Esophageal spasm: distal spasm, jackhammer symptoms, manometry and treatment

Esophageal spasm (oesophageal spasm) is abnormal contraction of the food pipe that can cause swallowing difficulty or chest pain. Distal spasm and hypercontractile oesophagus are different motility patterns; a specialist must relate the test finding to symptoms. Confidence: strong in the assessment and safety distinctions; comparative medicine, procedure or supplement benefit has not been financially cleared here. New serious chest pain needs assessment for cardiac causes. Symptom and safety context.

Key takeaways
  • Chest pain cannot safely be assigned to oesophageal spasm from its sensation alone.
  • Manometry measures pressure and contraction patterns; endoscopy and other tests ask different questions.
  • “Jackhammer” is a subtype of hypercontractile oesophagus in Chicago v4.0, rather than a synonym for every spasm.
  • Care depends on the actual finding, symptom burden, intake and other conditions; pressure reduction alone is not the goal.
  • Peppermint products are not interchangeable, may cause heartburn, and are not recommended as a self-treatment here.
  • No personal medicine dose, opioid withdrawal, fasting interval or myotomy eligibility is supplied.

Table of contents

Evidence summary

Clinical guidance, human outcome research and funding independence answer different questions. The guidance below explains care; it does not independently reproduce the trials behind a medicine or supplement.

Claim / interventionEvidence reviewedFunding / conflictsInterpretation / limits
Symptoms and urgent chest painNovember 2024 Mayo original; NHS triageMixed provider revenue; older national review dateNo home determination that pain is non-cardiac.
Motility terminologyOriginal Chicago v4.0Public project grant plus material author-company interestsCompatible symptoms and clinical interpretation required; no automatic procedure.
ManometryMarch 2026 provider originalHistorical audited provider finance; page allocations unknownPressure testing with consent and service-specific preparation.
Clinical care optionsMayo care originalProvider/expert/trial interests incompleteBounded care roles; no numeric efficacy or individual eligibility.
PeppermintMay 2025 NCCIHPublic education; underlying trial funds unclassifiedCondition/formulation gaps and heartburn; no self-treatment recommended.
Independent best treatmentNo financially cleared comparative outcome verdict establishedCommercial efficacy and animal extrapolation excludedClinical assessment and monitored decisions remain necessary.

What esophageal spasm feels like, and why symptoms need assessment

The oesophagus is a muscular tube that moves swallowed material into the stomach. When its contractions do not coordinate normally, a person may experience sticking, regurgitation or squeezing discomfort behind the breastbone. Problems can involve both solids and liquids. The effect on meals is useful information for the assessment. Symptoms and movement context.

Record what happens rather than relying on one label: pain, sticking, food returning, difficulty with liquids, or coughing during swallowing. Include whether an episode interrupts eating, how often it occurs and whether intake has changed. Different descriptions can point to different investigations.

“Non-cardiac chest pain” is a clinical conclusion after relevant assessment. It does not mean that a person should decide at home that pain is digestive. A previous motility diagnosis also does not identify the cause of every future episode. Chest-pain assessment and urgent signs.

Distal spasm, hypercontractile and jackhammer patterns

Chicago v4.0 distinguishes premature contractions in distal spasm from excessive contraction strength in hypercontractile oesophagus. Jackhammer is one hypercontractile subtype. Compatible symptoms are necessary for clinical relevance; an isolated manometry label does not establish a treatment need. Original classification.

Older records may say diffuse spasm, nutcracker or jackhammer. Ask the specialist to translate the report into the current finding and explain whether the older term still describes your physiology. These labels should not be treated as identical based only on their names.

The exact cause of primary spasm is uncertain. Abnormal nerve control is one explanation described in clinical education, but a mechanism does not prove that a supplement can correct the problem. Mechanism uncertainty.

Achalasia, structural narrowing, inflammation and reflux remain different diagnostic questions. Some can produce overlapping symptoms. Ask which possibilities the examination or testing has addressed before assuming the problem is solely a contraction disorder. Other conditions and tests.

Clinical care: associated reflux, medicines and selected myotomy

Care is guided by symptom severity, frequency and the ability to eat or drink. Clinicians may address accompanying reflux, discuss medicines intended to relax muscle or modify pain signalling, or consider an injection/procedure in selected circumstances. These are clinical roles, not proof that every option suits every manometry pattern. Care categories.

An acid-suppression plan may be appropriate for a diagnosed reflux problem. It should not be described as automatically correcting every motility disorder. Ask what problem the medicine is intended to address and how that goal will be reviewed. Reflux-specific care.

Myotomy cuts muscle; POEM performs myotomy through an endoscopic approach. A specialist may discuss these for selected persistent severe problems, after reviewing other care and diagnostic confidence. Ask why the proposed target is appropriate, what alternatives exist and how outcomes and harms will be followed. Selected procedure context.

The consensus favors caution and conservative care before invasive treatment for hypercontractile patterns. No procedure eligibility or comparative benefit is inferred from the word “jackhammer”. Treatment caution.

Meal triggers, nutrition and peppermint evidence

If a particular food or very hot/cold drink repeatedly coincides with symptoms, record that observation for the clinician. A personally observed trigger is useful to discuss; it is not a diagnostic test, an allergy result or a reason to eliminate many unrelated foods. Trigger-history context.

Ask for nutritional help if avoiding meals makes adequate intake difficult. Describe the foods and drinks you can manage, the ones you avoid and any weight change. The team can decide whether swallowing assessment, dietetic support or further investigation is needed. Swallowing and nutrition support.

Peppermint is sometimes suggested because it can affect smooth muscle. This review does not establish a financially cleared benefit for a specific oral peppermint formulation in a defined oesophageal-spasm population. IBS or procedure-related research cannot simply be transferred to this diagnosis.

The May 2025 NCCIH review describes heartburn and other possible adverse effects and insufficient evidence for many conditions. Capsules, lozenges, extracts, tea and essential oil are different exposures. Do not swallow an essential-oil preparation or follow a lozenge recipe as an inferred treatment from this article. Condition and formulation limits.

What manometry, endoscopy and a barium study can establish

Manometry records contraction strength, timing, coordination and sphincter behaviour using a pressure-sensing catheter. Endoscopy inspects tissue and can obtain biopsies; imaging may investigate structural or transit questions. The tests complement each other rather than being interchangeable. Pressure testing versus tissue or structure.

A local procedure usually involves passing a thin tube through the nose and taking supervised swallows while pressure is recorded. Staff explain the process and consent. This is a test performed with active patient participation; a provider’s preparation timetable should not be assumed universal. Current manometry leaflet.

Ask which clinical question the test is intended to answer. A clear explanation might be whether symptoms match a pressure pattern, whether an obstruction remains possible, or whether further information is needed before an intervention. Request the report and the interpretation together.

Improvement should matter to the person: swallowing, meal tolerance, pain, intake and unwanted effects. A changed pressure number is one measurement. It does not alone show that a proposed treatment improves daily life or that further invasive care is needed.

Emergency chest pain, complete blockage and failing intake

Use emergency medical services for new persistent chest discomfort with breathlessness, sweating, nausea, faintness or pain spreading to the arm, neck, jaw or back. Do not wait to test whether peppermint or a reflux medicine changes it. Cardiac warning signs.

Food lodged with inability to swallow requires emergency assessment. Do not force more food or drink through a suspected complete blockage. Explain the swallowing problem and previous oesophageal investigations to the service. Food-impaction and swallowing emergency.

Reduced urine, persistent dizziness or unusual tiredness during poor intake need urgent advice. Confusion, breathing difficulty or difficulty waking may indicate a dehydration emergency. A routine appointment is insufficient when drinking is failing. Current dehydration triage.

Vomiting blood always needs medical help; accompanying faintness, confusion, black stool, rapid breathing, abdominal pain or feeling generally unwell warrants emergency assessment. Even bleeding that has stopped without other symptoms requires urgent advice. Bleeding urgency.

Medicine disclosure and safe preparation for motility testing

Give the testing service the complete prescription and nonprescription list, including opioids, indigestion medicines and supplements. Ask which products might affect the test or the proposed treatment. Do not stop a regular medicine because a different hospital’s leaflet says to withhold a drug class.

A manometry preparation plan may include fasting and selected medicine changes. Obtain the exact instructions from the service performing your test, especially if you have diabetes or rely on regular medication. The explanation should cover what to do if the schedule is unclear or the test is delayed. Local preparation and diabetes discussion.

Tell staff about blood-thinning medicines, previous nasal procedures or difficulties tolerating catheter tests. Ask which precautions apply. Mild nasal/throat discomfort or minor bleeding can occur, and the team should explain the relevant warning and contact plan. Procedure risks and disclosure.

Herbal products also belong in this review. A product with muscle-relaxing claims is not automatically safe alongside prescribed cardiovascular or digestive treatment. Show the preparation rather than assuming all peppermint products have the same contents. Supplement and medicine disclosure.

People needing additional swallowing, nutritional or diagnostic support

Progressive swallowing difficulty, recurrent regurgitation, weight change or poor nutrition deserves clinical review. A motility label should not close the investigation when the pattern or symptoms do not explain the problem. Ask whether another cause needs assessment. Clinical review of dysphagia.

Tell the motility specialist about previous oesophageal/stomach operations or a large hernia. Standard classification criteria have anatomical limits; the report needs interpretation in that setting. A numerical result should not be copied into a diagnosis without the relevant context. Interpretation limits.

Children, pregnant or breastfeeding people, and those with heart, liver or kidney conditions need care appropriate to those circumstances. Discuss swallowing limitations and formulation suitability. This general guide does not determine a child’s regimen or a medicine’s suitability during pregnancy.

Distress about meals is worth discussing alongside the medical assessment. Explain practical fears and avoidance, so the team can decide what support would help. Coping support should have a stated purpose; it does not substitute for evaluating swallowing or serious chest pain.

A documented diagnosis, treatment goal and follow-up discussion

Bring your symptom record and previous endoscopy, imaging and manometry reports. Ask which finding is established, whether it matches the problem you experience and which alternatives have been investigated. If the result is inconclusive, request an explanation of the next decision rather than interpreting thresholds yourself.

For a medicine trial, agree the intended outcome, adverse-effect checks, review arrangements and a contact route if eating or drinking worsens. For an injection or myotomy proposal, ask how the team has weighed diagnostic certainty, alternatives, expected practical benefit and procedure risks.

Keep a record of meals, symptoms and treatment changes only to the extent it helps the agreed review. Avoid starting several products at once: it becomes harder to describe what changed or to recognise a possible unwanted effect.

This article gives no personal dose of a muscle-relaxing or pain-modifying medicine, peppermint regimen, opioid taper, fasting schedule or procedure choice. Those decisions require the clinical report, medicine list and individual circumstances.

Why smooth-muscle mechanisms do not prove patient benefit

A laboratory or animal observation that relaxes muscle is not evidence that a person swallows better, experiences less pain or avoids harm. Those findings are excluded from the clinical benefit verdict.

For a useful human study, the population must have a clearly characterised disorder, and outcomes should reflect symptoms, intake and safety as well as pressure findings. A study in achalasia, IBS or an endoscopy procedure may answer a different question from treatment of symptomatic distal spasm.

The remaining uncertainty is relevant to consent. Ask what the proposed option is expected to achieve, what is unknown and how the clinical team will reassess it. Neither an attractive mechanism nor a guideline title eliminates the need to trace funding and author interests.

Funding and source roles

Follow the money

Who paid for the evidence?

Follow named sources to the funding and relationships disclosed in this article. Numbered article disclosures preserve notes where a source is not identified. A public or university name alone does not establish independence.

Public / academicCommercial support or tiesUnknown / not disclosed
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOwn 2024–2025 audited accounts identify NHS/private/overseas care, research, charity and subsidiary routes. Not complete current 2025–2026 or page-specific finance.
Use & limitsB, provisional — 30 March 2026, due December 2028; clinical governance favors accurate procedure context. Local fasting/medicine schedules, historical finance and expert/trial allocations limit generalisation.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIDDK P01 DK092217; device/drug fees, grants, royalties, patents and stock interests disclosed. Full allocations unresolved.
Use & limitsC, provisional — transparent consensus and low/very-low supporting evidence. Commercial interests and context limit interpretation.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOwn patient/insurance payment record; own March 2026 performance report identifies philanthropy and technology/biopharma agreements; own policy accepts advertising/sponsorship. Full current accounts and page/expert/trial allocations unresolved.
Use & limitsC, provisional — 9 November 2024, Mayo staff and stated medical review. Accuracy/accountability support context, but expert/trial finance, older terminology and unsupported treatment certainty remain gaps.
View 19 more funding disclosures
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOwn patient/insurance payment record; own March 2026 performance report identifies philanthropy and technology/biopharma agreements; own policy accepts advertising/sponsorship. Full current accounts and page/expert/trial allocations unresolved.
Use & limitsC, provisional — 9 November 2024, Mayo staff and stated medical review. Accuracy/accountability support context, but expert/trial finance, older terminology and unsupported treatment certainty remain gaps.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOwn patient/insurance payment record; own March 2026 performance report identifies philanthropy and technology/biopharma agreements; own policy accepts advertising/sponsorship. Full current accounts and page/expert/trial allocations unresolved.
Use & limitsC, provisional — 9 July 2024, Mayo staff and stated medical review. Accuracy/accountability support context, but expert/trial finance, older terminology and unsupported treatment certainty remain gaps.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsManagement reports care operations, philanthropy, technology licensing and agreements across biopharma, diagnostics and AI. Complete audited 2025 accounts were not located.
Use & limitsB, provisional for the named routes — 3 March 2026, identifiable reporting year. Promotional performance claims and incomplete donor/allocation ledger remain; not a full financial audit.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOwn policy accepts ads/sponsorship and states editorial separation and no endorsement. Named page advertisers, amounts and allocations unknown.
Use & limitsB, provisional — explicit primary revenue route and editorial controls. Policy does not erase commercial interests or establish author/trial independence.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsInternal expert/editorial review is stated; medical editors are asked to disclose relevant interests. Individual oesophagitis reviewers and complete payments not established.
Use & limitsB, provisional — identifiable review process favors accuracy; content reflects the provider perspective. A disclosure policy is not full financial clearance.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOwn records describe patient and insurer payments for care; no full institutional or article-level financial ledger.
Use & limitsB, provisional — original billing process supports revenue tracing; patient-care business interests and missing allocations remain.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsAudited original provider accounts identify NHS/private/overseas payments, research, charity and subsidiary support.
Use & limitsB, provisional — dated statutory reporting previously read; not current complete 2025–2026 or individual procedure-device clearance.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsPublisher correction to the commercially linked original consensus; separate correction funding not stated.
Use & limitsB, provisional for correction content — online December 2022, journal issue February 2024. Corrects Lenglinger’s name; does not revise clinical diagnostic criteria or clear finance.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH federal agency; NCCIH budget information. Page-level commercial sponsor not named; underlying review/trial funding not exhaustively traced.
Use & limitsB, provisional — public review and explicit uncertainty favor accuracy; an older synthesis does not certify any product or remove trial sponsorship.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.
Use & limitsB, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and underlying study finances remain limits.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH federal agency; NCCIH budget information. Page-level commercial sponsor not named; underlying review/trial funding not exhaustively traced.
Use & limitsB, provisional — public review and explicit uncertainty favor accuracy; an older synthesis does not certify any product or remove trial sponsorship.
Source / disclosureNCCIH: federal budget
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH federal agency; NCCIH budget information. Page-level commercial sponsor not named; underlying review/trial funding not exhaustively traced.
Use & limitsB, provisional — public review and explicit uncertainty favor accuracy; an older synthesis does not certify any product or remove trial sponsorship.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsStatutory national public-health accounts; hospital trusts have separate private/research/charitable income.
Use & limitsB, provisional — dated public accountability; does not establish provider, page-author or trial independence.
Source / disclosureNHS: swallowing problems
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.
Use & limitsC, provisional — 2 May 2023; next review due 2 May 2026, passed. Public clinical accountability supports background; overdue review, page/expert and underlying-study funding gaps remain. Condition-specific urgency cross-checked against dated EoE originals.
Source / disclosureNHS: chest pain
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.
Use & limitsC, provisional — 8 August 2023; next review due 8 August 2026, passed. Public clinical accountability supports background; overdue review, page/expert and underlying-study funding gaps remain. Condition-specific urgency cross-checked against dated EoE originals.
Source / disclosureNHS: vomiting blood
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.
Use & limitsB, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, 18 August 2025; due August 2028; not a trial-level financial audit.
Source / disclosureNHS: dehydration
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.
Use & limitsB, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, 1 May 2026; due May 2029; not a trial-level financial audit.
Source / disclosureNIDDK: reflux treatment
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.
Use & limitsC, provisional — July 2020; scientific/public review supports limited background. Age, simplified care, external expert and underlying-trial finances remain gaps.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOwn patient/insurance payment record; own March 2026 performance report identifies philanthropy and technology/biopharma agreements; own policy accepts advertising/sponsorship. Full current accounts and page/expert/trial allocations unresolved.
Use & limitsC, provisional — 29 October 2024, Mayo staff; stated medical-review process supports context. Individual expert finance and supporting studies remain uncleared; some therapy wording is outdated.

This graphic reorganizes the article's disclosures; it is not a new financial audit or independence classification. Highlighted notes show different funding relationships where available. Review funding is separate from underlying trial funding. Disclosure is not proof of falsehood, and no declared conflict is not proof of complete independence.

The original consensus acknowledges a public NIDDK grant and separately discloses device/drug-company relationships, royalties, patents and stock interests. Classification context is retained; independent commercial efficacy is excluded.

Mayo’s current own performance and advertising/billing records establish mixed care, donor and commercial routes; full current audited and page-level finance remain unresolved. North Tees has separate provider accounts, not the same finances as national NHS education. Historical provider accounts are identified by year.

SourceFunding / backersCountry / jurisdictionIndependenceCredibility / incentives / gaps
Mayo Clinic: oesophageal spasm symptomsOwn patient/insurance payment record; own March 2026 performance report identifies philanthropy and technology/biopharma agreements; own policy accepts advertising/sponsorship. Full current accounts and page/expert/trial allocations unresolved.United States; Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.Tier 2 provider context, provisional; mixed care/commercial/donor interests.C, provisional — 9 November 2024, Mayo staff and stated medical review. Accuracy/accountability support context, but expert/trial finance, older terminology and unsupported treatment certainty remain gaps.
Mayo Clinic: oesophageal spasm diagnosis and careOwn patient/insurance payment record; own March 2026 performance report identifies philanthropy and technology/biopharma agreements; own policy accepts advertising/sponsorship. Full current accounts and page/expert/trial allocations unresolved.United States; Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.Tier 2 provider context, provisional; mixed care/commercial/donor interests.C, provisional — 9 November 2024, Mayo staff and stated medical review. Accuracy/accountability support context, but expert/trial finance, older terminology and unsupported treatment certainty remain gaps.
Mayo Clinic: oesophageal manometryOwn patient/insurance payment record; own March 2026 performance report identifies philanthropy and technology/biopharma agreements; own policy accepts advertising/sponsorship. Full current accounts and page/expert/trial allocations unresolved.United States; Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.Tier 2 provider context, provisional; mixed care/commercial/donor interests.C, provisional — 9 July 2024, Mayo staff and stated medical review. Accuracy/accountability support context, but expert/trial finance, older terminology and unsupported treatment certainty remain gaps.
Mayo Clinic: own 2025 performance reportManagement reports care operations, philanthropy, technology licensing and agreements across biopharma, diagnostics and AI. Complete audited 2025 accounts were not located.United States; Rochester, Minnesota.Tier 3 management funding/operations self-report.B, provisional for the named routes — 3 March 2026, identifiable reporting year. Promotional performance claims and incomplete donor/allocation ledger remain; not a full financial audit.
Mayo Clinic: advertising and sponsorship policyOwn policy accepts ads/sponsorship and states editorial separation and no endorsement. Named page advertisers, amounts and allocations unknown.United States; Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.Tier 3 institutional commercial-revenue self-report.B, provisional — explicit primary revenue route and editorial controls. Policy does not erase commercial interests or establish author/trial independence.
Mayo Clinic: health-education policyInternal expert/editorial review is stated; medical editors are asked to disclose relevant interests. Individual oesophagitis reviewers and complete payments not established.United States; Rochester, Minnesota.Tier 3 editorial-process self-report.B, provisional — identifiable review process favors accuracy; content reflects the provider perspective. A disclosure policy is not full financial clearance.
Mayo Clinic: patient billing recordOwn records describe patient and insurer payments for care; no full institutional or article-level financial ledger.United States; Rochester, Minnesota-based clinical system.Tier 3 payer-route self-report.B, provisional — original billing process supports revenue tracing; patient-care business interests and missing allocations remain.
North Tees and Hartlepool: March 2026 manometry leafletOwn 2024–2025 audited accounts identify NHS/private/overseas care, research, charity and subsidiary routes. Not complete current 2025–2026 or page-specific finance.United Kingdom; North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust, Stockton-on-Tees/Hartlepool.Tier 2 provider context, provisional; mixed public/private/research/charity interests.B, provisional — 30 March 2026, due December 2028; clinical governance favors accurate procedure context. Local fasting/medicine schedules, historical finance and expert/trial allocations limit generalisation.
North Tees and Hartlepool: original 2024–2025 accountsAudited original provider accounts identify NHS/private/overseas payments, research, charity and subsidiary support.United Kingdom; Stockton-on-Tees/Hartlepool.Tier 3 provider financial self-report, externally audited.B, provisional — dated statutory reporting previously read; not current complete 2025–2026 or individual procedure-device clearance.
Chicago Classification v4.0: original international consensusNIDDK P01 DK092217; device/drug fees, grants, royalties, patents and stock interests disclosed. Full allocations unresolved.International panel; US leads La Jolla/Chicago; original hosted in Chile.Tier 2 classification context; commercial efficacy excluded as D.C, provisional — transparent consensus and low/very-low supporting evidence. Commercial interests and context limit interpretation.
Chicago v4.0: original author-name correctionPublisher correction to the commercially linked original consensus; separate correction funding not stated.United Kingdom/United States commercial Wiley publishing jurisdiction; international clinical paper.Tier 3 original editorial correction, not efficacy.B, provisional for correction content — online December 2022, journal issue February 2024. Corrects Lenglinger’s name; does not revise clinical diagnostic criteria or clear finance.
NCCIH: peppermint oil, May 2025NIH federal agency; NCCIH budget information. Page-level commercial sponsor not named; underlying review/trial funding not exhaustively traced.United States; NCCIH, Bethesda, Maryland; federal education.Tier 1 institution; underlying trials unclassified.B, provisional — public review and explicit uncertainty favor accuracy; an older synthesis does not certify any product or remove trial sponsorship.
NIDDK: budget and legislative informationNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.United States; NIDDK, Bethesda, Maryland; federal health education.Tier 1 institutional context; page-level expert independence unverified.B, provisional — scientific review and public accountability favor accuracy; institutional priorities, simplification and underlying study finances remain limits.
NCCIH: supplements and medicine safetyNIH federal agency; NCCIH budget information. Page-level commercial sponsor not named; underlying review/trial funding not exhaustively traced.United States; NCCIH, Bethesda, Maryland; federal education.Tier 1 institution; underlying trials unclassified.B, provisional — public review and explicit uncertainty favor accuracy; an older synthesis does not certify any product or remove trial sponsorship.
NCCIH: federal budgetNIH federal agency; NCCIH budget information. Page-level commercial sponsor not named; underlying review/trial funding not exhaustively traced.United States; NCCIH, Bethesda, Maryland; federal education.Tier 1 institution; underlying trials unclassified.B, provisional — public review and explicit uncertainty favor accuracy; an older synthesis does not certify any product or remove trial sponsorship.
NHS England: national 2024–2025 accountsStatutory national public-health accounts; hospital trusts have separate private/research/charitable income.United Kingdom; national NHS England.Tier 3 national financial self-report context.B, provisional — dated public accountability; does not establish provider, page-author or trial independence.
NHS: swallowing problemsUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information.Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown.C, provisional — 2 May 2023; next review due 2 May 2026, passed. Public clinical accountability supports background; overdue review, page/expert and underlying-study funding gaps remain. Condition-specific urgency cross-checked against dated EoE originals.
NHS: chest painUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information.Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown.C, provisional — 8 August 2023; next review due 8 August 2026, passed. Public clinical accountability supports background; overdue review, page/expert and underlying-study funding gaps remain. Condition-specific urgency cross-checked against dated EoE originals.
NHS: vomiting bloodUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information.Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown.B, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, 18 August 2025; due August 2028; not a trial-level financial audit.
NHS: dehydrationUK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ.United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information.Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown.B, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, 1 May 2026; due May 2029; not a trial-level financial audit.
NIDDK: reflux treatmentNIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied.United States; NIDDK, Bethesda, Maryland; federal health education.Tier 1 institutional context; page-level expert independence unverified.C, provisional — July 2020; scientific/public review supports limited background. Age, simplified care, external expert and underlying-trial finances remain gaps.
Mayo Clinic: oesophagitis diagnosis and careOwn patient/insurance payment record; own March 2026 performance report identifies philanthropy and technology/biopharma agreements; own policy accepts advertising/sponsorship. Full current accounts and page/expert/trial allocations unresolved.United States; Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota; international patients.Tier 2 provider education, provisional; mixed care, commercial and donor interests.C, provisional — 29 October 2024, Mayo staff; stated medical-review process supports context. Individual expert finance and supporting studies remain uncleared; some therapy wording is outdated.

Frequently asked questions

Is jackhammer the same as every oesophageal spasm? No. The specialist report must distinguish the actual motility pattern.

Can chest pain be diagnosed as spasm by feeling it? No. New or concerning pain needs assessment, including cardiac causes.

Does a high pressure reading mean I need surgery? No. Clinical relevance, alternative causes and treatment goals matter.

Does normal-looking endoscopy exclude a movement problem? Endoscopy and manometry ask different questions; the clinician decides whether further testing is indicated.

Can peppermint treat it safely? This guide establishes no independent formulation-specific benefit. It can cause heartburn and needs medicine/safety review.

Should I copy a hospital’s fasting or medicine list? Use the instructions from the service performing your own test and clarify changes with the team.

Sources and funding notes

Reviewed 4 October 2026. Actual Mayo spasm pages are November 2024 and manometry July 2024; selected care/testing context is retained with mixed-finance and terminology limits. Peppermint-lozenge advice, blanket efficacy and a universal procedural sequence are not adopted. The full 21-page original Chicago v4.0 paper was opened in the Universidad del Desarrollo repository after PMC and Amsterdam access failed; relevant pattern, anatomy, methods, funding and full author-interest sections were read. Public support and commercial author interests are distinct. The original erratum was opened: online December 2022, February 2024 journal issue, it corrects a surname rather than diagnostic criteria. North Tees manometry is reviewed March 2026, due December 2028; its own audited 2024–2025 provider provenance was previously read and reused, not described as complete current 2025–2026 finance. Mayo’s current own March 2026 management report, advertising, billing and editorial originals are likewise reused with complete current audit/allocation gaps. NCCIH peppermint is May 2025; prior-condition/procedure evidence does not establish benefit in this disorder. NIDDK reflux is July 2020, NHS dysphagia May 2023 and chest pain August 2023 with passed 2026 deadlines; dehydration May 2026 and vomiting blood August 2025 supply current safety context. All clinical sources have funding rows. No personalised medicine, preparation, diet or intervention protocol and no independent commercial comparative efficacy is supplied.

  1. Mayo Clinic: oesophageal spasm symptoms — Symptoms, uncertain causes and cardiac warning; simplified nutcracker/hypercontractile terminology not treated as exact equivalence.
  2. Mayo Clinic: oesophageal spasm diagnosis and care — Selected medicine and myotomy/POEM care roles, individual trigger history; peppermint-lozenge advice and comparative efficacy not adopted.
  3. Mayo Clinic: oesophageal manometry — Contraction/sphincter measurement, other-test roles, awake catheter testing and preparation discussion; no universal local timetable.
  4. Mayo Clinic: own 2025 performance report — Current mixed revenue/backer provenance only; no outcome or comparative efficacy claims adopted.
  5. Mayo Clinic: advertising and sponsorship policy — Advertising provenance only; no assumption that every advertiser funded the clinical page.
  6. Mayo Clinic: health-education policy — Accuracy incentive and review-process context, separate from independence.
  7. Mayo Clinic: patient billing record — Patient and insurance funding route only, not an audited total.
  8. North Tees and Hartlepool: March 2026 manometry leaflet — Awake nasal pressure catheter, consent, selected food/liquid swallows, risks and result follow-up; fixed preparation/medicine-withdrawal instructions not copied.
  9. North Tees and Hartlepool: original 2024–2025 accounts — Historical provider-specific provenance, separate from national NHS finances.
  10. Chicago Classification v4.0: original international consensus — Pattern/symptom interpretation; no independent efficacy.
  11. Chicago v4.0: original author-name correction — Correction scope checked; not presented as new clinical efficacy evidence.
  12. NCCIH: peppermint oil, May 2025 — Safety, heartburn and condition/formulation-specific evidence limits; no recommendation for oesophageal spasm.
  13. NIDDK: budget and legislative information — Public NIH/HHS funding provenance; not clearance of outside experts or referenced trials.
  14. NCCIH: supplements and medicine safety — Ingredient/formulation variation, interactions and clinician disclosure; no oesophagitis efficacy.
  15. NCCIH: federal budget — Public institutional education funding, separate from product and trial finance.
  16. NHS England: national 2024–2025 accounts — National patient-information provenance only.
  17. NHS: swallowing problems — General dysphagia symptoms and assessment; not a current EoE diagnostic rule.
  18. NHS: chest pain — Emergency chest-pain warning context; never assume new serious pain is EoE.
  19. NHS: vomiting blood — Urgent/emergency bleeding distinction; local emergency number replaces UK-specific instructions.
  20. NHS: dehydration — Urgent low urine/dizziness and emergency confusion/breathing or waking warning signs.
  21. NIDDK: reflux treatment — Clinical acid-suppression and selected lifestyle/procedure roles; numerical or comparative commercial efficacy excluded.
  22. Mayo Clinic: oesophagitis diagnosis and care — Biopsy purpose, clinician review of suspected medicine injury and cause-specific care. Older dupilumab age threshold, allergy-test diets, fixed regimens and comparative benefit are not adopted.

Educational information reviewed 4 October 2026. This guide supports an informed clinical discussion; it does not diagnose an individual or provide a personal treatment regimen.

Have a question — or want us to cover something?

Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.

We store your topic, message, optional email, and this page so we can manage and reply to the request. Do not include diagnoses, medications, or other sensitive medical information. See our Privacy Policy.