Cutaneous polyarteritis nodosa: skin nodules, livedo, ulcers and treatment limits

Cutaneous polyarteritis nodosa (cutaneous PAN, cPAN or cutaneous arteritis) is inflammation of arteries in the deeper skin and tissue beneath it. It can cause painful nodules, a mottled net-like pattern and ulcers. Confidence is high that biopsy and assessment for disease elsewhere matter; confidence in a definitive treatment ranking is low. Clinical classification review. Skin-limited disease needs its own care plan rather than an automatic systemic-PAN regimen.

Key takeaways
  • Cutaneous PAN affects deeper skin arteries and requires distinction from systemic disease.
  • A sufficiently deep biopsy and assessment beyond the skin can matter.
  • Treatment evidence is mainly observational; no medicine or supplement receives a definitive independent ranking.
  • Worsening ulcers, infection, new neurologic symptoms or signs of organ threat need prompt assessment.

Table of contents

Evidence summary

The first question is whether arterial inflammation is confined to the skin or belongs to a systemic or genetic disorder. The August 2026 review distinguishes single-organ skin disease from systemic PAN and forms with a defined cause. Similar-looking lesions do not settle that distinction.

QuestionPractical assessmentEvidence limit
Painful nodules/livedo/ulcersClinical examination and appropriate biopsyAppearance alone is nonspecific.
Skin-limited versus systemic diseaseAssess symptoms, organs and courseSkin histology can look similar in both.
MedicinesSpecialist selection according to severitySmall observational evidence; no definitive independent ranking here.
Childhood/familial PAN-like diseaseConsider DADA2 when appropriateA separate genetic diagnosis may change treatment.
SupplementsNo established disease-modifying role identifiedDeficiency support is a different purpose.

A milder average outlook than systemic PAN does not mean that painful ulcers, infection or a new neurologic deficit can be ignored. No fixed progression percentage or guaranteed harmless course is supplied.

What cutaneous PAN is

The affected structures are muscular arteries around the deep dermis and subcutaneous tissue. The original Japanese histology review describes necrotizing arterial inflammation. This means injury within the arterial wall; it does not mean that every blood vessel in a skin sample is inflamed.

Tender lumps, livedo and ulceration can be prominent. The dated DermNet symptom account is useful for recognizing this range, although its older treatment anecdotes are not used as proof of benefit. A photograph can document a change but cannot establish the artery type involved.

“Cutaneous vasculitis” is a broad label. Cutaneous small-vessel vasculitis, livedoid vasculopathy and cutaneous arteritis have different assessment and treatment implications. Ask which biopsy finding supports the specific diagnosis and whether the report was interpreted with the full clinical history.

How it works and how it is diagnosed

Inflammation and obstruction can impair blood supply to skin. Immune-complex mechanisms have been proposed, but the initiating cause is often uncertain. NHLBI cause context. An association with infection does not establish that every episode is caused by an infection or requires preventive antibiotics.

A biopsy needs to reach the relevant deeper arteries; a superficial sample can miss them. The original review emphasizes depth and lesion selection. A negative or nonspecific specimen may require reconsideration by the clinical/pathology team rather than a conclusion that the symptoms are imagined.

Assessment also asks whether nerves, kidneys, gastrointestinal tract or other organs are involved. NHLBI diagnostic context. Blood/urine testing and further investigations are chosen for the presentation. Neither a normal inflammatory marker nor an abnormal antibody result can independently answer every question.

Pain, tingling or muscle symptoms near affected skin can occur, as discussed in the 2022 clinical review. Symptoms outside that territory require reassessment for wider disease or another cause. The clinician should explain what is considered local, systemic or unrelated.

Treatments and their evidence limits

The treatment goal is to control active inflammation, heal or protect damaged skin, relieve pain and preserve function. The general NHLBI treatment overview describes how vasculitis care depends on vessel type, organ involvement and severity; it is not a cutaneous-PAN drug-comparison trial.

Dermatologists/rheumatologists may use anti-inflammatory medicines, including glucocorticoids, colchicine or dapsone, and selected steroid-sparing treatment for difficult disease. The dated specialist education page describes clinical use, but listing a medicine is not proof that it is best or that everyone needs it.

The original review explicitly describes limited controlled treatment evidence. Severe, recurring or ulcerating disease can require a different plan from uncomplicated nodules. No personal medicine choice, dose or taper is provided here.

The 2021 systemic-PAN guideline excludes cutaneous PAN from its scope. Its severe systemic disease regimen must not be copied automatically into a skin-limited case. If escalation is proposed, ask which current finding justifies it and what alternative has been considered.

Supplement and lifestyle evidence

No conflict-cleared human evidence identified here shows that a supplement stops cutaneous arterial inflammation, prevents relapse or reliably heals vasculitic ulcers. A deficiency or steroid-related bone-health need may merit separate care; that does not make the nutrient a treatment for this vasculitis.

The NCCIH safety guidance explains why supplement interactions and incomplete safety information matter. Bring a list of ingredients, including herbal preparations, to the pharmacist or prescriber. An “immune boosting” claim does not establish an appropriate action in immune-mediated vascular disease.

The practical activity plan should account for ulcer location, pain and sensory changes. Ask about footwear, dressings, work demands and safely maintaining movement. Avoid applying an exercise or compression regimen taken from a different leg condition without assessment of this one.

Smoking avoidance, prescribed vascular-risk care and follow-up support general health. NHLBI living-with context. They complement disease-specific assessment. Improvement after rest, a dietary change or a new product alone cannot identify which component altered disease activity.

What works and what is not established

A useful outcome record separates new inflammatory lesions, healing, pain, nerve function and medicine toxicity. Photographs with dates and the site of each lesion can help discussions. A scar or pigment change is not necessarily ongoing active arteritis, while a newly painful ulcer needs review.

The clinical review discusses relapsing courses and differences between cohorts. Selected referral populations, inconsistent older definitions and nonrandom treatment decisions prevent a simple conversion of reported response rates into an individualized ranking.

Do not assume that treatment for DADA2, systemic PAN or an unrelated clotting disorder establishes treatment for ordinary skin-limited arteritis. A mechanism shared with another disorder can generate a research question without answering it clinically.

Document the purpose of each medicine: inflammation control, pain relief, infection treatment or another condition. Ask how benefit will be judged and how long the team will assess it before reconsidering. A clearer goal helps distinguish persistent damage from a plan that is failing to control new disease.

Risks, side effects and urgent warning signs

A rapidly worsening ulcer, blackened tissue, fever or spreading painful redness needs prompt assessment. New weakness, significant numbness or loss of limb function also needs attention. The NHLBI symptom information explains why a changing organ pattern should not be dismissed as a skin flare.

Stroke symptoms, severe unexplained chest/abdominal pain, collapse or a threatened cold/painful limb warrant emergency help. The original skin-limited diagnosis is relevant history, but it does not establish that every subsequent symptom has the same cause.

Glucocorticoids can cause infection, bone, metabolic and mood/sleep problems. NHS safety information. Disease control and treatment harm should be reviewed together. Symptoms during treatment can come from either, and professional assessment may be needed to distinguish them.

Colchicine has important toxicity risks, including with excessive dosing or interacting medicines. NHS medicine guidance. Its usual use for gout is not a reason to borrow a gout regimen for cutaneous PAN. A dosing error requires urgent professional advice.

Interactions and situations needing extra care

Colchicine can interact with several antibiotics, antiviral medicines, statins and heart medicines; grapefruit also matters. NHS interaction guidance. Tell the person prescribing a new infection treatment that colchicine is already being taken, rather than assuming short courses are automatically safe.

NSAIDs, aspirin and herbal products need review alongside prednisolone. NHS steroid interaction information. A pain-relief medicine can add gastrointestinal or other risk, especially when the diagnosis or another medicine already creates complications.

If methotrexate is used, check antibiotic and supplement compatibility, particularly trimethoprim/co-trimoxazole. NHS methotrexate interactions. Review the whole list with the pharmacist; medicines described as supportive or preventive can still interact.

Pregnancy planning, liver/kidney problems and infection history may change the choice of immune-directed treatment. The care team should give medicine-specific advice. Do not add aspirin or anticoagulation simply because skin lesions reflect impaired circulation; the cause and bleeding context need assessment.

Who needs assessment

Persistent painful nodules, livedo with ulcers or a suspected skin vasculitis need clinical evaluation rather than repeated empirical cosmetic treatment. Dermatology may coordinate with rheumatology and other specialists if symptoms suggest wider disease. Bring prior biopsy reports and medicines, including recent new prescriptions.

Childhood onset, early unexplained stroke, recurrent inflammatory episodes or a family pattern can prompt assessment for DADA2. The 2023 original consensus treats this as a separate inherited disorder with potentially vascular, immune and blood-cell problems. Not every person with cutaneous PAN has DADA2.

A change in blood pressure, urinary findings, abdominal symptoms or symptoms distant from the skin lesions should be reported. The team decides whether it changes the diagnosis or requires testing. “Skin-limited” describes the assessed disease distribution; it is not permission to ignore a new organ complaint.

Clinician-led treatment and practical use

Ask for a written plan that names the diagnosis, the evidence supporting skin limitation, the intended treatment outcome and the contact route for deterioration. Record ulcer size/site and functional limitations where the team considers this useful. Avoid changing several treatments at once without coordination.

If long-term prednisolone is prescribed, do not stop it suddenly or improvise a taper. NHS stopping guidance. A plan for reduction needs to account for both the inflammatory condition and the body’s response to prolonged steroid exposure.

Methotrexate for inflammatory disease is generally taken weekly; accidentally taking it daily requires urgent professional advice. NHS administration safety. Prescribed folate and blood monitoring serve medicine safety; they do not demonstrate that folate treats skin arteries.

Ask which follow-up findings indicate active inflammation, healing, infection or lasting nerve/skin damage. A wound-care or rehabilitation plan can remain important after inflammation improves. Continuing functional difficulty deserves review even if the blood markers are reassuring.

Animal and in vitro evidence

Experimental work explores immune complexes, vascular antibodies and inflammatory pathways. The original review discusses anti-LAMP-2 and related model findings. These are hypotheses and model observations, not validated consumer blood-test thresholds or proof of a supplement effect.

A treatment verdict needs meaningful human outcomes, adequate comparison and traceable funding. An antibody signal or less inflammation in an experimental vessel does not establish durable ulcer healing, relapse prevention or safe long-term treatment in people. Such findings are excluded from this guide’s efficacy verdict.

Funding and source roles

Follow the money

Who paid for the evidence?

Follow named sources to the funding and relationships disclosed in this article. Numbered article disclosures preserve notes where a source is not identified. A public or university name alone does not establish independence.

Public / academicCommercial support or tiesUnknown / not disclosed
Disclosed funding & relationshipsAuthor declares no commercial/financial conflict. No separate article funding statement located; academic salary, article charge and institution backing unresolved. English editing by Enago acknowledged.
Use & limitsB provisional for taxonomy; C for outcomes — narrative review, selected cohorts and unresolved finances.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsACR/VF support. Printed declarations include Langford BMS fees and BMS/GSK/Genentech research; Merkel multiple company fees/research and UpToDate royalties; Stone Roche/Genentech fees; Dua AbbVie/ChemoCentryx fees; Grayson/Sule patents and Sundel royalties.
Use & limitsB for attributed guidance; C for independent efficacy — sparse/conditional evidence and unverified underlying financial chains.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOriginal explicitly reports no specific public/commercial/nonprofit article funding and no conflicts. Author in Ipswich; full employer/financial chain and included study finances unresolved.
Use & limitsB provisional for current taxonomy; C for comparative outcomes — narrative review and heterogeneous older diagnoses.
View 26 more funding disclosures
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOriginal credits Japanese Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare Intractable Vasculitis research grant. Complete author financial form and institution donor ledger not located.
Use & limitsB for dated histology/clinical distinctions; C for treatment comparisons — small retrospective sample, historical definitions and no controlled treatment proof.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOwned by New Zealand Dermatological Society. Website uses corporate sponsorship/ads, donations, image licensing and Amazon affiliate fees. Page-specific sponsor, author disclosures and full donor accounts unresolved.
Use & limitsB provisional for limited symptom context; C for outcomes — dated text, treatment anecdotes and imprecise histology wording.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOwn page names NZ Dermatological Society ownership and donations, advertising, sponsorship, image licensing. Complete society/trust financial statements not retrieved.
Use & limitsB for self-disclosed ownership; complete income/control unresolved.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsReader/corporate contributions, image sales, Amazon Affiliate fees and ads explicitly documented; page-targeted gifts are possible. Sponsors typically pharmaceutical/skincare/device companies; complete named ledger unresolved.
Use & limitsB for direct revenue disclosure; fundraising and product-market interests remain.
Source / disclosureDermNet: advertising policy
Disclosed funding & relationshipsWebsite says principally ad/sponsorship-funded and claims editorial separation. This safeguard is self-reported and not a page-level financial audit.
Use & limitsB for offered policy; complete execution/control not independently audited.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsNamed public DFG/German ministry/EU/Flanders grants; charitable Jeffrey Modell, Hood, arthritis-foundation support; DADA2 Foundation CZI Rare-As-One grant. Printed authors report Novartis/Sobi/Roche/CSL and other fees/research, UpToDate royalties, diagnostic testing and equity interests. Later CZI report documents Foundation compound/patent rights and a diagnostic partnership; full chain/timing relative to this consensus unresolved.
Use & limitsB for attributed consensus; C for independent drug ranking — case series/expert opinion, no randomized DADA2 trials and incomplete funder chains.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsCZI grant-program self-report; full donor/company/LLC chain not independently audited. DADA2 section documents 2023 compound/patent development rights transfer, IVDS diagnostic partnership and NIH SBIR route.
Use & limitsB for directly disclosed financial/development relationships; promotional and fundraising incentives; no efficacy inference.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsPaid grants, advertising, sponsorship and commercial data-program access offered. Complete current accounts and guideline-project allocation not audited.
Use & limitsB for institutional arrangements; specialty and fundraising incentives.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsAccounts identify contributions, corporate-membership revenue, conference fees and investments. All corporate payers and earmarked allocations are not specified.
Use & limitsB for dated accounting disclosure — financial audit does not certify clinical independence; later income and source allocations unresolved.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsOrganization explicitly thanks Amgen and AstraZeneca for 2025 Vasculitis Awareness Month sponsorship. This is a named awareness-program tie, not proof of sponsorship of each guideline or patient page.
Use & limitsB for direct named disclosure; organization fundraising interests and program-specific limits.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Source / disclosureNHLBI: causes (May 2023)
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Source / disclosureNHLBI: symptoms (May 2023)
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Source / disclosureNHLBI: diagnosis (May 2023)
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Source / disclosureNHLBI: treatment (May 2023)
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.
Use & limitsB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsCongressional budget process and authorized donations/bequests documented by NHLBI. Individual gift donors not audited.
Use & limitsB — direct institutional provenance; self-report and mission incentives remain.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.
Use & limitsB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.
Use & limitsB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.
Use & limitsB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.
Use & limitsB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.
Use & limitsB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC funding; website states no advertising or corporate sponsorship. Full staff disclosure register not retrieved.
Use & limitsB — explicit editorial safeguards; institutional self-report does not clear every cited trial.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsUS federal NIH/NCCIH education; page-specific external support and all included-study financial chains not audited.
Use & limitsB — public accountability and explicit evidence gaps; institutional interests and untraced trial sponsors.
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.
Use & limitsB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
Source / disclosureNHS: colchicine interactions
Disclosed funding & relationshipsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.
Use & limitsB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.

This graphic reorganizes the article's disclosures; it is not a new financial audit or independence classification. Highlighted notes show different funding relationships where available. Review funding is separate from underlying trial funding. Disclosure is not proof of falsehood, and no declared conflict is not proof of complete independence.

The Japanese original names a public ministry grant; its age, sample and incomplete author chain still limit conclusions. Other reviews have no-conflict/unsponsored declarations but incomplete wider financial chains. DermNet is society-owned and explicitly has advertising, sponsorship and affiliate income; its dated symptom education is used narrowly. Its older drug anecdotes, imprecise histology wording and DADA2-treatment discussion are not adopted as current evidence. The mixed-interest international DADA2 consensus is attributed. A later original CZI report documents DADA2 Foundation enzyme-compound/patent and diagnostic-development interests; these do not establish efficacy. No manufacturer-funded efficacy is used to rank treatments.

Tier describes financial proximity; A–D describes credibility for the stated source role. Neither is a clinical certainty grade. Unknown finances remain unknown. Manufacturer- and sponsor-funded efficacy is excluded from the independent verdict; attributed clinical guidance is identified as guidance.

SourceFunding / backersCountry / jurisdictionIndependenceCredibility / incentives / gaps
Furukawa: original 2012 cutaneous PAN review/retrospective findingsOriginal credits Japanese Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare Intractable Vasculitis research grant. Complete author financial form and institution donor ledger not located.Japan; Wakayama Medical University; translated 2009 Japanese workTier 1 provisional — named public grant, incomplete wider chainB for dated histology/clinical distinctions; C for treatment comparisons — small retrospective sample, historical definitions and no controlled treatment proof.
Ikeda: original 2022 cutaneous arteritis reviewAuthor declares no commercial/financial conflict. No separate article funding statement located; academic salary, article charge and institution backing unresolved. English editing by Enago acknowledged.Japan; Tohoku Medical and Pharmaceutical University, SendaiIndependence unverified — no-conflict declaration is not a complete funding chainB provisional for taxonomy; C for outcomes — narrative review, selected cohorts and unresolved finances.
Watts: original August 2026 PAN-related reviewOriginal explicitly reports no specific public/commercial/nonprofit article funding and no conflicts. Author in Ipswich; full employer/financial chain and included study finances unresolved.United Kingdom; original OUP/BSR journal, author IpswichTier 1 provisional — declared unsponsored review; complete chain unverifiedB provisional for current taxonomy; C for comparative outcomes — narrative review and heterogeneous older diagnoses.
DermNet: cutaneous PAN page, January 2016Owned by New Zealand Dermatological Society. Website uses corporate sponsorship/ads, donations, image licensing and Amazon affiliate fees. Page-specific sponsor, author disclosures and full donor accounts unresolved.New Zealand; contributors international; dated page editor Amanda OakleyTier 3 — commercial publishing/affiliate and society interests; page allocation unknownB provisional for limited symptom context; C for outcomes — dated text, treatment anecdotes and imprecise histology wording.
DermNet: ownership and editorial descriptionOwn page names NZ Dermatological Society ownership and donations, advertising, sponsorship, image licensing. Complete society/trust financial statements not retrieved.New Zealand; NZDS-owned publisherTier 3 — society/commercial incomeB for self-disclosed ownership; complete income/control unresolved.
DermNet: donation/revenue disclosureReader/corporate contributions, image sales, Amazon Affiliate fees and ads explicitly documented; page-targeted gifts are possible. Sponsors typically pharmaceutical/skincare/device companies; complete named ledger unresolved.New Zealand; charitable trust; global commercial supportersTier 3 — commercial/affiliate revenue routeB for direct revenue disclosure; fundraising and product-market interests remain.
DermNet: advertising policyWebsite says principally ad/sponsorship-funded and claims editorial separation. This safeguard is self-reported and not a page-level financial audit.New Zealand; international advertisersTier 3 — sponsorship/advertising interestsB for offered policy; complete execution/control not independently audited.
Lee/Ombrello et al.: original 2023 international DADA2 consensusNamed public DFG/German ministry/EU/Flanders grants; charitable Jeffrey Modell, Hood, arthritis-foundation support; DADA2 Foundation CZI Rare-As-One grant. Printed authors report Novartis/Sobi/Roche/CSL and other fees/research, UpToDate royalties, diagnostic testing and equity interests. Later CZI report documents Foundation compound/patent rights and a diagnostic partnership; full chain/timing relative to this consensus unresolved.International 18-country panel; US Boston/NIH leaders; DADA2 Foundation NashvilleTier 2 — mixed public/charitable support and author commercial interestsB for attributed consensus; C for independent drug ranking — case series/expert opinion, no randomized DADA2 trials and incomplete funder chains.
CZI: original December 2024 Rare-As-One impact report, DADA2 pagesCZI grant-program self-report; full donor/company/LLC chain not independently audited. DADA2 section documents 2023 compound/patent development rights transfer, IVDS diagnostic partnership and NIH SBIR route.United States; CZI program; named DADA2 Foundation Nashville, TennesseeTier 3 — funder impact/advocacy report; described Foundation product-development claims Tier 4B for directly disclosed financial/development relationships; promotional and fundraising incentives; no efficacy inference.
ACR/VF: original 2021 PAN management guidelineACR/VF support. Printed declarations include Langford BMS fees and BMS/GSK/Genentech research; Merkel multiple company fees/research and UpToDate royalties; Stone Roche/Genentech fees; Dua AbbVie/ChemoCentryx fees; Grayson/Sule patents and Sundel royalties.United States-led panel; international academic/clinical authorsTier 2 — society support and mixed author tiesB for attributed guidance; C for independent efficacy — sparse/conditional evidence and unverified underlying financial chains.
ACR: corporate support opportunitiesPaid grants, advertising, sponsorship and commercial data-program access offered. Complete current accounts and guideline-project allocation not audited.United States; Atlanta professional societyTier 3 — professional/commercial revenue routesB for institutional arrangements; specialty and fundraising incentives.
Vasculitis Foundation: audited FY 2024–25 accountsAccounts identify contributions, corporate-membership revenue, conference fees and investments. All corporate payers and earmarked allocations are not specified.United States; Kansas City, Missouri nonprofitTier 3 — charity corporate-income routeB for dated accounting disclosure — financial audit does not certify clinical independence; later income and source allocations unresolved.
Vasculitis Foundation: awareness fundraising sponsorsOrganization explicitly thanks Amgen and AstraZeneca for 2025 Vasculitis Awareness Month sponsorship. This is a named awareness-program tie, not proof of sponsorship of each guideline or patient page.United States; advocacy charityTier 3 — commercial program sponsorshipB for direct named disclosure; organization fundraising interests and program-specific limits.
NHLBI: vasculitis overview (May 2023)US congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.United States; NIH/NHLBI federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
NHLBI: causes (May 2023)US congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.United States; NIH/NHLBI federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
NHLBI: symptoms (May 2023)US congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.United States; NIH/NHLBI federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
NHLBI: diagnosis (May 2023)US congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.United States; NIH/NHLBI federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
NHLBI: treatment (May 2023)US congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.United States; NIH/NHLBI federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
NHLBI: living with vasculitis (May 2023)US congressional public funding; NHLBI also accepts authorized gifts. Page-specific donors and complete underlying study finances not reported.United States; NIH/NHLBI federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — public accountability; educational simplification, institutional interests and dated evidence remain.
NHLBI: budget and gift authorityCongressional budget process and authorized donations/bequests documented by NHLBI. Individual gift donors not audited.United States; federal institutionTier 1 for institutional contextB — direct institutional provenance; self-report and mission incentives remain.
NHS: prednisolone side effectsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.United Kingdom; England public patient informationTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
NHS: prednisolone use and stopping (February 2022)DHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.United Kingdom; England public patient informationTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
NHS: prednisolone interactions (February 2022)DHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.United Kingdom; England public patient informationTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
NHS: methotrexate use (March 2023)DHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.United Kingdom; England public patient informationTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
NHS: methotrexate interactions (March 2023)DHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.United Kingdom; England public patient informationTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
NHS website: content and funding policyDHSC funding; website states no advertising or corporate sponsorship. Full staff disclosure register not retrieved.United Kingdom; NHS England websiteTier 1 provisional for institutionB — explicit editorial safeguards; institutional self-report does not clear every cited trial.
NCCIH: using dietary supplements wiselyUS federal NIH/NCCIH education; page-specific external support and all included-study financial chains not audited.United States; NIH federal jurisdictionTier 1 provisional for safety contextB — public accountability and explicit evidence gaps; institutional interests and untraced trial sponsors.
NHS: colchicine medicine safetyDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.United Kingdom; England public patient informationTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.
NHS: colchicine interactionsDHSC-funded NHS website; its policy rejects advertising and corporate sponsorship. Page-author disclosures and all underlying trial finances not supplied.United Kingdom; England public patient informationTier 1 provisional for educational roleB — clinical sign-off and public-service accountability; policy is not an audit of underlying trials.

Frequently asked questions

Is cutaneous PAN the same as systemic PAN?
No. It is a distinct skin-limited arterial vasculitis, though skin findings can look similar. Assessment determines whether other organs are involved.

Can it cause nerve symptoms?
Local symptoms near affected skin can occur. New or wider neurologic findings require reassessment rather than an assumption that they are harmless.

Can a superficial biopsy exclude it?
Not reliably. The relevant arteries can lie deep in the skin/subcutaneous tissue; the clinical/pathology team chooses the sample.

Is one medicine proven best?
No definitive independent ranking is established here. Severity, ulcers, nerve findings, recurrence, safety and uncertain evidence guide specialist decisions.

Should everyone be tested for DADA2?
Testing depends on the clinical pattern, age, family history and associated findings. Genetic disease is a distinct possibility, not an automatic explanation of every skin case.

Sources and funding notes

Full originals were checked for the 2012 Japanese review, 2022 cutaneous-arteritis review, August 2026 PAN-related review and 2023 DADA2 consensus. Public medication pages were read for safety only; older prednisolone/methotrexate page dates are retained in their source profiles. Colchicine’s current consolidated page was reviewed August 20, 2026. DermNet’s clinical page was last updated January 2016; older anecdotes are excluded. No cohort response percentages, personal doses, universal compression instruction or claim that progression can never occur is supplied. The systemic ACR guideline expressly excludes cutaneous PAN.

Last reviewed: October 4, 2026. Educational information; no personal diagnosis, medication dose or supplement regimen is supplied. Local approval, product labels and clinical circumstances may differ.

Have a question — or want us to cover something?

Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.

We store your topic, message, optional email, and this page so we can manage and reply to the request. Do not include diagnoses, medications, or other sensitive medical information. See our Privacy Policy.