Intestinal pseudo-obstruction: CIPO, Ogilvie syndrome, treatment and nutrition

Intestinal pseudo-obstruction causes obstruction-like symptoms because intestinal movement fails, without a physical blockage explaining them. It includes chronic intestinal pseudo-obstruction (CIPO) and acute colonic pseudo-obstruction (Ogilvie syndrome). Confidence is high that severe or persistent symptoms need prompt assessment; the absence of a mechanical blockage does not make this harmless. Treatment is individual and specialist-led, rather than a digestive-supplement regimen. NIDDK definition and forms.

Key takeaways
  • Pseudo-obstruction concerns impaired intestinal movement; mechanical obstruction must be assessed and excluded.
  • Chronic and acute colonic forms have different causes, risks and care pathways.
  • Severe swelling, worsening pain or persistent vomiting needs urgent reassessment, even with an existing diagnosis.
  • Nutrition support may range from tailored food to tube feeding or intravenous nutrition, according to assessed need.
  • No independently established probiotic, enzyme or herbal cure is identified by this review.

Table of contents

Evidence summary

Clinical guidance, human outcome research and funding independence answer different questions. The guidance below explains care; it does not independently reproduce the trials behind a medicine or supplement.

Claim / interventionEvidence reviewedFunding / conflictsInterpretation / limits
DiagnosisNIDDK clinical assessment and cause frameworkPublic publisher; expert and source-study finance incompleteExclude mechanical blockage; no symptom quiz establishes CIPO.
Chronic specialist managementNIDDK categories; original BSG adult severe-dysmotility guidanceBSG no specific grant/conflicts declared; internal support unclassifiedNutrition and symptom goals are individual; older consensus is not a universal drug protocol.
Acute colonic pseudo-obstructionPublic hospital-care frameworkUnderlying treatment trials not financially clearedHospital monitoring/escalation according to findings; no home waiting rule.
Nutrition / supplementsDietitian-led intake options and ODS safetyPublic context does not certify all products or trialsNutrition support or deficiency replacement is distinct from a cure claim.
Probiotics / enzymes / herbsNo eligible independent disease-cure trial established hereMechanistic and unrelated-condition evidence cannot fill that gapNo clinical substitute inferred; high-risk safety matters.

What is intestinal pseudo-obstruction?

CIPO is a longer-term condition that can cause recurrent obstruction-like episodes. It most often involves the small intestine or colon, although other digestive segments may be affected. Some forms are primary, including inherited or unexplained disease; others are secondary to another condition or exposure. The label describes a clinical disorder, not ordinary post-meal fullness. Chronic pseudo-obstruction.

Acute colonic pseudo-obstruction can arise during serious illness, injury or after surgery. A new acute episode needs its own assessment. Acute setting and triggers.

Symptoms include pain, swelling, fullness, nausea, vomiting and bowel changes. Chronic episodes can vary and worsen after food. Severe or persistent symptoms need assessment. Symptoms requiring assessment.

How it works

Secondary causes may include muscle, nerve, connective-tissue or endocrine disease and medicines. Identifying the cause helps distinguish treatment of an underlying illness from symptom control. Primary and secondary causes.

Diagnosis uses the history, examination and investigations to assess whether a physical blockage is present and what could explain the movement disorder. Imaging, blood tests, endoscopy or specialist tests may be used according to the situation. A negative test for one cause of pain does not by itself establish CIPO. Diagnostic pathway.

For an established diagnosis, ask which part of the bowel is affected, what objective findings support the diagnosis, whether there is a secondary cause and which complications have been assessed. That information is more useful than collecting several overlapping labels without a coherent treatment plan.

The evidence-based treatments

Chronic management can combine nutrition support, medicines for selected symptoms or bowel movement, decompression and treatment of an underlying cause. Antibiotics may be used when bacterial overgrowth is assessed as a problem. Some patients need procedures, but surgery is not a general cure for a diffuse movement disorder. Chronic treatment categories.

The BSG’s adult severe-dysmotility guideline supports care through an experienced multidisciplinary team, particularly when malnutrition, intravenous nutrition or surgery is being considered. Its recommendations include substantial expert-consensus and lower-level evidence, and its planned review window has passed. It is useful service context, not proof that a particular drug works for every patient. Specialist adult care and evidence limits.

Acute colonic pseudo-obstruction is managed through hospital assessment, treatment of triggers, fluid/electrolyte care, appropriate intake restrictions and decompression or medicines when indicated. Failure to improve or signs of complications can require endoscopic or surgical escalation. This guide gives no colon-size threshold or waiting interval to apply at home. Acute hospital management.

Supplement and lifestyle evidence

Chronic nutritional management should support adequate intake while reducing symptoms. Clinicians may recommend smaller meals, altered food texture or selected changes to fat, fibre, lactose or fructose. These are individual options rather than a command to eliminate every listed category. A restrictive diet that leaves someone unable to maintain nutrition needs review. Diet and nutrition planning.

Liquid nutrition, vitamin replacement or other nutritional products may be appropriate when a clinical team identifies a need. Specify the goal: increasing energy, correcting a deficiency or making intake easier. A nutritional prescription and a product advertised to cure dysmotility are different claims. Nutrition support options.

No eligible independent evidence reviewed here establishes an over-the-counter enzyme, herbal remedy or probiotic that restores normal intestinal movement in CIPO or treats acute Ogilvie syndrome. A microbiome result or general constipation benefit does not establish the same outcome. Supplement quality and interaction checks remain necessary, but quality testing alone is not treatment evidence. Supplement evidence framework.

What works and what does not

A useful chronic review looks at symptoms, food tolerance, hydration, nutritional status and function together. A reduction in bloating accompanied by increasing food avoidance or weight loss may not represent successful overall care. State what improvement is being sought and when the plan will be reassessed.

Diagnosis and treatment should remain coherent. Ask whether a new product is intended to treat documented bacterial overgrowth, a deficiency, nausea or a motility problem; one indication should not silently become a claim to treat them all. Keep any symptom change linked to the actual intervention and the clinical assessment.

For acute colonic disease, improvement must be judged by the responsible hospital team. Passing some stool or feeling less uncomfortable does not establish that severe dilation or a complication has resolved. Conversely, the chronic diagnosis does not justify dismissing a new acute symptom as the usual episode. Clinical examination and complication assessment.

Risks and side effects

Severe swelling of the colon can threaten its blood supply or lead to perforation. Chronic disease can lead to malnutrition or intestinal failure. These consequences explain why pseudo in the name should not be read as imaginary or minor. Complications.

Get urgent assessment for worsening or severe abdominal pain, repeated vomiting or major swelling. Confusion, breathing difficulty or other signs of severe systemic illness require emergency help. Do not wait for every classic sign or for a routine appointment when someone is deteriorating. Sepsis recognition.

Reduced urine, persistent dizziness, unusual drowsiness or confusion can accompany dehydration and need prompt assessment. People with kidney or heart disease need an individual fluid plan; repeating a generic drink-more instruction may be inappropriate. Dehydration assessment.

Intravenous nutrition can be essential but carries risks such as catheter infection and blood clots. It requires specialist oversight and a clear plan for concerning line or systemic symptoms. The need for that treatment is assessed against the ability to obtain adequate nutrition through food or the gut. Parenteral nutrition risks.

Important interactions

Medicines can contribute to slow bowel movement. Opioids are especially relevant; codeine commonly causes constipation. Tell the team about pain treatment and recent changes. Do not stop a long-term medicine abruptly or try to solve severe symptoms with an escalating laxative regimen without advice. Codeine and medicine review.

Make the purpose and timing of each prescribed medicine clear, including medicines for nausea, bowel movement, bacterial overgrowth or pain. If vomiting or intake restrictions interfere with oral treatment, ask the team what to do about the actual medicine rather than repeating doses or substituting an unreviewed product.

Live-microorganism products are not automatically safe in a severely ill or immunocompromised person. NCCIH describes important high-risk infection concerns and incomplete product-specific evidence. Discuss probiotic use with the responsible team, particularly during acute illness or complex nutrition care. Probiotic safety limits.

Who needs special assessment

Children need paediatric assessment of growth and nutrition. Inherited forms may be relevant, but symptoms alone do not identify a gene diagnosis. Early-onset and primary forms.

Pregnancy, a recent delivery, surgery or serious illness can affect acute-care decisions. Discuss the full clinical setting with the hospital team. Acute risk context.

People unable to maintain intake, those needing repeated admission and those being considered for home intravenous nutrition require organised specialist follow-up. Ask who coordinates care, who monitors nutrition and which service handles acute deterioration. Multiple prescriptions from different services should fit one shared plan.

Clinician-led treatment and use

There is no individual drug dose, antibiotic cycle, fasting schedule or feeding formula in this guide. Treatment depends on the form of disease, complications, nutritional needs and other conditions. Clarify what the team means by conservative care: which checks will occur, what treatment is being provided and what would require escalation.

For chronic illness, agree on a written episode plan and a practical treatment review. It should distinguish familiar symptoms from return precautions, name the responsible service and explain when inability to keep down medicines or nutrition needs urgent contact. A plan supports timely care; it should not be used to ignore a changing illness.

Nutrition decisions should identify the route that is feasible, the target being pursued and how tolerance will be monitored. Bring the actual products and medicine list to appointments. Ask whether a change addresses the underlying condition or one consequence of it, and what would count as insufficient benefit or an unacceptable adverse effect.

Animal and in-vitro evidence

No animal or test-tube experiment is used to claim a cure or justify a home treatment in this article. Changes in intestinal contraction, inflammatory markers or bacterial composition are mechanistic findings. They do not establish fewer human obstruction-like episodes, improved nutritional independence or safer acute colonic care. Human outcomes and patient-specific safety remain necessary.

Funding and source roles

Follow the money

Who paid for the evidence?

Follow named sources to the funding and relationships disclosed in this article. Numbered article disclosures preserve notes where a source is not identified. A public or university name alone does not establish independence.

Public / academicCommercial support or tiesUnknown / not disclosed
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.
Use & limitsB, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and October 2021 education; underlying study finances remain limits.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.
Use & limitsB, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and October 2021 education; underlying study finances remain limits.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.
Use & limitsB, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and October 2021 education; underlying study finances remain limits.
View 8 more funding disclosures
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.
Use & limitsB, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and October 2021 education; underlying study finances remain limits.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.
Use & limitsB, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and October 2021 education; underlying study finances remain limits.
Source / disclosureNHS: sepsis
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.
Use & limitsB, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, not a trial-level financial audit.
Source / disclosureNHS: dehydration
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.
Use & limitsB, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, not a trial-level financial audit.
Source / disclosureNHS: codeine
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.
Use & limitsB, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, not a trial-level financial audit.
Source / disclosureNIH ODS: supplements
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH Office of the Director; ODS public budget. No page-specific commercial sponsor named; cited trials were not all financially cleared.
Use & limitsB, provisional — referenced nutrient safety and public accountability; not proof of disease remission or individual suitability.
Source / disclosureNCCIH: probiotics
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH federal agency; NCCIH budget information. Page-level commercial sponsor not named; underlying review/trial funding not exhaustively traced.
Use & limitsB, provisional — public review and explicit uncertainty favor accuracy; an older synthesis does not certify any product or remove trial sponsorship.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOriginal guideline declares no specific grant and no conflicts; BSG committees produced it with PINNT patient-organisation review. Internal funding, complete organisational backers and all underlying studies were not fully cleared. Stated review window was within five years of publication.
Use & limitsC, provisional — multidisciplinary, transparent graded guidance; many recommendations rely on lower-level evidence, full finance unclear and planned review window passed.

This graphic reorganizes the article's disclosures; it is not a new financial audit or independence classification. Highlighted notes show different funding relationships where available. Review funding is separate from underlying trial funding. Disclosure is not proof of falsehood, and no declared conflict is not proof of complete independence.

NIDDK is publicly funded, but a public education series does not clear all underlying studies or outside-expert interests. No page-level commercial sponsor is identified; incomplete disclosure remains incomplete. The 2021 pages are used for clinical context rather than an independent medicine-benefit ranking.

The original BSG guideline states no specific grant and no conflicts, but complete internal funding and organisational backers were not established. Its age and reliance on lower-level evidence are also limitations. Public accounts, a nonprofit name and a no-conflict declaration answer different parts of the question; none removes every potential source of bias.

SourceFunding / backersCountry / jurisdictionIndependenceCredibility / incentives / gaps
NIDDK: pseudo-obstruction definitionNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.United States; NIDDK, Bethesda, Maryland; federal health education.Tier 1 institutional context; page-level expert independence unverified.B, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and October 2021 education; underlying study finances remain limits.
NIDDK: pseudo-obstruction symptoms and causesNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.United States; NIDDK, Bethesda, Maryland; federal health education.Tier 1 institutional context; page-level expert independence unverified.B, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and October 2021 education; underlying study finances remain limits.
NIDDK: pseudo-obstruction diagnosisNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.United States; NIDDK, Bethesda, Maryland; federal health education.Tier 1 institutional context; page-level expert independence unverified.B, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and October 2021 education; underlying study finances remain limits.
NIDDK: pseudo-obstruction treatmentNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.United States; NIDDK, Bethesda, Maryland; federal health education.Tier 1 institutional context; page-level expert independence unverified.B, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and October 2021 education; underlying study finances remain limits.
NIDDK: pseudo-obstruction nutritionNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.United States; NIDDK, Bethesda, Maryland; federal health education.Tier 1 institutional context; page-level expert independence unverified.B, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and October 2021 education; underlying study finances remain limits.
NHS: sepsisUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information.Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown.B, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, not a trial-level financial audit.
NHS: dehydrationUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information.Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown.B, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, not a trial-level financial audit.
NHS: codeineUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information.Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown.B, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, not a trial-level financial audit.
NIH ODS: supplementsNIH Office of the Director; ODS public budget. No page-specific commercial sponsor named; cited trials were not all financially cleared.United States; NIH ODS, Bethesda, Maryland; federal education.Tier 1 institutional context; source-trial financing varies.B, provisional — referenced nutrient safety and public accountability; not proof of disease remission or individual suitability.
NCCIH: probioticsNIH federal agency; NCCIH budget information. Page-level commercial sponsor not named; underlying review/trial funding not exhaustively traced.United States; NCCIH, Bethesda, Maryland; federal education.Tier 1 institution; underlying trials unclassified.B, provisional — public review and explicit uncertainty favor accuracy; an older synthesis does not certify any product or remove trial sponsorship.
BSG: severe chronic small intestinal dysmotility, 2020Original guideline declares no specific grant and no conflicts; BSG committees produced it with PINNT patient-organisation review. Internal funding, complete organisational backers and all underlying studies were not fully cleared. Stated review window was within five years of publication.United Kingdom; lead St Mark’s Hospital, Harrow; contributing London/Manchester/Salford clinical centres; BSG UK jurisdiction.Unclassified complete financial independence; academic/society clinical context.C, provisional — multidisciplinary, transparent graded guidance; many recommendations rely on lower-level evidence, full finance unclear and planned review window passed.

Frequently asked questions

Does pseudo-obstruction mean the symptoms are not real?

No. It means a physical blockage does not explain the obstruction-like illness. Complications can be serious.

Is Ogilvie syndrome the same as CIPO?

No. Ogilvie syndrome is acute colonic pseudo-obstruction; CIPO is a chronic condition that may involve other digestive segments.

Will more fibre solve it?

Do not assume so. Nutrition changes are tailored, and acute symptoms need assessment rather than a fibre experiment.

Does everyone need intravenous nutrition?

No. The route depends on assessed intake and absorption. Intravenous nutrition is used when necessary and requires specialist monitoring.

Can a supplement restore intestinal nerves?

This review establishes no independent human evidence for that cure claim. Correcting a deficiency or supplying nutrition is a separate, specific purpose.

Sources and funding notes

NIDDK’s original series was reviewed October 2021 and distinguishes chronic disease from acute colonic pseudo-obstruction. The original 2020 BSG adult guideline’s no-specific-grant/no-conflict declarations were checked; its planned five-year review window has passed. Contemporary NHS sepsis and dehydration pages support emergency safety. No corporate efficacy claim, individual medicine protocol or animal-derived cure conclusion is used for an independent verdict.

  1. NIDDK: pseudo-obstruction definition — Chronic/acute forms and disease complications.
  2. NIDDK: pseudo-obstruction symptoms and causes — Variable symptoms, primary/secondary causes and acute triggers.
  3. NIDDK: pseudo-obstruction diagnosis — Mechanical obstruction exclusion and cause assessment.
  4. NIDDK: pseudo-obstruction treatment — Clinical treatment categories, decompression and nutrition support.
  5. NIDDK: pseudo-obstruction nutrition — Individual food and nutrition planning.
  6. NHS: sepsis — Emergency systemic illness; May 2026.
  7. NHS: dehydration — Fluid-loss and reduced urine warning signs; May 2026.
  8. NHS: codeine — Opioid constipation and safe medicine review; current national patient information.
  9. NIH ODS: supplements — Supplement claims, ingredient disclosure and safety.
  10. NCCIH: probiotics — High-risk infection concerns and strain-specific evidence limitations.
  11. BSG: severe chronic small intestinal dysmotility, 2020 — Specialist multidisciplinary chronic-care context, not current universal drug efficacy or dosing; DOI 10.1136/gutjnl-2020-321631.

Educational information reviewed 4 October 2026. This guide supports an informed clinical discussion; it does not diagnose an individual or provide a personal treatment regimen.

Have a question — or want us to cover something?

Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.

We store your topic, message, optional email, and this page so we can manage and reply to the request. Do not include diagnoses, medications, or other sensitive medical information. See our Privacy Policy.