- Lorazepam (Ativan) is a benzodiazepine with three quite different jobs: short-term relief of severe anxiety, sedation before operations and procedures, and emergency treatment of prolonged seizures (status epilepticus). In the UK, tablets are licensed for anxiety for 2–4 weeks only (UK SmPC).
- The strongest, most independent evidence is for status epilepticus. A Cochrane review found intravenous lorazepam better than intravenous diazepam at stopping seizures (RR for seizures not stopping 0.64, 95% CI 0.45 to 0.90) (Prasad et al., Cochrane 2014). NICE makes IV lorazepam the first choice in hospital (NICE NG217).
- For anxiety, guidelines advise against ongoing use. NICE says benzodiazepines "should not be prescribed" for panic disorder and should be used in GAD only "as a short-term measure during crises" (NICE CG113). The WHO makes a strong recommendation against them, apart from emergency use for 3–7 days at most (WHO mhGAP 2023).
- As a pre-operative sedative, a publicly run French trial of 1,062 patients found 2.5 mg lorazepam did not improve patients' experience of surgery and slowed early recovery (Maurice-Szamburski et al., JAMA 2015).
- Its US boxed warning covers deaths with opioids, abuse and addiction, and withdrawal reactions that can be life-threatening. Lorazepam made up 20% of the estimated 92 million US benzodiazepine prescriptions in 2019 (FDA 2020).
- In England and Wales, lorazepam has a drug-driving blood limit of 100 µg/L. Taking it as prescribed is a defence only if it is not impairing your driving (GOV.UK).
- Evidence grade: Strong for stopping status epilepticus. Moderate for short-term anxiety relief. Weak for routine pre-operative sedation. Risk for dependence and withdrawal.
Independent evidence review · Prescription medicine
Lorazepam is two medicines in one. As a hospital injection, it is one of the best-evidenced emergency treatments for a seizure that will not stop, backed by publicly funded trials. As a tablet for anxiety, it works quickly but carries the same dependence and withdrawal risks as every benzodiazepine, and UK and WHO guidance restrict it to days or a few weeks. The anxiety evidence is thinner than many people assume: the independent reviews that guide WHO policy on panic disorder did not examine lorazepam individually (WHO mhGAP 2023), and the US label says its effectiveness beyond 4 months "has not been assessed by systematic clinical studies" (FDA Ativan label).
Lorazepam is a prescription-only controlled drug. Do not start it, stop it or change the dose without the prescriber who manages your treatment. Stopping suddenly after regular use can cause withdrawal reactions, including seizures, which can be life-threatening (FDA boxed warning). Taking it with opioids (including codeine, tramadol and methadone), alcohol or other sedatives can cause profound sedation, slowed breathing, coma and death. Do not drive, ride a bike or use machinery if it makes you sleepy, dizzy or clumsy (NHS). Benzodiazepines should not be used alone to treat depression, because they may release suicidal tendencies (UK SmPC 4.4). If you have thoughts of harming yourself, seek urgent help now. In the UK, call NHS 111 or 999. If someone is very drowsy, breathing slowly or cannot be woken, call 999 (or your local emergency number).
Table of contents
- Evidence summary
- What lorazepam is
- How it works
- What it is prescribed for
- What works and what does not
- Benefits by claim
- Risks and all side effects
- All interactions
- Who should avoid lorazepam
- Dosage and how to take it
- Follow the money: who makes it and who funded the evidence
- Related research
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources and funding notes
Evidence summary
| Claim | Evidence | Source | Funding / conflict | Strength |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IV lorazepam stops status epilepticus better than placebo, IV diazepam or IV phenytoin | 18 studies, 2,755 participants. Seizures not stopping: lorazepam vs placebo RR 0.52 (95% CI 0.38 to 0.71); vs diazepam RR 0.64 (0.45 to 0.90); vs phenytoin RR 0.62 (0.45 to 0.86). | Prasad et al., Cochrane 2014 | AIIMS New Delhi (India) team. Conflict of interest statement: "None known." | Strong |
| Paramedic-given lorazepam ends out-of-hospital status epilepticus | 205 adults. Status ended on arrival at hospital in 59.1% (lorazepam), 42.6% (diazepam) and 21.1% (placebo). Adjusted OR vs placebo 4.8 (95% CI 1.9 to 13.0). | Alldredge et al., NEJM 2001 | US Public Health Service (NIH) grant, per Europe PMC. University of California team. | Strong |
| Before hospital, IM midazolam works at least as well as IV lorazepam | 893 subjects. Seizures absent on arrival without rescue: 73.4% IM midazolam vs 63.4% IV lorazepam. Intubation 14.1% vs 14.4%. | Silbergleit et al. (RAMPART), NEJM 2012 | "Funded by the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke and others" (US). | Strong |
| Lorazepam is better than diazepam for children's status epilepticus | 273 children. Seizures stopped in 72.9% (lorazepam) vs 72.1% (diazepam). Assisted ventilation 17.6% vs 16.0%. More sedation with lorazepam (66.9% vs 50%). | Chamberlain et al., JAMA 2014 | US federal grants (NICHD and Public Health Service), per Europe PMC. | Not supported |
| Benzodiazepines relieve panic disorder in the short term | 24 studies, 4,233 participants. Response RR 1.65 (95% CI 1.39 to 1.96), NNTB 4. Low-quality evidence; no long-term or dependence data. | Breilmann et al., Cochrane 2019 | Cochrane team (Germany/Italy). Nine authors declared no conflicts; one declared lecture fees from Eli Lilly, Janssen, MSD, Pfizer and others. | Moderate (class level) |
| Benzodiazepines are effective for GAD but poorly tolerated | 89 trials, 25,441 patients. "Paroxetine and benzodiazepines were effective but also poorly tolerated when compared with placebo." | Slee et al., Lancet 2019 | "No funding was received" (UCL, UK). | Moderate (class level) |
| Lorazepam improves GAD symptoms in the short term | Pooled data from six pregabalin trials. A benzodiazepine arm (lorazepam 6 mg/day or alprazolam 1.5 mg/day, n = 299) significantly improved both psychic and somatic anxiety versus placebo. | Lydiard et al., Int J Neuropsychopharmacol 2010 | Trials from the pregabalin development programme. The abstract gives no funding statement. Treat as commercially generated data. | Moderate |
| Routine pre-operative lorazepam improves patients' experience | 1,062 adults. Satisfaction index 72 (lorazepam) vs 73 (no premedication) vs 71 (placebo), P = .38. Slower extubation (17 vs 12 vs 13 min) and less early cognitive recovery (51% vs 71% vs 64%). | Maurice-Szamburski et al., JAMA 2015 | French public teaching hospitals (Marseille, Montpellier, Nîmes, Nice). No funding statement in the abstract; no grants listed on Europe PMC. | Not supported |
| Physical dependence and withdrawal | Dependence can occur "with short-term use at recommended therapeutic doses". Protracted withdrawal can last "weeks to more than 12 months". | UK SmPC 4.4; FDA label | Regulator-required safety text | Risk |
Independent evidence and credibility scorecard
Independence tiers: 1 = regulator or government body; 2 = academic, Cochrane or publicly funded team with no declared commercial funding for the work; 3 = independent authors analysing mostly manufacturer-run trials, or minor declared industry ties; 4 = manufacturer-funded or manufacturer-authored. Credibility runs from A (highest) to D.
| Source | Who funds it | Country | Independence tier (1–4) | Credibility (A–D) | Why it would tell the truth / residual bias |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NICE NG217 and NICE CG113 | UK Department of Health and Social Care (grant-in-aid) | UK | 1 | A | Must justify NHS spending and sells nothing. NG217 says the evidence showed "no clear evidence to support a particular drug" among benzodiazepines, so its preference for lorazepam in hospital rests partly on committee experience. Committee interest registers were not checked here. |
| WHO mhGAP guideline 2023 | World Health Organization | International | 1 | A | Uses GRADE and states its low certainty openly. Written with low-resource settings in mind, which may favour caution with dependence-forming drugs. |
| FDA safety communications and Ativan labels (tablets, injection) | US government. In FY2025, 77% of the cost of human drug review came from industry user fees (FDA PDUFA report) | US | 1 (safety text) / 4 (efficacy data) | A for warnings | Warnings are legally binding and cut against sales. The injection label's efficacy data come from the sponsor's two status epilepticus trials; the tablet label gives no efficacy data at all. |
| UK SmPCs (Genus tablets, Macure injection) | Written by generic licence holders, approved by the MHRA | UK / Denmark | 1–4 | A for restrictions | The 2–4 week limit and dependence warnings are regulator-imposed. Generic makers have little incentive to overstate a decades-old medicine. |
| NHS lorazepam pages | NHS England | UK | 1 | A− | Plain-language patient information. Last reviewed 14 February 2023 and past its stated review date. |
| Prasad et al., Cochrane 2014 | Cochrane (commercial sponsorship not allowed) | India | 2 | A− | No known conflicts. Searches ended in August 2013, so newer trials are not included, and few trials compared the same drugs. |
| McTague et al., Cochrane 2018 (children) | Cochrane | UK | 2–3 | A− | Two authors had worked on included trials, which is declared. Most comparisons rated low to moderate quality. |
| Alldredge 2001, RAMPART 2012, Chamberlain 2014 | US National Institutes of Health and other federal funders | US | 2 | A | Large, double-blind, publicly funded trials with pre-set outcomes. None was funded by a lorazepam seller. |
| Maurice-Szamburski et al., JAMA 2015 | Academic hospitals (France); funder not stated in the abstract | France | 2 | B+ | Large randomised trial run by public hospitals with no product to sell. Excluded people aged 70 and over and some surgery types. |
| Breilmann 2019, Guaiana 2023 (Cochrane), Slee 2019 (Lancet) | Cochrane; no funding (Slee) | International / UK | 2–3 | A− | Independent analysts, but they can only pool trials that exist, many industry-run. Their findings apply to benzodiazepines as a class; the abstracts do not single out lorazepam. |
| Lydiard et al., 2010 | Not stated in abstract; data from pregabalin trials | US | 4 | C | Lorazepam was the active comparator, not the product being promoted, so there is less reason to inflate its effect. Still commercially generated and pooled after the fact. |
| AGS Beers Criteria 2023 | American Geriatrics Society; "no sponsor" | US | 2 | A− | Professional society focused on reducing harm in older people. Panel conflicts are disclosed. |
| Bausch Health 10-K (FY2025) | Bausch Health | Canada | 4 | A for its own disclosures | Filed under legal penalty for misstatement. It is the company's own account and gives no Ativan sales figure. |
What lorazepam is
Lorazepam is a benzodiazepine. The US label describes Ativan as "an antianxiety agent" (FDA Ativan tablets label), and the injection label adds that it has "antianxiety, sedative, and anticonvulsant effects" (FDA Ativan injection label). By half-life it sits in the middle of the class: about 12 hours, shorter than diazepam and longer than midazolam.
- Brand names: Ativan (tablets and injection). In the US there is also Loreev XR, an extended-release capsule approved on 27 August 2021 for adults with anxiety disorders who are already on stable three-times-daily lorazepam tablets (Loreev XR label; openFDA NDA 214826). The NHS lists Ativan as the brand name (NHS), but the UK medicines compendium lists only generic lorazepam products from nine companies (eMC listing).
- First US approvals: Ativan tablets (NDA 017794) on 30 September 1977 and Ativan injection (NDA 018140) on 25 July 1980 (Drugs@FDA; openFDA).
- Originator and current owners: The earliest label we retrieved, from 2007, reads "Manufactured by: Wyeth Pharmaceuticals Inc. Philadelphia" and "Distributed by: Biovail Pharmaceuticals, Inc." (FDA label archive, 2007). The tablet NDA is now held by Bausch Health (Laval, Quebec, Canada), and the tablets are made in Steinbach, Manitoba (FDA label). The injection NDA is held by Hikma (injection label). We did not confirm the name of the 1977 applicant from a primary document.
- Generic status: Off-patent. openFDA lists 16 generic (ANDA) lorazepam applications (openFDA query).
- US status: Prescription-only, Schedule IV controlled substance (FDA label).
- UK status: Prescription-only medicine, available on the NHS as 0.5 mg, 1 mg and 2.5 mg tablets and a 1 mg/ml oral liquid (NHS), plus an injection for hospital use. It is a Class C, Schedule 4 Part 1 controlled drug (Home Office controlled drugs list).
How it works
Lorazepam binds to the benzodiazepine site on the GABAA receptor complex. It "does not displace GABA" but enhances its effect (FDA injection label). GABA is the brain's main calming, inhibitory messenger. The NHS explains it as increasing "a calming chemical in your brain" which, "depending on your health condition", can make you calmer, relieve anxiety or stop a seizure (NHS).
Pharmacokinetics that matter in practice (FDA tablets label; UK SmPC 5.2):
- Absorption: Absolute bioavailability is 90%, with peak blood levels about 2 hours after a tablet. The NHS says tablets and liquid start to work in about 20 to 30 minutes, reach full sedating effect after 1 to 1.5 hours, and last about 6 to 8 hours.
- Half-life: About 12 hours. Its main metabolite, lorazepam glucuronide, has a half-life of about 18 hours but "no demonstrable central nervous system (CNS) activity".
- Metabolism: Lorazepam is cleared by a "simple one-step process" of glucuronidation, not mainly by the liver's CYP450 enzymes. This is why it has fewer enzyme-based drug interactions than alprazolam or diazepam. The exceptions, valproate and probenecid, block glucuronidation and roughly double exposure.
- Accumulation: "There is no evidence of accumulation of lorazepam on administration up to 6 months." Age had no significant effect on its kinetics in comparative studies, although clearance fell by 20% in one study of 15 people aged 60 to 84.
What it is prescribed for
Licensed indications differ by product and country
| Use | US (FDA) | UK (SmPCs) |
|---|---|---|
| Anxiety | Tablets: "management of anxiety disorders or for the short-term relief of the symptoms of anxiety or anxiety associated with depressive symptoms" | Tablets, 2–4 weeks only: anxiety that is "severe, disabling or subjecting the individual to unacceptable distress". Not for mild or moderate anxiety. |
| Insomnia linked to anxiety | Tablets: a single bedtime dose for "insomnia due to anxiety or transient situational stress" (dosing section) | Tablets: covered where severe anxiety occurs "in association with insomnia" |
| Before surgery or procedures | Injection: adult "preanesthetic medication" | Tablets: before dental work and general surgery (adults and children 5 and over). Injection: before surgery or "uncomfortable or prolonged investigations", such as endoscopy |
| Status epilepticus | Injection | Injection |
| Acute excitement or acute mania | — | Injection only |
| Children | Tablets: safety and effectiveness under 12 not established | Not for anxiety or insomnia in children |
Sources: FDA tablets label; FDA injection label; UK tablets SmPC 4.1; UK injection SmPC 4.1.
Where guidelines place it
- Status epilepticus (NICE NG217, 7.1.3): "give a benzodiazepine (buccal midazolam or rectal diazepam) immediately as first-line treatment in the community or use intravenous lorazepam if intravenous access and resuscitation facilities are immediately available." The committee chose IV lorazepam as the first-choice hospital treatment "because of its rapid action and because it causes less respiratory depression and sedation than other drugs". If two benzodiazepine doses fail, NICE moves to levetiracetam, phenytoin or sodium valproate (NICE NG217). This makes lorazepam a first-line hospital treatment.
- GAD (NICE CG113, 1.2.26): "Do not offer a benzodiazepine for the treatment of GAD in primary or secondary care except as a short-term measure during crises" (NICE CG113). This is crisis-only. An SSRI and psychological therapy come first.
- Panic disorder (NICE CG113, 1.3.20): "Benzodiazepines are associated with a less good outcome in the long term and should not be prescribed for the treatment of individuals with panic disorder." This is not recommended.
- WHO mhGAP (2023), ANX6: "Benzodiazepines are not recommended for the treatment of adults with generalized anxiety disorder (GAD) and/or panic disorder." Emergency use for acute, severe anxiety is allowed "only as a short-term (3–7 days maximum) measure". This is a strong recommendation on low-certainty evidence (WHO mhGAP).
- Older adults (AGS Beers 2023): Avoid benzodiazepines, including lorazepam (strong recommendation). The criteria say they "may be appropriate for seizure disorders ... benzodiazepine withdrawal, ethanol withdrawal, severe generalized anxiety disorder, and periprocedural anesthesia" (AGS Beers 2023).
- NHS patient guidance: For anxiety, a doctor "will usually start you on" an SSRI such as sertraline, paroxetine or escitalopram, alongside talking therapies (NHS).
What works and what does not
| Claimed benefit | Verdict | Evidence | Key caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stopping status epilepticus (IV, in hospital or by paramedics) | WORKS | Better than placebo, IV diazepam and IV phenytoin (Prasad 2014). Paramedic trial: 59.1% vs 21.1% placebo (Alldredge 2001). | Needs an IV line. Before hospital, IM midazolam did better (RAMPART). |
| Better than diazepam in children's seizures | MIXED | No difference in seizure control in a 273-child trial (Chamberlain 2014) or in pooled paediatric data (RR 1.04). Pooled data showed less respiratory depression (RR 0.72) (McTague 2018). | The largest trial found more sedation with lorazepam. |
| Short-term relief of severe anxiety | WORKS | Benzodiazepines are effective for GAD (Slee 2019). Lorazepam arms improved anxiety versus placebo in pooled trials (Lydiard 2010). | Lorazepam-specific independent data are sparse. NICE and WHO allow crisis use only. |
| Panic disorder | NOT RECOMMENDED | Benzodiazepines as a class: response RR 1.65 short term (Breilmann 2019). Not licensed for panic in the UK or US. | NICE: "should not be prescribed". WHO's evidence review did not include lorazepam. |
| Long-term anxiety control | INSUFFICIENT | No significant HAM-A difference from placebo in 8 studies of 13 weeks or more (Shinfuku 2019). Effectiveness beyond 4 months "has not been assessed" (FDA label). | "Little tolerance develops to the amnestic reactions and other cognitive impairments." |
| Routine sedation before general anaesthesia | NO BENEFIT SHOWN | No improvement in patient experience; slower extubation and recovery (Maurice-Szamburski 2015). | Selected very anxious patients may still be offered it; the trial's subgroup did not show benefit either. |
| Reducing memory of an unpleasant procedure | WORKS (as labelled) | The US injection label lists "a decreased ability to recall events related to the day of surgery" as an intended effect (FDA injection label). | The same amnesia is a side effect in other settings. |
| Treating depression | NOT RECOMMENDED | "Not intended for the primary treatment of psychotic illness or depressive disorders" (UK SmPC 4.4). | May release suicidal tendencies in depressed patients. |
Benefits by claim
Status epilepticus: the strongest evidence
NICE defines convulsive status epilepticus as seizures lasting 5 minutes or more, and calls it "a medical emergency that needs immediate treatment" (NICE NG217). This is where lorazepam's evidence is best, and most of it was produced by public funders rather than the drug's sellers.
- Cochrane review, adults and mixed ages (Prasad et al., 2014): 18 randomised trials with 2,755 participants (Prasad 2014). Risk of seizures not stopping:
- IV lorazepam vs placebo: RR 0.52 (95% CI 0.38 to 0.71).
- IV lorazepam vs IV diazepam: RR 0.64 (95% CI 0.45 to 0.90). Lorazepam also carried a lower risk of needing a different drug or general anaesthesia (RR 0.63).
- IV lorazepam vs IV phenytoin: RR 0.62 (95% CI 0.45 to 0.86).
- Levetiracetam and lorazepam were "equally effective in aborting seizures" (RR 0.97, 95% CI 0.44 to 2.13).
- Paramedic trial (Alldredge et al., 2001): 205 adults with prolonged or repeated convulsions were randomised to IV lorazepam 2 mg, diazepam 5 mg or placebo. Status epilepticus had ended by arrival at hospital in 59.1%, 42.6% and 21.1% respectively. The adjusted odds ratio for lorazepam versus placebo was 4.8 (95% CI 1.9 to 13.0), and for lorazepam versus diazepam 1.9 (95% CI 0.8 to 4.4), which was not statistically significant. Breathing or circulation complications were numerically less common with either drug than with placebo (10.6%, 10.3% and 22.5%; P = 0.08), a reminder that untreated seizures are dangerous in themselves (Alldredge 2001).
- Before hospital, the injection route matters (RAMPART, 2012): In 893 children and adults treated by paramedics, seizures were absent on arrival without rescue therapy in 73.4% given intramuscular midazolam and 63.4% given IV lorazepam. The key difference was speed: median time to active treatment was 1.2 minutes for the muscle injection and 4.8 minutes for the IV route, even though IV lorazepam then worked faster once given (1.6 vs 3.3 minutes). Intubation rates were similar, at 14.1% and 14.4% (Silbergleit 2012).
- Children (Chamberlain et al., 2014; McTague et al., Cochrane 2018): In a 273-child US trial, seizures stopped in 72.9% given lorazepam and 72.1% given diazepam. Assisted ventilation was needed in 17.6% and 16.0%, and lorazepam caused more sedation (66.9% vs 50%). The authors concluded the findings "do not support the preferential use of lorazepam" (Chamberlain 2014). The paediatric Cochrane review found IV lorazepam and diazepam similar for seizure cessation (RR 1.04, 3 trials, 414 children, low-quality evidence), but with less respiratory depression on lorazepam (RR 0.72, 95% CI 0.55 to 0.93, moderate quality) (McTague 2018).
- The licensing trials: The US injection label summarises two sponsor trials in 177 patients. In a double-blind comparison, 24 of 30 (80%) responded to lorazepam and 16 of 28 (57%) to diazepam (p = 0.04). After additional doses the figures were 93% and 86%, "a difference that was not statistically significant". The label itself says the study "cannot speak reliably or meaningfully to the comparative performance" of the two drugs in real-world use (FDA injection label).
What this means clinically. The evidence clearly supports giving a benzodiazepine fast, and supports IV lorazepam where a line is already in place. NICE's committee noted that "the speed of delivery is more important than the type of benzodiazepine" (NICE NG217). That is why families and carers of people with epilepsy in the UK are usually given buccal midazolam or rectal diazepam rather than lorazepam.
Anxiety
The US tablet label contains no efficacy data at all. It simply states the indication and adds that "anxiety or tension associated with the stress of everyday life usually does not require treatment with an anxiolytic" (FDA label). This reflects the drug's 1977 approval, before modern trial reporting.
- Class-level independent evidence: The largest network meta-analysis of GAD drugs (89 trials, 25,441 patients, no funding) found that "paroxetine and benzodiazepines were effective but also poorly tolerated when compared with placebo" (Slee 2019). For panic disorder, benzodiazepines beat placebo for response (RR 1.65, NNTB 4) on low-quality evidence with "probable publication bias" (Breilmann 2019).
- Lorazepam-specific data are thin: The 2023 Cochrane network meta-analysis of panic drugs named diazepam, alprazolam and clonazepam as the top-ranked benzodiazepines; its abstract does not report lorazepam (Guaiana 2023). The WHO's evidence review for panic disorder examined "alprazolam, adinazolam, clonazepam, diazepam and midazolam", not lorazepam (WHO mhGAP).
- Active-comparator data: Lorazepam was used as a comparison drug in pregabalin trials. In a pooled analysis of six such trials, the benzodiazepine arms (lorazepam 6 mg/day or alprazolam 1.5 mg/day, 299 patients) produced significant improvement in both psychic and somatic anxiety versus placebo, with significant improvement on 5 of 14 Hamilton Anxiety items (Lydiard 2010). These data came from a commercial development programme for a different drug.
- Long-term: Across 8 studies of 13 weeks or more (N = 1,228), there was no significant difference in HAM-A change between benzodiazepines and placebo (Shinfuku 2019).
The WHO reviewed this body of evidence and still recommended against benzodiazepines for GAD and panic, "since the GDG concluded that the risks of the intervention outweighed the benefits" (WHO mhGAP).
Before surgery and procedures
Lorazepam is licensed as a pre-medication to reduce anxiety and memory of the day of surgery. The US label says it is "most useful in those patients who are anxious about their surgical procedure and who would prefer to have diminished recall" (FDA injection label). The best independent test of routine use is the French PremedX trial. It randomised 1,062 adults under 70 having planned surgery under general anaesthesia to lorazepam 2.5 mg, no premedication or placebo:
- Patient satisfaction the next day was no better with lorazepam (index 72 vs 73 vs 71, P = .38), including in the most anxious patients.
- Time to removal of the breathing tube was longer (17 vs 12 vs 13 minutes).
- Early cognitive recovery was lower (51% vs 71% vs 64%).
The authors concluded their findings "suggest a lack of benefit with routine use of lorazepam as sedative premedication" (Maurice-Szamburski 2015). This does not rule out benefit for individual patients with severe procedural anxiety, but it undercuts routine use.
Placebo response and speed
In the out-of-hospital seizure trial, 21.1% of placebo patients stopped seizing before reaching hospital (Alldredge 2001), and in the pre-operative trial the placebo group's satisfaction was almost identical to the lorazepam group's (Maurice-Szamburski 2015). Lorazepam's sedative effect is easy to feel, which can break blinding in anxiety trials. Its onset is fast: 20 to 30 minutes for tablets, according to the NHS (NHS).
Risks and all side effects
The FDA boxed warning, summarised
Both US Ativan labels carry the class boxed warning that the FDA required in September 2020 (FDA 2020; FDA tablets label):
- Opioids: Using benzodiazepines with opioids "may result in profound sedation, respiratory depression, coma, and death". Combined prescribing should be reserved for patients "for whom alternative treatment options are inadequate". This warning was first added in August 2016, after emergency visits involving non-medical use of both drug types rose from 11 to 34.2 per 100,000 population between 2004 and 2011 (FDA 2016, archived).
- Abuse, misuse and addiction: These "can lead to overdose or death". Prescribers should assess each patient's risk before and throughout treatment. The Medication Guide warns: "You can develop an addiction even if you take ATIVAN exactly as prescribed."
- Dependence and withdrawal: Abrupt stopping or rapid dose reduction "may precipitate acute withdrawal reactions, which can be life-threatening". A gradual taper is required.
The FDA's 2020 review reported that US benzodiazepine-involved overdose deaths rose from 1,298 in 2010 to 11,537 in 2017, and that from 2013 to 2017, 55% of these deaths also involved prescription opioids. In 2019, lorazepam made up 20% of the estimated 92 million US benzodiazepine prescriptions, behind alprazolam (38%) and clonazepam (24%) (FDA 2020). In the UK, the MHRA told prescribers in March 2020 to "only prescribe benzodiazepines (or benzodiazepine-like drugs) and opioids together if there is no alternative" (MHRA Drug Safety Update).
Common side effects
| Side effect | Frequency | Practical note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sedation, daytime drowsiness | 15.9% in about 3,500 anxiety patients (US); "very common" (UK) | Rises with age. Do not drive if affected. | FDA label; UK SmPC 4.8 |
| Dizziness | 6.9% (US); common (UK) | — | FDA label; SmPC 4.8 |
| Weakness, muscle weakness | 4.2% (US); common (UK) | The NHS says report unexplained muscle weakness. | FDA label; NHS |
| Unsteadiness, ataxia | 3.4% (US); common (UK) | Rises with age. A falls risk. | FDA label; SmPC 4.8 |
| Fatigue | Common (UK) | — | SmPC 4.8 |
| Memory problems, transient amnesia | Rare (UK) | Allow 7–8 hours of uninterrupted sleep if taken at night. | SmPC 4.4, 4.8 |
| Confusion, depression, disinhibition, change in libido | Rare (UK) | Report mood changes. | SmPC 4.8 |
| Headache, slurred speech, blurred or double vision, nausea, constipation | Rare (UK) | — | SmPC 4.8 |
The US label's frequencies come from a sample of about 3,500 treated patients with no placebo comparison given, so they cannot show how much is caused by the drug itself. The UK SmPC notes that side effects "are usually observed at the beginning of therapy" and often ease with continued use or a lower dose (UK SmPC 4.8).
Serious risks
| Risk | What is known | Who is most at risk | Practical note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fatal respiratory depression with opioids, alcohol or other sedatives | Boxed warning. Lorazepam "both used alone and in combination with other CNS depressants, may lead to potentially fatal respiratory depression". | People taking opioids, gabapentinoids or alcohol; people with COPD or sleep apnoea | Call 999 if breathing is very slow or someone cannot be woken. | FDA label; NHS |
| Withdrawal seizures and severe withdrawal | Life-threatening reactions include catatonia, convulsions, delirium tremens, psychosis and suicidality. The NHS lists confusion, seizures, depression, sweating and diarrhoea if stopped suddenly. | Higher doses, longer use, people with epilepsy | Taper under supervision. | FDA label; NHS |
| Protracted withdrawal syndrome | Anxiety, cognitive problems, insomnia, tingling and tinnitus lasting "weeks to more than 12 months" | Long-term users | Can be hard to tell apart from the original anxiety returning. | FDA label |
| Dependence and addiction | "Can occur with short-term use at recommended therapeutic doses." Risk is higher with a history of substance misuse or mental health disorder. The NHS says addiction is unlikely at a low dose for a short time (2 to 4 weeks). | Longer use, higher doses, past alcohol or drug problems | Agree an exit plan before starting. | UK SmPC 4.4; NHS |
| Falls, fractures, delirium and car crashes in older adults | "All benzodiazepines increase the risk of cognitive impairment, delirium, falls, fractures, and motor vehicle crashes in older adults." Shorter-acting ones "are not safer". | Age 65 and over | Beers 2023: avoid (strong recommendation), with exceptions such as seizures and procedures. | AGS Beers 2023 |
| Injection-specific risks | Airway obstruction and hypoxic cardiac arrest possible; inadvertent injection into an artery can cause gangrene. Propylene glycol toxicity (lactic acidosis, hyperosmolality, low blood pressure) reported at higher than recommended doses. Contraindicated in premature infants (benzyl alcohol). | Hospital patients, people with kidney impairment | For trained staff with resuscitation equipment only. | FDA injection label; UK injection SmPC |
| Paradoxical reactions | Agitation, aggression, rage, hallucinations, insomnia and inappropriate behaviour, reported occasionally | Children and older adults | Stop the drug and seek advice. | FDA label; SmPC 4.4, 4.8 |
| Worsening or unmasking of depression; suicidal thoughts | "Pre-existing depression may emerge or worsen." Suicidal ideation or attempt is listed. | People with depression | Should not be used without adequate antidepressant treatment in depression. Limit supply. | FDA label; SmPC 4.4 |
| Blood and liver changes | Leukopenia and raised LDH reported. Very rare low platelets, agranulocytosis and pancytopenia; rare jaundice. | Long-term users | Periodic blood counts and liver tests on long-term therapy. | FDA label; SmPC 4.4, 4.8 |
| Low sodium (SIADH) | Very rare | Older adults | — | SmPC 4.8 |
| Neonatal sedation and withdrawal | Breathing problems, floppiness and withdrawal symptoms in newborns after late-pregnancy use | Pregnancy, especially late pregnancy | Discuss with a prescriber before or during pregnancy. | FDA label; SmPC 4.6 |
| Hypersensitivity and anaphylaxis | Very rare | — | Swelling of the lips, tongue or throat is an emergency. | SmPC 4.8; NHS |
Overdose. In mild cases overdose causes drowsiness, confusion and lethargy. With other CNS depressants or alcohol it can cause respiratory depression, coma and, "very rarely, death" (UK SmPC 4.9). The US label warns that the reversal drug flumazenil can trigger seizures and is contraindicated when a benzodiazepine was given to control status epilepticus (FDA label). An animal finding is also on the label: oesophageal dilation in rats given lorazepam for more than a year, of unknown clinical significance.
All interactions
| Interacts with | Examples | Severity | Mechanism | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Opioids | Morphine, oxycodone, codeine, tramadol, methadone, heroin | Boxed warning | Additive respiratory depression (GABAA plus mu-opioid receptors) | Only if there is no alternative, at the lowest doses and shortest duration, with monitoring. |
| Alcohol | Any amount | Avoid | Additive CNS depression | UK SmPC: "should not be used together". NHS: risk of breathing problems and difficulty waking. |
| Clozapine | Clozapine | High caution | Reports of "marked sedation, excessive salivation, hypotension, ataxia, delirium, and respiratory arrest" | Specialist monitoring. |
| Sodium oxybate | Sodium oxybate | Avoid (UK) | Enhanced effects of sodium oxybate | Do not combine. |
| Other CNS depressants | Other benzodiazepines, Z-drugs, barbiturates, antipsychotics, sedating antidepressants and antihistamines (chlorphenamine, promethazine), anticonvulsants, gabapentinoids, anaesthetics, cannabis | High caution | Additive sedation and respiratory depression | The prescriber may lower doses. |
| Valproate | Sodium valproate | Reduce dose | Inhibits glucuronidation; raises lorazepam levels | US label: reduce lorazepam to about 50%. |
| Probenecid | Probenecid | Reduce dose | Longer half-life, lower clearance | US label: reduce lorazepam to about 50%. |
| HIV protease inhibitors | Ritonavir, atazanavir, saquinavir | Avoid (UK) | Risk of prolonged sedation | Discuss with HIV prescriber. |
| Muscle relaxants | Baclofen, tizanidine | Caution | Additive muscle relaxation and sedation | Falls risk, especially in older people. |
| Blood pressure medicines | ACE inhibitors, alpha-blockers, beta-blockers, calcium channel blockers, diuretics, nitrates, moxonidine | Monitor | Enhanced blood-pressure lowering | Report dizziness on standing. |
| Enzyme inhibitors and inducers | Cimetidine, omeprazole, esomeprazole, erythromycin, isoniazid, azole antifungals (inhibitors); rifampicin (inducer) | Note | Listed in the UK SmPC as a class effect; lorazepam is mainly cleared by glucuronidation | Clinical impact is likely to be smaller than for CYP3A4-cleared benzodiazepines. |
| Oestrogen-containing contraceptives | Combined pill | Note | Possible inhibition of lorazepam metabolism | The NHS says lorazepam does not affect contraception, but some contraceptives may make it less effective. |
| Theophylline, aminophylline, caffeine | Asthma drugs; coffee, tea, cola, energy drinks | Note | May reduce sedative and calming effects | — |
| Levodopa, zidovudine | Parkinson's and HIV drugs | Note | Possible antagonism of levodopa; increased zidovudine clearance | — |
| Flumazenil | Hospital reversal drug | Specialist | Can precipitate acute withdrawal and seizures | For hospital teams only. |
| Herbal sedatives and grapefruit | Valerian, passionflower; grapefruit juice | Avoid | Added drowsiness; possible higher levels with grapefruit | NHS: do not combine with herbal remedies for anxiety or insomnia. |
Sources: FDA tablets label, Drug Interactions; UK SmPC 4.5; NHS; NHS common questions.
Who should avoid lorazepam
- Contraindicated (UK tablets): hypersensitivity to benzodiazepines; acute pulmonary insufficiency, respiratory depression or sleep apnoea; obsessional states; severe hepatic insufficiency (it may precipitate encephalopathy); myasthenia gravis; planning a pregnancy; and pregnancy "unless there are compelling reasons" (UK SmPC 4.3).
- Contraindicated (US): hypersensitivity and acute narrow-angle glaucoma for tablets (FDA label). The injection is also contraindicated in sleep apnoea, severe respiratory insufficiency (except in ventilated patients), intra-arterial use and premature infants (FDA injection label).
- People taking opioids, or with a current or past alcohol or drug problem. The NHS advises telling a doctor about any past problems with alcohol or recreational drugs, as "they may want to try you on a different medicine" (NHS).
- People with depression, suicidal thoughts or a personality disorder (NHS). Do not use alone for depression.
- Older adults: The Beers Criteria say avoid (strong recommendation), except in situations such as seizure disorders and procedures (Beers 2023). If used, the UK advises cutting the starting dose by about 50% (UK SmPC 4.2).
- Liver and kidney impairment: Lower doses may be enough. Contraindicated in severe hepatic insufficiency in the UK; caution in the US because it may worsen hepatic encephalopathy.
- Lung disease such as COPD, and balance problems or a risk of falls (NHS).
- Pregnancy: UK and US sources differ in emphasis. The UK tablet SmPC says benzodiazepines "should not be used during pregnancy, especially during the first and last trimesters" (SmPC 4.6). The NHS says lorazepam "can be taken during pregnancy" but that long use late in pregnancy may make the baby drowsy and cause withdrawal (NHS). The US label says observational studies "do not report a clear association" with major birth defects (FDA label). Decisions belong with the prescriber.
- Breastfeeding: The UK SmPC says mothers who are breastfeeding "should not take benzodiazepines". The NHS says you can usually take lorazepam if your baby is healthy, as it passes into milk in very small amounts, but advises against bed-sharing. The US label advises monitoring the infant for sedation and poor feeding.
- Children: Not for anxiety or insomnia. Pre-operative use only from age 5 in the UK.
Dosage and how to take it
Your prescriber sets the dose. The figures below are the official licensed adult ranges, not personal advice.
| Use | UK licence (SmPC / NHS) | US licence (FDA Ativan labels) |
|---|---|---|
| Anxiety (tablets) | 1–4 mg daily in divided doses. Maximum treatment 2–4 weeks. | Usual range 2–6 mg/day in divided doses (range 1–10 mg/day). Most patients start at 2–3 mg/day in two or three doses. |
| Insomnia linked to anxiety | 1–2 mg before bed | 2–4 mg, usually at bedtime |
| Before surgery or dental work (tablets) | 2–3 mg the night before, then 2–4 mg one to two hours before | — |
| Before surgery (injection) | 0.05 mg/kg (3.5 mg for a 70 kg man) | IM 0.05 mg/kg, up to 4 mg, at least 2 hours before. IV usually 2 mg total or 0.044 mg/kg, whichever is smaller |
| Status epilepticus (injection, hospital) | Adults 4 mg IV | Adults 18 and over: 4 mg IV given slowly (2 mg/min); may repeat once after 10–15 minutes |
| Older or debilitated adults | Reduce initial dose by about 50% | Tablets: start at 1–2 mg/day in divided doses; initial dose should not exceed 2 mg |
Sources: UK tablets SmPC 4.2; UK injection SmPC 4.2; NHS; FDA tablets label; FDA injection label.
- How long before it works: Tablets and liquid start working in about 20 to 30 minutes and last about 6 to 8 hours. An injection works much faster (NHS).
- How long to take it: For anxiety or sleep problems, usually "from a few days to 4 weeks". Before a procedure, usually no more than 2 doses (NHS). The UK SmPC says a strategy for ending treatment should be agreed before starting.
- If a higher dose is needed, the US label says the evening dose should be increased before the daytime doses.
- How to stop: Always with the prescriber, using a gradual taper. The UK SmPC says tapering from a high dose "may take in excess of weeks or months", and advises "a slow stepwise rate of reduction proportionate to the existing dose, so that decrements become smaller as the dose is lowered" (UK SmPC 4.4). NICE adds that, for a benzodiazepine with a short half-life, prescribers should consider switching to one with a longer half-life, and should apply any published schedule flexibly (NICE NG215, 1.5.11–1.5.14). If withdrawal symptoms appear, the taper may be paused or stepped back before continuing more slowly (FDA label).
- Missed dose (anxiety): The NHS says take it if less than 3 hours late; otherwise skip it. Never take two doses to make up.
Follow the money: who makes it and who funded the evidence
Ownership chain
- 1977 and 1980: The FDA approves Ativan tablets (NDA 017794, 30 September 1977) and Ativan injection (NDA 018140, 25 July 1980) (Drugs@FDA; openFDA).
- By 2007: The tablet label names Wyeth Pharmaceuticals Inc. (Philadelphia, US) as manufacturer and Biovail Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (Bridgewater, New Jersey) as distributor (2007 label). We did not trace the transfer of rights between these companies to a primary document.
- Today (tablets): Bausch Health US, LLC distributes Ativan tablets, made by Bausch Health Companies Inc. in Canada (FDA label). Bausch Health Companies Inc. is incorporated in British Columbia with headquarters in Laval, Quebec, Canada. Its filings show it was previously named Valeant Pharmaceuticals International, Inc. (Bausch Health 10-K FY2025).
- Today (injection): Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. (Berkeley Heights, New Jersey) holds and makes Ativan injection (FDA injection label).
- UK: Supplied as generics. The eMC lists 12 lorazepam products from nine companies, including Genus Pharmaceuticals (Huddersfield, UK), Zentiva, ADVANZ Pharma, Neuraxpharm and Macure Pharma (Copenhagen, Denmark) (eMC).
Revenue
Bausch Health lists Ativan among its "principal products" in its neuroscience line but does not report a sales figure for it. Its FY2025 filing mentions "lower gross product sales" of Ativan among several older branded products (Bausch Health 10-K). With 16 generic applications on file in the US (openFDA) and only generics listed in the UK, most lorazepam is sold by companies with no stake in the brand. That lowers the commercial pressure on today's evidence base.
Who funded the evidence
- Status epilepticus: The best trials were publicly funded. Alldredge 2001 received a US Public Health Service R01 grant; RAMPART was funded by the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke; Chamberlain 2014 was funded through NICHD and federal maternal and child health grants (Europe PMC; NEJM abstract; Europe PMC). The Cochrane reviews are produced under a policy that bars commercial funding (Cochrane policy). Only the two licensing trials on the injection label were sponsor-generated.
- Anxiety: The tablet label contains no trial data. The class-level evidence comes from independent syntheses (Cochrane; Slee 2019, which had no funding), which pooled mostly older, often industry-run trials. The lorazepam-specific data we found came from another company's pregabalin programme, where lorazepam was the comparator.
- Pre-operative use: The main modern trial was run by French public teaching hospitals. No commercial funder was identified.
- Regulators: 77% of FDA human-drug review costs in FY2025 came from industry user fees (FDA PDUFA report). The boxed warnings nonetheless run against commercial interest.
Integrity events: We found no sourced regulatory enforcement action specific to Ativan marketing in the documents fetched for this review. We do not infer one.
Related research
For wider, evidence-graded context, see these Pure City Research guides:
- Stress, anxiety and depression: prevention and management guide
- Supplements for stress, anxiety and depression: the evidence
- Sleep: prevention and management guide
- Sleep supplements: the evidence
- L-theanine
- Magnesium
Sibling medicine reviews:
Frequently asked questions
How long does lorazepam take to work?
Tablets and liquid start to work in about 20 to 30 minutes, reach full sedating effect after 1 to 1.5 hours and last about 6 to 8 hours. An injection works much faster (NHS).
Is lorazepam addictive?
It can be. The US boxed warning covers abuse, misuse, addiction, dependence and withdrawal, and the UK SmPC says dependence "can occur with short-term use at recommended therapeutic doses" (UK SmPC 4.4). The NHS says addiction is unlikely at a low dose for a short time (2 to 4 weeks), and more likely if you have had problems with alcohol or drugs (NHS).
Can you drink alcohol on lorazepam?
No. The NHS says alcohol "can make you go into a very deep sleep" with a risk that "you will not be able to breathe properly" (NHS). The UK SmPC says lorazepam "should not be used together with alcohol", and the FDA says "Do not drink alcohol with benzodiazepines" (FDA 2020).
Can I drive on lorazepam in the UK?
Not if it impairs you. Lorazepam has a legal blood limit of 100 µg/L in England and Wales (GOV.UK). You can drive above that limit only if it was prescribed, you took it as advised and it is not making you unfit to drive (GOV.UK: drugs and driving). The NHS notes that police can request a saliva sample even if your driving is not affected (NHS). The government says it cannot say what dose equates to the limit.
How do I stop lorazepam safely?
Only with your prescriber, using a gradual taper. Stopping suddenly after regular use can cause confusion, seizures, depression, sweating and other symptoms (NHS). UK guidance advises reductions that get smaller as the dose falls, applied flexibly, and possibly switching to a longer-acting benzodiazepine (NICE NG215). Some people have symptoms lasting weeks to more than a year (FDA label).
Why is lorazepam used for seizures?
Because it stops prolonged seizures quickly and reliably. A Cochrane review found IV lorazepam better than IV diazepam or phenytoin at stopping status epilepticus (Prasad 2014), and NICE makes it the first choice in hospital when an IV line and resuscitation facilities are available (NICE NG217). At home, buccal midazolam or rectal diazepam are used instead.
Is lorazepam stronger than diazepam?
They are used at different milligram doses, so "stronger" is misleading. For seizures in adults, IV lorazepam stopped more seizures than IV diazepam in the Cochrane review (Prasad 2014), but a large children's trial found no difference (Chamberlain 2014). Lorazepam has a shorter half-life (about 12 hours) and no active metabolites (UK SmPC 5.2), but the Beers Criteria say shorter-acting benzodiazepines "are not safer" for falls in older adults (Beers 2023).
Should I ask for lorazepam before surgery?
Discuss it with your anaesthetist. In a trial of 1,062 adults, routine lorazepam 2.5 mg did not improve patients' experience of surgery and slowed early recovery compared with placebo or no premedication (Maurice-Szamburski 2015). It is still licensed for this use and may suit some very anxious patients.
Sources and funding notes
- FDA-approved prescribing information and Medication Guide, Ativan (lorazepam) tablets (DailyMed, revised 07/2025): US regulator-approved label held by Bausch Health (Canada).
- FDA-approved prescribing information, Ativan (lorazepam) injection (DailyMed, revised January 2023): US label held by Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA. Efficacy data from the sponsor's trials.
- Loreev XR (lorazepam extended-release) label: US label held by Almatica Pharma.
- Drugs@FDA, NDA 017794 and archived 2007 Ativan label: US FDA records.
- openFDA: NDA 018140, NDA 214826 and generic lorazepam applications: US government open data.
- Lorazepam 1mg Tablets, UK Summary of Product Characteristics (Genus Pharmaceuticals, revised 19 March 2026): MHRA-approved; generic licence holder (UK).
- Lorazepam Macure 4 mg/ml solution for injection, UK SmPC: MHRA-approved; licence holder Macure Pharma ApS (Denmark).
- Electronic Medicines Compendium (eMC) listing for lorazepam: UK product-information database run by Datapharm.
- NHS: Lorazepam (all sections): UK NHS patient information, last reviewed 14 February 2023.
- FDA Drug Safety Communication, 23 September 2020 (benzodiazepine boxed warning): US regulator.
- FDA Drug Safety Communication, August 2016 (opioids plus benzodiazepines), archived copy: US regulator.
- MHRA Drug Safety Update, 18 March 2020: UK regulator.
- NICE NG217, Epilepsies in children, young people and adults, section 7: UK public body funded by the Department of Health and Social Care.
- NICE CG113, Generalised anxiety disorder and panic disorder in adults: UK public body.
- NICE NG215, Medicines associated with dependence or withdrawal symptoms (2022): UK public body.
- WHO mhGAP guideline, 3rd edition, 2023: World Health Organization (international). Recommendation ANX6.
- Prasad et al., Cochrane 2014, Anticonvulsant therapy for status epilepticus: Cochrane; AIIMS New Delhi (India). "None known" conflicts.
- McTague et al., Cochrane 2018, Drug management for acute tonic-clonic convulsions in children: Cochrane; UCL Great Ormond Street (UK). Two authors had worked on included trials (declared).
- Alldredge et al., NEJM 2001, Lorazepam, diazepam and placebo for out-of-hospital status epilepticus: University of California (US); US Public Health Service grant (Europe PMC).
- Silbergleit et al. (RAMPART), NEJM 2012, Intramuscular versus intravenous therapy for prehospital status epilepticus: US Neurological Emergencies Treatment Trials network; funded by NINDS and others.
- Chamberlain et al., JAMA 2014, Lorazepam vs diazepam for pediatric status epilepticus: PECARN (US/Canada); NICHD and federal grants (Europe PMC).
- Maurice-Szamburski et al., JAMA 2015, Sedative premedication and patient experience after general anaesthesia (PremedX): French public teaching hospitals. No funder named in the abstract.
- Breilmann et al., Cochrane 2019, Benzodiazepines versus placebo for panic disorder in adults: Cochrane (Germany/Italy). One author declared pharma lecture fees.
- Guaiana et al., Cochrane 2023, Pharmacological treatments in panic disorder: network meta-analysis: Cochrane (international). Some authors declared fees from Eli Lilly, Pfizer, Otsuka and others.
- Slee et al., Lancet 2019, Pharmacological treatments for GAD: network meta-analysis: University College London (UK). "No funding was received."
- Shinfuku et al., Int Clin Psychopharmacol 2019, Long-term benzodiazepine use in anxiety disorders: Keio University (Japan). No funding statement in the PubMed record.
- Lydiard et al., Int J Neuropsychopharmacol 2010, Pregabalin and benzodiazepines in GAD (pooled analysis): US authors; data from pregabalin trials. No funding statement in the abstract.
- American Geriatrics Society 2023 Updated Beers Criteria: US professional society; "no sponsor".
- GOV.UK: Drug driving (limits table) and GOV.UK: Drugs and driving, the law: UK government.
- Home Office: List of most commonly encountered controlled drugs: UK government.
- Bausch Health Companies Inc., Form 10-K for fiscal 2025: manufacturer's statutory SEC filing (Canada/US). The company's own account.
- FDA PDUFA financial report FY2025: US government. Source of the user-fee share figure.
- Cochrane commercial sponsorship policy: Cochrane (UK/international).
Last reviewed: 26 September 2026. Educational information from Pure City Research, not medical advice. Medicine decisions belong with a qualified prescriber.
Have a question — or want us to cover something?
Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.
One daily research roundup
Get the topics, key findings and links from our new articles in one email. At most one digest a day, only when there is something new.
