Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension: Group 1 Disease, Specialist Treatment and Safety

PAH is a specific pulmonary vascular diagnosis that needs specialist confirmation and ongoing care. Confidence is high in that priority. An arm-cuff reading, breathlessness alone or a circulation supplement cannot establish or treat group-1 disease.

Key takeaways
  • PAH is group 1, not every form of pulmonary hypertension.
  • Echo findings need interpretation within a complete diagnostic pathway.
  • Specialist therapy has medicine-specific selection and safety requirements.
  • Pregnancy and worsening breathlessness need clear clinical plans.
  • Industry-authored label efficacy is excluded from the independent verdict.

Table of contents

Evidence summary: PAH is one pulmonary hypertension group

Pulmonary arterial hypertension, or PAH, is group 1 pulmonary hypertension. It needs confirmation and a specialist plan; it is not simply an elevated arm-cuff blood pressure. This review has high confidence in that distinction and establishes no supplement replacement.

Treatment descriptions below are attributed clinical guidance and current product-label safety. Manufacturer efficacy material and financially unresolved supporting trials do not supply an independent drug ranking. Having an approved indication and being the best option for a particular person are different claims.

What PAH means

PAH affects smaller branches of the pulmonary arteries. Their walls can thicken and stiffen, narrowing the space for blood flow. Idiopathic disease has no identified associated condition; heritable disease and disease associated with connective-tissue disorders, congenital heart problems, portal hypertension, HIV or some drugs are other pathways. NHS cause distinctions.

Pulmonary hypertension from left-heart disease, lung disease or chronic clot obstruction belongs to other clinical groups. Similar breathlessness does not make the conditions interchangeable. Ask which group has been established and why that classification fits the findings.

This is an adult-focused guide. Persistent pulmonary hypertension of the newborn and complex childhood pulmonary vascular disease need paediatric assessment; an adult medicine label cannot establish a child’s treatment plan.

The right heart faces increased workload

The right heart pumps blood through the pulmonary arteries to the lungs. Changes that impede this circulation increase its workload; serious pulmonary vascular disease can affect right-heart function. Circulation context.

Fatigue, exertional breathlessness, dizziness, fainting, chest symptoms or swelling can occur. These symptoms overlap with other conditions and do not diagnose PAH on their own. Symptom context.

Ask what the available tests say about both the pulmonary circulation and the heart’s response. A single pressure estimate does not describe all the disease burden, the cause or how an individual is likely to respond to treatment.

Specialist medicines and supportive care have different roles

Specialist options include endothelin-receptor antagonists, PDE5 inhibitors, prostacyclin-pathway treatment and other agents, selected according to diagnosis, risk and tolerability. The NHS lists these medicine classes, but its page’s May 2023 review metadata is older than some current drug text. Attributed treatment context.

Sotatercept is a newer biologic option with a US label for adults with group-1 PAH. Its current manufacturer label requires attention to hemoglobin, platelets, serious bleeding and reproductive risks. This is indication/safety context, not an independent comparative efficacy verdict. Current label; Licence/applicant record.

Oxygen for established low oxygen, fluid-management treatment or supervised rehabilitation can have supportive roles. They do not all target the same mechanism, and oxygen is not automatically required by every PAH diagnosis. Supportive care context.

What PAH supplements have not established

This review finds no independently cleared supplement that reverses PAH or replaces indicated specialist treatment. A vascular-relaxation result, antioxidant marker or claim to increase nitric oxide does not establish control of pulmonary vascular disease.

Anemia, low iron or another documented deficiency may need a specific clinical plan. That is a separate indication; taking iron without assessment is not a general PAH treatment. NHLBI describes monitoring hemoglobin and iron alongside other clinical tests. Monitoring context.

Tell the team about every supplement or herbal product. Interaction, ingredient variability and perioperative safety matter, especially in complex care. A quality seal alone does not prove a clinical benefit. Supplement limitations.

A useful plan tracks function and disease risk

Discuss what the treatment is meant to change and when it will be reviewed. Is the priority daily activity, symptoms, right-heart function, prevention of deterioration, or several of these? Ask which measurements will assess that goal.

NHLBI describes follow-up with clinical review, walking/exercise measures, blood tests and imaging as appropriate. A better walking result is useful information, but is not by itself proof of a cure or a reason to abandon the rest of monitoring. Follow-up context.

Keep a practical record of breathlessness during familiar tasks, swelling, dizziness and medicine problems. Record whether an activity became easier or harder rather than attempting an unsupervised maximal exercise test. A home diary supports clinical review; it does not replace it.

Emergency changes and reproductive risks need explicit plans

Chest pain with shortness of breath warrants emergency assessment; serious fainting, rapidly worsening breathing or coughing blood also requires prompt medical help. A known PAH diagnosis does not explain away a possible new emergency. Emergency symptom context.

Pregnancy can be dangerous in pulmonary hypertension. Discuss pregnancy intentions and contraception with the specialist team early, including medicine-specific fetal risks. If pregnancy occurs, contact the team urgently for an individualized plan rather than improvising withdrawal of several medicines. Pregnancy concerns; Labelled pregnancy contraindication.

Before anaesthesia, surgery or travel, ensure that the relevant service knows the diagnosis and medicine delivery system. Ask how regular treatment and emergency support will continue. This guide does not provide personal clearance for a procedure, pregnancy or flight.

Some combinations and interruptions are unsafe

Riociguat must not be combined with nitrates or PDE5 inhibitors such as sildenafil/tadalafil under its label. Switching needs a prescriber-led interval and plan; never combine or switch products independently because their names appear in the same treatment list. Contraindications.

For sotatercept, bleeding concerns can be greater with prostacyclin or antithrombotic treatment and low platelets. Discuss new bleeding, laboratory abnormalities and the exact current medication list with the treating service. Bleeding warnings.

Ask the team for medicine-specific instructions if delivery equipment fails, medication runs out, vomiting prevents use or a dose is missed. Do not use a generic internet restart rule for a specialist pulmonary hypertension medicine.

Echo suggests a problem; a complete pathway classifies it

An echocardiogram estimates pressures and examines heart structure/function. Right-heart catheterisation can directly measure circulation pressures in a specialist assessment. Other tests help evaluate heart, lung, clotting and associated conditions. Diagnostic pathway.

The March 2022 NHLBI page still gives an older catheter pressure threshold of 25 mm Hg. The complete 2022 ESC/ERS original uses mean pulmonary artery pressure above 20 mm Hg; pressure alone does not establish PAH or medication eligibility. Dated education; Current classification in the original.

Ask whether a secondary or associated condition has been evaluated and whether genetic counselling is relevant to the family history. Avoid assuming that a heritable possibility means all relatives have PAH or that a commercial screening panel is automatically appropriate.

Selection, review and escalation belong to the specialist service

PAH calcium-channel blocker use is reserved for selected vasoreactivity responders. Anticoagulation in PAH is individualized, unlike established CTEPH’s lifelong recommendation. Selection boundaries.

Agree on review timing, access to the specialist team and when a worsening pattern requires urgent help. Discuss activity and rehabilitation that fit the clinical state; both unplanned strenuous exertion and avoidable inactivity can make a care plan harder to follow. Supervised activity context.

If disease remains difficult to control, ask about the next specialist options and whether a transplant assessment is appropriate. Decisions should incorporate the person’s goals, associated conditions and available expertise. This guide supplies no drug dose, infusion instruction or personal risk calculation.

Mechanism studies do not establish human treatment benefit

Cell and animal work on vessel remodelling can identify possible targets. It does not establish a safe supplement regimen or comparative benefit in people with PAH. Nonclinical efficacy is not used for this article’s verdict.

Funding and source roles

Follow the money

Who paid for the evidence?

Follow named sources to the funding and relationships disclosed in this article. Numbered article disclosures preserve notes where a source is not identified. A public or university name alone does not establish independence.

Public / academicCommercial support or tiesUnknown / not disclosed
Source / disclosureNHS: PH causes, May 2023
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.
Use & limitsB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsFederal budget authorization and regulated-industry user fees; source-specific regulator staff interests not audited.
Use & limitsB — legal mandate and fiscal disclosure; political, budget and industry-access interests.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsESC/ERS funded development without health-industry involvement. Separate author report, ERS income and supporting-trial finances unresolved.
Use & limitsB for attributed guidance; society, author and supporting-study gaps. No sponsor-free efficacy ranking.
View 15 more funding disclosures
Source / disclosureNHS: PH diagnosis, May 2023
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.
Use & limitsB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.
Use & limitsB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Source / disclosureNHLBI: PH causes, March 2022
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsMerck Sharp & Dohme LLC manufacturer-submitted label hosted by NLM. Government hosting does not make company efficacy material independent.
Use & limitsD — manufacturer self-interest. Regulatory labeling duties support attributed indication and safety information; they do not establish sponsor-independent efficacy.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsBayer manufacturer-submitted label hosted by NLM. Government hosting does not make company efficacy material independent.
Use & limitsD — manufacturer self-interest. Regulatory labeling duties support attributed indication and safety information; they do not establish sponsor-independent efficacy.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsRegulator federal/user-fee routes; names Merck Sharp & Dohme as commercial applicant. Patent information is sponsor supplied.
Use & limitsB for licensing record; does not independently clear every efficacy study.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsMembership, congress, publishing, education/accreditation and life-science/medical-technology income described. Not proof of payment to this Task Force.
Use & limitsC for financial self-description; professional and revenue interests.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNLM hosts product labels submitted by companies to FDA; it is not their independent author.
Use & limitsB — explicit provenance; repository inclusion is not universal FDA approval.
Source / disclosureNCCIH: supplement safety
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH federal education; page-specific sponsor and all supporting-study finances not cleared.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; product and financial gaps.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsCongressional budget process and authorized donations/bequests documented by NHLBI. Individual gift donors not audited.
Use & limitsB — direct institutional provenance; self-report and mission incentives remain.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC funding; website states no advertising or corporate sponsorship. Full staff disclosure register not retrieved.
Use & limitsB — explicit editorial safeguards; institutional self-report does not clear every cited trial.

This graphic reorganizes the article's disclosures; it is not a new financial audit or independence classification. Highlighted notes show different funding relationships where available. Review funding is separate from underlying trial funding. Disclosure is not proof of falsehood, and no declared conflict is not proof of complete independence.

The complete original guideline declares ESC/ERS development support without industry involvement. Separate full author declarations and ERS finances remain unresolved. ESC’s commercial income and the manufacturers behind the current labels are shown below. Government education is context, not financial clearance of its supporting trials.

Tier describes financial proximity; A–D describes credibility for the stated source role. Neither is a clinical certainty grade. Unknown finances remain unknown. Manufacturer- and sponsor-funded efficacy is excluded from the independent verdict; attributed clinical guidance is identified as guidance.

SourceFunding / backersCountry / jurisdictionIndependenceCredibility / incentives / gaps
ESC/ERS: complete original 2022 PH guidelineESC/ERS funded development without health-industry involvement. Separate author report, ERS income and supporting-trial finances unresolved.European multinational guidance; ESC French association, ERS institutional jurisdiction not independently tracedTier 3 provisional — incomplete financial chainB for attributed guidance; society, author and supporting-study gaps. No sponsor-free efficacy ranking.
NHS: PH causes, May 2023DHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.United Kingdom; England public patient informationTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
NHS: PH diagnosis, May 2023DHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.United Kingdom; England public patient informationTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
NHS: PH treatment, May 2023 metadataDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.United Kingdom; England public patient informationTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
NHLBI: PH symptoms, March 2022US congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.United States; NIH/NHLBI federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
NHLBI: PH causes, March 2022US congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.United States; NIH/NHLBI federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
NHLBI: PH diagnosis, March 2022US congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.United States; NIH/NHLBI federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
NHLBI: PH treatment, March 2022US congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.United States; NIH/NHLBI federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
NHLBI: living with PH, March 2022US congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.United States; NIH/NHLBI federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Winrevair: current manufacturer label on DailyMedMerck Sharp & Dohme LLC manufacturer-submitted label hosted by NLM. Government hosting does not make company efficacy material independent.United States drug label; Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC manufacturer; local approval differsTier 4 — maker-issued product documentD — manufacturer self-interest. Regulatory labeling duties support attributed indication and safety information; they do not establish sponsor-independent efficacy.
Adempas: current manufacturer label on DailyMedBayer manufacturer-submitted label hosted by NLM. Government hosting does not make company efficacy material independent.United States drug label; Bayer manufacturer; local approval differsTier 4 — maker-issued product documentD — manufacturer self-interest. Regulatory labeling duties support attributed indication and safety information; they do not establish sponsor-independent efficacy.
FDA Purple Book: Winrevair licence/applicantRegulator federal/user-fee routes; names Merck Sharp & Dohme as commercial applicant. Patent information is sponsor supplied.United States; FDA biologic licence registerTier 2 — regulated-industry fee routeB for licensing record; does not independently clear every efficacy study.
ESC: institutional revenue modelMembership, congress, publishing, education/accreditation and life-science/medical-technology income described. Not proof of payment to this Task Force.France; ESC association, European professional societyTier 3 — commercial institutional routesC for financial self-description; professional and revenue interests.
DailyMed: source of submitted labelsNLM hosts product labels submitted by companies to FDA; it is not their independent author.United States; NLM public databaseTier 1 provisional for repository contextB — explicit provenance; repository inclusion is not universal FDA approval.
NCCIH: supplement safetyNIH federal education; page-specific sponsor and all supporting-study finances not cleared.United States; federal educationTier 1 provisional for safetyB — public accountability; product and financial gaps.
NHLBI: budget and gift authorityCongressional budget process and authorized donations/bequests documented by NHLBI. Individual gift donors not audited.United States; federal institutionTier 1 for institutional contextB — direct institutional provenance; self-report and mission incentives remain.
NHS website: content and funding policyDHSC funding; website states no advertising or corporate sponsorship. Full staff disclosure register not retrieved.United Kingdom; NHS England websiteTier 1 provisional for institutionB — explicit editorial safeguards; institutional self-report does not clear every cited trial.
FDA: January 2026 funding overviewFederal budget authorization and regulated-industry user fees; source-specific regulator staff interests not audited.United States; federal drug/device regulatorTier 2 — regulated-industry feesB — legal mandate and fiscal disclosure; political, budget and industry-access interests.

Frequently asked questions

Is PAH the same as high blood pressure in my arm?
No. PAH concerns the pulmonary circulation and requires its own assessment.

Does an elevated echo estimate prove PAH?
No. Cause classification and specialist confirmation are needed.

Can everyone with PAH take a calcium-channel blocker?
No. Its PAH use is reserved for selected specialist-assessed responders.

Does everyone with PAH need lifelong anticoagulation?
No. PAH decisions are individualized and differ from CTEPH guidance.

Can I combine riociguat and sildenafil?
No. The riociguat label contraindicates PDE5-inhibitor combinations; switching is prescriber-led.

Sources and funding notes

The PASCAR copy is the complete original 114-page 2022 EHJ guideline, DOI 10.1093/eurheartj/ehac237, with publisher provenance checked. Current DailyMed labels were opened October 4, 2026; displayed Winrevair and Adempas copies include August 2026 package updates. These are manufacturer submissions. NHS PH pages have May 2023 metadata and passed May 2026 review dates; March 2022 NHLBI thresholds/medicine lists are dated. No comparative efficacy figures or individualized medication regimen are supplied.

Last reviewed: October 4, 2026. Educational information; no personal diagnosis, medication dose or supplement regimen is supplied. Local approval, product labels and clinical circumstances may differ.

Have a question — or want us to cover something?

Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.

We store your topic, message, optional email, and this page so we can manage and reply to the request. Do not include diagnoses, medications, or other sensitive medical information. See our Privacy Policy.