Acute cholecystitis is sudden inflammation of the gallbladder, usually associated with a blocked gallbladder outlet. Confidence is high that suspected acute gallbladder inflammation needs prompt medical assessment. Care may include hospital support, antibiotics for suspected infection, gallbladder removal or selected drainage. The choice requires an assessment of illness and procedure risk. Condition background; Current urgent signs.
- Persistent or severe upper abdominal pain needs assessment; fever or jaundice increases concern.
- Gallbladder inflammation differs from an incidental, symptom-free stone.
- Acalculous cholecystitis occurs without stones, often during serious illness.
- Early removal and gallbladder drainage have different purposes and suitability.
- A drain needs care, follow-up and a plan for removal or further treatment.
- No supplement, cleanse or dietary experiment has a financially cleared acute-treatment benefit here.
Table of contents
- Evidence summary
- What is acute cholecystitis? Calculous and acalculous inflammation
- Why blockage and inflammation can affect the gallbladder, ducts or pancreas
- Hospital support, early gallbladder removal and selected drainage
- Diet after recovery, stone-dissolving medicines and supplement claims
- Ultrasound, blood tests, HIDA, MRCP and ERCP: different questions
- Urgent symptoms, untreated complications and postoperative warnings
- Medicines, contrast reactions and preparation for surgery or drainage
- Acalculous disease, frailty and the difference between high risk and unsuitable
- Consent, drain care, discharge decisions and recovery follow-up
- Why laboratory effects and a selected trial do not establish a universal cure
- Funding and source roles
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources and funding notes
Evidence summary
Clinical guidance, human outcome research and funding independence answer different questions. The guidance below explains care; it does not independently reproduce the trials behind a medicine or supplement.
| Claim / intervention | Evidence reviewed | Funding / conflicts | Interpretation / limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Suspected acute gallbladder illness | 2025 urgent signs; Dated condition background | Public context; complete page/expert chain unclassified | High confidence in prompt assessment; symptoms do not establish the diagnosis. |
| Early laparoscopic removal | CG188 pathway | NICE revenue traced; supporting trial/panel finances not fully cleared | UK clinical guidance, not a guaranteed personal schedule or independently cleared effect size. |
| Selected drainage and later reassessment | Guideline role; 2026 provider information | Provider private/research income and trial gaps disclosed | Surgery suitability, response and follow-up need individual assessment. |
| Common-bile-duct ERCP | Dated anatomic/procedure context | NIH education; underlying comparative studies not cleared | Distinct from gallbladder removal or drainage; selected procedure. |
| CHOCOLATE comparison | Original methods/support | Foundation trial funding and society thesis support; historical donor chain unresolved | Comparative outcomes excluded from independent efficacy verdict; selected population. |
| Flushes, herbs and general supplements | No financially cleared acute-treatment benefit established here | Laboratory, animal and sales claims do not establish clinical resolution | No replacement for prompt cause-directed care. |
What is acute cholecystitis? Calculous and acalculous inflammation
The gallbladder stores bile. Cholecystitis means inflammation of that organ; cholecystectomy means removal, and cholecystostomy means drainage through a tube. These similar names describe different problems and interventions. Gallbladder role; Procedure terminology.
Calculous cholecystitis involves gallstones; sludge can also obstruct the outlet. Acalculous cholecystitis occurs without a stone and is associated with severe illness, injury or major surgery. A scan that finds no stones therefore does not by itself settle every possible gallbladder problem. Two forms of inflammation.
This guide concerns acute inflammation. It complements the gallstones guide, which also covers silent stones and uncomplicated attacks. Do not apply advice about symptom-free stones to a new acute illness. Different gallstone presentations.
Why blockage and inflammation can affect the gallbladder, ducts or pancreas
Bile travels through a system of ducts. The cystic duct connects the gallbladder to that system; a common-bile-duct obstruction concerns another location. Stones blocking drainage can involve the gallbladder, liver-side ducts or pancreas. Identifying the affected site helps explain why more than one treatment may be discussed. Blockage and related organs.
Biliary pain can come in attacks, but continuing pain and systemic illness require reassessment. Report when pain began, whether it has settled, its location and any vomiting, fever or colour changes. Do not use a temporary improvement to decide that the ducts are clear. Changing attacks and warnings.
The question for the team is both anatomical and clinical: where is the obstruction or inflammation, and how unwell is the person? Removing the gallbladder and clearing a common-duct stone answer different problems. An investigation or procedure should be explained in those terms. Removal versus duct clearance.
Hospital support, early gallbladder removal and selected drainage
Hospital care can include intravenous fluids, pain relief and temporarily withholding food under supervision. Antibiotics are used when infection is suspected. The team should explain the purpose of each treatment and reassess the response; this is not a home fasting or antibiotic protocol. Initial hospital care.
NICE CG188 recommends early laparoscopic gallbladder removal within one week of diagnosis. That is UK pathway guidance, not a promise that every individual can have the same operation or wait safely until day seven. Ask why the proposed timing fits the actual illness and anaesthetic assessment. Early operation pathway.
Gallbladder drainage may be considered when an operation is unsuitable and other management is unsuccessful. NICE specifically addresses gallbladder empyema, a collection of pus, when surgery is contraindicated and conservative management fails. It advises reconsidering removal when the person is well enough. Selected drainage and reassessment.
Ask whether the current intervention is intended to resolve the problem, stabilise illness before another procedure, or manage an ongoing limitation. A discharge after improvement should include the next decision and who is responsible for it.
Diet after recovery, stone-dissolving medicines and supplement claims
After gallbladder removal, a normal healthy diet is generally possible. Small meals may be easier initially. Recovery advice should fit the operation and symptoms; routine permanent severe fat restriction should not be inferred from an acute admission. Current recovery guidance.
Prescription bile-acid dissolution is a selected treatment for particular cholesterol stones and can take months or years. That role does not make an over-the-counter bile product an acute infection or obstruction treatment. The old NIDDK explanation is used for this distinction, not to rank a medicine or select an individual. Selected dissolution context.
No financially cleared human evidence reviewed here establishes that a gallbladder flush, herbal “bile booster”, digestive enzyme or probiotic reverses acute cholecystitis. A sales claim that a product “supports bile” does not identify the location of a blockage or demonstrate resolution of illness.
Supplements differ in ingredients and formulation and can interact with medicines or procedure care. Bring the labels to the team. Do not delay assessment while testing a product. Supplement safety and surgery disclosure.
Ultrasound, blood tests, HIDA, MRCP and ERCP: different questions
Diagnosis draws on the history, examination, laboratory tests and imaging. Ultrasound can identify gallstones; blood tests can indicate infection or inflammation involving the gallbladder, ducts, liver or pancreas. CT can show complications but can miss stones. The report needs interpretation alongside the illness. Laboratory and imaging roles.
Selected additional tests answer further questions. MRI-based duct imaging can assess duct stones. A HIDA or hepatobiliary scan follows bile flow and can assess blockage or gallbladder contraction. This does not mean that everybody needs each investigation or that one test has been independently established as universally best. Additional imaging.
ERCP combines an endoscope and X-ray assessment and can be used to remove a common-bile-duct stone. It is not the same as removing the gallbladder or inserting a gallbladder drain. Ask which structure is being treated and what problem may remain afterwards. Common-duct treatment.
A patient’s useful questions are: what did this test establish, what uncertainty remains, and what would change the next decision? Request the report and an explanation, rather than treating an isolated phrase such as “sludge” as a complete management plan.
Urgent symptoms, untreated complications and postoperative warnings
Seek urgent advice for abdominal pain lasting more than 30 minutes. Sudden severe abdominal pain, pain spreading to the back with vomiting, high temperature or shivering, or yellow skin/eye whites needs emergency assessment. These signs do not establish one diagnosis; they establish that waiting for an article or supplement experiment is inappropriate. Current urgent and emergency advice.
Untreated inflammation can progress to tissue death, perforation or infection in the abdomen. A percentage from an older educational page should not be treated as a personal risk calculation. Dangerous progression.
Operations carry risks including infection, bile-duct injury, bile leakage and blood clots. Severe or worsening pain, wound pus/redness, jaundice, fever or a painful swollen leg after removal needs urgent clinical advice. Chest pain or breathing difficulty, particularly with leg pain/swelling, requires emergency help. Surgical complications and warning signs.
With a drain, fever/shivering, new abdominal pain, leakage, failure to drain or displacement needs immediate contact with the treating service. Do not attempt to reinsert a displaced tube. Follow the team’s written urgent-contact plan. Drain warning signs.
Medicines, contrast reactions and preparation for surgery or drainage
Give the procedure team all prescription, non-prescription and supplement details, including recent changes. A surgical pre-assessment can identify issues that need a specific plan. Do not assume that a medicine already recorded months earlier remains on the current list. Medicine disclosure and preparation.
Disclose blood-thinning treatment, painkillers, previous contrast reactions and possible pregnancy. Ask the drainage team for an individual preparation plan. Preparation and safety discussion.
A supplement’s “natural” description does not clear interactions or make it appropriate around an operation. Provide the brand and ingredient list, not just a broad category such as herbal medicine. Ask the pharmacist or procedure team to record what to continue, withhold and restart. Medicine and procedure interactions.
If instructions conflict, obtain clarification from the treating service. This is especially relevant when the acute admission changes a previously planned elective operation. A generic webpage cannot resolve the current clinical team’s preparation decision.
Acalculous disease, frailty and the difference between high risk and unsuitable
Ask whether the diagnosis is based on inflammation, stones, another duct problem or a combination. Do not interpret a scan report without the team’s explanation of how it fits the illness.
“High surgical risk” is not identical to “unable to have surgery”. Age and general health influence complication discussions, but a team must assess the actual person and operation. Ask which factors are modifiable and which alter the proposed intervention. Individual surgical-risk discussion.
The CHOCOLATE randomised study enrolled a selected high-risk calculous group, with APACHE II scores 7–14; people already in intensive care and those with scores of 15 or above were excluded. Its methods cannot answer every decision for critically ill or surgery-ineligible patients. Its financial chain is also incompletely cleared here. Original population and exclusions.
Explain care preferences, support needs and practical limitations to the team. An older person, a pregnant patient or someone with complex ongoing disease should not have an adult website regimen substituted for an individual assessment.
Consent, drain care, discharge decisions and recovery follow-up
Before a procedure, ask its purpose, expected next steps, alternatives and material risks. Request an interpreter or accessible explanation when needed. North Tees describes laparoscopic and open operation routes; the proposed route and possible change should be discussed by the surgeon. Operation and consent context.
A drain needs staff teaching and a follow-up/removal plan. Duct treatment or later gallbladder surgery may still be needed. Obtain written instructions, supplies and contact details; do not manipulate a tube from internet instructions. Discharge and continued management.
After removal, follow wound-care and activity instructions and arrange practical help. Return to work and strenuous tasks varies with the operation and job. Ask when the team expects you to resume driving, lifting and normal activity, and what would require review. Recovery and support.
Persistent pain, vomiting, indigestion or diarrhoea after removal deserves review rather than indefinite reassurance that it is normal recovery. The team may need to investigate or treat an ongoing problem. Symptoms that persist.
Confirm whether any pathology or additional imaging result is pending, who will explain it, and whether another procedure is planned. Keep the discharge summary and medicine changes available to the next clinician.
Why laboratory effects and a selected trial do not establish a universal cure
Laboratory changes in bile composition or inflammation do not demonstrate that a supplement clears a blocked gallbladder, treats infection or prevents dangerous progression in people. Animal and in-vitro treatment claims are excluded from this verdict. Appropriate human outcomes include recovery, recurrence, procedures, complications and harms.
CHOCOLATE randomised 142 people and analysed 134 after exclusions. Its unresolved donor chain prevents an independent comparative verdict here. Guideline clinical context has a separate role. Design and explicit support declarations.
An adequate comparison must match the clinical decision: an uncomplicated stone attack, acute calculous inflammation and critical illness are different populations. A result should not be extended to another group simply because all involve the gallbladder.
Funding and source roles
Who paid for the evidence?
Follow named sources to the funding and relationships disclosed in this article. Numbered article disclosures preserve notes where a source is not identified. A public or university name alone does not establish independence.
View 19 more funding disclosures
This graphic reorganizes the article's disclosures; it is not a new financial audit or independence classification. Highlighted notes show different funding relationships where available. Review funding is separate from underlying trial funding. Disclosure is not proof of falsehood, and no declared conflict is not proof of complete independence.
The national NHS, NICE, hospitals, NIH institutes and a hospital-linked research foundation have different financial chains. Current accounts identify public funding alongside provider private/research interests and foundation company gifts. They do not establish the ultimate donors for every historical trial.
The NHS acute-cholecystitis page has passed its stated review deadline, and NIDDK gallstone text is November 2017 background. Current NHS recovery pages and 2026 provider originals corroborate care roles. Neither government branding nor charity/tax status is used to clear comparative efficacy.
| Source | Funding / backers | Country / jurisdiction | Independence | Credibility / incentives / gaps |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NHS: Acute cholecystitis | UK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ. | United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information. | Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown. | C, provisional — public care accountability supports background; reviewed 21 February 2023, with February 2026 deadline passed. Page/expert/trial funding and simplified advice remain gaps. |
| NHS: Gallstones | UK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ. | United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information. | Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown. | B, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, 11 August 2025; due August 2028; not a trial-level financial audit. |
| NHS: What is gallbladder removal? | UK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ. | United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information. | Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown. | B, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, 3 July 2025; due July 2028; not a trial-level financial audit. |
| NHS: Recovering from gallbladder removal | UK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ. | United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information. | Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown. | B, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, 3 July 2025; due July 2028; not a trial-level financial audit. |
| NHS: Complications of gallbladder removal | UK public health service; statutory annual accounts provenance. Page-specific sponsor/expert payments not disclosed; individual-provider and research income can differ. | United Kingdom; NHS England national patient information. | Tier 1 institutional education, provisional; complete page financing unknown. | B, provisional — care accountability and clear triage guidance; simplified advice, 3 July 2025; due July 2028; not a trial-level financial audit. |
| NIDDK: Gallstone diagnosis | NIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied. | United States; NIDDK, Bethesda, Maryland; federal health education. | Tier 1 institutional context; page-level expert independence unverified. | C, provisional — public scientific review; November 2017 background, incomplete expert/trial financial chain. Stable terminology/roles cross-checked with current NHS care; historical timelines/superiority claims not adopted. |
| NIDDK: Gallstone symptoms and causes | NIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied. | United States; NIDDK, Bethesda, Maryland; federal health education. | Tier 1 institutional context; page-level expert independence unverified. | C, provisional — public scientific review; November 2017 background, incomplete expert/trial financial chain. Stable terminology/roles cross-checked with current NHS care; historical timelines/superiority claims not adopted. |
| NIDDK: Gallstone treatment | NIH/HHS public institution; federal budget documentation. No page-level commercial sponsor identified; outside-expert financial disclosures not supplied. | United States; NIDDK, Bethesda, Maryland; federal health education. | Tier 1 institutional context; page-level expert independence unverified. | C, provisional — public scientific review; November 2017 background, incomplete expert/trial financial chain. Stable terminology/roles cross-checked with current NHS care; historical timelines/superiority claims not adopted. |
| NICE: CG188 recommendations | Own 2025–2026 accounts: primarily DHSC grant; NHS England support, appraisal/advice fees and research income. Committee and complete supporting-trial finances not cleared. | United Kingdom; NICE London/Manchester; clinical and payer remit. | Tier 2 institution, provisional; panel/trial chain unclassified. | B, provisional — explicit care pathway and public accountability; older guideline, cost/capacity incentives and source-study financial gaps. |
| NICE: CG188 implementation priorities | Own 2025–2026 accounts: primarily DHSC grant; NHS England support, appraisal/advice fees and research income. Committee and complete supporting-trial finances not cleared. | United Kingdom; NICE London/Manchester; clinical and payer remit. | Tier 2 institution, provisional; panel/trial chain unclassified. | B, provisional — explicit care pathway and public accountability; older guideline, cost/capacity incentives and source-study financial gaps. |
| NICE: own 2025–2026 accounts | DHSC grant primary; NHS England support, appraisal/advice fees and research income disclosed. | United Kingdom; NICE London/Manchester. | Tier 3 financial self-report context. | B, provisional — statutory reporting supports funding provenance; aggregate income does not clear committees or every source trial. |
| North Tees and Hartlepool: cholecystectomy | Own 2024–2025 accounts: NHS care, private/overseas-patient and research income, charity links and subsidiaries. Leaflet-specific maker payment not established. | United Kingdom; North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust, Stockton-on-Tees/Hartlepool. | Tier 2 provider, provisional; indirect care/private/research interests. | B, provisional — page reviewed 6 August 2026; local procedure/consent context and statutory accountability. Service incentives and underlying trial chain remain gaps. |
| North Tees and Hartlepool: own accounts | Actual 2024–2025 provider report: NHS, private/overseas and research revenue, charity relationships and subsidiaries. Not a verified 2025–2026 report. | United Kingdom; Stockton-on-Tees/Hartlepool NHS provider. | Tier 3 financial self-report context. | B, provisional — dated statutory reporting; institutional interests and incomplete donor/leaflet allocation. |
| Royal Devon: cholecystostomy | Own 2025–2026 accounts: NHS/private care, research/training and charity income; report describes commercial research partnerships. Leaflet-specific support not established. | United Kingdom; Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, Exeter; leaflet for Northern/Barnstaple services. | Tier 2 provider, provisional; indirect private/research/service interests. | B, provisional — April 2026 original procedure information and public clinical accountability. Local schedules differ; imprecise drug categorisation and procedure-time statements not adopted. |
| Royal Devon: own 2025–2026 accounts | Notes 3/3.1 and 4 (PDF pages 154–155): NHS/private care, research, training and charitable contributions. Research section describes a commercial centre and life-sciences partnerships. | United Kingdom; Exeter and North Devon NHS provider. | Tier 3 financial self-report context. | B, provisional — statutory financial reporting; aggregate revenue and service/research interests, not a complete leaflet/investigator-payment ledger. |
| Loozen et al.: CHOCOLATE randomised trial | St Antonius foundation support, declared no funder role; Dutch society thesis-publication support to first author. Explicit funding is retained despite generic no-support COI text. | Netherlands; 11 teaching hospitals, St Antonius/Nieuwegein coordination; Dutch society. | Tier 2 funder context, provisional; trial-period ultimate donor/society chain unresolved. | C, provisional — randomised original, selected population and early stopping; donor gaps prevent independence clearance. |
| St Antonius Research Foundation: own 2025 report | Report discloses individual/earmarked donations, legacies, company-friend gifts and investment income, with hospital-linked governance. Current revenue is not a donor ledger for the 2011–2016 trial. | Netherlands; foundation statutorily established in Nieuwegein; hospital-linked research fund. | Tier 2 indirect company/investment interests; historical trial chain unresolved. | C, provisional — visible accounts aid provenance; fundraising, hospital and efficiency interests. No complete named company-donor/earmarked trial chain; tax status does not certify independence. |
| NVEC: own professional mission and contact page | Professional surgical society identifies a membership route and secretariat; trial identifies thesis support. Complete society revenue, sponsors and historical thesis grant backers not supplied on this page. | Netherlands; own secretariat address Singel 279, Amsterdam. | Tier 3 professional-interest context; full donor chain unclassified. | C, provisional — primary identity and mission; professional promotion and incomplete audited financial chain. No clinical efficacy role. |
| NCCIH: using supplements wisely | NIH federal agency; NCCIH budget information. Page-level commercial sponsor not named; underlying review/trial funding not exhaustively traced. | United States; NCCIH, Bethesda, Maryland; federal education. | Tier 1 institution; underlying trials unclassified. | B, provisional — public review and explicit uncertainty favor accuracy; an older synthesis does not certify any product or remove trial sponsorship. |
| NHS England: national accounts | Public national NHS England 2024–2025 statutory financial report. Provider private/research/charitable revenue has a separate chain. | United Kingdom; national NHS England. | Tier 3 financial self-report context. | B, provisional — dated public financial accountability; page/expert-specific payments not resolved. |
| NIDDK: budget and legislative documentation | NIH/HHS federal institute, congressional-budget and legislative reporting. Complete page/expert support and every underlying study not financially traced. | United States; NIDDK, Bethesda, Maryland. | Tier 1 public institution; financial context. | B, provisional — government budget/accountability and original documentation; institutional priorities and incomplete outside-donor/trial chain. |
| NCCIH: congressional-budget document | NIH/HHS federal congressional-budget documentation; older fiscal document is not an enacted current-year budget or a complete trial donor ledger. | United States; NCCIH, Bethesda, Maryland. | Tier 1 institution; budget self-report context. | B, provisional — traceable government process; fiscal-age, institutional and page/trial finance limits. |
Frequently asked questions
Is every gallstone acute cholecystitis? No. Silent stones and acute inflammation are different presentations. Gallstone context.
Can it occur without gallstones? Yes. That is acalculous cholecystitis, often associated with serious illness. Acalculous form.
Does a drain mean the gallbladder has been removed? No. Drainage and removal are different procedures; confirm the follow-up plan. Drainage and follow-up.
Does “within one week” mean I should wait? No. It is a clinical pathway for early surgery after diagnosis, not permission to delay assessment. Guideline timing.
Do I need a permanently very low-fat diet after removal? Current recovery guidance generally allows a normal healthy diet; discuss ongoing symptoms. Diet after recovery.
Sources and funding notes
Reviewed 4 October 2026. This acute gallbladder-inflammation guide distinguishes calculous/acalculous disease, silent stones, common-duct treatment, removal and drainage. NHS acute-cholecystitis text was reviewed 21 February 2023 and has passed its February 2026 deadline; national gallstones was reviewed 11 August 2025 and removal/recovery/complication pages 3 July 2025. NIDDK gallstone material is November 2017 background. NICE CG188 is a 2014 pathway, checked in original indexed recommendations/priorities after direct access errors; no fresh 2026 clinical review claimed. North Tees page was reviewed 6 August 2026; its actual 2024–2025 accounts were checked. Royal Devon drainage leaflet is April 2026; its own 2025–2026 accounts were read. CHOCOLATE funding/design and current foundation/society originals were checked; historical donor chains remain unresolved. The thesis full PDF could not be retrieved, so no claim of company-free thesis financing is made. No comparative trial outcomes, seller efficacy, animal or laboratory cure claim is adopted as independent benefit. No personal antibiotic, fasting, drug interruption, drain flushing or removal regimen is provided.
- NHS: Acute cholecystitis — Calculous/acalculous definitions, hospital supportive care and dangerous progression; overdue context corroborated with current surgical/drain information.
- NHS: Gallstones — Urgent pain and emergency severe pain, fever/shivering or jaundice; distinction from silent stones.
- NHS: What is gallbladder removal? — Removal terminology, gallbladder storage role and life without a gallbladder.
- NHS: Recovering from gallbladder removal — Wound, support, normal healthy diet, graded activity and individually assessed return to work.
- NHS: Complications of gallbladder removal — Bile-duct injury/leak, clots, persistent symptoms and urgent postoperative signs.
- NIDDK: Gallstone diagnosis — Lab/imaging roles, HIDA and selected common-duct ERCP; not a universal test-accuracy ranking.
- NIDDK: Gallstone symptoms and causes — Stone blockage, bile-duct/pancreatic involvement and older warning context.
- NIDDK: Gallstone treatment — Bile after removal, selected common-duct ERCP and slow prescription dissolution; no current comparative efficacy ranking.
- NICE: CG188 recommendations — Guideline clinical context, not a personally guaranteed timeline or independently cleared procedure ranking. 2014 national pathway; original NICE-hosted recommendations PDF indexed after direct access errors. No new 2026 review claimed.
- NICE: CG188 implementation priorities — Guideline clinical context, not a personally guaranteed timeline or independently cleared procedure ranking. Early surgery within one week and reassessment after drainage; indexed original checked after direct fetch errors.
- NICE: own 2025–2026 accounts — Original institutional revenue chain, not clinical efficacy.
- North Tees and Hartlepool: cholecystectomy — Operation/anatomy and medicine-list/consent roles. Local fasting, temperature advice and quantified superiority not generalised.
- North Tees and Hartlepool: own accounts — Provider-specific finance, distinct from national NHS accounts.
- Royal Devon: cholecystostomy — Selected percutaneous drainage, consent, risks, trained drain care and continued follow-up; no comparative efficacy.
- Royal Devon: own 2025–2026 accounts — Actual provider-specific financial chain; no transfer of national NHS independence to a hospital.
- Loozen et al.: CHOCOLATE randomised trial — Design/funding context only; comparative outcomes excluded from independent verdict.
- St Antonius Research Foundation: own 2025 report — Follow-the-money context only. No foundation-promoted savings or clinical-benefit estimates adopted.
- NVEC: own professional mission and contact page — Identify the declared Dutch society support; does not prove company-free thesis financing.
- NCCIH: using supplements wisely — Product differences, medicine/surgery interactions and clinician disclosure; no proof of an acute gallbladder cure.
- NHS England: national accounts — National education funding provenance, not each hospital’s finances.
- NIDDK: budget and legislative documentation — Federal institutional provenance, not trial clearance or a no-gifts guarantee.
- NCCIH: congressional-budget document — Federal supplement-education provenance only.
Educational information reviewed 4 October 2026. This guide supports an informed clinical discussion; it does not diagnose an individual or provide a personal treatment regimen.
Have a question — or want us to cover something?
Ask about anything on this page, or request the next deep dive: an ingredient, a supplement, or a health concern. We use published research, evidence syntheses, and regulatory guidance, with clear source links.
One daily research roundup
Get the topics, key findings and links from our new articles in one email. At most one digest a day, only when there is something new.
