Zopiclone: Independent Evidence on Insomnia, Side Effects, Driving & Withdrawal

Key takeaways
  • Zopiclone (brand name Zimovane in the UK) is a prescription "Z-drug" sleeping tablet licensed only for the short-term treatment of insomnia in adults. The UK product information says a course "should not exceed four weeks including the period of tapering off" (Zimovane SmPC, EMC).
  • It does help people sleep in the short term. In the largest publicly funded comparison of insomnia drugs it beat placebo short term, but doubled the odds of dropping out because of side effects (OR 2.00, 95% CI 1.28–3.13; very low certainty) (De Crescenzo et al., Lancet 2022).
  • In an independently funded Norwegian trial in adults aged 55 and over, cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) beat zopiclone on 3 of 4 outcomes. On most outcomes, zopiclone did no better than placebo (Sivertsen et al., JAMA 2006).
  • UK, European and US guidelines all put CBT for insomnia (CBT-I) first. NICE says to prescribe hypnotics "for short periods of time only" and to choose the cheapest of zopiclone, zolpidem or a short-acting benzodiazepine (NICE TA77, European Insomnia Guideline 2023).
  • Do not drive, ride a bike or use machinery for 12 hours after a dose (NHS). In on-the-road tests, zopiclone 7.5 mg impaired next-morning driving by more than a blood alcohol level of 0.05% did (Verster et al., 2011).
  • Dependence, withdrawal and misuse are real risks, even at normal doses. The MHRA strengthened Z-drug warnings in January 2026; zopiclone has been a UK Class C controlled drug since 2014 (MHRA 2026, Home Office 2014).
  • Zopiclone has no FDA approval in the US. The US uses a related single-isomer drug, eszopiclone (Lunesta), instead. Zopiclone's early research came from Rhône-Poulenc in France, and the UK brand is now held by Sanofi (Paris) (openFDA, Piot et al., 1990).

Independent evidence review · Prescription medicine

Zopiclone works as a short-term sleeping tablet, but the benefit is modest, it wears off, and the costs are real: next-day impairment, bitter taste, falls, dependence and withdrawal. Independent evidence consistently ranks CBT for insomnia above it, both during treatment and months after treatment ends. Regulators in the UK allow zopiclone for up to 4 weeks at a time, including the time spent tapering off. NICE found no compelling evidence to choose it over zolpidem or short-acting benzodiazepines other than on price (Zimovane SmPC, NICE TA77).

Best evidence for short-term relief of insomnia (days to weeks), after non-drug measures
Main risks next-day impairment, complex sleep behaviours, falls, dependence, withdrawal, danger with alcohol or opioids
Key rule maximum 4 weeks including tapering; no driving for 12 hours after a dose
Safety first
Zopiclone is a prescription-only medicine and a Class C controlled drug in the UK. Only start it, stop it or change the dose with a prescriber. Stopping suddenly after regular use can cause withdrawal, and the dose should be tapered under supervision (NHS).
  • Driving: do not drive, ride a bike or use machinery for 12 hours after taking it (NHS).
  • Alcohol: do not drink alcohol with it. The combination can cause breathing problems and make it very hard to wake up (NHS).
  • Opioids: taking it with opioid painkillers can cause sedation, slowed breathing, coma and death (SmPC).
If you have thoughts of harming yourself, or if someone may have taken too much, seek urgent help: call NHS 111, or 999 in an emergency, or your local emergency number outside the UK.

Table of contents

Evidence summary

Claim Evidence Source Funding / conflict Strength
Improves sleep in the short term A network meta-analysis of 154 double-blind randomised trials (44,089 participants) found that zopiclone was among the drugs more effective than placebo for acute treatment. The standardised mean differences (SMDs) for that group of drugs ranged from 0.36 to 0.83, with high to moderate certainty. De Crescenzo et al., Lancet 2022 Funded by the UK NIHR (public). The first author is an employee of Boehringer Ingelheim. The senior author leads two Janssen-sponsored trials of seltorexant, an insomnia-class drug. Moderate
Poor tolerability compared with placebo and newer drugs More dropouts because of side effects than placebo: OR 2.00 (1.28–3.13; very low certainty). More dropouts than eszopiclone (OR 1.82), daridorexant (3.45) and suvorexant (3.13). De Crescenzo et al., Lancet 2022 As above. Risk signal
CBT works better than zopiclone for chronic insomnia in older adults 46 adults aged 55 and over, 6 weeks of treatment. CBT beat zopiclone on 3 of 4 outcomes. At 6 months, sleep efficiency was 90.1% with CBT and 81.9% with zopiclone. On most outcomes, zopiclone did not differ from placebo. Sivertsen et al., JAMA 2006 Funded by the University of Bergen, the Meltzer Fund and the Norwegian Foundation for Health and Rehabilitation. The authors reported no financial disclosures. Moderate (small trial)
No proven advantage over zolpidem or short-acting benzodiazepines NICE reviewed 24 randomised trials and found "no consistent pattern of superiority" of any one drug over another. NICE TA77 A public body. The manufacturers (Aventis, Sanofi Synthelabo, Wyeth and others) took part as consultees. Moderate
Impairs driving the next morning Eight on-the-road studies consistently found that 7.5 mg taken at bedtime impaired next-morning driving. The average weaving increase was 3.0 cm, compared with 2.4 cm at a blood alcohol level of 0.05%. Verster et al., 2011 Academic review. Funding and conflicts are not shown in the PubMed record. Strong
Road accidents in real-world use In the week after a prescription was filled, road-accident risk was raised for zopiclone and zolpidem combined: standardised incidence ratio (SIR) 2.3 (2.0–2.7). The study covered all Norwegians aged 18 to 69. Gustavsen et al., Sleep Med 2008 Norwegian Institute of Public Health (public). Moderate (observational)
Hip fracture in older people Z-drug use was linked to hip fracture: RR 1.90 (1.68–2.13). The risk was highest in new users: RR 2.39. Donnelly et al., PLoS One 2017 Cardiff academics. No competing interests declared. Moderate (observational)
Dependence and withdrawal The regulator says these can happen "with short-term use at recommended therapeutic doses", and product warnings were strengthened in 2026. MHRA 2026, SmPC Regulator, advised by the independent Commission on Human Medicines. Established risk
Long-term benefit (months or longer) No reliable long-term evidence for zopiclone. For long-term treatment, only eszopiclone and lemborexant beat placebo in the Lancet analysis, both at very low certainty. De Crescenzo et al., Lancet 2022 As above. Insufficient

Independent evidence and credibility scorecard

Tier 1 means fully public or academic with no relevant ties. Tier 4 means paid for by the manufacturer. Credibility A to D is our overall judgement of how far each source can be relied on for the claims we use it for.

Source Who funds it Country Independence tier (1–4) Credibility (A–D) Why it would tell the truth / residual bias
Sivertsen et al., JAMA 2006 University of Bergen, Meltzer Fund, Norwegian Foundation for Health and Rehabilitation. The funders had no role in the study. Norway 1 B+ No drug-company money; placebo-controlled and double-blind. Residual bias: it was small (46 analysed), the investigators were psychologists who deliver CBT (a possible allegiance bias), and it was run at one centre.
De Crescenzo et al., Lancet 2022 UK NIHR Oxford Health Biomedical Research Centre UK / Italy 2 A− Public funding, a pre-registered protocol, and inclusion of unpublished trials. Residual bias: the first author works for Boehringer Ingelheim, and the senior author leads Janssen trials of seltorexant (an orexin drug, a competing class). Most of the trials it pools were paid for by manufacturers.
NICE TA77 Mostly the Department of Health and Social Care: grant-in-aid covered 70% of 2024–25 spending. Companies paid £13.7m in appraisal fees that year (NICE annual report) UK 1–2 A− Its job is to control NHS spending, so it has a reason to be sceptical of drugs. Residual bias: cost pressure favours cheap drugs, and the guidance dates from 2004.
MHRA Drug Safety Update 2026 UK government regulator UK 1 A Legally responsible for public safety, and drew on Yellow Card reports, GP records and patient accounts. Residual bias: the review excluded efficacy, and regulators often act years after a signal first appears.
European Insomnia Guideline 2023 European Sleep Research Society. Europe PMC lists an NIHR grant. We could not access the full conflict-of-interest statements. Europe (multinational) 2–3 B+ A large academic panel using graded recommendations. Residual bias: its conflicts of interest could not be checked.
AGS Beers Criteria 2023 "There was no sponsor for this paper". Some panel members consult for LexiComp and UnitedHealthcare, and one member's spouse holds AbbVie and Abbott shares. USA 2 A− No money from hypnotic makers. Residual bias: it is designed for the US and names eszopiclone, zaleplon and zolpidem, not zopiclone.
Hajak, Drug Saf 1999 (favourable 15-year review) Not stated in the PubMed record Germany Unknown (3–4 assumed) C It is a single-author narrative review, not a systematic one. Its claims that dependence was "very low" and that tolerability was like placebo apart from taste were later overtaken by regulatory warnings.
Piot et al., 1990 (mouse dependence study) Written by scientists at Rhône-Poulenc Santé, the company that developed zopiclone France 4 D (for human dependence claims) A company laboratory study in mice. It suggested that zopiclone "may not produce physical dependence", which is contradicted by current human evidence and UK warnings.

What zopiclone is

Zopiclone is a prescription sleeping tablet (a hypnotic). The NHS describes it as "a type of sleeping pill that's sometimes known as a Z-drug" (NHS).

  • Drug class: the UK licence classes it as a "benzodiazepine related drug" (ATC code N05CF01). Chemically it is a cyclopyrrolone, a different structure from the benzodiazepines (Zimovane SmPC).
  • UK brand: Zimovane 7.5 mg film-coated tablets. The marketing authorisation holder is Aventis Pharma Limited, trading as Sanofi, in Reading. The licence number is PL 04425/0624, first authorised on 6 May 1993 (SmPC). Generic zopiclone tablets are widely available from several manufacturers. For example, an MHRA defect notice from 2020 names ratiopharm and Mylan products (MHRA).
  • Origin: early pharmacology and pharmacokinetic research on zopiclone, under the code RP-27267, was published by scientists at Rhône-Poulenc Santé research centres in France (Piot et al., 1990, Gaillot et al., 1987). Independent academic groups also studied it under the same RP code (Tokunaga et al., 1987). By 1999 a 15-year clinical review described its use across more than 30 countries (Hajak, 1999).
  • UK legal status: prescription-only (POM). Since 10 June 2014 it has also been a Class C controlled drug, in Schedule 4 Part 1 of the Misuse of Drugs Regulations (Home Office Circular 008/2014).
  • US status: an openFDA search of Drugs@FDA returned no approved zopiclone product (openFDA).
    • The US instead has eszopiclone (Lunesta), a cyclopyrrolone with a single S-configured chiral centre. It was approved under NDA 021476 in December 2004, and the current label holder is Waylis Therapeutics (Lunesta label, openFDA).
    • The US Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) lists "Zopiclone" in Schedule IV, and gives Lunesta as the example brand (DEA controlled substances list).

How it works

Zopiclone boosts the effect of GABA, the brain's main calming (inhibitory) chemical messenger. It does this by acting on the GABA-A receptor complex, which opens a chloride channel and makes nerve cells less active.

  • The UK licence says zopiclone and other cyclopyrrolones "act on a different site to those of benzodiazepines" and cause different changes in the shape of the receptor. Even so, its effects overlap with benzodiazepines: it is hypnotic, sedative, anti-anxiety, anticonvulsant and muscle-relaxing (SmPC section 5.1).
  • NICE's summary is that, although the Z-drugs differ in structure from benzodiazepines, "they are also agonists of the GABA receptor complex". They were developed to overcome disadvantages of benzodiazepines such as next-day sedation, dependence and withdrawal. (NICE TA77 section 3).

How the body handles it (pharmacokinetics):

  • Zopiclone is absorbed quickly, with peak levels at 1.5 to 2 hours. The NHS says it takes around 30 to 60 minutes to start working (NHS).
  • The elimination half-life is about 5 hours, rising to about 7 hours in older people (SmPC section 5.2). This is longer than zolpidem's 2.5 hours (NICE TA77), which helps explain why next-morning effects are a particular concern.
  • It is broken down mainly in the liver by the enzyme CYP3A4, with some help from CYP2C8. That is why some antibiotics, antifungals, HIV medicines and enzyme-inducing drugs change its levels.
  • Clearance is "clearly reduced" in people with cirrhosis.

A common side effect is a bitter taste. The UK licence lists dysgeusia (bitter taste) as common, affecting between 1 in 100 and 1 in 10 people (SmPC section 4.8). The NHS describes it as "a bitter or metallic taste in your mouth" (NHS).

What it is prescribed for

  • UK licensed use: "the short-term treatment of insomnia in adults" (SmPC section 4.1). The NHS adds that a doctor may prescribe it for trouble falling asleep, waking in the night or waking too early, when this is "affecting your everyday life" (NHS).
  • US: not licensed (see above).

Where guidelines place it

  • NICE (UK), TA77, 2004: NICE says hypnotics should only be used after "due consideration of the use of non-pharmacological measures", and only for severe insomnia that is interfering with daily life. Then:
    • they should be prescribed "for short periods of time only";
    • because nothing clearly separates zolpidem, zopiclone and the shorter-acting benzodiazepines, the cheapest should be used;
    • switching is appropriate only for side effects linked to a specific drug;
    • people who have not responded to one of these drugs "should not be prescribed any of the others" (NICE TA77).
    In NICE's more recent daridorexant appraisal, CBT for insomnia (CBTi) is described as "the standard first treatment for people with long-term insomnia" (NICE TA922).
  • European Insomnia Guideline 2023:
    • CBT-I is first-line for chronic insomnia "in adults of any age" (grade A).
    • If CBT-I does not work well enough, a drug can be offered. Benzodiazepine receptor agonists, which include zopiclone, "can be used for the short-term treatment of insomnia (≤ 4 weeks)" (grade A).
    • Longer use "may be initiated in some cases" (grade B) (Riemann et al., 2023).
  • American College of Physicians (ACP) 2016: CBT-I is the initial treatment for all adults (strong recommendation). Adding a drug after CBT-I has failed is a weak recommendation based on low-quality evidence (Qaseem et al., 2016).
  • Older adults (AGS Beers Criteria 2023): the Beers Criteria say to "Avoid" Z-drugs in people aged 65 and over (strong recommendation, moderate-quality evidence). The reasons given are adverse events similar to benzodiazepines, including delirium, falls, fractures, emergency visits and car crashes, together with "minimal improvement in sleep latency and duration". Because Beers is written for the US, its list names eszopiclone, zaleplon and zolpidem rather than zopiclone. The reasoning applies to the class as a whole (AGS Beers Criteria 2023).

In short: zopiclone is a second-line, short-term option once CBT-I and sleep-hygiene measures have been tried, or while waiting for them. It is not a long-term treatment.

What works and what does not

Use or claim Verdict Evidence Key caveat
Short-term relief of insomnia (days to weeks) WORKS Better than placebo in acute treatment in the Lancet network meta-analysis (De Crescenzo 2022). The benefit is modest, more people drop out because of side effects, and the licence limits a course to 4 weeks including tapering.
Better than benzodiazepines MIXED NICE found no consistent superiority in 24 trials (TA77). A hip-fracture meta-analysis found "little difference" in risk between the two classes (Donnelly 2017). The idea that Z-drugs are "safer benzodiazepines" is not supported by independent reviews.
Chronic insomnia in older adults, compared with CBT DOES NOT BEAT CBT CBT was better on 3 of 4 outcomes, and zopiclone mostly did no better than placebo (Sivertsen 2006). A small single-centre trial, but its findings match every major guideline.
Long-term nightly use (months) INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE No reliable long-term efficacy data for zopiclone (De Crescenzo 2022). The licence does not recommend long-term use, and the risk of dependence rises with longer treatment (SmPC).
Treating depression or anxiety NOT A TREATMENT The licence says zopiclone "does not constitute a treatment for depression and may even mask its symptoms" (SmPC section 4.4). Insomnia that continues may be a sign of depression and needs review.

Benefits by claim

1. Short-term sleep quality (acute treatment)

The best independent estimate comes from the NIHR-funded network meta-analysis by De Crescenzo and colleagues. It included 170 trials in the systematic review, and 154 double-blind randomised trials covering 30 treatments and 44,089 participants in the network analysis (Lancet 2022).

  • Zopiclone was one of the drugs more effective than placebo for acute treatment, along with benzodiazepines, doxylamine, eszopiclone, lemborexant, seltorexant and zolpidem. The group's SMDs ranged from 0.36 to 0.83, with high to moderate certainty.
  • Zopiclone, zolpidem, eszopiclone and benzodiazepines were also more effective than melatonin, ramelteon and zaleplon (SMD 0.27–0.71).
  • The abstract does not give a separate SMD for zopiclone alone, so we have not reported one.

Tolerability is where zopiclone looks worse. The same analysis found:

  • more dropouts because of side effects than placebo: OR 2.00 (95% CI 1.28–3.13; very low certainty);
  • more dropouts than eszopiclone (OR 1.82 [1.01–3.33]), daridorexant (3.45 [1.41–8.33]) and suvorexant (3.13 [1.47–6.67]), all at low certainty.

The authors concluded that several licensed drugs "can be effective in the acute treatment of insomnia but are associated with poor tolerability, or information about long-term effects is not available".

2. How big is the benefit in practical terms?

  • An independent meta-analysis of FDA approval data for Z-drugs found that sleep onset in the lab was about 22 minutes faster than on placebo (95% CI 11–33 minutes) (Huedo-Medina et al., BMJ 2012).
    • That dataset covered only eszopiclone, zaleplon and zolpidem, because zopiclone was never submitted to the FDA. It is the closest audited benchmark for the class, not a measurement of zopiclone itself.
    • The authors called the drug effect and placebo response "rather small and of questionable clinical importance". They also noted that the two together produced "a reasonably large clinical response".
  • Placebo matters a great deal in insomnia trials. A meta-analysis of 32 drug trials found that "63.56% of the drug responses are achieved even in the placebo groups" (Winkler & Rief, Sleep 2015). In practice, a large part of the improvement people feel on a sleeping tablet would also happen with a dummy pill and the reassurance of treatment.

3. Zopiclone compared with CBT (Sivertsen et al., JAMA 2006)

This is the landmark independent head-to-head trial. Researchers at the University of Bergen randomised adults with chronic primary insomnia (mean age 60.8) to three groups:

  • CBT covering sleep hygiene, sleep restriction, stimulus control, cognitive therapy and relaxation (n=18);
  • zopiclone 7.5 mg nightly (n=16);
  • placebo (n=12).

Treatment lasted 6 weeks, and the two active groups were followed up at 6 months. Sleep was measured with polysomnography (sleep-lab style recordings) and sleep diaries (Sivertsen et al., 2006).

  • CBT gave better short- and long-term results than zopiclone on 3 of 4 outcome measures.
  • "For most outcomes, zopiclone did not differ from placebo."
  • Sleep efficiency with CBT rose from 81.4% to 90.1% at 6 months. With zopiclone it went from 82.3% to 81.9%.
  • The CBT group spent more time in deep (slow-wave) sleep and less time awake at night. Total sleep time was similar in all three groups.

Limitations: the trial was small, had one site and was limited to adults aged 55 and over. The allocation concealment and blinding were rigorous, though: the zopiclone and placebo pills had identical appearance, smell and flavour (full text).

4. Compared with benzodiazepines and zolpidem

NICE's assessment group reviewed 24 randomised trials, including 13 comparing zopiclone with a benzodiazepine (NICE TA77 section 4). It found:

  • "no consistent pattern of superiority of 1 drug over another";
  • "evidence of multiple testing of outcomes, with selective reporting of significant findings";
  • no consistent differences in next-day residual effects;
  • no data from the randomised trials on how often withdrawal or dependence happened.

In the one 2-week trial comparing the two Z-drugs, zolpidem 10 mg was associated with shorter time to fall asleep than zopiclone 7.5 mg (OR 1.72; 95% CI 1.04–2.84).

Risks and all side effects

Frequencies are from the UK licence: common = 1 in 100 to 1 in 10; uncommon = 1 in 1,000 to 1 in 100; rare = 1 in 10,000 to 1 in 1,000; very rare = fewer than 1 in 10,000; "not known" = cannot be estimated (Zimovane SmPC section 4.8).

Side effect Frequency / severity What it means
Bitter taste (dysgeusia), dry mouth, residual sleepiness Common The NHS lists dry mouth, a bitter or metallic taste, and feeling tired, dazed or less alert the next day.
Nightmares, agitation, dizziness, headache, nausea, vomiting, fatigue Uncommon Tell a pharmacist or doctor if these are troublesome.
Anterograde amnesia (no memory of events after taking the dose) Rare More likely if sleep is interrupted. The licence advises taking the tablet only when you can get 7 to 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep.
Confusion, irritability, aggression, hallucinations, altered libido Rare These paradoxical reactions are more likely in older people. The licence says to stop zopiclone if they happen.
Falls Rare (mainly older people) Z-drug use is associated with hip fracture: RR 1.90, and 2.39 in new users (Donnelly 2017).
Shortness of breath; respiratory depression Rare / not known Contraindicated in respiratory failure and severe sleep apnoea.
Complex sleep behaviours (sleepwalking, "sleep driving", eating, phone calls or sex while not fully awake, with no memory afterwards) Not known — stop immediately These can happen after the first dose. Once someone has had one, zopiclone is contraindicated for them.
Dependence, addiction, withdrawal syndrome Not known — established risk This can occur "with short-term use at recommended therapeutic doses". The risk is higher with a history of substance misuse or mental illness.
Depression, suicidal thoughts Serious Studies of hypnotics have linked them with suicidal ideation, but a causal link "has not been established". The NHS lists feeling low and thoughts of suicide as possible serious side effects.
Allergic reactions: angioedema, anaphylaxis Very rare Emergency: call 999.
Raised liver enzymes; rash, itching, hives Very rare / rare Usually mild to moderate.
Unsteadiness (ataxia), pins and needles, memory and attention problems, speech disorder, double vision, muscle weakness, restlessness, delirium, delusions Not known Reported after the drug went on sale.

Next-day impairment and driving

This is zopiclone's best-documented harm.

  • What the licence says: the risk of impaired driving is higher if zopiclone "is taken within 12 hours of performing activities that require mental alertness", if a higher dose is taken, or if it is combined with alcohol, other depressants or drugs that raise zopiclone levels (SmPC section 4.7).
  • On-the-road tests: zopiclone 7.5 mg is so reliably impairing that researchers use it as the "positive control" when testing new sleeping pills. In a review of eight standardised on-the-road studies (191 healthy volunteers), it consistently impaired next-morning driving (Verster et al., 2011).
    • Lane weaving (the standard deviation of lateral position) increased by an average of 3.0 cm, compared with 2.4 cm at a blood alcohol concentration of 0.05%.
    • Older and younger volunteers were affected similarly.
  • Real-world accidents: across 3.1 million Norwegians, the first week after filling a prescription for zopiclone or zolpidem carried a standardised incidence ratio for road accidents of 2.3 (2.0–2.7) (Gustavsen et al., 2008).

UK law:

  • It is illegal in England, Scotland and Wales to drive if any legal drug impairs your driving.
  • Zopiclone is not one of the medicines with a specified blood limit under the 2015 drug-driving rules. That list includes drugs such as diazepam, temazepam and morphine.
  • The "unfit to drive" offence still applies to zopiclone (GOV.UK: Drugs and driving, GOV.UK advice for healthcare professionals).

Dependence, withdrawal and the 2026 MHRA warning

In January 2026 the MHRA reviewed dependency-forming medicines, including Z-drugs. It concluded that existing product information "did not sufficiently communicate the extent of the known risks of addiction, dependence, withdrawal and tolerance" (MHRA Drug Safety Update, 8 January 2026). It asked for:

  • stronger warnings in the product information, patient leaflets and outer packaging;
  • a conversation about how treatment will end before it starts;
  • gradual tapering that "can sometimes take weeks or months".

The current Zimovane licence already contains this wording (SmPC, revised 11 February 2026). It lists these withdrawal symptoms:

  • rebound insomnia, anxiety, tremor, sweating, agitation, confusion, headache, palpitations, nightmares, hallucinations, panic attacks, muscle cramps and gut upset;
  • in severe cases, derealisation, depersonalisation, sensitivity to noise, light and touch, and numbness;
  • very rarely, seizures.

There is also regulatory history. In 2014 the UK made zopiclone a Class C controlled drug. The Home Office cited reported harms from misuse, including "a risk of coma, respiratory depression and death associated with use of excess doses of these drugs in combination with alcohol or other similar depressants" (Home Office Circular 008/2014).

A 2003 review of the world literature found 22 published case reports of zopiclone dependence. Most people involved had a history of drug or alcohol misuse or a psychiatric condition, and in extreme cases doses reached 30 to 120 times the recommended amount (Hajak et al., Addiction 2003).

Overdose

The licence says overdose "should not be life threatening unless combined with other CNS depressants, including alcohol". It can cause drowsiness through to coma, and also methaemoglobinaemia and haemolytic anaemia (SmPC section 4.9). If someone has taken more than their prescribed dose, the NHS advice is to call NHS 111. If they are told to go to A&E, they should not drive themselves (NHS).

All interactions

Interacting substance Examples Severity Mechanism / effect What the official sources say
Alcohol Any alcoholic drink Avoid Added sedation, breathing problems, difficulty waking, more complex sleep behaviours. The NHS says do not drink alcohol while taking zopiclone. The licence says the combination is "not recommended".
Opioids Codeine, morphine, oxycodone, tramadol, methadone High risk Added depression of the central nervous system, which can cause sedation, respiratory depression, coma and death. Use together only if alternatives are inadequate, at the lowest doses and for the shortest time, with close monitoring (SmPC section 4.4).
Other sedatives Benzodiazepines, other sleeping pills, anxiolytics, antipsychotics, sedating antidepressants, antiepileptics, anaesthetics, sedating antihistamines (chlorphenamine, promethazine) High caution More central nervous system depression, next-day impairment and falls. The benefit of taking them together "should therefore be carefully weighed" (SmPC section 4.5). Beers advises against combining 3 or more drugs that act on the brain in older adults.
CYP3A4 inhibitors Erythromycin, clarithromycin, ketoconazole, itraconazole, ritonavir Dose may need reducing Higher zopiclone levels. Erythromycin raised zopiclone exposure (AUC) by 80%. A lower zopiclone dose may be needed (SmPC section 4.5). The NHS lists antibiotics and antifungals.
CYP3A4 inducers Rifampicin, carbamazepine, phenobarbital, phenytoin, St John's wort Moderate Lower zopiclone levels, so it may work less well. A dose adjustment may be needed. Do not add St John's wort without asking the prescriber.
Other sedating supplements Melatonin, valerian, kava, sedating herbal "sleep" blends Caution Possible added sedation. There is little formal interaction data. The NHS asks people to tell their doctor about any herbal remedies, vitamins or supplements.
Food Meals None known Food does not change how zopiclone is absorbed (SmPC section 5.2). Apart from alcohol, eat and drink as usual (NHS).

Sources: Zimovane SmPC sections 4.4–4.5, NHS zopiclone, AGS Beers Criteria 2023.

Who should avoid zopiclone

Do not use (contraindications)

The UK licence says zopiclone must not be used by people with (SmPC section 4.3):

  • myasthenia gravis;
  • respiratory failure;
  • severe sleep apnoea syndrome;
  • severe liver impairment;
  • an allergy to zopiclone or to any ingredient, such as wheat starch in people with wheat allergy;
  • a previous complex sleep behaviour after taking zopiclone.

It is also not for children and adolescents under 18.

Use with caution or at a lower starting dose

  • History of addiction. This includes alcohol, drugs or prescription medicines, "especially opioids" (NHS). The dependence risk is higher.
  • Depression or suicidal thoughts. Only small quantities should be supplied, and ongoing insomnia should prompt a review for depression (SmPC).
  • Breathing problems. This covers chronic respiratory insufficiency and milder sleep apnoea. The starting dose is 3.75 mg.
  • Liver or kidney impairment. The starting dose is 3.75 mg.
  • Rare sugar-intolerance conditions. The tablets contain lactose, so they are not suitable for hereditary galactose intolerance, Lapp lactase deficiency or glucose-galactose malabsorption.

Older adults

  • The UK licence starts older people on 3.75 mg (SmPC).
  • The Beers Criteria advise avoiding Z-drugs in people aged 65 and over (strong recommendation) (Beers 2023). They also advise avoiding them in people with delirium, dementia or cognitive impairment, or a history of falls or fractures.
  • An Austrian systematic review for deprescribing recommended "discontinuing Z-drugs, principally because of the high risk for falls and fractures" in older adults. It added that the quality and quantity of the evidence are low (Scharner et al., BMC Geriatr 2022).

Pregnancy

  • The UK licence says use in pregnancy "is not recommended". Zopiclone crosses the placenta.
  • Cohort data on more than 1,000 pregnancies exposed to benzodiazepine-like drugs in the first trimester have not shown malformations. However, some case-control studies reported more cleft lip and palate with benzodiazepines.
  • Use late in pregnancy can cause "floppy infant syndrome", breathing depression and withdrawal in the newborn (SmPC section 4.6).
  • The NHS says zopiclone "is not usually used during pregnancy". It may be prescribed briefly if insomnia is severe and other treatments have not worked (NHS).

Breastfeeding

The two official UK sources differ, so this is a decision for the prescriber.

  • The manufacturer's licence says that although concentrations in breast milk are low, "use in nursing mothers must be avoided" (SmPC).
  • The NHS says it "can be used for a short time while breastfeeding" after checking with a doctor. It also warns not to share a bed with a baby after taking zopiclone, because of the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (NHS).

Dosage and how to take it

Your prescriber sets your dose and how long you take it. The ranges below are the official UK licensed doses, for information only (Zimovane SmPC section 4.2).

Group Licensed dose
Adults 7.5 mg once, taken by mouth shortly before going to bed
Older people Start at 3.75 mg. The dose may be increased later if clinically necessary.
Liver impairment (not severe) 3.75 mg nightly recommended. 7.5 mg may be used with caution in some cases.
Kidney impairment Start at 3.75 mg
Chronic respiratory insufficiency Start at 3.75 mg. The dose may be increased to 7.5 mg.
Under 18 Not to be used
  • How to take it: one dose a night, swallowed whole with water, not sucked or chewed, just before bed. Never take a second dose in the same night (NHS, SmPC).
  • How long it takes to work: about 30 to 60 minutes (NHS).
  • Missed dose: skip it and take the next dose at bedtime the following night. Do not double up (NHS).
  • How long a course lasts: "as short as possible and should not exceed four weeks including the period of tapering off". Going beyond that requires the prescriber to re-evaluate (SmPC).

How to stop

Do not stop suddenly after regular use. The NHS says "Your doctor will gradually reduce your dose so that you can stop taking it safely" (NHS). The 2026 licence wording says (SmPC section 4.4):

  • the reduction schedule should be tailored to the individual;
  • each step should get smaller as the dose falls;
  • the taper can be paused, or the previous dose restored, if withdrawal symptoms become intolerable;
  • tapering from a high dose "may take in excess of weeks or months".

Pure City Research does not give personal tapering schedules. Agree a plan with your prescriber.

Follow the money: who makes it and who funded the evidence

Originator and current owner

  • Origin: the earliest pharmacology, pharmacokinetic and dependence studies of zopiclone (code RP-27267) came from Rhône-Poulenc Santé research centres at Vitry-sur-Seine and Antony, France (Piot et al., 1990, Gaillot et al., 1987).
  • Corporate trail: Sanofi's SEC filing describes the chain of ownership (sanofi-aventis Form 20-F, 2006). The same filing gives the company's principal executive offices as Paris, France.
    • Rhône-Poulenc was formed in 1928 from the merger of two French companies.
    • In December 1999, Rhône-Poulenc and Germany's Hoechst combined to form Aventis.
    • Sanofi-Synthélabo took control of Aventis in August 2004. Aventis merged into sanofi-aventis on 31 December 2004.
  • Today: the UK Zimovane licence is still held by Aventis Pharma Limited, "trading as Sanofi" (SmPC).

Generics and revenue

  • Zopiclone has long been off-patent, and cheap generics dominate UK supply.
  • When NICE appraised it in 2004, an adult dose cost £0.16, the same as zolpidem (NICE TA77).
  • We did not find a product-level revenue figure for zopiclone or Zimovane in the Sanofi annual report we reviewed, so no revenue is stated here.

Who funded the evidence

  • Company research: the early company-authored research was largely reassuring. A 1990 mouse study by Rhône-Poulenc Santé scientists suggested that zopiclone "may not produce physical dependence" (Piot et al., 1990). A 1999 review, with no funding stated in the abstract, called the risk of withdrawal reactions at therapeutic doses "very low", and said tolerability apart from bitter taste was "similar to that of placebo" (Hajak, 1999).
  • Later regulatory view: three decades later, the UK regulator concluded that dependence can occur even with short-term use at recommended doses, and that previous warnings were insufficient (MHRA 2026). We record this difference as a fact. It does not by itself show that the earlier work was done in bad faith. Animal models and early trials are often poor at detecting dependence in people.
  • Independent evidence: the independent evidence used in this article came from: These sources are more cautious about zopiclone than the early company-linked literature.
  • NICE appraisal: the appraisal behind NICE TA77 was prepared by an academic group, the Liverpool Reviews and Implementation Group. Aventis, Sanofi Synthelabo, Wyeth and generic makers were consultees. NICE noted that the dependence studies the manufacturers submitted "were not considered to be methodologically robust" (NICE TA77 section 9, section 4).
  • Integrity events: we found no documented regulatory sanctions or research-misconduct findings specific to zopiclone in the sources we reviewed.

Frequently asked questions

How long does zopiclone take to work?

Around 30 to 60 minutes, which is why it is taken just before bed (NHS). Take it only when you can get a full 7 to 8 hours in bed.

Why does zopiclone leave a bitter or metallic taste?

A bitter taste (dysgeusia) is one of the most common side effects, listed as affecting between 1 in 100 and 1 in 10 users. It is harmless but can last into the next day (SmPC). Speak to a pharmacist if it bothers you.

Can I drive the morning after taking zopiclone?

The NHS says do not drive, ride a bike or use machinery for 12 hours after taking it. If you still feel sleepy or dazed after that, wait until those feelings have passed (NHS). On-the-road studies show that 7.5 mg impairs next-morning driving more than a 0.05% blood alcohol level (Verster 2011). In the UK, driving while impaired by any medicine is an offence (GOV.UK).

Can you drink alcohol on zopiclone?

No. The NHS says alcohol increases zopiclone's effects and "can cause breathing problems and make it very difficult to wake up" (NHS). Alcohol also makes sleepwalking and other complex sleep behaviours more likely (SmPC).

Is zopiclone addictive?

It can be. The UK regulator says dependence and addiction can occur even "with short-term use at recommended therapeutic doses". The risk is higher with longer use, and in people with a history of substance misuse or mental illness (MHRA 2026). That is why courses are limited to 4 weeks including tapering.

How do I stop zopiclone safely?

Talk to your prescriber first. After regular use, the dose should be reduced gradually. The official guidance is that each step gets smaller as the dose falls, the taper can be paused if symptoms become intolerable, and tapering from higher doses can take weeks or months (SmPC, NHS). Rebound insomnia for a few nights is common and does not mean you need the drug for good. Starting CBT for insomnia at the same time is what guidelines favour (European Insomnia Guideline).

Is zopiclone better than CBT for insomnia?

No. In a double-blind Norwegian trial in adults aged 55 and over, CBT beat zopiclone on 3 of 4 outcomes, both at 6 weeks and at 6 months. Zopiclone mostly did no better than placebo (Sivertsen et al., JAMA 2006). UK, European and US guidelines all recommend CBT-I first.

Is zopiclone available in the US?

No FDA-approved zopiclone product appears in Drugs@FDA (openFDA). US prescribers use eszopiclone (Lunesta), a closely related cyclopyrrolone approved in 2004 (Lunesta label).

Sources and funding notes

Last reviewed: 26 September 2026. Educational information from Pure City Research, not medical advice. Medicine decisions belong with a qualified prescriber.

Have a question — or want us to cover something?

Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.

We store your topic, message, optional email, and this page so we can manage and reply to the request. Do not include diagnoses, medications, or other sensitive medical information. See our Privacy Policy.