headache, electric-shock sensations, sleep disturbance, nausea, anxiety, irritability and tremor (EMA SmPC 4.8).
  • CANMAT: classes vortioxetine as "low or minimal" discontinuation risk (CANMAT 2023).

For context, an independent meta-analysis across antidepressants estimated placebo-adjusted discontinuation symptoms at about 15%, and severe symptoms at 2.8% versus 0.6% on placebo (Henssler et al., Lancet Psychiatry 2024; no funding and no competing interests).

Overdose. Experience is limited. Doses of 40–75 mg caused more nausea, dizziness, diarrhoea, itching, sleepiness and flushing. A case of serotonin syndrome has been reported with overdoses above 80 mg (FDA label 10).

Heart and blood pressure. The FDA label reports no clinically significant effects on blood pressure or heart rate in placebo-controlled studies (FDA label).

All interactions

Interacting drug or substance Effect What the labels say Source
MAOI antidepressants (phenelzine, tranylcypromine, isocarboxazid, selegiline); moclobemide Serotonin syndrome Contraindicated. US: wait 14 days after stopping an MAOI before starting vortioxetine, and 21 days after stopping vortioxetine before starting an MAOI. EU: 14 days either way for irreversible non-selective MAOIs. Moclobemide is contraindicated in the EU. FDA label, EMA SmPC 4.5
Linezolid (antibiotic), intravenous methylene blue MAO inhibition, leading to serotonin syndrome Do not start vortioxetine in someone being treated with these (US). The EU contraindicates linezolid unless the combination is essential and closely monitored. FDA label, EMA SmPC
Other serotonergic drugs: SSRIs, SNRIs, TCAs, triptans (e.g. sumatriptan), opioids including tramadol, fentanyl, methadone and meperidine, lithium, buspirone, amphetamines, tryptophan Higher risk of serotonin syndrome Monitor closely. FDA label 5.2, 7.1
St John's wort Serotonin syndrome and more adverse reactions Avoid combining without prescriber advice. EMA SmPC 4.5; see our St John's wort review
Aspirin, NSAIDs (ibuprofen, naproxen), clopidogrel, warfarin, heparin and other anticoagulants Higher bleeding risk Monitor INR when starting, changing or stopping vortioxetine in people on warfarin. Formal studies found no change in INR or in aspirin's effect on platelets, but the class bleeding risk still applies. FDA label 7.1–7.2
Strong CYP2D6 inhibitors: bupropion, fluoxetine, paroxetine, quinidine Raise vortioxetine levels (bupropion raised AUC 2.3-fold) US: halve the vortioxetine dose. EU: a lower dose may be considered. FDA label 2.5, EMA SmPC
Strong CYP inducers: rifampicin, carbamazepine, phenytoin Lower vortioxetine levels (rifampicin lowered exposure by 72%) US: consider increasing the dose if the inducer is used for more than 14 days, up to no more than three times the original dose. FDA label 2.6, EMA SmPC
Ketoconazole, fluconazole Raise vortioxetine AUC 1.3-fold and 1.5-fold respectively No dose adjustment in most people. Caution in CYP2D6 poor metabolisers taking strong CYP3A4 or CYP2C9 inhibitors. EMA SmPC 4.5
Drugs that lower the seizure threshold: other antidepressants, antipsychotics, mefloquine, bupropion, tramadol; ECT Seizure risk Use caution. There is no clinical experience with ECT. EMA SmPC 4.5
Antipsychotics and other dopamine blockers Neuroleptic malignant syndrome or serotonin syndrome Monitor. EMA SmPC 4.4
Diuretics and other drugs that cause hyponatraemia Low sodium Use caution, especially in older adults. EMA SmPC 4.4
Alcohol A single-dose study found no added impairment The EU label nonetheless says "alcohol intake is not advisable during antidepressant treatment". EMA SmPC 4.5, FDA label 7.2
Diazepam, lithium, combined oral contraceptive No clinically relevant pharmacokinetic interaction found The serotonergic caution still applies to lithium. EMA SmPC 4.5
Urine drug screens False-positive results for methadone Confirm with chromatographic testing. FDA label 7.3

Who should avoid vortioxetine

  • Contraindicated: people who are allergic to vortioxetine or any ingredient (anaphylaxis, angioedema and urticaria have been reported), and anyone taking or recently taking an MAOI, linezolid or intravenous methylene blue (FDA label 4, EMA SmPC 4.3).
  • Children and adolescents: not approved. Both paediatric trials failed, and the EU label says it "should not be used" under 18 (EMA SmPC).
  • Bipolar disorder or a history of mania: needs screening and caution, because vortioxetine may trigger a mixed or manic episode (FDA label 5.4).
  • Epilepsy or a history of seizures, bleeding disorders, narrow-angle glaucoma or raised eye pressure, and cirrhosis: use only with caution (EMA SmPC 4.4).
  • Pregnancy: human data are limited. As with SSRIs and SNRIs, exposure late in pregnancy can cause complications in the newborn (breathing difficulty, feeding problems, jitteriness) and may raise the risk of persistent pulmonary hypertension of the newborn (PPHN). Use in the month before delivery may raise the risk of postpartum haemorrhage. In animal studies, rats and rabbits showed developmental delay at doses 10–15 times the maximum human dose, but no malformations (FDA label 8.1). Stopping an antidepressant during pregnancy also carries a risk of relapse, so decisions belong with the prescriber.
  • Breastfeeding: the EU label says that limited data show vortioxetine passes into breast milk in small amounts, with an estimated relative infant dose below 2%, and that no harmful effects were seen in infants. It adds that "a risk to the breastfeeding child cannot be excluded" (EMA SmPC 4.6).
  • Older adults: the EU label says to start at 5 mg in people aged 65 and over, and to take care above 10 mg because data are limited. At 20 mg, nausea and constipation were more common in this age group, and older people are at greater risk of hyponatraemia (EMA SmPC). We did not verify whether vortioxetine is named specifically in the American Geriatrics Society Beers Criteria.
  • Liver or kidney impairment: the US label found no effect on clearance, and the EU label says no dose adjustment is needed. The EU label still advises caution because data are limited (FDA label 12.3, EMA SmPC 4.4).
  • CYP2D6 poor metabolisers: the US label caps the dose at 10 mg a day (FDA label 2.5).

Dosage and how to take it

Your prescriber sets the dose
The ranges below are the official licensed adult doses, given for reference only. They are not personal dosing advice.
Situation EU / UK (Brintellix SmPC) US (Trintellix label)
Usual starting dose 10 mg once daily in adults under 65 10 mg once daily
Range Increase to a maximum of 20 mg, or decrease to a minimum of 5 mg, depending on response Increase to 20 mg/day as tolerated; consider 5 mg/day if higher doses are not tolerated. Doses above 20 mg have not been evaluated.
Age 65 and over Start at 5 mg; caution above 10 mg No age-based adjustment
CYP2D6 poor metabolisers or strong CYP2D6 inhibitors A lower dose may be considered Maximum 10 mg in poor metabolisers; halve the dose with strong inhibitors
Food With or without food Without regard to meals
Duration At least 6 months after symptoms resolve Not specified; maintenance benefit shown in trials

Sources: EMA SmPC 4.2, FDA label section 2. NICE lists the same UK dosing (NICE TA367 section 2).

How long before it works. In the trials, an effect "was generally observed starting at Week 2 and increased in subsequent weeks", with the full effect "generally not seen until Study Week 4 or later" (FDA label 14). NICE's depression guideline says people starting an antidepressant should be reviewed within 2 weeks, or within 1 week if they are aged 18–25 or at risk of suicide (NICE NG222).

How to stop. Only stop under supervision.

  • US label: vortioxetine "can be discontinued abruptly", but at 15–20 mg it recommends reducing to 10 mg a day for one week before stopping completely.
  • EU label: a gradual reduction "may be considered", but "there is insufficient data to provide specific recommendations for a tapering schedule" (FDA label 2.3, EMA SmPC 4.2).
  • NICE's general approach for all antidepressants: reduce the dose step by step, "at each step prescribing a proportion of the previous dose (for example, 50% of previous dose)", with smaller reductions as the dose gets lower. The pace should take account of the drug's half-life (NICE NG222 1.4.16). Vortioxetine's half-life of about 66 hours is long.

Missed doses. We did not find official missed-dose wording in the documents we reviewed. Ask the pharmacist or check the patient information leaflet.

Follow the money: who makes it and who funded the evidence

Who owns and sells it:

  • Originator: H. Lundbeck A/S, Valby (Copenhagen), Denmark. Lundbeck scientists discovered the molecule (Bang-Andersen et al. 2011), and Lundbeck holds the EU marketing authorisation (EMA).
  • Lundbeck's owner: the Lundbeck Foundation, which "owns about 69% of the share capital and controls approximately 77% of the total voting rights" (Lundbeck shareholders page). The Foundation says it gives out more than DKK 500 million a year for Danish health research, mostly on the brain (Lundbeck Foundation). Profits from vortioxetine therefore help fund a large Danish brain-research charity.
  • US partner: Takeda (Japan) has been Lundbeck's alliance partner since September 2007. It holds the US application (NDA 204447), and the US clinical programme "was conducted jointly by Lundbeck and Takeda" (Takeda/Lundbeck 2013, 2018 release). Lundbeck transferred its US sales operations for Trintellix to Takeda on 1 January 2025 (Lundbeck FY2025). The current US label names Takeda Pharmaceuticals America, Inc. (Cambridge, Massachusetts) as distributor and marketer (FDA label).
  • Generics: none approved in the US when we checked Drugs@FDA. Lundbeck reports generic competition in Canada, Brazil and China.

Revenue. Lundbeck's audited 2025 release reports Brintellix/Trintellix revenue of DKK 4,554 million, down 4% at constant exchange rates. That is roughly 18% of Lundbeck's total revenue of DKK 24,630 million, making it the company's second-largest product after Rexulti (DKK 6,205 million). By region (Lundbeck FY2025 release):

  • US: DKK 1,293 million, down 15%. The fall reflects the handover to Takeda and changes to Medicare Part D.
  • Europe: DKK 2,008 million, up 15%. Lundbeck cites market shares of 6.4% in Spain, 5.7% in Italy and 4.5% in France.
  • International Operations: DKK 1,253 million, down 12%, hit by generic competition.

List price (UK, 2015). NICE recorded £27.72 for 28 tablets at any strength (company submission, excluding VAT). Actual NHS prices may differ (NICE TA367). We did not verify a current UK price.

Who funded the evidence:

  • Efficacy trials: the Cochrane authors state that "all studies were sponsored by the pharmaceutical companies that manufactures vortioxetine (Lundbeck, Takeda)", and two of the included trials were unpublished (Koesters et al. 2017). In the trials we checked, Lundbeck generated the randomisation lists (FOCUS, REVIVE), and company employees were co-authors.
  • Cognition trials: Lundbeck sponsored FOCUS "as part of a joint clinical development program with the Takeda Pharmaceutical Company" and was involved in its design, analysis, writing and the decision to publish. The lead author of CONNECT and two co-authors were Takeda employees. The pooled cognitive meta-analysis was written with Lundbeck and Takeda employees (FOCUS, CONNECT, McIntyre 2016).
  • Independent reviews: the Cochrane review had no funding and no declared interests. NICE and IQWiG are public bodies. Cipriani 2018 was publicly funded, but some co-authors declared fees from antidepressant makers, including Lundbeck. At least one recent positive review (Berardelli et al. 2025, which concluded vortioxetine "should be considered efficacious as a first- and second-line therapy") has authors declaring fees from Lundbeck, Takeda and other makers (Berardelli et al. 2025).

What this means. Almost all the primary data on vortioxetine come from its makers. That is normal for a patented drug, and it does not make the results false. The randomised, double-blind design and the regulator review of raw data are real safeguards. But in our reading, the independent reviewers (Cochrane, NICE, IQWiG and the Austrian network meta-analysis) consistently reached more cautious conclusions than company-authored analyses and several commercially conflicted academic reviews. The field-wide problem of publication bias in antidepressant trials is well documented (Turner et al., NEJM 2008). Vortioxetine is also one of the drugs for which Cipriani's team obtained unpublished data (Cipriani 2018).

Documented regulatory events (factual record only):

  • May 2016: after reports of name confusion with the anti-clotting drug Brilinta, the US brand was renamed Trintellix (Takeda 2016).
  • 2016–2017: the FDA twice declined applications to add cognitive data to the label before accepting a version in 2018.

We found no sourced evidence of misconduct relating to vortioxetine, and we make no such claim.

Frequently asked questions

How long does vortioxetine take to work?

In the trials, differences from placebo generally appeared from week 2, but the full effect was "generally not seen until Study Week 4 or later" (FDA label). Because of its long half-life, blood levels take about two weeks to stabilise. NICE advises a review within 2 weeks of starting any antidepressant, and within 1 week for people aged 18–25 or at risk of suicide (NICE NG222).

Does vortioxetine really help with memory and concentration ("brain fog")?

Company-run trials found better scores on a timed symbol-matching test (the DSST): 1.8 to 4.3 more correct answers than placebo after 8 weeks. The FDA label says the effect "may reflect improvement in depression", and vortioxetine has never been shown to beat another antidepressant on this measure. The FDA added the data to the label but did not approve a separate cognitive indication (FDA label). It is not licensed for cognitive problems without depression.

How long does vortioxetine nausea last?

Nausea usually starts in the first week. In the US trials, 15–20% of people had it after one or two days of treatment, and the median duration was two weeks. About 10% of people on 10–20 mg still had nausea at the end of the 6–8 week trials. It is more common at higher doses and in women (FDA label). Tell your prescriber if it persists or stops you eating or drinking.

Does vortioxetine cause weight gain?

In placebo-controlled trials lasting up to six months, it "had no significant effect on body weight". Weight gain has been reported since the drug was marketed, but how often it happens is unknown (FDA label).

Can you drink alcohol on vortioxetine?

A single-dose study found that vortioxetine did not add to the impairment caused by alcohol. The EU label still states that "alcohol intake is not advisable during antidepressant treatment" (EMA SmPC 4.5). Alcohol can also make depression worse. Discuss it with your prescriber.

Does vortioxetine cause sexual side effects?

It can, especially at 20 mg. Among people with normal sexual function at the start, 34% of women and 29% of men on 20 mg developed sexual dysfunction, compared with 20% and 14% on placebo. Rates at 5–10 mg were lower (women 22–23%, men 16–20%). In a trial of people switching from an SSRI because of sexual side effects, sexual function improved more on vortioxetine than on escitalopram (FDA label).

How do I stop vortioxetine safely?

Only with your prescriber. The US label recommends reducing 15–20 mg to 10 mg for a week before stopping. The EU label says a gradual reduction may be considered but that data are insufficient for a specific schedule. NICE recommends stepwise, proportional reductions for antidepressants in general (FDA label, EMA SmPC, NICE NG222). Reported symptoms include headache, dizziness, irritability, mood swings and electric-shock sensations.

Is vortioxetine better than sertraline or other SSRIs?

That has not been shown. The Cochrane review found no trials comparing vortioxetine with an SSRI for acute depression. NICE found "no convincing evidence" that it is more or less effective than other antidepressants, and recommends it only after two other antidepressants have not worked well enough (Cochrane, NICE TA367). It may suit people who could not tolerate earlier drugs. That is a decision to make with a prescriber.

Sources and funding notes

Last reviewed: 26 September 2026. Educational information from Pure City Research, not medical advice. Medicine decisions belong with a qualified prescriber.

Have a question — or want us to cover something?

Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.

We store your topic, message, optional email, and this page so we can manage and reply to the request. Do not include diagnoses, medications, or other sensitive medical information. See our Privacy Policy.