Direct answer
L-theanine trials suggest task-specific attention effects and mixed stress and sleep findings. Short-term tolerability does not establish long-term safety or absent drug interactions; FDA GRAS notices concern specified food uses. Trial doses are not a universal optimum.
- Small trials of L-theanine with caffeine report task-specific attention benefits. The Camfield 2014 synthesis does not establish consistent superiority to caffeine alone or dependable prevention of caffeine jitters. Dose combinations are study protocols, not a universal optimum.
- Small acute trials report some changes in self-rated stress, cortisol or stress-related blood pressure, with inconsistent results across outcomes. In four-week studies, improvement from baseline often did not exceed placebo. These preliminary findings do not establish dependable anxiety relief (Evans 2021; Yoto 2012; Hidese 2019; Moulin 2024).
- The cited generalized anxiety disorder trial did not show an anxiety benefit over placebo. These data do not establish L-theanine as monotherapy for an anxiety disorder (Sarris 2019).
- Short-term trials generally report good tolerability, but small studies do not establish long-term safety or the absence of medication interactions. FDA’s GRAS notice concerns specified food uses, rather than every supplement dose. (2024 tolerability trial; FDA GRAS Notice 209)
- L-theanine is not established as a reliable hypnotic. Small studies report mixed sleep outcomes, and an individual’s response cannot be guaranteed to exclude fatigue or drowsiness, especially in combinations. (2024 tolerability trial; 2019 anxiety trial)
- Evidence grade: Mixed; task-specific and short-term
L-theanine is a non-protein amino acid found in tea (Camellia sinensis). Small trials with caffeine report selected acute attention effects; stress, anxiety and sleep results are mixed. Short trials using doses such as 100–400 mg/day generally report tolerability, but they do not establish a universal dose, long-term safety or the absence of medicine interactions (Camfield 2014; Moulin 2024; Sarris 2019).
Table of Contents
- Evidence Summary
- What it is
- Forms & types of L-theanine
- How it works
- What works & what doesn't
- Benefits with evidence grades
- Risks & reported side effects
- Interactions and medication precautions
- Who should avoid it
- Dosage & how to take
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Trust & disclosure
Evidence Summary
| Claim | Evidence | Source | Funding / conflict / country | Strength |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alpha-band activity | A small acute 200 mg trial found a frontal alpha signal. A combination-drink study had no globally significant MEG alpha result after correction; an exploratory high-anxiety subgroup was positive. | Evans et al., 2021; White et al., 2016 | Ethical Naturals/KGK, USA/Canada; Neurobrands grant, Australia/USA | Preliminary for alpha signals; weak for clinical calm |
| Stress response | Yoto found selected mental-stress BP changes in a post-hoc high-response subgroup; Kimura reported acute physiological changes. Hidese’s depression, trait-anxiety and global sleep-score changes were not significantly better than placebo. | Yoto et al., 2012; Kimura et al., 2007; Hidese et al., 2019 | Yoto: public funding, no conflicts declared, Taiyo material with supply terms unreported; Kimura: two Taiyo-affiliated authors, full finance unrecovered; Hidese: Taiyo funding and employee authors, Japan. | Moderate-low |
| Anxiety reduction | An eight-week adjunctive GAD trial did not beat placebo on anxiety. Selected healthy-adult stress results do not establish treatment of an anxiety disorder. | Sarris et al., 2019; Hidese et al., 2019 | Sarris: FIT-BioCeuticals co-sponsorship and NHMRC fellowship support; commercial author ties. Hidese: Taiyo funding and employee authors. | Weak / mixed |
| Attention and focus with caffeine | Acute trials report selected attention or mood differences, chiefly against placebo. Effects vary by task; neither the trials nor the synthesis establish universal superiority to caffeine alone or an optimum ratio. | Owen et al., 2008; Haskell et al., 2008; Sohail et al., 2021 | Owen: Unilever R&D, UK; Haskell: funding not shown on PubMed, UK; Sohail: no competing interests, funding not stated | Moderate for selected acute tasks; limited generalization |
| Sleep quality | The ADHD sleep study reported nominal actigraphy differences, with unchanged latency/duration. GAD sleep satisfaction was a secondary finding; overall insomnia severity was null. Other sleep studies were inconsistent. | Lyon et al., 2011; Sarris et al., 2019; Moshfeghinia et al., 2024 | Lyon: Taiyo-affiliated authors, separate funding unreported; Sarris: FIT-BioCeuticals co-sponsorship; review: funding not applicable, no competing interests declared. | Weak / mixed |
| Schizophrenia adjunct | Small adjunctive trials reported reduced positive, activation, and anxiety symptoms at 400 mg/day with antipsychotics, but evidence is not enough for self-treatment. | Ritsner et al., 2011; Moshfeghinia et al., 2024 | Ritsner: Stanley Medical Research Institute grant verified; full trial disclosures and product-supply terms unrecovered. Review: funding not applicable, no competing interests declared. | Low / specialist-only |
| Safety at common doses | Small trials report generally good short-term tolerability. Dry mouth/metallic taste were possibly related in one trial; GI symptoms and headache were also reported in psychiatric co-treatment studies. Rare-event frequency and causal attribution remain uncertain. | Moulin et al., 2024; Moshfeghinia et al., 2024; Lyon et al., 2011 | Ethical Naturals-funded trial; review declares no competing interests but includes commercially connected trials; Taiyo-affiliated ADHD investigators. | Moderate for short-term tolerability |
What it is
L-theanine is a water-soluble, non-protein amino acid also called N-ethyl-L-glutamine or L-glutamic acid-γ-monoethylamide. FDA GRAS Notice 209 describes occurrence in tea and the chemical identity of the notified ingredient. A 2022 review describes its occurrence across tea-plant tissues and synthesis in roots before transport to shoots. (FDA GRAS Notice 209; 2022 tea review)
The “L” matters because theanine is chiral: L-theanine and D-theanine are mirror-image enantiomers, while DL-theanine is a racemic mixture containing both forms. In a rat pharmacokinetic study, D-theanine had much lower gut absorption than L-theanine after oral administration, and D,L-theanine behaved differently from either pure enantiomer (Desai et al., 2005).
The active compound — what actually does the work
The supplement evidence is about L-theanine, not generic “tea amino acids.” Taiyo’s FDA GRAS notice concerns L-theanine for specified foods at up to 250 mg per serving. FDA had no questions about the notifier’s conclusion but did not make its own GRAS determination (FDA GRAS Notice No. GRN 209).
Forms & types of L-theanine
| Form/type | Source/manufacture | Bioavailability / evidence issue | Best for | Cost tendency | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| L-theanine | Pure L-enantiomer; may be extracted, synthesized, or enzymatically produced. | Human trials largely use L-theanine; common studied doses are 100-400 mg/day. | Ingredient used in selected attention, stress and sleep research; efficacy varies by outcome. | — | Preferred baseline form: choose labels that clearly say L-theanine and state milligrams per serving. |
| Suntheanine® | Taiyo/Kagaku patented branded L-theanine; GRAS dossier says it is made from food-grade L-glutamine and ethylamine using glutaminase enzymes from immobilized microorganisms (Suntheanine GRAS PDF). | Used in several trials; one older-adult RCT used Suntheanine containing ≥98% L-theanine (Baba et al., 2021). | Traceable L-isomer ingredient; food-use regulatory history does not establish supplement efficacy. | Compare the actual current product price per verified L-theanine dose; the cited trials do not establish a price advantage. | Ingredient provenance is documented. Trial sponsors differ: Hidese had Taiyo funding; Baba had ITO EN sponsorship and test-food support. No cited head-to-head trial establishes branded superiority. |
| D-theanine | D-enantiomer; may appear as a contaminant or in racemic material. | Rat data show much lower oral gut absorption than L-theanine and preferential excretion (Desai et al., 2005). | No human clinical benefit established by the cited rat study. | Availability and comparative price are not established by this evidence. | Avoid as a benefit claim: human efficacy evidence is lacking. |
| Racemic DL-theanine | Mixture of L- and D-theanine; chemical synthesis requires control of enantiomeric purity. | The cited rat study found different oral absorption and enantiomer competition. Human efficacy or safety equivalence of a racemate was not established. | A racemic mixture cannot be assumed equivalent to the L-theanine used in human trials. | No verified comparative price evidence. | Downgrade: avoid labels that say “theanine” without specifying L-theanine. |
| Green-tea-extract-derived L-theanine | Extracted or enriched from tea leaves, decaffeinated tea, tea powder, or tea fractions. | Can co-deliver catechins and caffeine; green tea extract safety cannot be assumed to equal pure L-theanine safety. | Food/beverage applications or tea-native positioning. | Compare the exact product composition and current price. | Use carefully: check caffeine, catechin/EGCG dose, liver warnings, and standardization. |
| Synthetic or chemically synthesized L-theanine | FDA GRN 501 covers chemically synthesized L-theanine from Zhejiang Tianrui Chemical Co., Ltd. in China (FDA GRAS Notice 501). | Verified identity, purity and impurity testing matter; the FDA manufacturing record does not establish clinical equivalence across products. | Products with verifiable ingredient identity and quality documentation. | Compare the exact current product and dose; no market-wide cost ranking established. | Acceptable only with purity documentation: synthetic is not automatically inferior, but enantiomeric purity is the key. |
Compare the verified ingredient amount and cost
A 200 mg label claim is only useful if the ingredient is truly L-theanine and not an unspecified racemate. The form decision should prioritize (1) L-enantiomer clarity, (2) third-party testing or branded ingredient documentation, (3) caffeine/catechin disclosure if tea-extract-derived, and (4) cost per verified 100 mg L-theanine rather than cost per capsule.
How it works
L-theanine is structurally related to glutamate. Glutamate/GABA and other neurotransmitter pathways have been proposed, largely from preclinical work; the cited human trials do not directly establish receptor blockade as the mechanism of clinical benefit (Kimura 2007; 2024 psychiatric review). Small caffeine-combination trials measured selected attention and mood outcomes. These findings do not prove a reliably calming or nonsedating effect for everyone (Haskell 2008; Owen 2008).
What the body does with it
Human trials typically test acute doses around 100-250 mg or daily doses around 200-400 mg, with effects often measured 30 minutes to 3 hours after ingestion for acute cognition and stress outcomes (Owen et al., 2008; Yoto et al., 2012; Evans et al., 2021). In animal pharmacokinetics, the L- and D-forms behaved differently after oral dosing, so purity is not a cosmetic label detail; it may change exposure (Desai et al., 2005).
Why form and delivery matter
Pure L-theanine isolates let users control caffeine separately, while green tea extracts and nootropic energy stacks may add caffeine, catechins, adaptogens, sedatives, or stimulants. NIH/NCCIH states that green tea contains caffeine, green tea extract supplements can cause nausea, constipation, abdominal discomfort, and increased blood pressure, and liver injury has been reported mainly with green tea extracts in tablets or capsules (NIH NCCIH Green Tea).
What works & what doesn't
| Claimed benefit | Verdict | Evidence grade | Evidence | Key caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alpha-wave activity / subjective relaxation | SELECTED BIOMARKER SIGNALS; MIXED subjective outcomes | Preliminary for alpha; weak clinically | 200 mg AlphaWave increased frontal eyes-open alpha at three hours, but post-dose self-rated stress/anxiety differences were null. The combination drink had an exploratory high-anxiety alpha signal without a globally corrected MEG result (Evans 2021; White 2016). | Alpha waves are a biomarker, not a guaranteed calmness outcome. |
| Anxiety reduction | MIXED | Weak | A 46-person adjunctive GAD trial was null for anxiety (HAMA p=.73). Yoto found a selected tension-anxiety difference; Hidese’s trait-anxiety change did not significantly exceed placebo (p=.13) (Sarris 2019; Yoto 2012; Hidese 2019). | Do not market as an anxiety treatment. |
| Sleep quality | MIXED | Weak / mixed | Lyon reported nominal sleep-efficiency/activity differences at 400 mg/day but unchanged latency/duration; the reported p<.05 and p<.029 bounds do not establish whether the findings met its stated alpha=.01 threshold. GAD overall insomnia severity and one reviewed sleep study were null (Lyon 2011; Sarris 2019; 2024 review). | The trials do not establish an insomnia treatment or its mechanism. |
| Attention/focus with caffeine | SELECTED ACUTE TASK BENEFITS | Moderate for selected acute tasks | Owen’s 100 mg L-theanine +50 mg caffeine trial reported attention-switching accuracy and distractor-memory differences; its response-time analysis had no significant treatment effect. Haskell’s 250 mg +150 mg protocol reported selected cognitive/mood differences (Owen 2008; original Owen paper; Haskell 2008). | Benefits are task-specific and do not erase caffeine overuse, sleep debt, or anxiety sensitivity. |
| Cognitive performance without caffeine | MIXED | Weak-moderate | Baba found selected acute attention/working-memory differences after 100.6 mg Suntheanine in adults aged 50–69, with no chronic twelve-week attention effect and many other cognitive measures null. ITO EN paid testing costs and supplied test food (Baba 2021). | Selected acute tests do not establish broad memory enhancement or prevention of cognitive decline. |
| Stress response | MIXED | Moderate-low | Yoto’s BP signal was in seven high responders defined after the experiment from placebo responses. Hidese’s four-week depression, trait-anxiety and global sleep-score changes did not significantly exceed placebo (Yoto 2012; Hidese 2019). | Small selected findings need prospective replication; sponsor status is not itself an effect-size comparison. |
| Schizophrenia adjunct | INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE for consumer use; specialist-only adjunct evidence | Low | An 8-week adjunctive trial reported reduced anxiety and positive/general psychopathology at 400 mg/day with antipsychotics, but the study was small and should not guide self-treatment (Ritsner et al., 2011; Moshfeghinia et al., 2024). | Psychosis treatment changes require psychiatric supervision. |
Benefits by claim
1. Calm alertness and alpha-wave activity — Grade: Preliminary for biomarker, weak clinically
In the 2021 acute crossover trial, 200 mg AlphaWave increased frontal eyes-open alpha power at three hours. Sixteen adults were randomized and fifteen completed; post-dose self-rated stress/anxiety differences were not significant. Ethical Naturals supplied capsules, funded the study/publication fee and employed one author; KGK employees were also authors (Evans 2021). An EEG signal does not demonstrate dependable calmness or absence of drowsiness.
White’s NeuroBliss study used 200 mg L-theanine plus alpha-GPC, phosphatidylserine and chamomile. Of 34 completers, 26 stress responders remained in the stress analysis after exclusions. Subjective stress was lower at one hour; the three-hour cortisol comparison was nominally significant in a separate Wilcoxon test (p=.047), but would not survive a two-time-point Bonferroni correction (.025). The globally corrected MEG alpha result was null, with a positive exploratory high-anxiety subgroup of nine people. Neurobrands funded the work and reportedly had no design, conduct or interpretation input (White 2016). The mixture does not isolate L-theanine’s effect.
2. L-theanine with caffeine for selected attention tasks — Grade: Moderate
Owen tested 100 mg L-theanine with 50 mg caffeine in 27 healthy Unilever employees. Selected attention-switching accuracy and distractor-memory findings favored the combination; reaction-time treatment effects and combination alertness were not significant in the detailed results (Owen 2008; original paper). Haskell’s 250 mg +150 mg protocol reported selected cognitive/mood differences, including a positive word-recognition interaction. Other outcomes also improved with caffeine alone (Haskell 2008). The 2014 synthesis supports some acute task benefits chiefly against placebo, without establishing universal superiority to caffeine alone (Camfield 2014).
The proposed explanation for the combination remains incompletely established in humans. Theanine does not reliably prevent caffeine jitters or remove caffeine-related sleep and medication concerns. NCCIH’s pregnancy, breastfeeding and interaction cautions here concern green tea and its caffeine/extract constituents (Camfield 2014; NCCIH green tea).
3. Stress physiology — Grade: Moderate-low
Yoto analyzed 14 healthy students receiving 200 mg L-theanine in a crossover experiment. Seven “high BP responders” were defined after the experiment from their placebo responses, not prospectively identified patients. Selected late mental-task BP changes were attenuated, while cold-pressor and resting BP effects were not demonstrated. Public grants and no competing interests were declared; Taiyo material was used, with payment/donation terms unreported (Yoto 2012). This is preliminary stress physiology, not a blood-pressure treatment or an antihypertensive interaction test.
Kimura’s 12-person acute experiment reported reduced heart-rate and salivary-IgA stress responses; two authors had Taiyo Kagaku affiliations. Its complete original finance statement was not recovered (Kimura 2007). In Hidese’s 30-person crossover, 200 mg/day improved depression, trait-anxiety and global sleep scores from baseline, but changes did not significantly exceed placebo (p=.084, .13 and .073 respectively). Selected sleep subscales differed at about p=.05. Taiyo funded the study, and employee authors supplied the tablets and performed assay/unblinding work (Hidese 2019).
4. Anxiety — Grade: Weak / mixed
L-theanine is not well proven as an anxiety treatment. The most clinically relevant GAD study tested 450-900 mg adjunctive L-theanine in 46 adults on stable antidepressants and found no advantage over placebo for anxiety on the Hamilton Anxiety scale (p = 0.73) (Sarris et al., 2019).
Small healthy-adult experiments suggest some situational stress changes. These do not establish dependable relief or treatment of an anxiety disorder (Yoto 2012; Hidese 2019).
5. Sleep quality — Grade: Weak / mixed
Lyon enrolled 98 boys aged 8–12 with ADHD and analyzed 93 after six weeks of 400 mg/day Suntheanine. Reported sleep-efficiency and nocturnal-activity differences were nominally significant (p<.05 and p<.029). The methods set alpha=.01 for multiple comparisons, but these reported p-value bounds do not establish whether either result met that threshold. Sleep latency/duration were unchanged; wake-after-sleep-onset was a nonsignificant trend. Two authors were Taiyo-affiliated; no separate funding or supply-terms statement was provided (Lyon 2011). This is a preliminary pediatric finding.
In GAD adults, Sarris et al. found improved self-reported sleep satisfaction but not insomnia severity or anxiety, suggesting that L-theanine may help subjective sleep comfort in some people without being a reliable insomnia therapy (Sarris et al., 2019). A 2024 mental-disorders systematic review concluded that a sleep-problem study found no statistically significant difference between L-theanine and placebo, reinforcing the mixed verdict (Moshfeghinia et al., 2024).
6. Schizophrenia adjunct — Grade: Low / specialist-only
Ritsner randomized 60 patients and had 40 completers after eight weeks of 400 mg/day added to antipsychotics. Anxiety and positive/general psychopathology improved, while negative symptoms, cognition, side effects, functioning and quality of life did not (Ritsner 2011). Stanley Medical Research Institute grant 06TGF-911 directly identifies this trial and publication. Full original disclosures and product-supply terms remain unrecovered; nonprofit support alone does not establish complete independence (original grant record). These data do not support consumer self-treatment.
Independent evidence investigation: funding, conflicts, and country
| Source | Country / institution | Funding and conflict trace | Independence rating | Credibility rank | How used |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yoto et al., 2012 | Japan; University of Shizuoka | CREATE/JST/JSPS-MEXT public support and no competing interests declared. Taiyo material identified; payment/donation terms not stated. | Public support reported; complete procurement not cleared | Small exploratory physiology study; post-hoc subgroup | BP/stress-response claim |
| Kimura et al., 2007 | Japan; Nagoya University and Taiyo Kagaku | Original indexed first page identifies Ozeki and Juneja at Taiyo Kagaku. Complete original funding/disclosure text was not recovered. | Company affiliations; complete finance unknown | Moderate-low | Supportive acute stress signal only |
| Hidese et al., 2019 | Japan; National Center of Neurology and Psychiatry / Taiyo Kagaku | Explicitly funded by Taiyo Kagaku; Yasukawa and Ozeki were Taiyo employees who supplied tablets. | Conflicted | Moderate method, high influence risk | Included but downgraded |
| Evans et al., 2021 | Canada; KGK Science; Ethical Naturals USA | Ethical Naturals supplied capsules, paid the study and rapid-publication fee; one manufacturer and four KGK employees were authors, with design/analysis/writing roles. | Conflicted | Moderate method, high influence risk | Alpha-wave evidence, downgraded |
| Moulin et al., 2024 | Canada; KGK Science; Ethical Naturals USA | Ethical Naturals paid research and rapid-publication fees; manufacturer/CRO employee authors contributed to design, analysis and writing. Primary cortisol and several placebo-controlled symptom/cognitive results were null. | Conflicted | Moderate-low for efficacy; useful for AE reporting | Safety and stress limitations |
| White et al., 2016 | Australia; Swinburne University; product company in USA | Funded by Neurobrands; funder stated to have no design/conduct/interpretation input. | Conflicted but transparent | Moderate | Combination drink stress/MEG evidence |
| Owen et al., 2008 | UK; Unilever R&D | All authors were Unilever-affiliated and participants were recruited from Unilever employees. The study used Lipton iced-tea vehicle and Suntheanine. No separate trial finance or supply-terms statement was provided (original report). | Conflicted / industry-affiliated | Moderate | Selected attention outcomes; full detailed analyses qualify abstract wording |
| Haskell et al., 2008 | UK; Northumbria University | Funding/conflicts not shown on PubMed. | Unclear | Moderate | Selected acute cognitive/mood outcomes |
| Kahathuduwa et al., 2020 | USA; Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center | Texas Tech seed/faculty grants; no competing interests declared. PureBulk powders were purchased; grant amounts/purchase terms not disclosed. | Public grants and purchase reported; complete finance not cleared | Very preliminary: five boys, single blinding, acute crossover | ADHD/caffeine interaction caution |
| Lyon et al., 2011 | Canada / Japan; UBC, Canadian Centre for Functional Medicine, Taiyo Kagaku | No clear funding statement in PDF; two authors affiliated with Taiyo Kagaku. | Conflicted / unclear funding | Preliminary nominal sleep findings; multiplicity caveat | Sleep in ADHD boys, downgraded |
| Sarris et al., 2019 | Australia; Western Sydney University / University of Melbourne / University of Queensland | Original publisher acknowledgement reports FIT-BioCeuticals co-sponsorship and NHMRC fellowship APP1125000; author commercial relationships are disclosed. Sponsors reportedly had no design, statistical, manuscript or publication-decision role (original publisher disclosures). | Commercial co-sponsorship; full declarations/contracts not fully recovered | Small adjunctive RCT; anxiety and overall insomnia results null | GAD anxiety and sleep satisfaction |
| Ritsner et al., 2011 | Israel; Technion/Rappaport Faculty of Medicine | Stanley grant 06TGF-911 directly matches the 60-patient 400 mg/day trial and publication (original grant record). Complete original disclosures and product procurement remain unrecovered. | Nonprofit grant verified; complete finance unknown | Moderate-low | Schizophrenia adjunct, specialist-only |
| Moshfeghinia et al., 2024 | Iran / Australia; Shiraz University and Curtin University affiliations | Funding: not applicable; authors declare no competing interests. | No competing interests declared; underlying trial support varies | Heterogeneous evidence map; extraction errors require original-trial checks | Mental-health synthesis |
Money trail: several trials had manufacturer funding or employee authors, including Taiyo, Ethical Naturals, Neurobrands, Unilever and FIT-BioCeuticals connections. Baba’s cognitive study had ITO EN sponsorship. Yoto and the tiny Texas Tech study report public grants, while the Ritsner grant came from Stanley; these labels do not establish complete financial independence. Unreported supply or contract terms remain unknown (Yoto; Texas Tech trial; Sarris disclosures; Baba; Stanley grant).
Risks & reported side effects
L-theanine is generally well tolerated in short human trials, but “well tolerated” does not mean side-effect-free. The 2024 AlphaWave 400 mg/day trial reported nine adverse events in six participants; two mild events in the L-theanine group — metallic taste and dry mouth — were classified as possibly related to the investigational product, while other events included abdominal distension, decreased appetite, fatigue, insomnia, sore throat, and toe injury, mostly considered unrelated or unlikely related (Moulin et al., 2024).
| Side effect / safety issue | Frequency signal | Dose relationship | What to do | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GI discomfort, abdominal pain, nausea, diarrhea, constipation, bloating | Reported in some psychiatric co-treatment trials. One AlphaWave abdominal-distension event was judged unlikely related. These studies do not establish a population-wide frequency. | No reliable dose-response or excess risk with SSRIs/antipsychotics established by these sources. | Seek medical advice for persistent or severe symptoms; review all medicines and ingredients. | Moulin et al., 2024; Moshfeghinia et al., 2024 |
| Headache | Haskell et al. found 250 mg L-theanine alone increased “headache” ratings, while the caffeine + L-theanine combination reduced “headache” and “tired” ratings in that study. | One acute 250 mg condition; dose-response, dehydration and withdrawal explanations were not demonstrated. | Discuss persistent headache and the full caffeine/medicine regimen with a clinician. | Haskell et al., 2008 |
| Dizziness or light-headedness | Not established as an L-theanine adverse-event pattern in the cited BP experiment; it did not test antihypertensive combinations. | Dose- and medicine-specific risk unknown; the post-hoc stress-BP result does not quantify it. | If light-headed or faint, avoid driving and seek clinical review; review BP medicines before adding a supplement. | Yoto et al., 2012 |
| Dry mouth / metallic taste | Two mild, possibly related events in the 2024 400 mg/day AlphaWave trial. | Observed at 400 mg/day in divided dosing. | Discuss bothersome or persistent symptoms; the small study does not establish their usual duration. | Moulin et al., 2024 |
| Insomnia or overstimulation | One insomnia event in the 400 mg/day AlphaWave group was judged unrelated. Caffeine-containing products have a different sleep-risk profile. | The sources do not establish a theanine dose-response or an individual safe caffeine timing. | Review caffeine exposure and sleep problems with a clinician; L-theanine is not an established insomnia treatment. | Moulin et al., 2024; NIH NCCIH Green Tea |
| Facial tic in a child | One boy with a prior tic history developed a subtle facial tic after starting 400 mg/day; investigator judged it unlikely related and it ceased after discontinuation. | Observed in a pediatric ADHD trial; pediatric use should be clinician-supervised. | Stop and consult a clinician if tics, agitation, or behavior changes occur. | Lyon et al., 2011 |
| Green-tea-extract risks | Not a pure L-theanine issue, but relevant if the label uses green tea extract as the source. | NCCIH reports uncommon liver injury with extract supplements and a possible genetic susceptibility; these are not pure-theanine findings. | Do not equate green tea extract capsules with pure L-theanine capsules. | NIH NCCIH Green Tea |
The caffeine-L-theanine combination and its limits
The tested combinations included 100 mg L-theanine with 50 mg caffeine and 250 mg with 150 mg caffeine. These are different protocols; neither proves that 200 mg +100 mg or a 2:1 ratio is optimal (Owen 2008; Haskell 2008; Camfield 2014). Reliable relief of caffeine jitters is not established, and caffeine-related sleep, pregnancy/breastfeeding and medicine concerns remain (NCCIH green tea).
Interactions and medication precautions
| Interacts with | Severity | Mechanism | Action | Evidence quality |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stimulants / caffeine: coffee, tea, energy drinks, caffeine tablets, pre-workouts | Task-specific combination effects; caffeine precautions remain | Some acute cognitive/mood outcomes differed with the combination; benefits were task-specific and theanine does not establish clearance from caffeine-related risks. | Trial protocols are not a personal starting dose. Review total caffeine, sleep and medicines with a clinician when relevant. | Human RCTs and systematic review (Owen et al., 2008; Haskell et al., 2008; Sohail et al., 2021). |
| Blood-pressure medications: ACE inhibitors, ARBs, beta-blockers, calcium-channel blockers, diuretics, nitrates, alpha-blockers; also antihypertensive herbs | Precaution; direct interaction data lacking | A small post-hoc subgroup had attenuated mental-stress BP responses. The trial did not establish resting hypotension or test any named BP medicine; additive effects remain theoretical. | Ask the prescriber before adding it if taking BP medicines or prone to fainting; follow the prescriber’s monitoring plan. | Human stress-BP RCT, indirect for drug interaction (Yoto et al., 2012). |
| Sedatives / CNS depressants: benzodiazepines, Z-drugs, barbiturates, sedating antihistamines, opioids, alcohol, gabapentinoids, melatonin/GABA-heavy sleep stacks | Precaution; direct interaction data lacking | Sleep/stress trials do not quantify interactions with these drugs or alcohol. Additional drowsiness or psychomotor effects are possible precautions rather than established theanine interactions. | Review the complete sedative/alcohol regimen with a clinician; avoid driving if drowsy or impaired. | Mechanistic/clinical plausibility from sleep and stress trials; direct drug-interaction RCTs lacking (Sarris et al., 2019; Lyon et al., 2011). |
| ADHD medicines, including stimulants and nonstimulants | Caution — clinician-supervised in children | Evidence is too small to prove safety with stimulants; caffeine-theanine can alter attention/inhibition measures and caffeine may add cardiovascular or sleep burden to stimulant treatment. | Do not add caffeine-theanine stacks to a child’s ADHD regimen without the prescriber; monitor appetite, sleep, tics, heart rate, and blood pressure. | The five-boy crossover withheld stimulants for 24 hours before testing; it did not establish simultaneous-use safety. Lyon included 27 stimulant-treated participants, but was not a definitive interaction trial (Kahathuduwa 2020; Lyon 2011). |
| Antidepressants / antipsychotics: SSRIs, SNRIs, fluvoxamine, sertraline, risperidone, other antipsychotics | Caution — adjunct use only with clinician | Some trials combine L-theanine with antidepressants or antipsychotics, but those are medical adjunct studies, not proof that unsupervised stacking is safe for every psychiatric regimen. | Do not use L-theanine to replace prescribed psychiatric medication; tell the prescriber if adding it. | Mental-disorders systematic review and schizophrenia/GAD trials (Moshfeghinia et al., 2024; Ritsner et al., 2011; Sarris et al., 2019). |
| Green-tea-specific interactions: nadolol, atorvastatin, raloxifene | Green-tea-specific medicine precautions | NCCIH reports lower nadolol levels with high-dose green tea, an atorvastatin interaction with extract, and a raloxifene interaction with green tea. These findings are not evidence of the same interaction with isolated L-theanine. | Review the exact ingredient list and medicines with the clinician; isolated theanine is not automatically cleared as safe. | NIH/NCCIH safety page (NIH NCCIH Green Tea). |
Who should avoid it
Safety of isolated L-theanine during pregnancy or breastfeeding is not established by these cited trials. NCCIH’s green-tea caution concerns caffeine exposure, so that guidance cannot be used as a pure-theanine safety clearance (NCCIH green tea). Pediatric use, especially with caffeine or ADHD medicines, requires the child’s clinician: studies were small or limited to boys with ADHD, and one tic event occurred in a boy with prior tics (Lyon 2011; Kahathuduwa 2020).
Discuss use with the prescriber if prone to low BP/fainting or taking BP medicines. Yoto’s small post-hoc stress-BP result does not establish a clinical interaction or chronic hypotension risk (Yoto 2012). Green-tea extract products have separate liver and medication concerns; NCCIH reports uncommon liver injury chiefly with extract tablets/capsules. Review those exact products with a clinician, particularly with liver disease or other medicines (NCCIH green tea).
Dosage & how to take
| Goal | Typical evidence-matched dose | Timing | Form preference | Evidence caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Calm focus with caffeine | Specific acute trial protocols included 100 mg +50 mg caffeine and 250 mg +150 mg caffeine | Acute testing; avoid late-day caffeine | Pure L-theanine capsule + known caffeine source | Study protocols do not establish a universal optimal ratio or personal starting dose (2008 attention trial; 2008 cognition trial; 2014 attention review) |
| Situational stress | 200 mg in a small acute crossover protocol | During laboratory stress testing; not a verified pre-work dosing schedule | L-theanine or Suntheanine | BP finding came from a post-hoc subgroup of seven high responders; no general stress dose established (Yoto 2012). |
| Sleep support without caffeine | No established supplement dose for treating insomnia | Timing varies by study | Pure L-theanine, not caffeine stack | Sleep results are mixed; pediatric and psychiatric research doses are not general adult dosing instructions (2019 anxiety trial; 2024 mental-health review) |
| Research-level psychiatric adjunct | 400 mg/day in divided doses in schizophrenia studies; 450-900 mg in GAD trial | Only under clinician guidance | Pharmaceutical-like monitoring | Not appropriate for self-treatment or product claims (Ritsner et al., 2011; Sarris et al., 2019). |
Trial doses and combinations vary; the evidence does not establish a universal starting dose or escalation schedule. Caffeine-containing combinations were studied mainly for acute attention, and may disturb sleep. The Haskell 2008 trial is one specific protocol, not a dosing guideline. Evidence for generalized anxiety disorder and broad memory benefits remains mixed (Sarris 2019; Baba 2021).
Is L-theanine safe to take every day?
Small short-term studies report generally good tolerability. In the 400 mg/day AlphaWave trial, metallic taste and dry mouth were possibly related; several other events were judged unrelated or unlikely related. Psychiatric co-treatment studies also reported GI symptoms and headaches, with uncertain attribution (Moulin 2024; 2024 psychiatric review). These data do not establish long-term safety, rare-event frequency or safe daily use with every medicine.
What is the best L-theanine dose for focus?
Acute studies used specific combinations, including 100 mg L-theanine with 50 mg caffeine and 250 mg with 150 mg caffeine. They do not establish a universally best dose or ratio, or dependable benefit beyond caffeine alone. Consider total caffeine exposure and medication use rather than treating a trial protocol as a personal dosing guideline. (2014 attention review; 2008 attention trial; 2008 cognition trial)
Does L-theanine help anxiety?
L-theanine may help situational stress or tension in some healthy adults, but it did not outperform placebo for anxiety symptoms in a 46-person generalized anxiety disorder trial using adjunctive 450-900 mg doses (Sarris et al., 2019). It should not be marketed as a treatment for anxiety disorder.
Does L-theanine help sleep?
Sleep evidence is mixed. Lyon’s six-week ADHD study reported nominal actigraphy differences. Its reported p-value bounds do not establish significance at the stated alpha=.01 threshold. Sleep latency/duration were unchanged. The GAD trial’s sleep-satisfaction item differed, while overall insomnia severity was null; a reviewed sleep-problem study also had no significant placebo separation (Lyon 2011; Sarris 2019; 2024 review). These findings do not establish a general insomnia treatment or dosing recommendation.
Is Suntheanine better than regular L-theanine?
Suntheanine is a documented branded L-theanine made enzymatically from L-glutamine and ethylamine. FDA’s no-questions response concerns Taiyo’s conclusion for specified food uses up to 250 mg/serving and is not FDA’s own GRAS determination or a treatment approval (original FDA response; current FDA record). No cited head-to-head trial proves it more effective than another verified pure L-theanine. Study sponsors vary: Hidese was Taiyo-funded; Baba was sponsored by ITO EN, which supplied test food (Hidese 2019; Baba 2021).
Can I take L-theanine with ADHD medication?
Discuss any added L-theanine or caffeine product with the ADHD prescriber, especially for a child. In the five-boy crossover study, stimulant medicines were withheld for 24 hours before testing; no reported interaction symptoms therefore do not establish safety of taking them together. Larger simultaneous-use and long-term studies are lacking (Kahathuduwa 2020).
What should Indian consumers check on the label?
Check that the label states L-theanine and its amount per serving, and identifies any caffeine, catechins or other active ingredients. FDA’s GRAS Notice 209 concerns certain U.S. food uses up to 250 mg per serving; it does not establish an Indian supplement rule or a universal treatment-dose limit. Tea-extract products have a different safety and interaction profile from isolated L-theanine. (FDA GRAS Notice 209; NCCIH green-tea guidance)
Related research
For deeper, evidence-graded context on the conditions L-theanine is most often used for, see Pure City Research's condition guides:
- Stress, anxiety & depression: prevention and management guide
- Sleep: prevention and management guide
Trust & disclosure
Frequently asked questions
Does L-theanine actually calm you down?
Small acute studies report some stress changes, with mixed comparisons and small samples. These do not establish clinical anxiety treatment or dependable relief of caffeine jitters (Yoto 2012; Evans 2021; Sarris 2019; Camfield 2014).
What's the best L-theanine + caffeine ratio?
Trials used different theanine/caffeine doses. The Camfield systematic review found acute benefits for some attention and alertness measures when the two were combined, chiefly against placebo. It does not establish that a 2:1 ratio is optimal or that theanine reliably adds benefit beyond caffeine alone. Tea composition varies and cannot be assumed to reproduce a trial dose.
Is L-theanine safe?
Small human trials suggest short-term tolerability, but they do not establish long-term safety or the absence of medication interactions. FDA’s GRAS notice concerns specified food uses. Discuss use with a clinician if taking medicines; the potential blood-pressure and sedative interactions discussed above are incompletely studied. (2024 tolerability trial; FDA GRAS Notice 209)
Have a question — or want us to cover something?
Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.
One daily research roundup
Get the topics, key findings and links from our new articles in one email. At most one digest a day, only when there is something new.
