- Diltiazem and verapamil are the two "non-dihydropyridine" calcium-channel blockers. Unlike amlodipine, they slow the heart and its electrical conduction. The US labels list verapamil for angina, rate control in atrial fibrillation (AF), prevention of a fast rhythm called supraventricular tachycardia (SVT) and hypertension, and list oral diltiazem for hypertension and angina (FDA verapamil label; FDA diltiazem label).
- For high blood pressure in people with coronary disease, a verapamil-based plan matched an atenolol-based plan in the 22,576-person INVEST trial: death, heart attack or stroke occurred in 9.93% vs 10.17% (relative risk 0.98, 95% CI 0.90 to 1.06) (Pepine et al., JAMA 2003). "As good as", not "better than". ALLHAT, often cited alongside it, tested amlodipine, not diltiazem or verapamil (ALLHAT, JAMA 2002).
- Do not use them when the heart pumps weakly or conduction is blocked. The verapamil label contraindicates severe left ventricular dysfunction, sick sinus syndrome and second- or third-degree AV block without a pacemaker. In the diltiazem post-heart-attack trial, late heart failure hit 21% vs 12% on placebo when ejection fraction was below 40% (Goldstein et al., Circulation 1991).
- Two interactions matter most. With a beta-blocker, the verapamil label warns of additive effects on heart rate and conduction, and says to usually avoid the combination in people with conduction problems (FDA label). With simvastatin, the label cap is 10 mg a day for both drugs (FDA simvastatin label).
- Verapamil causes constipation in 7.3% of people in the label's trial data of 4,954 patients, the most common side effect listed (FDA label).
- Verapamil is also a first-choice preventive for cluster headache, but on thin trial evidence: two randomised trials among five studies covering 183 people (Petersen et al., Headache 2019). The European guideline recommends at least 240 mg a day (EAN guideline 2023).
- Money trail: both drugs are old and sold by many generic makers. The one large verapamil trial with a branded product, CONVINCE, was stopped early by its sponsor "due to commercial considerations" (ACC trial summary). INVEST was led by the University of Florida with Abbott as a registered collaborator (ClinicalTrials.gov).
- Evidence grade: Moderate for blood-pressure and rate-control roles. Moderate for cluster headache prevention. Risk in heart failure with reduced ejection fraction, heart block, beta-blocker pairing and simvastatin pairing.
Independent evidence review · Prescription medicine
Diltiazem and verapamil are useful, cheap, decades-old heart-rate-slowing medicines, but they are not interchangeable with amlodipine and they come with firm "do not use" rules. The best independent evidence says a verapamil-based plan controls blood pressure and protects the heart about as well as a beta-blocker plan, not better. Their strongest roles are rate control in atrial fibrillation, angina and (for verapamil) preventing cluster headache. They are harmful when the heart muscle is weak or the conduction system is blocked, and they interact with beta-blockers, simvastatin and many other drugs. We rate our confidence as moderate for the blood-pressure and rate-control conclusions, because the large outcome trials are about verapamil only and are 20 years old, and low to moderate for cluster headache, which rests on very small trials.
Diltiazem and verapamil are prescription-only. Do not start, stop or change a dose, or combine them with a beta-blocker, without the prescriber managing your treatment. Get urgent help for fainting, a very slow pulse, new breathlessness or ankle swelling, or severe dizziness. Anyone who has taken too much needs emergency care: the labels describe slow heart rate, low blood pressure, heart block and heart failure after overdose, and the labels warn that overdose can be life-threatening (FDA verapamil label; FDA diltiazem label). Call your local emergency number.
Table of contents
- Evidence summary
- What diltiazem and verapamil are
- How they work
- What they are prescribed for
- What works and what does not
- Benefits by claim
- Risks and all side effects
- All interactions
- Who should avoid them
- Dosage and how to take it
- Follow the money: who makes them and who funded the evidence
- Related research
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources and funding notes
Evidence summary
| Claim | Evidence | Source | Funding / conflict | Strength |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A verapamil-based plan treats hypertension in coronary disease as well as an atenolol-based plan | 22,576 people, 2.7 years. Death, heart attack or stroke: 9.93% vs 10.17%, RR 0.98 (95% CI 0.90 to 1.06). Blood pressure goal under 140/90 reached by 71.7% vs 70.7%. Open-label, blinded event review; trandolapril and a thiazide were added in both arms. | Pepine 2003 (INVEST) | University of Florida lead; Abbott registered collaborator; NIH grants listed in PubMed | Moderate |
| Controlled-onset verapamil first is equivalent to atenolol or hydrochlorothiazide first | 16,602 people. Events 364 vs 365, HR 1.02 (95% CI 0.88 to 1.18). Equivalence "not demonstrated" because the trial was closed early. Non-stroke bleeding more frequent with verapamil (118 vs 79, HR 1.54, 1.16 to 2.04). | Black 2003 (CONVINCE) | Industry sponsor stopped it early for "commercial considerations" | Weak |
| Rate control in AF is a recognised role for diltiazem and verapamil | The verapamil label lists rate control with digitalis in chronic AF or flutter. The 2023 ACC/AHA guideline, as summarised by emergency physicians, does not prefer beta-blockers over these drugs for most people, and notes few head-to-head studies. | ACEP Now summary; FDA label | Regulator; professional society; we read a secondary summary of the guideline | Moderate |
| Angina relief | Labelled use (verapamil: vasospastic, unstable at rest and chronic stable; diltiazem: chronic stable and coronary spasm). We did not open a randomised angina trial. | FDA diltiazem label | Regulator-approved text | Insufficient (not independently assessed here) |
| Verapamil prevents cluster headache | Leone: 15 on verapamil 120 mg three times daily vs 15 on placebo for 14 days; significantly fewer attacks. Whole evidence base: 2 randomised and 3 open-label studies, 183 people. | Leone 2000; Petersen 2019 | No funding statement in the Leone record; TrygFonden grant listed for Petersen | Moderate |
| Harm when ejection fraction is low | Diltiazem after heart attack: late heart failure 21% (61/297) vs 12% (39/326) on placebo when ejection fraction was below 40% (p = 0.004). Guidelines class these drugs as harmful in heart failure with reduced ejection fraction. | Goldstein 1991; Pharmacy Times summary of the 2022 guideline | No funding in the Goldstein record | Risk |
| Beta-blocker plus verapamil or diltiazem causes additive slowing and block | Verapamil label: additive effects on rate, AV conduction and contractility; usually avoid in conduction abnormalities or depressed LV function. Diltiazem label: additive effects with beta-blockers or digitalis. | FDA verapamil label | Regulator-approved text | Risk |
| Simvastatin must be capped at 10 mg a day | The simvastatin label says not to exceed 10 mg daily with verapamil or diltiazem. | FDA simvastatin label | Regulator-approved text | Risk |
| Verapamil causes constipation | 7.3% in 4,954 patients in the label's clinical trial data. | FDA verapamil label | Regulator-approved text of manufacturer-run trials | Strong |
Independent evidence and credibility scorecard
Independence tiers: 1 = regulator or government body; 2 = academic or professional-society source with no declared commercial funding for the work; 3 = independent authors with minor or unverified industry ties, or a collaborating manufacturer; 4 = manufacturer-sponsored. Credibility runs from A (highest) to D.
| Source | Who funds it | Country | Independence tier (1–4) | Credibility (A–D) | Why it would tell the truth / residual bias |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FDA verapamil label (generic tablet) | US government regulator; text written by the licence holder and approved by FDA | US | 1 | A for warnings | Contraindications and interaction text are legally required, and a regulator is blamed if they are wrong. Side-effect rates derive from manufacturer-era trials. |
| FDA diltiazem extended-release label | US government regulator | US | 1 | A for warnings | Same legal incentive. The label we opened omitted the adverse-reaction percentage table, so we do not quote diltiazem side-effect rates. |
| FDA simvastatin label | US government regulator | US | 1 | A | A statin maker has every reason to be exact about a muscle-injury cap. The openFDA record did not show the labeller, so we cannot name the generic firm. |
| ALLHAT, JAMA 2002 | US National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NIH grant N01-HC-35130) | US | 1 | B+ | Publicly funded, huge and pragmatic. It tested amlodipine, not our two drugs, so it gives context only. We could not confirm from the record whether drug companies donated study drugs. |
| INVEST, JAMA 2003 | University of Florida sponsor; Abbott collaborator (ClinicalTrials.gov); NHLBI grants listed in PubMed | US (14 countries) | 3 | B | Large, with blinded events review and public grants. But Abbott is a registered collaborator and its exact role is not stated in what we opened; the trial was open-label. |
| CONVINCE, JAMA 2003 | An industry sponsor (not named in the abstract or summaries we opened) | US (15 countries) | 4 | C | Double-blind and large, but the sponsor closed it early for commercial reasons, leaving under a third of planned events (AAFP). Inference: a sponsor-run test of its own product. |
| Goldstein et al., Circulation 1991 (MDPIT subgroup) | No funding statement in the record (provisional) | US / Canada | 3 (provisional) | B | A harm finding against the drug being tested is unlikely to flatter a seller. Subgroup analysis in a post-heart-attack population, from 1991. |
| 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS AF guideline | Professional societies; PubMed lists NIH and VA grants for authors, not a guideline funding statement | US | 2 | B+ | Reputation of the societies rides on accuracy. We read only the PubMed record and a secondary summary, and we did not trace the societies' own industry income. |
| 2022 AHA/ACC/HFSA heart failure guideline | Professional societies; no funding information in the record | US | 2 | B | Same incentives as above. We could verify its harm class for these drugs only through a secondary pharmacy source. |
| Leone et al., Neurology 2000 | No funding statement in the record (provisional) | Italy | 3 (provisional) | B | A randomised, double-blind trial, but only 30 people and 14 days. We did not open the full text. |
| Petersen et al., Headache 2019 | A grant from TrygFonden is listed in PubMed (we did not trace the funder further) | Denmark | 2 | B | Specialist authors with no product to sell, but a narrative review from one PubMed search, not a systematic review. |
| European Academy of Neurology cluster headache guideline 2023 | No funding or conflict statement in the PubMed record | Europe (multinational) | 2 | B | A professional body gains by being right, but guideline authors commonly have industry ties that we could not check here. |
The independent sources cluster heavily in the US: nine of the twelve are American, including every guideline on the cardiology questions and both regulator labels. The verapamil outcome trials are from 2003. The cluster headache sources are European. We found no independent head-to-head trial of diltiazem against a beta-blocker for hypertension or AF that we could open.
What diltiazem and verapamil are
Both are calcium-channel blockers. Doctors split the class in two. The "dihydropyridines" (amlodipine, nifedipine and similar) mainly relax blood vessels. The "non-dihydropyridines" (verapamil and diltiazem) act on the heart as well. They slow the rate, and they slow electrical conduction through the atrioventricular (AV) node. The 2022 US heart failure guideline classes verapamil and diltiazem as harmful in heart failure with reduced ejection fraction (Pharmacy Times, summarising the 2022 AHA/ACC/HFSA guideline).
Forms. Verapamil is sold as immediate-release tablets taken three times a day, extended-release tablets and capsules, and an intravenous solution used in hospitals (DailyMed listing). Diltiazem comes as immediate-release tablets and once-daily extended-release capsules and tablets (Drugs@FDA via openFDA).
Legal status. Both are prescription-only medicines in the United States. We checked the US regulator only; UK and EU licensing was not verified in this review.
How they work
Proven in humans. Diltiazem lengthens the refractory period of the AV node, which is why it can rarely cause very slow heart rates or second- or third-degree AV block (13 of 3,290 patients, 0.40%) (FDA diltiazem label). Verapamil has a negative inotropic effect, meaning it weakens the force of the heartbeat, and the label warns it can worsen heart failure (FDA verapamil label). Both effects explain the uses (slower rate in AF, less workload in angina) and the dangers (heart failure, heart block).
Unknown. Why verapamil prevents cluster headache is not known. A 2019 review says its "mode of action and therapeutic target remain unknown". Possible explanations, such as effects on the body clock or on the pain-signalling molecule CGRP, come from human and animal data and remain unproven (Petersen 2019).
What they are prescribed for
- Verapamil (US label): vasospastic (Prinzmetal) angina, unstable angina at rest, chronic stable angina; rate control with digitalis in chronic atrial flutter or fibrillation; prevention of recurrent paroxysmal SVT; and essential hypertension (FDA verapamil label).
- Diltiazem extended-release capsules (US label): hypertension, chronic stable angina and angina due to coronary spasm (FDA diltiazem label). The oral label we opened does not list AF, so oral diltiazem for rate control is guideline-based use rather than a listed indication in that label.
- Verapamil for cluster headache is not a labelled use in the labels we opened. It is recommended by the European guideline (May et al. 2023).
What works and what does not
| Claimed benefit | Verdict | Evidence | Key caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lowering blood pressure in coronary disease | WORKS | Verapamil plan matched atenolol plan on blood pressure and on events, RR 0.98 (0.90 to 1.06) (INVEST). | As good as, not better. Combination plan (with trandolapril). Open-label. |
| Being better than older blood-pressure drugs | NO | CONVINCE showed no advantage, HR 1.02 (0.88 to 1.18), and equivalence was not shown (Black 2003). | Stopped early by the sponsor. |
| Slowing the heart rate in AF | WORKS | Listed use on the verapamil label; guideline option (ACEP Now). | Avoid in reduced ejection fraction. Few head-to-head studies against beta-blockers. |
| Preventing cluster headache | MIXED | Fewer attacks vs placebo in a 30-person trial (Leone 2000); about half of chronic patients benefited (Petersen 2019). | Very small trials; mechanism unknown. |
| Safe in any heart condition | NO | Late heart failure 21% vs 12% when ejection fraction below 40% (Goldstein 1991). | Post-heart-attack population, but the direction matches the labels and guidelines. |
| Protecting the heart after a heart attack | INSUFFICIENT | In 2,466 patients, total deaths did not differ; first recurrent events were 11% lower (not significant); more AV block, bradycardia and low pressure (ACC trial summary). | Diltiazem only; trial from the 1980s. |
Benefits by claim
High blood pressure
INVEST is the best verapamil trial. It randomised 22,576 people aged 50 or older with hypertension and coronary disease at 862 sites in 14 countries to a verapamil sustained-release strategy or an atenolol strategy. Trandolapril or hydrochlorothiazide could be added in each arm. After a mean 2.7 years, the combined outcome of death, non-fatal heart attack or non-fatal stroke occurred in 9.93% vs 10.17% (RR 0.98, 95% CI 0.90 to 1.06). In plain English, the two plans were the same within the margin of chance (Pepine 2003). Death was 7.75% vs 7.90% and stroke 1.16% vs 1.31%. New-onset diabetes was lower with verapamil (7.03% vs 8.23%), but that was exploratory (ACC INVEST summary).
CONVINCE tested a controlled-onset verapamil capsule against atenolol or hydrochlorothiazide in 16,602 people at risk. Blood pressure fell by almost the same amount (13.6/7.8 vs 13.5/7.1 mm Hg). Events were 364 vs 365 (HR 1.02, 95% CI 0.88 to 1.18). The trial could not prove equivalence, and non-stroke bleeding was more common on verapamil (HR 1.54, 1.16 to 2.04) (Black 2003). Heart failure hospitalisation was higher with verapamil, HR 1.30 (1.00 to 1.69), according to the ACC trial summary (ACC).
A correction on ALLHAT. ALLHAT is often grouped with these trials, but its three arms were chlorthalidone, amlodipine and lisinopril. Diltiazem and verapamil were not tested. It found amlodipine matched chlorthalidone on the main outcome (11.3% vs 11.5% at six years) but caused more heart failure (10.2% vs 7.7%, RR 1.38), and its authors preferred thiazide-type diuretics first (ALLHAT 2002). Those findings should not be assumed to apply to diltiazem or verapamil.
We did not find, among sources we could open, a modern guideline statement on where these two drugs rank among blood-pressure options (the NICE page was blocked to our tools). We can say that the independent trials show a verapamil plan to be a reasonable alternative, not a first choice proven superior.
Atrial fibrillation rate control
The verapamil label lists rate control with digitalis in chronic AF or flutter, with a usual label dose of 240 to 320 mg a day in divided doses for digitalised AF (FDA verapamil label). The 2023 ACC/AHA guideline, according to an emergency-medicine commentary, does not prefer beta-blockers over non-dihydropyridine calcium-channel blockers for most people with AF and a fast heart rate, because few studies compare them. It gives a Class 3: Harm recommendation against intravenous versions in moderate or severe left ventricular systolic dysfunction (ACEP Now). The guideline itself is a published Circulation document (Joglar et al. 2023); we could not open its full text and did not verify exact ejection-fraction thresholds. The commentary says that recommendation rests on low-quality evidence and consensus.
Angina
Both drugs carry angina indications on their US labels. The verapamil label lists vasospastic, unstable-at-rest and chronic stable angina, with a usual label dose of 80 to 120 mg three times daily (FDA verapamil label). The diltiazem label lists chronic stable angina and coronary spasm (FDA diltiazem label). We did not open a randomised angina trial, so we rate independent outcome evidence here as insufficient, not as negative.
Cluster headache prevention
In the best-known trial, 30 people with episodic cluster headache took verapamil 120 mg three times daily or placebo for 14 days; the verapamil group had significantly fewer attacks and used less rescue medicine, with mild side effects (Leone 2000). A 2019 review counted only two randomised and three open-label studies, 183 people in all. In episodic cluster headache the attack burden fell by about one attack a day on average, and about half of chronic patients benefited. The authors still call it the drug of choice (Petersen 2019). The European guideline recommends a daily dose of at least 240 mg (May 2023). Because doses studied in cluster headache are high, heart monitoring matters; we could not verify the exact monitoring advice in the guideline, but the label's conduction warnings apply.
Risks and all side effects
Other verapamil effects listed: gingival hyperplasia (1% or fewer, causal link uncertain); it may reduce neuromuscular transmission in Duchenne muscular dystrophy and worsen myasthenia gravis; in hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, 120 patients on up to 720 mg a day included 3 deaths from pulmonary oedema (FDA verapamil label).
Diltiazem effects listed: dose-related dizziness, sinus bradycardia and first-degree AV block; constipation in under 1%; rash and skin reactions; and, after approval, angioedema (including facial or periorbital swelling), asystole and photosensitivity (FDA diltiazem label). We do not quote diltiazem percentages because the label we opened left out its incidence table.
Overdose: bradycardia, hypotension, heart block and heart failure. Neither drug is removed by dialysis (diltiazem label; verapamil label).
All interactions
| Combined with | What the label says | Which drug |
|---|---|---|
| Beta-blockers | Additive effects on rate, AV conduction and contractility. The verapamil label says the combination should usually be avoided with conduction abnormalities or depressed left ventricular function. Diltiazem: additive effects with beta-blockers or digitalis; propranolol bioavailability rose about 50%. | Both |
| Simvastatin | Do not exceed 10 mg daily (simvastatin label). Amlodipine's cap is higher (20 mg). | Both |
| Lovastatin, atorvastatin | Lovastatin limited to 40 mg daily with verapamil; lower atorvastatin starting doses may be needed. Diltiazem raised lovastatin exposure 3- to 4-fold. Pravastatin showed no significant change with diltiazem. | Both |
| Digoxin | Verapamil can raise digoxin by 50% to 75% in the first week. Diltiazem raised it about 20% in one study. | Both |
| Buspirone | Diltiazem raised buspirone exposure about 5.5-fold. See our buspirone review. | Diltiazem |
| Midazolam, triazolam | Exposure up 3- to 4-fold; prolonged sedation possible. | Diltiazem |
| Clonidine | Sinus bradycardia requiring hospitalisation and a pacemaker has been reported. | Both |
| Cyclosporine | Levels rise. Diltiazem needed a 15% to 48% cyclosporine dose cut to keep levels. | Both |
| Carbamazepine, theophylline, quinidine | Levels may rise (carbamazepine up 40% to 72% with diltiazem; quinidine up 51%). | Both (theophylline: verapamil) |
| Lithium | May increase lithium neurotoxicity; levels can rise, fall or stay the same. See our lithium review. | Verapamil |
| Flecainide, disopyramide | Additive effects on contractility and conduction. Disopyramide should be avoided from 48 hours before to 24 hours after verapamil. | Verapamil |
| Rifampin and strong enzyme inducers | Markedly lower verapamil absorption; diltiazem levels fall to undetectable. Avoid. | Both |
| Erythromycin, ritonavir, telithromycin | Can raise verapamil levels; telithromycin linked to low blood pressure and slow rhythms. | Verapamil |
| Grapefruit juice, alcohol | Grapefruit juice may raise verapamil levels. Alcohol can raise blood alcohol and prolong its effects (verapamil), and speeds release of extended-release diltiazem. | See text |
| Ivabradine | Avoid with diltiazem. | Diltiazem |
| Cimetidine | Raised diltiazem peak levels about 58%. | Diltiazem |
| Anaesthetics, neuromuscular blockers | Effects potentiated; tell the anaesthetist. | Both (neuromuscular blockers: verapamil) |
Sources for the table: the verapamil and diltiazem labels as served by openFDA, which warns its data are unvalidated. Combining verapamil and diltiazem with each other is not covered in the labels we opened.
Who should avoid them
- Heart failure with reduced ejection fraction or severe left ventricular dysfunction. Verapamil label contraindication; guidelines class both as harmful in this group (Pharmacy Times). The diltiazem label contraindicates acute heart attack with pulmonary congestion.
- Sick sinus syndrome or second- or third-degree AV block without a working pacemaker (both labels).
- Systolic blood pressure under 90 mm Hg or cardiogenic shock (both labels).
- AF or flutter with an accessory bypass tract (verapamil label).
- Pregnancy. Verapamil is Pregnancy Category C: no teratogenicity in animals but no adequate human trials, and it crosses the placenta. The diltiazem label says to use it only if the benefit justifies the risk, citing fetal lethality in animals at 5 to 10 times the human dose.
- Breastfeeding. Both drugs pass into breast milk; the verapamil label advises stopping nursing while taking it, and the diltiazem label advises an alternative feeding method if the drug is essential.
- Children. The verapamil label says safety and effectiveness are not established.
- Liver disease. In severe liver dysfunction verapamil's half-life extends to about 14 to 16 hours, and the label suggests roughly 30% of the normal dose. Diltiazem bioavailability rose about 69% in cirrhosis.
- Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, Duchenne muscular dystrophy, myasthenia gravis (verapamil precautions).
- Older adults. The verapamil label notes 40 mg three times daily may suit the elderly or those with reduced liver function. Diltiazem trials did not include enough people aged 65 and over to say whether they respond differently.
Sources: FDA verapamil label; FDA diltiazem label.
Dosage and how to take it
These are label and trial doses, not advice. A prescriber individualises the dose.
- Verapamil immediate-release (label): dose is titrated; do not exceed 480 mg a day. Angina: usual 80 to 120 mg three times daily. Digitalised AF: 240 to 320 mg a day divided. SVT prevention: 240 to 480 mg a day divided. Hypertension: usual initial 240 mg a day (80 mg three times daily), with no evidence that doses above 360 mg a day add effect (FDA label).
- Diltiazem extended-release capsule (label): hypertension starts at 180 to 240 mg once daily, usual range 240 to 360 mg, up to 480 mg in some. Angina starts at 120 or 180 mg once daily, up to 480 mg. Maximum blood-pressure effect is usually seen by 14 days. Avoid alcohol, which speeds release (FDA label).
- Cluster headache doses studied: 120 mg three times daily for 14 days (Leone); 360 mg a day in both randomised studies reviewed (Petersen); the guideline gives at least 240 mg a day (May).
- Product forms are not interchangeable. Extended-release tablets and capsules differ by brand; the diltiazem label advises switching to the nearest equivalent total daily dose when changing products.
Follow the money: who makes them and who funded the evidence
Who makes and sells them
- Diltiazem brands: Cardizem tablets (NDA 018602, approved 5 November 1982 as a new molecular entity), Cardizem CD (1991) and Cardizem LA (2003) are listed under sponsor Bausch (Drugs@FDA via openFDA). Generic extended-release diltiazem is sold by firms including Ingenus, named as the adverse-reaction contact on the label we opened, and repackaged by firms such as Bryant Ranch Prepack (FDA diltiazem label).
- Verapamil brands: Verelan (NDA 019614, 1990) and Verelan PM (1998) are listed under sponsor Azurity, and intravenous verapamil under Exela (Drugs@FDA via openFDA). DailyMed lists 136 verapamil label records, including generic tablets from Zydus and extended-release products from Cadila and Nivagen (DailyMed). We could not confirm the current holder of the Calan brand, so we do not name one.
- Incentives (inference): both drugs are decades old and heavily generic, so few firms gain from funding new trials. That may explain why large verapamil outcome trials date from 2003, and why we found no head-to-head trial of diltiazem against newer options that we could open.
Who funded the evidence
- INVEST: the University of Florida is the lead sponsor and Abbott is a registered industry collaborator; the registry names the verapamil products as Isoptin SR or verapamil SR (ClinicalTrials.gov). PubMed lists NHLBI grants N01-HV-68163 and U01HL64924-02 (PubMed). The extent of Abbott's support is not given in anything we opened. We did not see the JAMA funding statement, because the JAMA page was not accessible to our tools.
- CONVINCE: the sponsor ended it "due to commercial considerations", so investigators saw under one third of the planned events (ACC; AAFP). The sponsor is not named in those pages.
- ALLHAT: NHLBI, NIH (grant N01-HC-35130) (PubMed).
- Cluster headache: no funding statement in the Leone record; a TrygFonden grant appears on the Petersen review (PubMed).
- Guidelines: the AF guideline record lists NIH and VA grants (PubMed); the heart failure and cluster headache guideline records list no funding information.
Documented integrity events
The one documented event we can source is the early closure of CONVINCE by its sponsor for commercial reasons, which left the question of equivalence unresolved. We found no regulatory ban, warning letter or recall for these two drugs in the sources we opened, but we did not search recall databases.
Research funding at a glance
12 sources graded. The counts below are the independence tiers assigned in the scorecard above. They count sources, not funding amounts or evidence quality.
Public funding alone does not prove independence, and commercial funding alone does not prove a claim false. Named funders, countries and relationships are in the scorecard and source notes.
Related research
For wider, evidence-graded context, see these Pure City Research guides:
- Hypertension
- Blood pressure medicines
- Amlodipine (the dihydropyridine comparator)
- Atrial fibrillation
- Stable angina
- Vasospastic angina
- Heart failure with reduced ejection fraction
- Heart block
- Bradycardia
- Bisoprolol (a beta-blocker)
- Simvastatin
- Statins and other cholesterol-lowering treatments
- Chronic constipation
- Buspirone (interacts with diltiazem)
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between diltiazem, verapamil and amlodipine?
Amlodipine mainly widens blood vessels. Diltiazem and verapamil also slow the heart and its conduction, which is why they are used for AF rate control and why they can cause heart block (FDA diltiazem label). Heart failure guidance singles out the non-dihydropyridines as harmful in reduced ejection fraction (Pharmacy Times).
Is verapamil better than a beta-blocker for blood pressure?
No. In 22,576 people with coronary disease the two strategies had the same event rate (RR 0.98, 95% CI 0.90 to 1.06) (INVEST).
Was ALLHAT about diltiazem or verapamil?
No. Its arms were chlorthalidone, amlodipine and lisinopril (ALLHAT).
Can I take a beta-blocker with verapamil or diltiazem?
Only if a prescriber has decided it is appropriate and monitors you. The verapamil label says the combination should usually be avoided in people with conduction abnormalities or depressed left ventricular function (FDA label).
Why is simvastatin limited with these drugs?
They slow its breakdown. The simvastatin label sets a 10 mg daily cap with either drug because of muscle-injury risk (FDA simvastatin label).
Why does verapamil cause constipation?
The label reports it in 7.3% of 4,954 trial patients but does not explain the mechanism in the parts we opened (FDA label). Diltiazem lists constipation in under 1% (diltiazem label).
Does verapamil really prevent cluster headaches?
It is the guideline-recommended first-line preventive, but the controlled evidence is small: 30 people in the main trial and 183 across five studies (Leone 2000; Petersen 2019; EAN guideline).
Can I drink grapefruit juice?
The verapamil label says grapefruit juice may increase verapamil levels (FDA label). We did not verify grapefruit advice for diltiazem.
Are they safe in heart failure?
Not in reduced ejection fraction. Verapamil is contraindicated in severe left ventricular dysfunction, and diltiazem increased late heart failure when ejection fraction was below 40% (Goldstein 1991).
Sources and funding notes
What we could not verify. NICE hypertension, AF and angina guidance returned access blocks, so we did not use them. We did not open the JAMA full text for INVEST or CONVINCE, so author conflicts of interest are unchecked. The CONVINCE sponsor is not named in the pages we opened. We read the 2023 AF guideline and 2022 heart failure guideline through a PubMed record and secondary summaries, not the full text. The openFDA labels we used are repackager or generic labels, and openFDA warns its data are unvalidated. The diltiazem label omitted its adverse-reaction table. We did not find or open a randomised angina trial or a modern diltiazem outcome trial, and we did not search recall databases. We could not confirm the current Calan brand holder or UK and EU licensing. Drug-company donations of study drugs in ALLHAT were not confirmed.
- FDA verapamil hydrochloride tablet label (openFDA; repackaged generic, 2024 version) — regulator text; US government.
- FDA diltiazem extended-release capsule label (openFDA, effective August 2025) — regulator text; US government.
- FDA diltiazem label, nursing, hepatic, geriatric and overdose sections (openFDA) — regulator text; US government.
- FDA simvastatin label (openFDA) — regulator text; US government.
- openFDA Drugs@FDA, Cardizem applications — US government database; sponsor Bausch.
- openFDA Drugs@FDA, verapamil NDAs — US government database; sponsors Azurity and Exela.
- DailyMed verapamil label listing — US National Library of Medicine; 136 records.
- Pepine et al., INVEST, JAMA 2003 — randomised trial; NHLBI grants listed; Abbott collaborator.
- ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT00133692 — registry; lead sponsor University of Florida, collaborator Abbott.
- ACC INVEST trial summary — American College of Cardiology; secondary summary.
- Black et al., CONVINCE, JAMA 2003 — randomised trial; industry sponsor (unnamed in record) closed it early.
- ACC CONVINCE trial summary — secondary summary.
- American Family Physician summary of CONVINCE — secondary summary; American Academy of Family Physicians.
- ALLHAT Collaborative Research Group, JAMA 2002 — randomised trial; NHLBI grant N01-HC-35130.
- Goldstein et al., Circulation 1991 — post-hoc analysis of a randomised trial; no funding in record.
- ACC MDPIT trial summary — secondary summary; sponsor not stated.
- Joglar et al., 2023 ACC/AHA/ACCP/HRS AF guideline — society guideline; NIH and VA grants listed.
- ACEP Now commentary on the 2023 AF guideline — American College of Emergency Physicians; secondary summary.
- Heidenreich et al., 2022 AHA/ACC/HFSA heart failure guideline — society guideline; no funding in record.
- Pharmacy Times clinical overview — trade publication; secondary source for the harm classification.
- Leone et al., Neurology 2000 — randomised trial; no funding in record.
- Petersen et al., Headache 2019 — narrative review; TrygFonden grant listed.
- May et al., EAN cluster headache guideline, Eur J Neurol 2023 — society guideline; no funding in record.
Educational research reviewed 6 October 2026. This article is not medical advice; talk to a qualified clinician or pharmacist before starting, stopping or combining treatments.
Have a question — or want us to cover something?
Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.
One daily research roundup
Get the topics, key findings and links from our new articles in one email. At most one digest a day, only when there is something new.
